Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

S60 seems to be running not too bad, seems to be conking if left idling and needs a slight rev at junctions to not stall. Having Air-con off helps.

Besaides that im really starting to love my barge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

S60 seems to be running not too bad, seems to be conking if left idling and needs a slight rev at junctions to not stall. Having Air-con off helps.

Dem sweedish traits, mine does the same in the mornings, it's also grown fond of knocking off the left headlight, hit it and on it goes again :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

You haven't had the easiest start with that car. Hopefully it all comes right looks like a really nice car I'd imagine its nice on a long drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Just collected my car.

There was no fuel in it when i left or in. ... now there's plenty. ... that might explain some of my bill !

Doing the opposite to this is a reason I wouldn't go back to a garage!
    Particularly when it's brought up and a shrug of the shoulders is a the response!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Car felt like it had a puncture on the nearside front tyre this evening, was very lumpy driving along.

Doesn't have a puncture, need to check the tyre pressure, but is it possible I've had a shock go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Breakers didn't have the original cd radios for the focus today, but had 3 of the tape ones..... and I bought one, couldn't stand the one that was in it, so it's an improvement, old skewl! Never play cd's anyway.
    Came across this yoke before, anyone used them before?
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Car-Audio-Tape-Cassette-To-Jack-AUX-For-IPOD-MP3-IPhone-3-5mm-Conection-to-Car-/120919317790?pt=UK_AudioVideoElectronics_PortableAudio_MP3PlayerCarKits&hash=item1c275a5d1e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Yeah, I had one of those a while back.

Yeah they're grand for what they do noccy, nothing amazing but decent like

GvidoR wrote: »
    Yeah, I had one of those a while back.

Any good? says the sound quality ain't the best. Don't really play music off my phone too often anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Any good? says the sound quality ain't the best. Don't really play music off my phone too often anyway.

They can be a life saver if you're stuck with a tape deck. The quality is okay, but nothing amazing like Mr. Pickles said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I never use a cd player/tape deck in a car.

I listen to whatever is on Nova and if I don't like it I roll down the window and listen to traffic.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I never use a cd player/tape deck in a car.

I listen to whatever is on Nova and if I don't like it I roll down the window and listen to traffic.

I used to listen to phantom, but ever since it changed to that txfm thing its turned to pure sh1te, cd's mainly for me

Everytime I go near the big smoke I have to rearrange all my presets to the local ones :(

Today fm, and iRadio are all that I really listen to.. or if mam is in the car she needs to listen to the death notices on Mid West Radio :pac:

And Spin SW, I'm just on the cusp of getting the signal, more often than not it's a bad signal.

You can tell you're from the sticks :pac:

*dis thanks and reports poster*

Ah heyor! :pac: So am i! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Dublin city fm is a good one around the city. I used to love the morning show when I was commuting. Great music selection, minimal ads, and the traffic banter was actually useful.

Need to bitch about this somewhere, I was charged €1.20 for a Yorkie in a shop today :eek: A normal shop, not secluded or anything, ridiculous!!

Whenever a new car comes into work, I always have a guess at what kind of person the previous owner was by the stations on the radio :P

Need to bitch about this somewhere, I was charged €1.20 for a Yorkie in a shop today :eek: A normal shop, not secluded or anything, ridiculous!!

And now noccy, how did it make ye feeeeel?

hqdefault.jpg

It deeply upset me to be honest. :P Only had change in my pocket after spending €90 in the breakers. Didn't happen to me this time, but have you ever gone to pay for something and not have enough to pay for it, then take the walk of shame to put it back, brings me back to my childhood!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Whenever a new car comes into work, I always have a guess at what kind of person the previous owner was by the stations on the radio :P

So what does a newstalk listener stereotype as....

Ahhhh jayyyysis :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

60% of Lexus drivers have The Sultans of Swing-the best of Dire Straits in the CD changer. Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I used to listen to phantom, but ever since it changed to that txfm thing its turned to pure sh1te, cd's mainly for me

TXFM isn't the worst

I've a selection of stations.

RTE1/Newstalk to see what's going on in the world. Off the ball in the evening. And Tom Dunne in the evening on Newstalk. (Where else would you hear Neil Young and then The Cardigans following)
    TXFM or Nova for some music.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    60% of Lexus drivers have The Sultans of Swing-the best of Dire Straits in the CD changer. Fact.

100% of post 2005 Lexus driver's own at least one pair of beige trousers too.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    TXFM isn't the worst

I've a selection of stations.

RTE1/Newstalk to see what's going on in the world. Off the ball in the evening. And Tom Dunne in the evening on Newstalk. (Where else would you hear Neil Young and then The Cardigans following)
    TXFM or Nova for some music.

It's alright up till 2, the weekend and some of the late hour stuff, but yer man who does the drive time slot and the sports lads, i can't tolerate them, they bore the backside off me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

It's alright up till 2, the weekend and some of the late hour stuff, but yer man who does the drive time slot and the sports lads, i can't tolerate them, they bore the backside off me

Sports you go to Newstalk. Drive time? I'm usually in work still haha. Off the ball does be on when I'm going home.

Of failing all that, my phone works instead

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Sports you go to Newstalk. Drive time? I'm usually in work still haha. Off the ball does be on when I'm going home.

Of failing all that, my phone works instead

Yeah i just trawl youtube for new music and use that, win win really, I bought some turtle wax metallic today, i might clean the car tomorrow......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I never listen to the radio, I just use a usb stick with a few hundred songs and sometimes I add or remove some if I get bored. I am the same with what I watch, I dont watch television and instead just download or stream what I want.