Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 13/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

TheTownie wrote: »
    Talk about messy.

Ha ha, very much doubt it's that easy. Have no sympathy for teams that encourage these vultures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Talk about messy.

Well according to his agent when Southamton made two bids the player was promised a move and had his heart set on one.

Then sporting changed the odds and started asking for more money.

So its understanable Rojo is upset if he was promised and geared up for a move.

http://sportwitness.ning.com/forum/topics/rojo-to-manchester-united-agent-wades-in-player-promised-move-thi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Nooruddean @BeardedGenius

what do people make of this guy? i dont follow him myself, but he is one of the most active United people on twitter and i constantly see people retweeting or replying to him there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Talk about messy.

Mad altogether. I get that Sporting don't want to lose the player, but how do they expect this to pan out for them? They'll be left with an unhappy player who doesn't want to be there, and owing €15 million to Doyen for the privilege.

Meanwhile, United will can go sign Blind instead or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

so, I think we can forget about getting Rojo - its going to end up in the courts before he ends up anywhere other than sporting!

what do people make of this guy? i dont follow him myself, but he is one of the most active United people on twitter and i constantly see people retweeting or replying to him there..

Not a fan - one of those people who tweets to get retweets, all the time - and doesn't seem to know how to have a thought without expressing it on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

I think he makes some funny pics and got good photoshopping skills. Not a source or anything like that, just a ManUtd fan with good sense of humor.

The account he tweeted is a very good source for Portuguese league and football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Looks like people have lost patience with Woodward completely now after that Delaney ESPN article, the amount of twitter traffic in his name is at really high levels this morning!

Delaney is a decent writer but he has zero insight into United. Also the transfer muppets are always going to clamour for more signings. It's always easier to blame the Chief Exec. We can't force players to join United and we can't force clubs to sell. Woodward has been the scapegoat for a long time now and it's pretty telling that it's the same ilk dragging his name up ad nauseam.

We're going to sign another defender. This is LVG's first transfer window at the club. This is a three year project that needs time. We're changing the team completely and it will take at least 2-3 transfer windows for van Gaal to really get a squad to fit into his mindset.

Also let's not forget that the club has done all it's business this summer without telling the usual 'ITKs'. Nobody knows what is happening behind the scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Can't stand him.

glued wrote: »
    Delaney is a decent writer but he has zero insight into United. Also the transfer muppets are always going to clamour for more signings. It's always easier to blame the Chief Exec. We can't force players to join United and we can't force clubs to sell. Woodward has been the scapegoat for a long time now and it's pretty telling that it's the same ilk dragging his name up ad nauseam.

We're going to sign another defender. This is LVG's first transfer window at the club. This is a three year project that needs time. We're changing the team completely and it will take at least 2-3 transfer windows for van Gaal to really get a squad to fit into his mindset.

Also let's not forget that the club has done all it's business this summer without telling the usual 'ITKs'. Nobody knows what is happening behind the scenes.

Given that Liverpool are considering purchasing their 9th player, I think this argument seems to wear thin, there has to be plenty of players that would be happy to come to Manchester and earn an absolute fortune for doing so, why are our transfer dealings so consistantly complicated or over priced compared to other clubs? Definitely think we need to look at the transfer policy at the club at this stage.

I disagree about Miguel, he does, imo and the opinion of others I would trust, have a good line at United.

Its easy to blame the CEO - when the CEO is in charge of transfers, and the CEO has said money is no object, and the CEO has said United can do things in the transfer market other teams can't, and the CEO said all the top players want to play for United, and the CEO said he is fed up seeing the big players go to Real/Barca and we that we are going to stop that trend. But then what CEO would be moronicly stupid enough to say all that if they didn't have some deals actually done.

Oh, right, Woodward - Woodward said ALL of that and has failed to sign anyone since.

Very easy to blame Woodward because he makes himself the very easy target of the blame with his boasting.

it will take more than 3 windows if we continue to show an utter inability to actually sign players.

As for doing all its business with no ITK info? WHAT THE F are you talking about you liar?

Shaw - well known, reported and ITK'd on.
    Vermaelen bids - well known, reported and ITK'd on.
    Herrera - I'll give you that one.

