When was the last time you were outraged at a stupid charge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If you want to rent an apartment in the netherlands you have to pay the estate agent, a fee of first months rent + 21% VAT. All they do is show you the place and give you a contract Disgusting.

The feckers here get 2.6 months rent (+ VAT) for absolutely nothing, they just stand at the door and let people in, let people fill out some forms and then give whichever persons form looks most appealing a contract to sign. 2-3 hours work is all they have to do, and most of it is just standing around. Thankfully they are trying to push through new laws where payment due will change from client to landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Ciglow. :)

Was that price fitted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Charged 75c extra for soy on my Triple Venti Soy, No Foam Latte this morning in 'Bucks.

Preposterous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭animaal

I'd say education generally...

- Paying for preschool during holidays when it's not even open.

- Some secondary schools - a fee to apply, non-refundable even if you don't end up getting a place

- College fees being described as "registration charge", so you can't claim tax credits for it

- school uniforms often being designed so that there's only one shop that sells it, and can charge what they like

- "Voluntary" contributions - I understand that the schools are under-funded, but wouldn't it be fairer for it to come from taxation so I'm not paying for half the people who refuse to pay? Also, why should I pay income tax on the money that's going straight to cover school's costs?

I could go on, but there's only so much whinging a person should be allowed to do ;)

Last weekend, I got charged €5 by my son to Hoover my car! Rip off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Last weekend, I got charged €5 by my son to Hoover my car! Rip off.
    That's a bargin! My nephew charges me €10. And the fecker doesnt even clean the outside!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

jester77 wrote: »
    The feckers here get 2.6 months rent (+ VAT) for absolutely nothing, they just stand at the door and let people in, let people fill out some forms and then give whichever persons form looks most appealing a contract to sign. 2-3 hours work is all they have to do, and most of it is just standing around. Thankfully they are trying to push through new laws where payment due will change from client to landlord.

Woah and I was mad at 1, that's such a joke. Even with that law, they will just increase the rent, what is needed is them not having huge fees for doing very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

This thing called game protection in a well know video game store, everytime you buy a game the staff shill you a €3 charge to protect the game, i don't go there no more as they're assholes but many still do and every day they are getting robbed :(

4,800 posts wooo hoooo

But your the 'Robbingbandit' you should know better.

Game protection isn't forced on you though just say no, like you know...would you like to supersize that. It is handy though €70 game and € insurance. I bought Fifa 13 last year and in two days the disc got laser burned in my Xbox , popped back to gamestop and they gave me a new one with the protection...would have been screwed without it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Dramatik

The school that I attended when I was younger send me these letters every once in a while asking me to make a donation to help fund some new project or extention to the school. That's fair enough but I look at the bottom of the letter where it has a blank space for you to write how much you would like to donate, in brackets beside it, it has written "minimum donation 250 euro!" :mad: What a shower of absolute money grabbing *****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Tilly wrote: »
    My disc popped out so had to get it removed. Was €200 to see the surgeon which is fine. €75 to check into the hosp and everything else was covered on my insurance. Had to go in for a 3 mins follow up 2 months later and he tried to charge me €150. Told him he wasn't getting €50 a min off me and if I had of known it wasn't free as it was a follow up I would have gone to my GP instead. Haven't heard from them and that was over a year ago.

Consultants who have you make an appointment to tell you all is OK. That
    happened me once after I had a biopsy which was clear. I had originally paid
    him €150. Return visit cost me another €150. I could have been given the good
    news over the phone. The opposite happened to a friend of mine, who attended
    the same consultant but, unfortunately, was diagnosed with cancer. She WAS
    given the bad news over the phone, presumably because he was going to be
    seeing her again, ie., was going to be getting more money from her. :(:(

Fortunately, my friend is still with us as her cancer was caught in time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

animaal wrote: »
    I'd say education generally...

- Paying for preschool during holidays when it's not even open.

- Some secondary schools - a fee to apply, non-refundable even if you don't end up getting a place

- College fees being described as "registration charge", so you can't claim tax credits for it

- school uniforms often being designed so that there's only one shop that sells it, and can charge what they like

- "Voluntary" contributions - I understand that the schools are under-funded, but wouldn't it be fairer for it to come from taxation so I'm not paying for half the people who refuse to pay? Also, why should I pay income tax on the money that's going straight to cover school's costs?

I could go on, but there's only so much whinging a person should be allowed to do ;)

snap!!..my darling son starting secondary school this year, mother of devine moses the amount of of money iv spent so far on the books, which are all new additions so cant get secondhand and the unifrom is some money making racket id say im near a grand spent already and hes not even in the door yet...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Tell consultants to get ****ed if they attempt to charge you for an everything's grand 30 second visit. They usually back down. Thye know they are chancing their arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Being €1 short on a direct debit from my bank and being charged €10 in "returned direct debit fees" >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Tell consultants to get ****ed if they attempt to charge you for an everything's grand 30 second visit. They usually back down. Thye know they are chancing their arm.

