Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Not very trivial but I'm going to post in here instead of "offending" the "mourners" on Facebook.

A girl I was friends with a few years back killed herself. She was probably dead for the last 3 or so days but nobody cared enough to miss her until now. She was a bit unstable, got too much into drugs, and just seemed to be out of control. People, myself included, stopped hanging out with her the deeper she got into things.

My cousin stayed very close friends with her though and the girl would regularly call telling my cousin she was going to kill herself. The girls parents told my cousin at the time that she was beyond help, they were sick trying to help her and they were washing their hands of her. She had a boyfriend who she adored but he didnt want to be with her anymore, and she stopped going to work, lost her job, and just did drugs all the time. Everyone in our town would have known her, but nobody really had nice things to say about her.

My cousin hadnt heard from her for a few days, couldn't get in contact. She rang her ex boyfriend to see if he'd been talking to her, and nope. So, the boyfriend went around to check on her and found her.

Now almost every single status is a tribute to the girl, how lovely she was, how sad it is another young life taken, how she'll always be remembered, how she was such a beautiful girl, great friend. Bull. ****.

That girl had one real friend, nobody else gave a crap about her when she was alive. Nobody else missed her or didnt notice she wasnt around. She died lonely and completely alone with nobody there.

And now girls who used to fight with her in the local nightclub are there with their Facebook crocodile tears sending "tauts to her family". The same family who didnt even talk to her.

People suck

I've said it before, we as a nation are incredibly insincere when it comes to death.

Everyone automatically becomes a saint when they die and funerals are treated like a social event where you have to be seen to be seen.

When i die, burn me up ASAP and chuck the ashes in the bin. I don't want to be paraded around for 2 or 3 days being looked at by people i don't know or people who didn't like me anyway going on about what a "great man" i was when we all know i'm nothing but a bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Aw ye're all such a soppy bunch really :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

I've said it before, we as a nation are incredibly insincere when it comes to death.

Everyone automatically becomes a saint when they die and funerals are treated like a social event where you have to be seen to be seen.

When i die, burn me up ASAP and chuck the ashes in the bin. I don't want to be paraded around for 2 or 3 days being looked at by people i don't know or people who didn't like me anyway going on about what a "great man" i was when we all know i'm nothing but a bollix.

i agree... i have seen some very insincere moments at funerals that made my skin crawl as i knew the truth..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

My wife brought the kids off for a few days last year to visit relatives.
    It was a glorious time of steak, beer, playing music too loud, playing computer games in my boxer shorts and not shaving.

Every man should be entitled to a few days of this every year. I'm going to call it a 'mancation' and campaign for its introduction.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

chrysagon wrote: »
    Get the first tub of Ben and gerrys in ya!!!

Right, on the way home from work, I'm dropping into Dunnes. Should I go for multiple flavours, or just fill the freezer with Phish Food?
    jimgoose wrote: »
    Now let's not have any of that nonsense, BB. Think of it as a vacation for yourself, some proper "Me" time. Unleash the Wolf!! :cool:

AArrooooooooo! The Wolf of Wall Street Finlgas
    My wife brought the kids off for a few days last year to visit relatives.
    It was a glorious time of steak, beer, playing music too loud, playing computer games in my boxer shorts and not shaving.

Every man should be entitled to a few days of this every year. I'm going to call it a 'mancation' and campaign for its introduction.

I'm sure that will kick in once I dust off the Playstation controller and take my pants off.

Boom...now is the time to get in touch with yer inner HAIRY MAN !!

break out 2 tubs of Ben and Gerrys... crack open the playstation "die hard" and let the games begin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Boom_Bap wrote: »

I'm sure that will kick in once I dust off the Playstation controller and take my pants off.

I found removing my trousers helped with both the bloating and meat-sweats which resulted from eating all the steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...I've only got a bit more serious in recent months about running and at the point now where i'm pushing to run a bit further. Not focused that much on time, but I'm sure that will kick in. I'm still a sweaty mess though after about 15 seconds of running :D...

For logistical reasons way too boring to be bothered with, a few of my fellow forty-something wasters and myself play tennis for an hour at about 4pm on Tuesdays. All very laudable you may say, and indeed so. The trouble is, after all this high-energy trotting about the court walloping each other's balls, the inner Tyrannosaur escapes and we goes drinking porter down t'Woolpack, followed by ram-raiding the chipper across the road. It is possible that we are simply hopeless. :pac:

I found removing my trousers helped with both the bloating and meat-sweats which resulted from eating all the steak.

and when u fart, you dont have to use the dog as excuse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

abutler101 wrote: »
    People who are worried about all the "chemicals" they are exposed to

I suppose it depends where you live, I mean if you are Kurdish and Saddam and Chemical Ali were firing sh1t at you, I would be very concerned.
    Seemly with Sky news, theres no other news other than Robin williams suicide... no more bombings in Gaza OR killings in Iraq, families huddled in Churches to avoid the ISIS slaughter... none of that is happening today on Sky news.. just williams death...thrashy journalism

Don't watch it then....that's the problem, if people don't watch SKY news and don't buy THE STAR/MIRROR then they either change the way they do things or they go out of business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Ninjini

Just had two blokes at the door trying to sell the virtues of their church.