We have done NO other business that you can actually point to.

when you say all, i assume you mean Shaw and Herrera?

you happy with both of those deals i assume?

and you cannot use the part in bold there as something to back up the club, when it could also be true that nothing has actually happened until now apart from Vidal and failed bid for Vermaelen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Of course they can be helped. They can be helped by having a squad depth fiit for a Premier league club. They can be helped by making use of the entire summer transfer window to arrange quality cover. They can be helped by knowing that injuries are inevitable and taking steps to plan for them. They can be helped by remembering that four senior defenders left the club in the summer and arranging replacements for them.

Little things like that would help.

Talk about quoting a line out of context. :rolleyes:

My post said must the same as what you have. I would go further though - what we have at the club at the moment is "cover" - we need to go out and get actual first choice defenders

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

so honestly, that is a team you are happy with? come on man, this vow of positivity you have is great for calming the place on here, but thats as far as it goes.

you are only accepting that team (or more to the point defence), as its the reality and youve no other choice in your opinion. i doubt if you were given that team 2 months ago, you'd have been "happy" to accept it and probably would have had/wanted 5 different people, if not 6 in there.

the reality is, that is at least 6 people away from being a decent first 11. we can say "meh, its only swansea" but the opposition should not determine our level of happyness. im surprised how low the levels of acceptance have gotten in our club in the last 14 months.

"Vow of positivity" :rolleyes:

I spent December to May giving out about Moyes and how bad it was he wasn't being fired, so can we please drop this narrative trying to paint me as some blind fanboy or someone only intent with calming the peace or whatever (and I'll gloss over the implication my opinions are being formed by being a mod )

I'm not going to say THAT team will be enough to dominate the league, but it should steamroll Swansea pretty damn easily, and people making it out to be a disaster are doing the usual thing of seeing things in binary (Amazing/Disgraceful). It's not utterly amazing either, but it's not the disgrace some people are worried about.

As for 6 players, I genuinely disagree. I think we're two transfers off having a team that can easily challenge for the title; a CB/LB and a CM. By all accounts, we're trying for those potions.
    We suffered in the opening 30 mins against the pool, the part of the game when they pressed us. Jones gave away a penalty, the back three were shaky and fletcher kept giving the ball away because the time and space he had was under pressure. That's the way it will be in the majority of PL matches.

It says something to me though that in all that pressing, Liverpool's sole goal came from a penalty, and that against a rocky back line playing a new tactic, they were unable to score from open play, something which was a common occurrence on the pre-season against far stronger and superior teams to Swansea.
    twam2008 wrote: »
    Given that Liverpool are considering purchasing their 9th player, I think this argument seems to wear thin, there has to be plenty of players that would be happy to come to Manchester and earn an absolute fortune for doing so, why are our transfer dealings so consistantly complicated or over priced compared to other clubs? Definitely think we need to look at the transfer policy at the club at this stage.

How many of the 9 would you put in the United first team ahead of what we have? I'm 100% positive we could get players in like Lambert and Lallana if that was the level we were chasing too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Sacramento wrote: »
    Could be all for show. "I wouldn't sell them a virus" comes to mind.

I was at Sporting's stadium over the Summer. They have a couple of big displays with United related stuff (I presume this is from the time where we had a link with them). There's a big plaque in a standalone glass case that United presented to them with a United and Sporting player shaking hands, with "Friendship Through Football" written on it.

It was pretty cool, but I can just imagine the Sporting president now:

football-friend-o.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

People on the street knew we were in for Shaw. what is certain is the ITK people had no clue when it was happening. The so called ITK people had no clue what was going on with Shaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Ed The Equalizer

Here in 2 weeks...

chips-car-crash-o.gif

Lord TSC wrote: »
    It says something to me though that in all that pressing, Liverpool's sole goal came from a penalty, and that against a rocky back line playing a new tactic, they were unable to score from open play, something which was a common occurrence on the pre-season against far stronger and superior teams to Swansea.

I think I made a post about our defensive display sometime back. No matter who was played in defense we were very good defensively. We had few WTF moments against Roma in the last few mins.

Even when we played Valencia, Reece James, Young as wing backs and when Blackett, Keane were played in the CB position we hardly conceded goals.

1 controversial penalty against Roma, 1 maybe controversial penalty against Liverpool (haven't checked many replays) and 1 legitimate penalties against Madrid. 2 of the penalties were conceded by the player who might not even play next season.

Against Valencia we conceded from set piece, that was because of Cleverley's mistake. Still we conceded but it was decent effort considering we started with Blackett, James in the defense.

3 CBs tactic suits our defenders a lot. We still need a CB for sure but I wouldn't mind seeing Smalling, Jones, Blackett starting as CBs against Swansea.

Taok wrote: »
    Here in 2 weeks...

chips-car-crash-o.gif

lets hope it doesnt come to this, it really really shouldnt or at least need to.

i would imagine here will be no different to any other form of support based for the club, be it online, in the pub or in the ground. theres a big group of us going on saturday and i guarantee as soon as we meet up at 4am it will be (our poor summer so far) the first thing on our discussion. when we get to manchester it will be the topic of conversation, when we get to the ground and inside it, it will be all that everybody is talking about.

there will be massive euphoria when LVG walks out, but watch how quickly that will disappear if the goals dont start flowing in. there will be 73,000+ people baying for Woodward at full time if we dont get the 3 points.

there is not one fan right now who if they were being openly honest, would say they are happy with the way the club has done business this summer.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    "Vow of positivity" :rolleyes:

How many of the 9 would you put in the United first team ahead of what we have? I'm 100% positive we could get players in like Lambert and Lallana if that was the level we were chasing too...

That's too simplistic a view, are you saying you wouldn't have taken Lovren, Origi, Lallana? My point is we seem to be struggling to sign even average players, I doubt Cuadrado or Rojo are going to set the premiership alight. Blind looks good, but hardly stellar, we don't appear to be aiming too high, yet still can't get any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

That's too simplistic a view, are you saying you wouldn't have taken Lovren, Origi, Lallana? My point is we seem to be struggling to sign even average players, I doubt Cuadrado or Rojo are going to set the premiership alight. Blind looks good, but hardly stellar, we don't appear to be aiming too high, yet still can't get any of them.

Fair enough Lovren but why would United want Lallana or Origi?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

United could go out and buy 9 players tomorrow. Look at the players they have signed.
    The general consensus on Lallana when he was being touted as a possible United signing was that he's a really good player but we should be aiming higher than that. The same could be said for Lovren. There would be uproar if Lambert was brought in. Then the rest would be derided as being squad-filler and not improving the starting 11 whether they would or not.

Tancredi Palmeri @tancredipalmeri
    It's Nani the other player Juventus openly requested to Manchester United. So Juventus will let Vidal move for 45-48m€ + Chicharito+ Nani

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Could it be a case that we may need to adopt the director of football approach now that we probably won't have a long term manager in place?

2 summers in a row seem to have been ruined by the new manager not wanting the targets lined up from previous manager.

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Tancredi Palmeri @tancredipalmeri

that would make the entire transfer worth around €70million - I cant see United agreeing to it. From a player perspective I wouldn't mind though, Chico and Nani out with Vidal in is just fine with me - I just can't see United spending 45million on top of the players - unless they are loan moves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

So this thread lately

Some posters insist on moaning and ranting and saying we're fooked, over and over again...
    Others are like in the dark saying ah we're grand LVG is the man and Young is a new signing...
    Moaners reply sarcastically and\or repeat insisting we're fooked and take a staff at the "we'll be grand" brigade
    Then the likes of me analyze it and post crap like the above (i hate myself)

rinse, repeat * 1486277 times

United could go out and buy 9 players tomorrow. Look at the players they have signed.
    The general consensus on Lallana when he was being touted as a possible United signing was that he's a really good player but we should be aiming higher than that. The same could be said for Lovren. There would be uproar if Lambert was brought in. Then the rest would be derided as being squad-filler and not improving the starting 11 whether they would or not.

Evidently not, as I've said, we seem to be struggling to sign average players as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

"It's Nani the other player Juventus openly requested to Manchester United. So Juventus will let Vidal move for 45-48m€ + Chicharito+ Nani"

terrible deal for united if they push ahead with it, nani and chico worth a combined 30m and they want 45+ as well?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

I think most people's grievances now are to do with the fact that we don't appear to be able to work through our ''deals'' quick enough i.e. when it becomes apparent one player does want to join us, then move on to the next player on the list in that position.

I know this means we don't end up buying the top quality CB or CM we all wanted but by letting so many players go squad depth has become a very real issue for us and so it is by necessity that we should be working through a list of targets a lot quicker than we currently are.

my general feeling on Liverpool is that their signings are a big pile of meh, but their need this summer was not as great as ours IMO - they have not replaced Suarez yet tho and ive a feeling they will.

i think we will finish ahead of them this year, though right now thats only depending on us signing 2 or 3 good players in the next two weeks.