Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

On the tweet machine... :P

2wflnkk.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

GvidoR wrote: »
    After 25 minutes on the phone with Axa I got a quote for 2 grand on third party. :/

Not sure if I'll get anything better than 950.

Who are you with now? Have you checked Aviva?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

On the tweet machine... :P

result.jpg?1407349017.63251

That's an old joke. The first time I heard it was on a prank call on youtube the women on the other end was in stitches and even said to the guy at the end that he made her day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

New front tyres today. It's a great feeling having a decent brand tyre on the car. Nothing worst than having random brand tyres that are fine in dry weather but just aren't good enough when pushed in the wet. Also it's great having smaller sized alloys when it comes to buying tyres. It's not even funny how cheap I got Bridgestone turanzas for granted a relation supplied and fitted them so he have me a great deal but even retail on them they are extremely reasonable. I might as well enjoy it now as I'm sure I'll be paying 17-18 inch tyres prices for long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I bloody love having new tyres, my car handles like a go kart :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Who are you with now? Have you checked Aviva?

Went through coverinaclick.ie

Don't know who the real insurer is, I have papers from Willis, Lloyds and Asgard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

GvidoR wrote: »
    Went through coverinaclick.ie

Don't know who the real insurer is, I have papers from Willis, Lloyds and Asgard.

Asgard policies were underwritten by Lloyds iirc.

I had one back in the day when I had a provisional and no NCB / 1 year NCB.

Asgard was listed on the Motortax website when I was paying tax so I would go with that.

Willies might be a broker in this case.

They offered me a great financial comfort compared to Aviva and everyone else really. Never claimed so it is hard to say if it is worth it.

Right lads I'm in a bit of a situation

I'm getting a few bits and bobs for the old 900, problem is, being the age it is parts aren't so readily available :o the local motorfactors could only source two of 14 things I'm after and I'm waiting on another to get back to me, so I went online

Partsforsaabs has 90% of the things I need for the princely sum of 232 euro so that would be
    63t4c8.jpg
    And shipping

These guys are tied to saab themselves apparently so i know I'm getting the right things, however, good ol reliable neo bros have a similar thing going on

the list for them amounts to about 125 euro with shipping

1 x Water Drainage Cover (On Block), Genuine Saab 900 Classic 86-93 £23.94
    1 x Rotor Arm, Alternative Saab 900 Classic 16v & 9000 £11.94
    1 x Distributor/Rotor Cap, Alternative Saab 900 Classic & 9000 - 93 £5.34
    1 x Gasket valve Cover, Alternative Saab 900, 9000 86-93, B202 £8.34
    1 x Coolant Pump, Alternative Saab 900 Classic 82-93 £25.80
    1 x Thermostat Kit, Genuine 900 Classic, 9000, NG900, 9-3 & 9-5

They don't have the oil switch or o2 sensor however they have a drainage cover which are known to go bad on these, I could just order this separately i know, but I'm not paying nearly 60 euro for one part

And last but not least keeping it "local" I had a look at micksgarage who I haven't had the best experience with in the past, but the cheapest at 88 euro, but again missing a few things

2cgingx.jpg

So people what do?

Pick B!!

How would one work things out in this situation. Person wants to get wheels off Done Deal, wheels are for sale in Donegal, person lives in Mayo. Drive is 4 hours away, so that is out. Courier works out at €25 on a quick check. How would one pay for said wheels, without meeting the seller, and be sure that they don't take the money and keep the wheels :confused:

Pick B!!

How would one work things out in this situation. Person wants to get wheels off Done Deal, wheels are for sale in Donegal, person lives in Mayo. Drive is 4 hours away, so that is out. Courier works out at €25 on a quick check. How would one pay for said wheels, without meeting the seller, and be sure that they don't take the money and keep the wheels :confused:

But B has less stuff!! :o

Send them half and then half when you get the wheels?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Pick B!!

Paypal...or have yee not heard of that yet in the sticks

Shup t'feck ye bunch of bullies, never thought of that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

....well, that was cool. Dangerous but cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/7438614

I like this one. ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Actually got to check my car last night, wheels are freely moving all around. Not a sticky caliber.

