Have you ever been mistaken for the opposite sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

I don't know why this happened to me today. I was in a queue at Sainsburys waiting for the woman behind the counter to hand something to me. I was very clearly female, with long hair, pink womens clothes etc but when she handed me the item she said, "There you go sir."

When I was a teenager, again very clearly female with long hair etc I got on the bus, paid the bus driver and he said, "Thanks son."

Has this ever happened to you?

HA.
    Used to have a pony tail for years and kept it in a plait most of the time and there was never any confusion.

Sometimes for whatever reason Id go out with my hair not out and every now and again some youngfella would pipe up behind ya "the arse on yer wan? Then Id look at them and give them a wink with my beard as long as my hair, I still laugh at the reactions..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Only on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Only on here.

Hmmm... Now I'm trying to figure out which one people assume it is and thereby which it actually is.

You're a broad, right? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Yes when I was about 8 (with a pudding bowl hairdo) I played out the whole summer with a boy new to the town. Climbing trees, football, building dens. I actually had a little crush on him it was only at the end of the summer that he asked me "Why me ma and da gave me a girls name when I was a boy"

The crush turned to crushed and I never wore my hair short again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I don't know why this happened to me today. I was in a queue at Sainsburys waiting for the woman behind the counter to hand something to me. I was very clearly female, with long hair, pink womens clothes etc but when she handed me the item she said, "There you go sir."

When I was a teenager, again very clearly female with long hair etc I got on the bus, paid the bus driver and he said, "Thanks son."

Was your penis hanging out of your trousers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

Yes - in the U.S. on a cold snowy night, I was wearing my brother's big puffy down coat and skullcap, and was stopped and frisked by the police for no apparent reason other than I looked suspicious. The officer was surprised when he realized that I was a girl, and had to call a female officer over to frisk me in the snow...in the middle of the street...My clothes got soaked because they opened up my jacket and make me stand with my hands on the hood until they could find someone to frisk me. I've never been so enraged and humiliated in all of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hmmm... Now I'm trying to figure out which one people assume it is and thereby which it actually is.

You're a broad, right? :o

Feck off!!

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Used to have long hair back in the days before I could grow any kind of facial hair. One evening I was walking home after spending the evening partaking of certain herbs. Q me passing two old biddies who tut tuted and said 'and she's drink too' to each other.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 Yop on yop oF

Tons and tons of time as had really long blonde hair from the age of 14 until late 20s. I drove from the age of 16 also and so know only to well how women get treated on the roads. I'm a fast driver and yet boy racers still somehow never liked it when a blonde was driving faster than they were and would forever try and overtake me, needlessly. Funniest time though, was when the older brother of my mate (a total and utter asshole) who was a Ska at the time and hated metal fans (long haired weirdos to him) was one day down in the local amusements and seen me playing Tetris (as I tended to from time to time, along with OutRun, Double Dragon etc) and so he comes up behind me, grabs my hair and yanks it, in front of all his mates for the craic. Only it wasn't me, it was actually the blonde sister of a guy we knew and she screamed her head off. He apologized I heard but she ran home crying and he got seven bells knocked out of him later that week as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

One of my aunts used to always get me girls underwear and socks for Christmas, I think it was just because she only had daughters though and thought everyone wore the same things though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,746 ✭✭✭✭Misticles

In my teens I was a pure tom boy, put a peaked cap on me you could have called me tom ;) I have since grown boobs and don't wear trackies so all is right in the world :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

So it's not just me he does this to?

Not by a long shot, sorry to burst your bubble. :pac:

If it's any consolation I only send my sexy PM's to a select few. <3;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭magicmonkeys

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Ticking and Bashing

I was always confused about Conchita...I've just googled her now to confirm...she was a man :)
    *Learn something new every day haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

I was working at this charity event and saw a group of kids waiting for their go on this stall I was doing. I asked ''Are you okay there boys? Are you guys next?'' and the girl piped up ''Excuse me, but I'm a girl'' and I was absolutely mortified but replied back straight away saying ''Oh I know I was talking to the boys beside you'' and thankfully there were boys beside her and she seemed happy enough with that. MORTIFIED.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Sounds more like those people were just a bit absent minded, daydreaming, mentally tired or whatever. In an old job as a receptionist, I once or twice greeted people with "good morning" at 4 o'clock in the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

Yes, I repeatedly get mistaken for a guy, but I do have very short boyish hair.

Most cases do sound like absent minded/out of habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Roose

Crazy. I reckon your dog could see better than those people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

You mean you weren't wearing pants. :confused::D

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,455 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I was always confused about Conchita...I've just googled her now to confirm...she was a man :)
    *Learn something new every day haha.

Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Over the phone once or twice, I can be very soft spoken. Never in person though, some of the circuitry showing and all tgat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yep, had long hair as a kid which saw me get a bit of bullying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

No, because I have a massive arse and boobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

No, because I have a massive arse and boobs.

Are you going to the AHers beers? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I have mistaken another person of the opposite sex, combination of long hair, skinny jeans and alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ruu wrote: »
    Over the phone once or twice, I can be very soft spoken.

Like Marilyn Monroe breathily singing "happy birthday, mr. president..." ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Fluorosilisic Frank

Used to have a photograph of a bunch of people that I went to Irish college with. First time I saw the photo there was one girl in it that I didn't recognise.... took me about a week before I realised it was me in the picture.

So I must be one of the few people who've mistaken themselves for a member of the opposite sex.

I did have long hair as a fourteen year old lad tho, thought I looked pretty hot in the photo aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

maybe your idea of obviously female isn't everyone elses!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Are you going to the AHers beers? :D

Probably not, I'd be too shy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When I was about 22 and had long hair I worked in a DIY/electrical shop. One day I was outside moving something around on a pallet truck. Two old women started staring at me and one approached me saying "I had to come over and see if you were a girl".

This type of thing happened a lot. Apparently even having massive Neil Young style sideburns wasn't enough to tell some old women that I was male.