Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Note in OP, 13/8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The impending sale? Who is buying Ando?

Have you anything other then your own repetition to support your hypothesis by the way?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

when you see the wages that the likes of Ando are on, it would even make sense to sell him for free as opposed to him sitting in the reserves for the year.

And if you factor the catering bill into the mix, it would make sense for us to pay someone to take him off our hands...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Daily Express quoting Roma DoF, Walter Sabatini, on Benatia;
    Sabatini said: "I believe that Mehdi has been influenced by his agent. He speaks of €30m (£24.4m), so we need at least €60 maybe even €61.

"Anyone who wants Benatia will have to pay €61 (£49.6m)."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

how long do people thing LVG will be our manager? i expect he will be gone in 2 or 3 years, trouble will brew between him and the board quickly once things settle in.

cant see him and Woodward getting on well, LVG already has been vocal about certain things night being right and that eventually wont go down well, unless the results match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Benatia going off to the African cup of nations in mid season wouldn't be very helpful if we signed him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Watched the Pat Crerand show on MUTV, Tony from Bury called in and said he watched all the preseason matches, in his opinion United should sell all the team bar 4 players though it became 5...
    De Gea, Shaw, Herrera, Mata and Rooney and we would get £130 million for the players sold.
    It gave me a laugh.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Nuts102 wrote: »
    He scored 11 in 17 at 17 in a tough league. He scored 21 goals in 17 games at under 20 level and 2 goals in 3 appearances for the senior team at 17.

He didn't get a chance on loan at Wigan and last year he never got a consistent run of games to prove himself. Also factor in moving from South America and having an injury to overcome.

He is only 20 yrs old i don't know how you can write him off. What would we get 2 or 3 million for him it would make no sense to sell him. Hopefully a good season on loan and he comes back next season as a squad player.

That's all very well and good.

You keep saying he scored loads in a tough league? Ya when I think of tough leagues Mexico is in the top... 50?

He was average at u21's for us. Can't remember him scoring at all for us. He couldn't get game time at Wigan or in Spain. He got 1 for Wigan and a handful in Spain. He's now in Crotia. As I said he's a hard worker but imo nowhere near good enough for united. Maybe a low end prem league club if he develops. Maybe even higher but from watching him he has a long long way to go. He's not particularly quick, doesn't have an amazing first touch, he's aggressive and good in the air. Not overly clinical. bearing in mind I've only watched him since moving to united, so have no knowledge of how amazing he was in Mexico.

So while you might be disappointed. I will not miss him at all. We have better under age strikers and better strikers ahead of him. I'd have got more game time this season at united.

Basically we took a punt, it didn't work out. Maybe he'll be a Biram Diouf and if so, fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Irish94

Henriquez joins Dinamo Zagreb on loan;
    ''I am happy with my arrival at Dinamo, with whom I want to do good things'', Henriquez told the Croatian club's website.

''I have a lot of motivation and I want to prove myself and I believe Dinamo is a great club for it.''

Full article: http://www1.skysports.com/transfer/news/12691/9417693/transfer-news-manchester-uniteds-angelo-henriquez-joins-dinamo-zagreb-on-loan

TheTownie wrote: »
    Daily Express quoting Roma DoF, Walter Sabatini, on Benatia;

Ah the David Luiz transfer is now working out well for PSG. We over pay for average defender to make other teams go bankrupt by having to pay even more for good players. Pretty sneaky PSG. Pretty damn sneaky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,266 ✭✭✭Unearthly

i wonder how much of our delayed transfer activity this summer is actually down to wanting players off the wage bill first before we bring anymore in?

weve got rid of 9 with possibly 3 more to go and only signed 2..perhaps if one more from Anderson, Fellaini and nani goes (another £12m worth of wages there), then we will act or now, are in a position to act.

our wage bill was projected to rise to around £200million going off what Woodward said 3 months ago in the Q3 financials, but at the moment its around £33.9m off that with impending sale of Ando to bring that to £37m. now, if Woodward is being true to his word, thats means a serious amount of top players are due to come in over the next 3 weeks, as that would be equivelent to 3 players on 150k plus a week being signed and we still have more budget left (allowing for wage increases and Moyes pay off).

when you see the wages that the likes of Ando are on, it would even make sense to sell him for free as opposed to him sitting in the reserves for the year.

You would have to feel now that the projected salary bill won't be reached.

Something has gone wrong this summer. Whether its Woodward not expecting LVG to veto targets they had worked on all year, or failing to sign players targeted. There was so many briefings to press that this would be a big Summer and the objective was to have 2 signings done before world cup let alone halfway through August.

Still time to rescue the window though

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Zagreb is not Russia and Henriquez played in Chile but yeah his actual play for United wasn't impressive. But his eye for goal is very good, surprised he is heading for Croatia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Benatia going off to the African cup of nations in mid season wouldn't be very helpful if we signed him.

Pain in the a$$ alright. Why is it every two years too?

UEFA, CONMEBOL, AFC, OFC hold their tournaments every 4 years.

