Do cops ever feel bad about snitching all the time?

• 04-08-2014 04:10AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭

I asked my sister’s friend this when she joined the guards. She looked dumbfounded when I asked. It didn’t even cross her mind that the person she was giving evidence against might end up in prison.
    I wouldn’t even put my dog in a cage for more than a day but these guys are putting people in cells for years???
    I can sleep well knowing my conscience is clear but can police officers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I asked my sister’s friend this when she joined the guards. She looked dumbfounded when I asked. It didn’t even cross her mind that the person she was giving evidence against might end up in prison.
    I wouldn’t even put my dog in a cage for more than a day but these guys are putting people in cells for years???

I would too if a relative asked me something so stupid.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

It didn’t even cross her mind that the person she was giving evidence against might end up in prison.

You talk as if they do it for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

OK. That's enough stupid for one night. Off to sleep now for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Telling your mum that your sister was out with a boy and not in the library is snitching.

Telling a judge that you arrested a man for murder based on evidence is justice. Would you rather Gardai literally let people get away with murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Gotham

I had a German friend who visited a few years ago. She had her camera stolen in a pub and went to the Gardaí. They actually somehow found the culprits; two teenagers had robbed it.
    The Garda, a woman, wouldn't allow my friend to punish them. The Garda said "it'll be on their permanent records, it'll ruin their life". Very confusing situation and my friend eventually caved and let them go free, she wasn't happy being guilted like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

FunLover18 wrote: »
    Telling your mum that your sister was out with a boy and not in the library is snitching.

Telling a judge that you arrested a man for murder based on evidence is justice. Would you rather Gardai literally let people get away with murder.

You must be a troll

Are cops not supposed to have a crisis of conscience now and again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Dogs don't sadistically assault, rape or murder like the kind of scum we put in cells for years do.

Boards, where's the downvote button?
    Gotham wrote: »
    The Garda, a woman, wouldn't allow my friend to punish them. The Garda said "it'll be on their permanent records, it'll ruin their life"

What she meant to say was "I'll have to do paperwork, it'll ruin my night".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Where is that poster who likes cake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

I imagine in certain cases they would feel a smidgeon of compassion for the accused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Are cops not supposed to have a crisis of conscience now and again?

If you have a crisis of conscience over sending a murderer to prison then perhaps the gardaí isn't for you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Gotham wrote: »
    I had a German friend who visited a few years ago. She had her camera stolen in a pub and went to the Gardaí. They actually somehow found the culprits; two teenagers had robbed it.
    The Garda, a woman, wouldn't allow my friend to punish them. The Garda said "it'll be on their permanent records, it'll ruin their life". Very confusing situation and my friend eventually caved and let them go free, she wasn't happy being guilted like that.

I can sort of understand this; but there are two sides.

1. Would you really want to ruin someone's life with a criminal record over a camera?
    2. Would you really want to ruin your life with a criminal record over a camera?

The OP is having a laugh with his Gardai are snitches nonsense but I don't believe that crime is as black and white as all criminals are scum, and I'm not saying they're all damaged goods who can become better people given the right opportunity either. I think the garda had good intentions but whether to press charges (in cases like this) should be the choice of the victim and they shouldn't be pressured either way

GerB40 wrote: »
    If you have a crisis of conscience over sending a murderer to prison then perhaps the gardaí isn't for you...

I read somewhere that the old Brehon system didn't jail people for murder but just made the killers compensate families for distress caused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

"Ok Guard, fair enough, you caught me speeding but there's no need to grass on me now ffs".

I might try it for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,372 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Why would the police feel bad when all they're doing is telling the truth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

Yes we'd all sleep more soundly knowing that thieves, murderers, rapists, pedophiles, drug dealers and terrorists were finally free from the scourge of lowlife snitches and summary justice.

Fair point.

Owenw wrote: »
    Yes we'd all sleep more soundly knowing that thieves, murderers, rapists, pedophiles, drug dealers and terrorists were finally free from the scourge of lowlife snitches and summary justice.

what about embezzlement or crimes committed by the strike of a pen? these crimes are often committed by professionals or once respected people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭stmol32

When I was a kid in school we were always told not to be snitching to the teachers or anyone in authority no matter what.
    Even when someone was being really bullying or doing something really scumbaggy you would never even contemplate the idea of telling on them because that was somehow worse than the original destructive behaviour someone was doing to you.

It was only as an adult I realised that the people who put that idea in me head (the idea that telling was worse than anything) were always the same people who were doing the bullying and/or scumbag things in the first place.

So basically these people came up with a rule to justify their own bad behaviour and put the onus of enforcing it on you :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

what about embezzlement or crimes committed by the strike of a pen? these crimes are often committed by professionals or once respected people.

They knowingly broke the law, knew the risks, got caught and must pay the price. The money they stole ultimately comes out of customers or taxpayers pockets.

Why do you think it's wrong for the guards to report on criminals and therefore feel guilt?

Owenw wrote: »
    They knowingly broke the law, knew the risks, got caught and must pay the price. The money they stole ultimately comes out of customers or taxpayers pockets.

Why do you think it's wrong for the guards to report on criminals and therefore feel guilt?

It would depend on the circumstances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Think about it...
    A cop wouldn't really be called a snitch unless he snitched to the bad guys!
    It would go something like this.. (In a 1930s Chicago brogue, of course)
    Guard: Hey Tommy two chins.
    Tommy Two chins: Yeah wa da ya want ya shmuck.
    Guard: I just seen Tommy Tight Lips helping an old lady cross the road.
    Tommy Two Chins: Why I outa, dat knuckle head, I tell ya I never trusted dat guy, hes gonna be sleepin with de fishes I tell ya....
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

I read somewhere that the old Brehon system didn't jail people for murder but just made the killers compensate families for distress caused.

Still common up until recently in many Tribal Communities.
    There would be a trial, and a meeting of the family to agree the compensation, for the victims family and that was that.
    It was originally instilled to prevent brutal revenge killings and running warfare between tribes that had some common exchanges of trade or genetics.

That said, the OP contribution is ridiculous, childish and 99% a troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,048 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

God forbid OP, that either you or a family member or friend are the victim of a crime, whether it be something physical like assault, or financial like fraud.

I suspect your idea that somehow a fellow citizen who provided information leading to the arrest and the actions of the Gardai resulting in the incarceration, was somehow "snitching" will be more enlightened....

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Haha! Good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

FunLover18 wrote: »
    I can sort of understand this; but there are two sides.

1. Would you really want to ruin someone's life with a criminal record over a camera?
    2. Would you really want to ruin your life with a criminal record over a camera?

Point 1. > Big ****ing YES.
    Point 2. > I know to leave stuff which isnt mine, alone. No criminal record so far and i am rather positive that the older i get, the smaller the chance will be that i ll rob someones phone

To go back to point 1, that is what is wrong nowadays.
    If someone robs me of my phone, i shouldnt be the one thinking "oh, i could have potentially ruined that persons life after i made sure he or she got het punishment.
    It is the criminal that should be thinking that before becoming a criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

The judges, prison officers, and the entire staff of the Department of Justice should also feel bad about acting on the squealing imo.

Set 'em all free I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I am surprised that any adult would use the term "snitching", that is assuming that the OP is a adult.

As someone pointed out above, people who tend to use such a term, are people who are generally up to no good themselves.

Anyway, I see no reason why a Guard should feel guilty for putting a guilty person behind bars. Sure, I would imagine a great deal of satisfaction to know that they help contribute to justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Does last years uniform still fit or will you need to get a new one for September?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Had you been on the sauce when you made that post?