Vodafone Smart 3 ...4" android...20euro when switching to vodafone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

Not that great when you consider how much more expensive Vodafone is. Vodafone are hemorrhaging customers, I read they've lost 34,000 customers so far this year. They need to offer better deals to compete especially now Three bought O2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

you just unlock it for a euro when you get it

But you've already ported your number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Etnies

Saving 15 Euro on a phone that isn't even worth what they're selling it for and its out of stock and you'd need to have a SIM to port over hardly worth it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

But you've already ported your number

you use a free sim

i got 2 this week already in the post from emobile and tesco

and then you put in your real sim into the phone if you want

Hold on, this is the smart 3, not the 4. How is this a bargain?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Hold on, this is the smart 3, not the 4. How is this a bargain?
    A smartphone for €20 is a bargain

snubbleste wrote: »
    A smartphone for €20 is a bargain

Not really, budget Android smartphones are a horrible way to experience Android

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leo2a6

where ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Not really, budget Android smartphones are a horrible way to experience Android

Its actually not too bad tbh, at 20 its is definitely a bargain standby phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭peckerhead

projectgtr wrote: »
    Its actually not too bad tbh, at 20 its is definitely a bargain standby phone
    +1. A distinct step up from the likes of the Galaxy Y, etc.

Jaysus, some people are never happy. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

how would it compare to a SAMSUNG GT-S5570 GALAXY ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭zom

Not bad phone, quite slim, a bit slow but that's what you expect for the price. The only major issue is slippery plastic used for cover - giving no grip at all. I would love to use it but I continuously worry I would lost it...
    I tried to find some silicon case for it on ebay (I got the phone year ago) but I coudn't. Let me know if anyone found some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leo2a6

where do u unlock it for 1 euro please ?

£0.99/€1.24 here.
    Gel case €5.21 here.
    Flip case €6.67 here.

Get with the program, lads! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭KCAccidental

my housemate had one of these phones. Christ it was painful to use! I can see how it would be a good deal as a backup/emergency phone. Day to day use, not a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Big Nelly wrote: »
    how would it compare to a SAMSUNG GT-S5570 GALAXY ?

It is a vastly superior phone.
    Faster cpu, bigger screen ,higher resolution,more memory ,newer software ,no comparison really.
    Its a great phone for the money ,I have one for the last 7 months and it has never given me an ounce of trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭breathn

I have had one since christmas. Mine is fairly unstable, apps crash if left running for too long (vodafone time service crashes a good bit too), and when I have GPS turned on when an app is using it the whole device crashes and reboots a lot.

Handy for a backup phone but not worth porting your number for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Zardoz

breathn wrote: »
    I have had one since christmas. Mine is fairly unstable, apps crash if left running for too long (vodafone time service crashes a good bit too), and when I have GPS turned on when an app is using it the whole device crashes and reboots a lot.

Handy for a backup phone but not worth porting your number for this.

You dont have to port your number ,just port a free Tesco sim ,thats what I do all the time.

Zardoz wrote: »
    It is a vastly superior phone.
    Faster cpu, bigger screen ,higher resolution,more memory ,newer software ,no comparison really.
    Its a great phone for the money ,I have one for the last 7 months and it has never given me an ounce of trouble.

My young lad has the Samsung as his main phone, uses viber and some games and nothing else, would this do the job? No point spending big money as he has a habit of losing/breaking stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭beardo81

Out of stock online, now showing €40 too. Same deal in store?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

I got this phone for my Mam for Christmas and she uses it solely for QuizUp!

It's a grand little phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,493 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

beardo81 wrote: »
    Out of stock online, now showing €40 too. Same deal in store?
    Out of stock as of 8.45 this morning. €39.99 but small print says 20quid off if you port.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭kumar_aq

Back in Stock today. Was wondering if Vodafone Smart 4 mini is a better bargain. Its 60 - 20 = 40 (when you switch from another network).

That's what I'd do, tbh. That's what I happily paid for the Smart III just before last Christmas, and the Smart 4 mini claims better battery life (and has a dual-core processor).

Then again, it's twice the price! :D — and the III has a 5Mp camera over the 4 mini's 3.2Mp.... compare here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭kumar_aq

This is a full comparison.
    http://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=6295&idPhone2=5464

Smart 3 - Has a better camera
    Smart 4 mini - Has a better processor, lighter and better battery life

back in stock, just ordered one for the little lad....might keep for a while as second phone.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭frankz

kumar_aq wrote: »
    Back in Stock today. Was wondering if Vodafone Smart 4 mini is a better bargain. Its 60 - 20 = 40 (when you switch from another network).

The smart 4 mini was €49.99 (less €20 if you port) last week so they have upped it by a tenner - I would hold off and they will probably advertise a new "sale price" of 49.99 on this phone in about a month!

Its grand at the price but is you are used to Samsung (like me) the screen is poor and the keyboard frustrating. Grand as back up or take with you hiking/mountain biking phone etc but thats about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭beardo81

Bought this tonight, anyone put a custom rom on it and clear and bloat?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭Tinie

beardo81 wrote: »
    Bought this tonight, anyone put a custom rom on it and clear and bloat?

I highly doubt there's a big enough community for maintaining custom ROMs.

Best bet would be to root it and put titanium backup on it to clear the crap.