Single life as a guy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭LordNorbury

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Its the wow factor. You need to make an impression. Guys that are good at this have more options. Women complain that its had to meet nice guys but they still want to be impressed in some way.

In my experience women want guys to be genuine, personable and conversational and also funny, they want a personality. A BMW is very very far down the list of things any girl I've dated, has looked for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭ElecKtrA

NSAman wrote: »
    Normally (from what I have gleaned in my experience) a genuine guy, is the one who is quieter, doesn't drive the BMW, doesn't have the international jet-set lifestyle, is not on the social circuit, doesn't live off Mummy or Daddy or have a lot of money... you know the one who girls look at and think... nah!!!.;)

No, not at all!!!

A genuine guy is a guy that knows who he is without having to portray himself as a cocky pompous full of bravado type when out in a bar/club. Perhaps, alcohol has that effect on some men!!! :rolleyes:

Someone who is trying to sell himself with boasting how much he has in his bank account or what kind of car he drives...is absolutely one of the biggest fails In my opinion!!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

K-9 wrote: »
    A lot of it is to do with our drinking culture and the cattle mart that is Irish night clubs and late bars, a cultural thing, nothing to do with sexes. I'd tend to chat to anybody with a few pints in me so yeah, just because I chat to a woman at a a bar doesn't mean I'm chatting them up!

They are not great places to meet someone but looking at the other thread about approaching women out and about you can see why we dont do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Men who think women only want money, don't have a clue about what women want. Only tarts chase money. Real women want character.

ElecKtrA wrote: »
    No, not at all!!!

A genuine guy is a guy that knows who he is without having to portray himself as a cocky pompous full of bravado type when out in a bar/club. Perhaps, alcohol has that effect on some men!!! :rolleyes:

Someone who is trying to sell himself with boasting how much he has in his bank account or what kind of car he drives...is absolutely one of the biggest fails In my opinion!!! :rolleyes:

A guy has to be good at selling himself. Its not necessarily about boasting but if you are not entertaining and interesting you are not going to get far. The flipside of this is that if you are good at this you have more options.

Putting your dating strategy on the fact that you own a BMW and flashing the cash is the ultimate expression of style over substance in my opinion. Women tend to run a mile from this kind of behaviour I've found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Onthe3rdDay

Putting your dating strategy on the fact that you own a BMW and flashing the cash is the ultimate expression of style over substance in my opinion. Women tend to run a mile from this kind of behaviour I've found.

Some Women. You may not have come across them, but they are out there. As are those men that think they've made it with the Flash Car, and important job. They do tend to marry and are happy... just as long as the money keeps coming in. One case I know of in the UK, the guy was let go and the wife kicked him out 4 weeks later, and there was supposedly no trouble up to then, and I'd believe it. There are people out there that live that way and fair play to them...just keep them away from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,201 ✭✭✭ongarboy

Normally (from what I have gleaned in my experience) a genuine guy, is the one who is quieter, doesn't drive the BMW, doesn't have the international jet-set lifestyle, is not on the social circuit, doesn't live off Mummy or Daddy or have a lot of money... you know the one who girls look at and think... nah!!!.;)

Wow, I never equated genuine guy as being the same as resentful, begrudging guy with major chip on his shoulder! How girls cannot be attracted to that is a mystery to us all!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,302 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Some Women. You may not have come across them, but they are out there. As are those men that think they've made it with the Flash Car, and important job. They do tend to marry and are happy... just as long as the money keeps coming in. One case I know of in the UK, the guy was let go and the wife kicked him out 4 weeks later, and there was supposedly no trouble up to then, and I'd believe it. There are people out there that live that way and fair play to them...just keep them away from me!

Hopefully they match up with each other and leave the rest of us alone!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

riveratom wrote: »
    So they're after the big fancy car and the bank account, and you just happen to come attached then? :)

Flies around Honey!!! Flies around honey!!

Still single and loving it..;)

Lordy.... Sense the tone... sheezz.

I am supposedly a "catch", yes I have many women wanting to date me. Alas, I am happy single.

Growing up with friends that "had it all", me as the quiet genuine guy was always overlooked... poor me..;) Please do not tell me you think money is never a driving (excuse the pun) factor in some womens decisions??? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭riveratom

Flies around Honey!!! Flies around honey!!

Still single and loving it..;)

Well my point was really are they actually after you, or just your fancy car and bank account / career prospects?

If the latter, then they are the kind of women you don't want (unless you do, for some reason...).

If they are into you for you, then what does it matter what you drive like?!

I can go on as many dates as I have time for, but my car is 15 years old. It's looks + personality for me really.

Lordy.... Sense the tone... sheezz.

I am supposedly a "catch", yes I have many women wanting to date me. Alas, I am happy single.