At first it was grand, I politely said no thank you, not interested.

They wouldn't budge from the door, the persistent fcukers and were starting to get on my last nerve.

So when one asked me "do you know where to find the answers in life?" I told him to give google a try and slammed the door in their faces.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

and when u fart, you dont have to use the dog as excuse!

I always blame the low flying ducks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

jimgoose wrote: »
    It's possible that I'm being hopelessly naïve here, but is there some reason why running britches don't cover ye're derrières? :pac:

I don't cover it because it's lovely, why should I cover it? :pac:

I always blame the low flying ducks.

That, or Mexican Barking Spiders. They get everywhere this time of year. :D

I don't cover it because it's lovely, why should I cover it? :pac:

Why indeed! Let those wonderful peaches run like the wind!! :D

What annoys me is that when you run past a girl who is out in the finest jogging pants, expensive trainers, high end running top......face full of make up, perfect hair, rich aroma of perfume.

But what does it matter? I commented on a woman who had done it during a recent race, and then have out sh*t that she had been hosed down by the civil defence fire brigade. But other than that, these ladies might have feck all confidence and feel the need to doll themselves up before the leave the house, or they may have gone out straight from work. Doesn't matter, they're working their asses off to be healthy, if a full face of make up is their thing then what of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,786 ✭✭✭KungPao

But what does it matter? I commented on a woman who had done it during a recent race, and then have out sh*t that she had been hosed down by the civil defence fire brigade. But other than that, these ladies might have feck all confidence and feel the need to doll themselves up before the leave the house, or they may have gone out straight from work. Doesn't matter, they're working their asses off to be healthy, if a full face of make up is their thing then what of it.
    Well, it's a trivial annoyance for him, in fairness.

KungPao wrote: »
    Well, it's a trivial annoyance for him, in fairness.

His post trivially annoyed me, and this isn't ranting and raving :p

Sometimes when things are made more logical, or reasoned, they become less annoying :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

I feel like going for a run after all this running talks. I'm not a runner and I can't run anyway. Stop it already :mad:

This isn't ranting and raving though :p

Sometimes when things are made more logical, or reasoned, they become less annoying :)

You're one of those annoying wans that would knock ya out with perfum, aren't ya? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,791 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

czechlin wrote: »
    I feel like going for a run after all this running talks. I'm not a runner and I can't run anyway. Stop it already :mad:

Same here. I used to do it, maybe I should get the gear on again! (although in summertime I leave puddles of sweat after me :eek:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Would the makeup not just end up running down your face in little rivulets making you look a like a melting wax model? Admittedly, my experience with makeup is minimal. At best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

czechlin wrote: »

Well, just don't do it in your pencil skirt and Ugg boots:D

eisenberg1 wrote: »

That's the sort of thing I expect you'd find czechlin 2.0 doing.

You're one of those annoying wans that would knock ya out with perfum, aren't ya? :pac:

Nah, I'm not, I barely wear make up to work (I do love perfume though), but I once had a friend who carried make up everywhere she went and wore it to the gym because she thought she was so ugly without it. She wasn't, of course. I just think of someone is going to the effort of doing themselves up to have I run down their face, there might be a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭sebcity

When the paper towel dispenser is packed tight with paper towels. So tight that you can't pull the towels out without just ripping tiny piece off with your fingers.

eisenberg1 wrote: »

You can probably get a special jogging pencil-skirt with no arse in it. Hoo-yah!! :cool:

Admittedly, my experience with makeup is minimal. At best.

Suuuurrrrrreeee. :rolleyes: ;)

No way would I run with a face full of slap. If I'm doing any form of exercise, no makeup. I'm too lazy for that shít. Different strokes for different folks I guess.

I might put a bit of slap on at the weekends...sometimes....really depends...I think I wore it twice this year.

EDIT: But I do have friends who wouldn't leave the house without it, EVER, no matter what. As Whoops said, confidence issues. I remember seeing one out without it one time and she nearly ran away from me, she didn't want to be seen. :-/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Can I just apologise for my post? Reading it back, I didn't mean for it to come across as heartless as it did. I genuinely didn't.

I meant to portray my point in the way that I hate thee outpouring of grief on social media whereby the poster probably has never even seen films by the deceased, probably wasn't even a fan...the RIP thing is just to garner attention to themselves.

I think this sums up my feelings perfectly:

"It always bothers me to see people writing ‘RIP’ when a person dies. It just feels so insincere and like a cop-out. To me, ‘RIP’ is the microwave dinner of posthumous honours”-Lou Reed

Suuuurrrrrreeee. :rolleyes: ;)

No way would I run with a face full of slap. If I'm doing any form of exercise, no makeup. I'm too lazy for that shít. Different strokes for different folks I guess.

I might put a bit of slap on at the weekends...sometimes....really depends...I think I wore it twice this year.

Look at you with your self assuredness and comfort in your own skin. Less of that please, more conforming to societal expectations.