I was so relieved to get the good news that I just paid up. But I was really
    annoyed at the way I was ripped off when I discovered what happened to
    my friend. Not that I would have swapped places with her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭ArtyC

Centra charging 50c extra to toast a sandwich. Told them to keep it. ****ing chancers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Consultants who have you make an appointment to tell you all is OK. That
    happened me once after I had a biopsy which was clear. I had originally paid
    him €150. Return visit cost me another €150. I could have been given the good
    news over the phone. The opposite happened to a friend of mine, who attended
    the same consultant but, unfortunately, was diagnosed with cancer. She WAS
    given the bad news over the phone, presumably because he was going to be
    seeing her again, ie., was going to be getting more money from her. :(:(

Fortunately, my friend is still with us as her cancer was caught in time. :)

I don't get it though, they tell you in advance how much the appointment is and while I know the cost is high, how do you justify telling someone to eff off that you're not paying it if you already know that all specialists charge this and this is the going rate???? :confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Babooshka wrote: »
    I don't get it though, they tell you in advance how much the appointment is and while I know the cost is high, how do you justify telling someone to eff off that you're not paying it if you already know that all specialists charge this and this is the going rate???? :confused::confused:
    No they dont! It's a follow up. If i had been told i would not have gone to it.

Tilly wrote: »
    No they dont! It's a follow up. If i had been told i would not have gone to it.

They told me in a letter how much a follow up would cost. Maybe they don't do it everywhere but they did for me.
    And it is pretty much the going rate for all specialists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭Jebus Diced

Subway trying to charge 30 cent more for a Cappachino with the €4 meal (even though there's a pic of a Cappachino on the ad for the €4 meal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 kmc25_1

I put a small amount away every month into a savings fund.
    Without me being notified the government started taking 1% of whatever i deposit.
    I'm basically being taxed for putting my money into the equivalent of a bank.
    The killer being if by some miracle the fund ever increases in value those feckers will take their capital gains tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

That €200 charge for registering to get married. Pure bollocks.

And not only that, you can't register online. You have make an appointment to go there in person during office hours.

So it's actually €200 and half a days wages to fill in a form that pretty much says that you want to get married and that the person you are getting married to isn't your brother/sister/child etc.

Pure bullsh1t but you can't get married if you don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

€200 to register a marriage and the / x €20 fees for birth certs - for some one to press Ctrl+P AND another €20 for a marriage cert after the wedding takes place.

It's madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

kmc25_1 wrote: »
    I put a small amount away every month into a savings fund.
    Without me being notified the government started taking 1% of whatever i deposit.
    I'm basically being taxed for putting my money into the equivalent of a bank.
    The killer being if by some miracle the fund ever increases in value those feckers will take their capital gains tax.

In fairness, they do this specifically to try and encourage you to spend your money rather than horde it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Did anyone mention the scourge that is universal fcuking social charge yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

ArtyC wrote: »
    Centra charging 50c extra to toast a sandwich. Told them to keep it. ****ing chancers

What would you think a fair charge would be?

Or do you expect stuff for free?

ArtyC wrote: »

I complained about that in writing and got a €10 voucher as a goodwill gesture off of them.

Valetta wrote: »

That's meant to be why shops mark up their product and it's more expensive than from the wholesalers...to cover overheads like staff pay, electrical, rent etc....you have already paid over the odds for the sandwich in the first place....you're not meant to be charged twice for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Would I expect a shop to pop my sandwich in a toaster for a minute free of charge? Yes I would. You've already paid for the f*cking sandwich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Babooshka wrote: »
    That's meant to be why shops mark up their product and it's more expensive than from the wholesalers...to cover overheads like staff pay, electrical, rent etc....you have already paid over the odds for the sandwich in the first place....you're not meant to be charged twice for it!

You're not being charged twice for it. You're being charged extra for extra service provided.
    Would I expect a shop to pop my sandwich in a toaster for a minute free of charge? Yes I would. You've already paid for the f*cking sandwich.

Would you buy a pack of rashers, tub of butter and a roll, pay for them and then ask the shop to make you a bacon roll- at no extra charge?

You're not being charged twice for it. You're being charged extra for extra service provided.

Would you buy a pack of rashers, tub of butter and a roll, pay for them and then ask the shop to make you a bacon roll- at no extra charge?

I think we got your point, we're just disagreeing with you, sticking a sandwich into a toaster for 30 seconds is not the same as making a bacon roll for someone, you know that now!