Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2014-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Any criticisms?

GK: Szczesny

Def: Cahill; Caulker; Davies

Mid: Arnautovic; Sessegnon; Coutinho; Eriksen; Sanchez

Att: Rooney(c); Dzeko

Bench: Schmeichel; Nugent; Cameron; Clyne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Ace2007 wrote: »
    What is most likely to be Chelsea defence this season?
    I see quite a few teams with Filipe Luis - is he a guaranteed starter and if so who loses out?

Nobody has much of a clue. They are a minefield and no matter who starts there will definitely be rotation. Ivanovic will cover for Terry/Cahill occasionally while Ivan, Luis and Azpil will share the full back spots ( possibly depending on the opposition like Pellegrini does with Clichy/Kolarov).

I'm still hoping to go the goalkeeper route into their defence but that's as clear as mud too! At least if one of the keepers wins that battle he should be a certainty for league games.

Personally I think ivan may be the one benched this weekend. I think Azpil is the most secure initially. But that's just gut feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Mr.SlumDuck

FHFC wrote: »
    Nobody has much of a clue. They are a minefield and no matter who starts there will definitely be rotation. Ivanovic will cover for Terry/Cahill occasionally while Ivan, Luis and Azpil will share the full back spots ( possibly depending on the opposition like Pellegrini does with Clichy/Kolarov).

I'm still hoping to go the goalkeeper route into their defence but that's as clear as mud too! At least if one of the keepers wins that battle he should be a certainty for league games.

Personally I think ivan may be the one benched this weekend. I think Azpil is the most secure initially. But that's just gut feeling.

Luis seems to be the only viable left back option though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,511 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Luis seems to be the only viable left back option though?
    Azpilicueta played there all last season in a fairly stingy defence. He is pretty viable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Ace2007 wrote: »
    What is most likely to be Chelsea defence this season?
    I see quite a few teams with Filipe Luis - is he a guaranteed starter and if so who loses out?

Ivan-Cahill-Terry-Luis

Would expect rotation once CL starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭basillarkin

With shaw out for a month what's Utds likely line up. Will there be a cheap way into their defence?

CSF wrote: »
    Azpilicueta played there all last season in a fairly stingy defence. He is pretty viable.

Plus Jose is a big fan of Azpil. Its far from clear cut. Luis owners could well get a big shock on Mon night.

FHFC wrote: »
    Plus Jose is a big fan of Azpil. Its far from clear cut. Luis owners could well get a big shock on Mon night.
    He is the favourite to not play IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

With shaw out for a month what's Utds likely line up. Will there be a cheap way into their defence?

For our first game.. If I was a betting man I'd pick this lineup

Rooney-Hernandez----
    Mata

Herrera-Fletch
    -Young
    Rafa
    --Blackett-Jones-Smalling--
    DDG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭Mr.SlumDuck

[IMG][/img]?di=3140796529515

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

NEW again,

De Gea (C)
    Davies, Skrytel Terry,
    Hazard, Mata, Paulinho, Coutinho (V)
    Giroud, Rooney, Naismith

Subs Myhill, Shawcross, Meyler, Ferdinand.

What do ye think lads? in terms of captaincy and the new bonus points coming into it i think there is more to gain having a gk as captain. And with Uniteds first 8 or so games a few clean sheets could be on the cards! what do yous think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

NEW again,

De Gea (C)
    Davies, Skrytel Terry,
    Hazard, Mata, Paulinho, Coutinho (V)
    Giroud, Rooney, Naismith

Subs Myhill, Shawcross, Meyler, Ferdinand.

What do ye think lads? in terms of captaincy and the new bonus points coming into it i think there is more to gain having a gk as captain. And with Uniteds first 8 or so games a few clean sheets could be on the cards! what do yous think?

Sorry if off topic, but what new bonus points system is coming in?
    A new one aside from last years changes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Mike Ehrmantraut

Right, after many changes, this is the current squad!

Mannone

Azpillecueta, Debuchy, Vlaar

Sterling, Sanchez, Ericksen, Mata

Rooney, Diego Costa, Bojan

Krul, Taylor-Fletcher, Bruce, Moore

Any suggestions or ideas appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭Mike Ehrmantraut

Right, after many changes, this is the current squad!

Mannone

Azpillecueta, Debuchy, Vlaar

Sterling, Sanchez, Ericksen, Mata

Rooney, Diego Costa, Bojan

Krul, Taylor-Fletcher, Bruce, Moore

Any suggestions or ideas appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,267 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

djPSB wrote: »
    Ivan-Cahill-Terry-Luis

Would expect rotation once CL starts.

that's my guess on how they'll line up. Azpi did well last season out of position, though didn't really offer anything going forward. It's Luis' natural side, and he offers a viable attacking threat as well as being solid defensively. Ivan i can't see being dropped - he's become a stalwart over the last 5 seasons - and offers the best attacking threat from open play. Which leaves Azpi. I could be wrong, but i think he's gonna lose out. He may get Champions League games as compensation. Tough one to call, still. May be some :o:o:o:o:o:o's on Monday evening

PARlance wrote: »
    Sorry if off topic, but what new bonus points system is coming in?
    A new one aside from last years changes?

apologies i just read the rules of it real quick it mey be the exact same as last year i didnt use it much! top 3 players get extra points......same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Crash Bang Wall

Krul

Debuchy
    Terry
    Lovren
    Cameron

Mata
    Coutinho
    Ramsey

Rooney
    Sturridge
    Bojan

Subs:

Adrian
    Bruce
    Albrighton
    Sigurdsson

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

apologies i just read the rules of it real quick it mey be the exact same as last year i didnt use it much! top 3 players get extra points......same?