But will have to do the brakes soon.

think I'll do a brake and suspension overhaul in a few weeks time.

New brakes front and back (poxy shoes and drums) front ball joints/tie rod ends and track rods, front droplinks , 4 new tyres and a tracking.

wonder how easy all that is . Never done a ball joint before or track rod but i think its just screwing them off ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Actually got to check my car

wonder how easy all that is . Never done a ball joint before or track rod but i think its just screwing them off ?

I am going to be doing brakes myself in a few hours, just waiting on the discs to arrive, the pads came yesterday. Never done brakes before but looks easy. The only issue I have is getting all my tools, 2 brake discs, pads, trolly jack and stands to my job where the car is, would be heavy enough to carry in a backpack on the train.

In regards to the ball joint I think you need a ball joint separator tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Actually got to check my car last night, wheels are freely moving all around. Not a sticky caliber.

But will have to do the brakes soon.

think I'll do a brake and suspension overhaul in a few weeks time.

New brakes front and back (poxy shoes and drums) front ball joints/tie rod ends and track rods, front droplinks , 4 new tyres and a tracking.

balljoints can be a prick to tighten as the inner ball can spin sooner than the nut can actually tighten. Keep the hub weighted to keep pressure on it. As for track rods, mark the position of the nut with tippex or such so you can replace it close to the same point and not affect tracking too much until you can get it tracked :)

Cheers for the tippex idea but I'll be throwing out the track rods too :P

I wonder how easy it is to do that list just by jacking up the front of the car.....was hoping wouldnt need special tools :/

I know brakes to be simple !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What would cause slight vibration above 90kmph ?

Tracking was done when new tyres went on.
    Not a buckled wheel.
    Brakes are new and steady so not that.
    Also slight clonk going into 1st and reverse.

CV joint ?

OSI wrote: »
    Bad engine mount?

Good call never thought of that and they do tend to go around the 200k km mark on these.

Now that I think about it the driveshaft bolts may need replacing with XC90 ones too. Would explain the clonking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

What would cause slight vibration above 90kmph ?

Tracking was done when new tyres went on.
    Not a buckled wheel.
    Brakes are new and steady so not that.
    Also slight clonk going into 1st and reverse.

CV joint ?

Ball joint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

The engine mount has a plastic cap that can be removed. If the gel pad has ruptured then it will need replacing. There is a lower engine / gearbox mount (dogbone) awkward fiddly bast'd to do.

Insurance renewal in, 100 lower than last year...not bad!
    Challengmaster, liberty mustn't have liked you or something, I was fearing a 50% jump.
    Now to ring the rest up and see if they can beat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Insurance renewal in, 100 lower than last year...not bad!
    Challengmaster, liberty mustn't have liked you or something, I was fearing a 50% jump.
    Now to ring the rest up and see if they can beat it.

Sounds about right :pac:

I wonder do they give Alfa drivers a discount knowing they won't be on the road for most of the year?

Well played sir, well played :D

I wonder do they give Alfa drivers a discount knowing they won't be on the road for most of the year?

That put a smile in my face in work! Great one...when you hopefully are able to go shopping for that 159 in a few months time, you'll know why they're so cheap! The sheep don't want them.

The sheep all want reliable swedish cars.

eep :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Anyone on here working on a black E46? Walked past a lad beavering away on it for a few days now.

Finglas area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

That was quite the loooool OSI :D but it's a kick in the face when the Merc is cheaper to insure than a 1.6 156.... Maybe they're anticipating an overuse of breakdown assistance :p

In other news, I've been busy studying for repeats. Booo :( woke up this morning, eyes in bits like I was still stocious on waking, think I need to tone the laptop usage down :o seeing as last night there was some welding done, that wouldn't have helped either! So all of today I've been wearing sunglasses and blinking like I've had a glass of potín :pac:

A nice relaxing day today, putting a belt and pump on an Alfa 3.0 V6. Help me :(

At least I have lots of company in the form of pigeons :D

And just like old times, theres a 406 parked at the field across my house, for farming work in the field :cool: