Jewish group asks France to rename 'Death to Jews' hamlet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Next we'll have the Muslims on our case about Killala.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

I think the world would be a very slightly nicer place if there wasn't a town called Kill The Jews - and if people could actually think things through before the "Durrrr, you're just looking for offence lol" laziness.

And the Gaza bombardment tainting all Jews? That's just stupid (I support the Palestinians btw).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

They should change the name.

for a price :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

They should change the name.

for a price :D

Why, They said no 20 years ago apparently. (And before you ask yes the name is distasteful.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Didn't this (or something similar) happen a few months ago in Spain?

Castrillo Matajudíos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

See Israel it's France your real problem lys. Now leave all those innocent children you've been killing in Palestine (Gaza) alone..

Find it very hard to agree or take interest in anything a Jew has to say these days. That's shallow of me but I'm only being honest.

If your going to use that logic maybe you should not take any notice of the Palestinians over Isis's actions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Why, They said no 20 years ago apparently. (And before you ask yes the name is distasteful.)

Who said it wasn't'.

And before you ask yes you can but make sure to put a peg on your nose first and wear some lipstick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yes I know it's mad, A name that's been around since the 11th century that has nothing to do with the modern day Jewish holocaust.

So how long do we need to wait till we start naming places after the Holocaust for it to be ok?
    so, a group of american busybodies want to have a moan and dictate how a French town conducts itself?
    We should all have a say in how those cheese eating surrender monkeys go about their business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

This is where we are better than the French.

Ireland's village of Kill ( in Kildare) is an equal opportunities offender. No chauvism there. Kill. Kill them all. No racial preferences.

Learn up, Frenchies.

So how long do we need to wait till we start naming places after the Holocaust for it to be ok?

Depends on the holocaust. My man Cromwell is still outside the Mother Of Parliaments, even though he prorogued and dissolved parliament.

I'm sure no Irish person would object to a place called Death to the Irish.

Because that would be just too sensitive.

Candie wrote: »
    I'm sure no Irish person would object to a place called Death to the Irish.

Because that would be just too sensitive.

We'd get over it for a small consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

PC gone mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

This is where we are better than the French.

Ireland's village of Kill ( in Kildare) is an equal opportunities offender. No chauvism there. Kill. Kill them all. No racial preferences.

Learn up, Frenchies.
    We Irish have a 'get out of jail free' card. T'was the brits who anglicised most of our place names!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

What an unusual name, are there any unusually named places places (in Irish or English) in Ireland that might need to be renamed as they could cause offence to someone?

I can't think of any..

When they stop the genocide in Gaza, then it would be time to ask such trivial questions. Ho long has that town held that name ?.

****, the situation is worse than I thought. The Simon Wiesenthal centre has rockets now too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

****, the situation is worse than I thought. The Simon Wiesenthal centre has rockets now too?

I would think that human life is more important than the name of a village.

You know that blaming all Jews for the actions of the Israeli government is a little weeny bit unfair, right?

A bit like blaming all Catholics for the actions of pedophile priests, or all Germans for the Holocaust or even all Muslims for Isis.

Or all Dubliners for that thing, that time, that some Dubliner did that wasn't very nice.

I would think that human life is more important than the name of a village.

Maybe we should head down to the local mosque and tell the lads to stop murdering Christians in Iraq? You know, cos theyre all the same people.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

You know that blaming all Jews for the actions of the Israeli government is a little weeny bit unfair, right?

A bit like blaming all Catholics for the actions of pedophile priests, or all Germans for the Holocaust or even all Muslims for Isis.

Or all Dubliners for that thing, that time, that some Dubliner did that wasn't very nice.

When they elected Bertie? :p

No, the other thing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

We should all have a say in how those cheese eating surrender monkeys go about their business.

why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

No, the other thing. :)

When they cancelled Garth Brooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Am slightly mind boggled that

a) Anybody needs it explained that having a town called "Death To Jews" isn't, er, Kosher.

and

b) That there's a town called Death To Jews.

I mean, I'm sure after a while you'd just stop noticing how mental that is ("I'm just off to Death To Jews to get eggs, do you need anything back?" "A Twix?" "Grand".) But surely, every so often, around about that 3am kind of drunkenness, people start thinking "Jaysus, if you think about it, this is a mad name for a town altogether."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Kilkenny is offensive to people called Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Am slightly mind boggled that

a) Anybody needs it explained that having a town called "Death To Jews" isn't, er, Kosher.

and

b) That there's a town called Death To Jews.

I mean, I'm sure after a while you'd just stop noticing how mental that is ("I'm just off to Death To Jews to get eggs, do you need anything back?" "A Twix?" "Grand".) But surely, every so often, around about that 3am kind of drunkenness, people start thinking "Jaysus, if you think about it, this is a mad name for a town altogether."

We're talking two houses and a farm here, not even a "Ballysomething" place, more like a "PaddyJoe's field/cross" place.

I would guess the residents might be relieved to change the name, it must be hassle to give your address in every day life. Then again, a lot of French people are big into heritage and history, and unsavoury or not, this is a historical aspect of their home.

I know a small hamlet in France called "chier" (sh*t), must be cathartic giving your address in some situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Probably no Twixes then.

There's good reason as well, I mean, they even have places in Cork called ****** Hill.

Where? (stick a hyphen in it). ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,063 ✭✭✭Kiwi in IE

Why would it be fair for them to change a name that dates back to the middle ages and has nothing to do with modern day Jews? I think it's a ridiculous request, one would think the Wiesenthal centre would have real issues to be dealing with.

Ah come on now! What kind of reaction would you expect if a Loyalist suburb or street in Belfast was called 'Death to Catholics' or vice versa Repulican area with Street 'Death to Protestants'.

It is quite clearly a reasonable request to ask that it be changed, it dosnt matter when it dates from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,464 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Kiwi in IE wrote: »
    Ah come on now! What kind of reaction would you expect if a Loyalist suburb or street in Belfast was called 'Death to Catholics' or vice versa Repulican area with Street 'Death to Protestants'.

It is quite clearly a reasonable request to ask that it be changed, it dosnt matter when it dates from.

Where would it end though? Every time a religious group or organisation gets offended by a place name, should they be allowed to request a change? They should be more bothered with the actual genocide that's happening now instead of the name of a tiny French village that bears no threat whatsoever.