I haven't heard of any new system. And I'm guessing this place would be abuzz with discussions on it.

Goalkeepers didn't work out great from it. CB's with CS's that passed the ball around a bit, won plenty of headers seemed to be the biggest beneficiaries of the changes last year.

PARlance wrote: »
    I haven't heard of any new system. And I'm guessing this place would be abuzz with discussions on it.

Goalkeepers didn't work out great from it. CB's with CS's that passed the ball around a bit, won plenty of headers seemed to be the biggest beneficiaries of the changes last year.

The criteria which earn BPS to earn thw bonus points changed somewhat. Oh and we were abuzz with it, us hardcore geeks had this discussion 3 weeks ago so you part timers who pick your team in the last week may have missed it. :D

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/post/91398422

As I recall it wasn't earth shattering, more rewarding of dribbling may now favourite attacking FBs where CBs were generally rewarded for clean sheets last year.

Also it was detrimental to GKs so OP forget about captaining DDG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Trying to fit Terry, Mata, Hazard, Costa, Toure and Giroud into the same team.
    Need one more player and have only 1.5 left

howard\myhill
    Cameron
    lovern
    oshea
    sidwell
    Henderson
    lambert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭who_ru

Don't know what to do anymore so going to go with this lot.

De Gea

Koscielny Luis. DeBuchey

Hazard(v) Mata. Sigurdsson. Ramsey.

Diego Costa. Rooney(c) Bojan.

Myhill OShea Albrighton Moore

Thoughts good bad or indifferent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

howard\myhill
    Cameron
    lovern
    oshea
    sidwell
    Henderson
    lambert

Cheapest players 4M so cannot be done. What formation do you want to play with. Chose cheap players maybe look at players from promoted team to see which of them will play

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

howard\myhill
    Cameron
    lovern
    oshea
    sidwell
    Henderson
    lambert

Yaya to Kolo, jobs a good-un.

You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

Cheapest players 4M so cannot be done. What formation do you want to play with. Chose cheap players maybe look at players from promoted team to see which of them will play

Done it!

3-4-3

Howard
    Terry\Cameron\Louven
    Mata\hazard\Yaya\Henderson
    Giroud\Costa\Bojan

Myhill\Oshea\Bruce\Davis

Good mix of the likely top 5 teams and the lower team regulars

howard\myhill
    Cameron
    lovern
    oshea
    sidwell
    Henderson
    lambert
    Drop Howard to Begovic, Lambert to Austin, Cameron (he won't start anyway) to Wisdom, Lovren to Caulker. You're laughing, and have probably improved in most of those switches anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭Dubstar07

Been tinkering with this now and am getting to a happy medium almost!! As usual with the prices it's tricky to get all that you want! Keeping GKs cheap to afford better elsewhere. Any suggestions for improvement?

Going for 3-4-2 to start. 1.5 in the bank.

Myhill Krul

Debuchy Davies Cahill (Targett Cameron)

Sterling Barkley Ramsey Mata (Javi Garcia or El Ahmadi)

Costa Rooney (Long)

Thanks, Dub

Dubstar07 wrote: »

Been tinkering with this now and am getting to a happy medium almost!! As usual with the prices it's tricky to get all that you want! Keeping GKs cheap to afford better elsewhere. Any suggestions for improvement?

Myhill Krul

Costa Rooney (Long)

Thanks, Dub
    Would recommend you play the full 11 players ;)

ok changed AGAIN f&ck sake hahaha

De Gea,
    Skrtel, Davies, Shawcross,
    Sanchez(C), Coutinho(V), Hazard, Mata,
    Rooney, Naismith, Weimann.

Subs, Myhill, Bruce, Ferdinand, Paulinho.

Thinking of vice between coutinho and rooney?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,143 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

Dubstar07 wrote: »

Myhill Krul

Costa Rooney (Long)

Thanks, Dub

Interesting two keeper strategy - weakens the rest of the team though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

ok changed AGAIN f&ck sake hahaha

De Gea,
    Skrtel, Davies, Shawcross,
    Sanchez(C), Coutinho(V), Hazard, Mata,
    Rooney, Naismith, Weimann.

Subs, Myhill, Bruce, Ferdinand, Paulinho.

Thinking of vice between coutinho and rooney?
    Whatever you do, don't vice captain Rooney. Captain him!

Swap Hazard for Fabregas and Coutinho for Sigurdsson and upgrade your defence and strikers. Paulinho is a no no.