CAF and CONCACAF every 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,248 ✭✭✭✭dahat

So then LVG v Ed, who wins the struggle between commercial and transfer targets over the next 3 seasons?

You would think Ed would but if targets aren't got and CL suffers you would think Ed will be in the firing line pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭steoin

how long do people thing LVG will be our manager? i expect he will be gone in 2 or 3 years, trouble will brew between him and the board quickly once things settle in.

cant see him and Woodward getting on well, LVG already has been vocal about certain things night being right and that eventually wont go down well, unless the results match.

Well, I'd imagine a good chunk of the posters here feel Ed will be off first. But personally, and I hope I'm wrong, but cant see him staying for more that 3 or 4 years. IIRC he generally only seems to stay at a club for a handful of years before moving on, and I think you've hit the nail on the head with the potential issue with the hierarchy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

i wonder how much of our delayed transfer activity this summer is actually down to wanting players off the wage bill first before we bring anymore in?

weve got rid of 9 with possibly 3 more to go and only signed 2..perhaps if one more from Anderson, Fellaini and nani goes (another £12m worth of wages there), then we will act or now, are in a position to act.

our wage bill was projected to rise to around £200million going off what Woodward said 3 months ago in the Q3 financials, but at the moment its around £33.9m off that with impending sale of Ando to bring that to £37m. now, if Woodward is being true to his word, thats means a serious amount of top players are due to come in over the next 3 weeks, as that would be equivelent to 3 players on 150k plus a week being signed and we still have more budget left (allowing for wage increases and Moyes pay off).

Tbh I'm slowly coming to the idea that we simply have went for players that have ended up choosing clubs other than us.

I mean with the experience of last Summer and the glaring holes in our squad, surely it's more likely than unlikely that we've been chasing players. But, à la Kroos and Vermaelen, they've been ones who have simply chosen someone else over us or have changed their mind or some factor has led them to just say ''no''.

I simply think that if all of us can point out so many potential players that could improve us, and with us having so many problems, the club can't have been sitting on their arse for the last 10 weeks and have to have been at something but have came up short.

DM-ICE wrote: »
    Zagreb is not Russia and Henriquez played in Chile but yeah his actual play for United wasn't impressive. But his eye for goal is very good, surprised he is heading for Croatia.

My bad on the russia, i just don't see it. He's looked average anytime at underage and couldn't get a game at Wigan. 6 in 25 in Spain apparently. If people are sad to see him go watch more u21 games.

lordgoat wrote: »
    My bad on the russia, i just don't see it. He's looked average anytime at underage and couldn't get a game at Wigan. 6 in 25 in Spain apparently. If people are sad to see him go watch more u21 games.

I think you nailed it when you wished him luck. Just not a player who was going to break through at United.

Senior football in a decent league might improve his game. He doesn't have the pace or touch of someone like Wilson. I would even rate Tom Lawrence to be much better than Henriquez and he will struggle to do much at OT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

lordgoat wrote: »

That's in a team that came 14th in the Spanish Second Division too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Ah Homer, you've got yourself into a right tizzy and the season hasn't even started. You'll be all tuckered out with this negativity. The bloke is 4 weeks in the job and you're prophesying the rise and fall. Madness.

I don't really see a middle ground with Van Gaal. I think that he'll either be a massive success or a spectacular failure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

I don't really see a middle ground with Van Gaal. I think that he'll either be a massive success or a spectacular failure.

I'm expecting poor results from United until Christmas then he'll turn it around and have a late push at the top 4. It's 15/16 he'll really show his worth with a title push before stepping aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Jaysus this place is very negative tonight. Cheer up lads and LVG is not Moyes no.2

There is no middle ground for Manchester United. Doesn't matter who the manager is, success or out will be the order when they are after the big sponsorship money I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

We've a game against Valencia tomorrow lads, would ya's chill out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭twam2008

I'm expecting poor results from United until Christmas then he'll turn it around and have a late push at the top 4. It's 15/16 he'll really show his worth with a title push before stepping aside.

I'm in the wins till October camp

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

DM-ICE wrote: »
    There is no middle ground for Manchester United. Doesn't matter who the manager is, success or out will be the order when they are after the big sponsorship money I think.

That attitude would have seen Ferguson shipped out in 1989.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

That attitude would have seen Ferguson shipped out in 1989.

Sorry but that's bollocks. Football has changed. If a young SAF started now and finished outside top four he'd get the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Call Homer negative all you like I can see what he is saying.

United have no right to be in top 4 or top of league.

You have to earn that from multiple ways but one is buying quality players.

We are 1 week away from start of season with 2 players bought and still 2-3 badly needed

now maybe we have deal or 2 done. Maybe we will be thrilled come end of month.

But when I see posters thinking Young is just gonna turn messi esq it fills me with little dread.

Maybe I will be wrong. I hope so.

EVENFLOW

Sorry but that's bollocks. Football has changed. If a young SAF started now and finished outside top four he'd get the boot.

Fergie also took over a drunken rabble who hadn't won the League for 18 years...David Moyes and Louis Van Gaal were/are in a slightly different position...