Growing up with friends that "had it all", me as the quiet genuine guy was always overlooked... poor me..;) Please do not tell me you think money is never a driving (excuse the pun) factor in some womens decisions??? :)

Your attitude actually epitomises everything that women have told me that they detest about men when dating, in particular: arrogance, lack of substance & depth, big cócky attitude, as a previous female poster has said, these things are actually a huge turn off for most women, the exception being the gold digger types who would frequent a particular social circle that you seem to enjoy mixing with, and that is probably teh only type that you are attracting.

I'm single and happily single too, have absolutely no problem getting a date any night of the week, I don't need a BMW to get it though! ;)

Well my point was really are they actually after you, or just your fancy car and bank account / career prospects?

If the latter, then they are the kind of women you don't want (unless you do, for some reason...).

If they are into you for you, then what does it matter what you drive like?!

I can go on as many dates as I have time for, but my car is 15 years old. It's looks + personality for me really.

Money provides stability. If you lost your looks would you attract the same women?
    Edit: We all have factors when choosing a partner. Its only a problem if its the only reason youre with someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Your attitude actually epitomises everything that women have told me that they detest about men when dating, in particular: arrogance, lack of substance & depth, big cócky attitude, as a previous female poster has said, these things are actually a huge turn off for most women, the exception being the gold digger types who would frequent a particular social circle that you seem to enjoy mixing with, and that is probably teh only type that you are attracting.

mod note - Attack the post not the poster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,538 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I think some of you are very misled about how much women care about what a potential partner drives. I drive a nicer car than pretty much everyone I've dated recently. I doubt very much this was an attracting factor for any of the blokes in question.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    I think some of you are very misled about how much women care about what a potential partner drives. I drive a nicer car than pretty much everyone I've dated recently. I doubt very much this was an attracting factor for any of the blokes in question.

It's not every woman, it's just some women. Just like it's some men who care very much what the world thinks and then others couldn't give a toss. There are women out there that will drop you like a ton of spuds once they find out that you don't have that many assets or don't have a nice car. These exact same women can also be pests when you do have something nice that they'd like to experience.

When you're a younger man with less experience it can be tough to be turned down by such individuals because you don't have money or a car but as you get a little older and wiser(hopefully) you realise outside of sexual attraction (which mightn't be great after 5 minutes) they've very little going for them.

These people tend to pair off with men just like themselves. But every once and awhile they can cross your path and can be very persistent...if you have Something of value. Car/Celebrity/A nice holiday home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,455 ✭✭✭✭fits

I find big car loans a major turn off. Poor priorities. I don't know how anyone thinks forking out forty grand on a new golf is a good idea. But there you are.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

I'm single and happily single too, have absolutely no problem getting a date any night of the week, I don't need a BMW to get it though! ;)

WHOOOOoooooosh!!

Potatoeman wrote: »
    Money provides stability. If you lost your looks would you attract the same women?
    Edit: We all have factors when choosing a partner. Its only a problem if its the only reason youre with someone.

Well that's what I mean, that's why I was asking were they into him or his money. Nothing wrong with wanting stability, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,159 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

At the moment it doesn't bother me. But, I wouldn't like to go through life without having kids.

Well that's what I mean, that's why I was asking were they into him or his money. Nothing wrong with wanting stability, that's for sure.

I suppose its whats important to you. I dont see it as much different from just being with someone because of their looks. Personality obviousily is important but I would hope that you would get to know who you are dating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 amie91

Can somebody tell me how I post a thread on this? Ive just set this up and don't know what I am doing ha ?

Thank youuu

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,350 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eh... you just did post on the thread. :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Think she means a new thread.

Go to the relevant forum and click new thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

It's not every woman, it's just some women. Just like it's some men who care very much what the world thinks and then others couldn't give a toss. There are women out there that will drop you like a ton of spuds once they find out that you don't have that many assets or don't have a nice car. These exact same women can also be pests when you do have something nice that they'd like to experience.

When you're a younger man with less experience it can be tough to be turned down by such individuals because you don't have money or a car but as you get a little older and wiser(hopefully) you realise outside of sexual attraction (which mightn't be great after 5 minutes) they've very little going for them.

These people tend to pair off with men just like themselves. But every once and awhile they can cross your path and can be very persistent...if you have Something of value. Car/Celebrity/A nice holiday home.

tbf....they would be much of a loss from your life

I will say that these individuals aren't really a problem, they pair off with each other generally. However when someone young is snapped up by one of these types it leads to a lot of misery down the road.

I personally only know of one case but he works very long hours and she still complains that they only have the one overseas holiday a year. They went to the US last year for 2 weeks and had two breaks in the UK, but the UK breaks didn't count because...well it's the UK.

In cases like that I would actually blame him more than her - for standing for it at all.

Well she's still good looking and he looks tired. I think it goes back to not wanting to be alone. Some people will do anything to stay in/be in a relationship.

Bit of victim blaming going on there! Sometimes a partner will put up with alot before finally seeing reason.