Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dustin Johnson taking a break from golf

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,636 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

PARlance wrote: »
    Golf.com had an article on the drugs today and this was part of it.

http://m.golf.com/1033938/johnson-suspended-for-failed-drug-test/

"Johnson's conduct has long been a topic of conversation among close observers of the Tour. He is often seen in bars near his home in Jupiter, Fla., and is also known to have had a sexual indiscretion with at least one wife of a PGA Tour player"

Is it awful that I want it to be Dufner's ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Rikand wrote: »

It's not Dufners ha but what a beautiful couple they would be.

It's jimmy walkers wife apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Rikand wrote: »

Christ she is a cracker!

ForeRight wrote: »
    It's not Dufners ha but what a beautiful couple they would be.

It's jimmy walkers wife apparently

Dustin is really a bold boy with all this stuff that's coming out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

Is this a golf thread or a petty gossip thread?

It's not petty gossip to say mrs dufner is a cracker....that's just factual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Lads there was already a warning, factual, proven items only to be commented on please.
    This is not the daily mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Really! Jimmy walkers wife? When you see who DJ is with you'd wonder why he'd be with walkers missus. She must be really dirty.... Only joking. I'm sure it happens alot didn't feherty end up with Barry lanes mrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭SEORG

Jason Sobel on twitter reporting that that PGA say he is not suspended

https://twitter.com/JasonSobelGC/status/495329830737805313

PGA Tour: "With regard to media reports, Mr. Johnson has taken a voluntary leave of absence and is not under suspension from the PGA Tour."

SEORG wrote: »

PGA Tour: "With regard to media reports, Mr. Johnson has taken a voluntary leave of absence and is not under suspension from the PGA Tour."

Pravda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭tigerwood1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

SEORG wrote: »

Well that sounds ridiculous of the PGA if the story about him is true. Golf is a professional sport like any other, and it is now an Olympic sport, so I think it should be subject to the same rigours of discipline.

Isn't it a rule in the PGA that they don't have to go public if a player is caught using recreational drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

Isn't it a rule in the PGA that they don't have to go public if a player is caught using recreational drugs

Precious?

They ban people for anything these days :D

rrpc wrote: »
    Precious?

They ban people for anything these days :D

Previous haha

iPhone typos are a curse on here!!!!

*facepalms himself*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,520 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Isn't it a rule in the PGA that they don't have to go public if a player is caught using recreational drugs?

As warned earlier, discussing of facts only please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭big_drive

Yes correct, not made public if it's recreational use rather than performance enhancing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Thought he looked pretty spaced out at the Open I must admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

So weird how golf deals with this, trying to keep all inhouse and if nearly trying to sweep it under the carpet and "nothing to see here".

Still one of the old problems with professional golf. There should be a very clear and public statement when someone fails a drugs test, and be made very clear what transgressions were caused.

While some might take the dim view of their being no difference, there is a significant difference between someone having traces of cocaine in their blood from a party a few nights ago, and someone having performance enhancing drugs.

I say there is a big difference, in that I think a players reputation is salvageable if they are caught with traces of recreational drugs in their system, as opposed to performance enhancing.

In my view anyway. If I was a fellow professional, I'd have a lot less beef with someone caught up with a drug they took at a party, against someone taking a substance that's sole purpose is to provide them an edge in competition.

PGA do themselves no favours keeping tight lipped on this stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭blue note

It looks to me like an informal ban. i.e. "if you don't play for the next few months we won't have to ban you."

But I would commend the PGA for distinguishing between performance enhancing and recreational drugs. We've seen a few soccer stars (Bosnich, Mutu, etc) absolutely hammered by the authorities for what were really moral indiscretions as opposed to cheating (performance enhancing drugs). If they want to punish recreational drugs with such wrath, they should come down with proportional wrath for things like drink driving, speeding, assault charges, etc. And if a cocaine ban can be 2 years, drink driving might as well be life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

blue note wrote: »
    It looks to me like an informal ban. i.e. "if you don't play for the next few months we won't have to ban you."

I think that's very much the case.

He was out injured for exactly 90 days the last time (2nd time) he didn't do anything. And that's the ban the PGA have for people that don't do anything.
    This is his third time not to have done anything and I think it's 120 days for that.

Completely agree with the other part of your post.
    A cloud is over just how they want to catch or react to performance enhancing cheats. I doubt Vijay is the only one out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

Dustin gave his first interview this week since taking a "forced" leave of absence albeit accompanied by a public relations consultant to one side and his agent to the other.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/dustin-johnson-has-new-outlook-his-game-and-his-life#

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

HighLine wrote: »
    Dustin gave his first interview this week since taking a "forced" leave of absence albeit accompanied by a public relations consultant to one side and his agent to the other.

http://www.golf.com/tour-and-news/dustin-johnson-has-new-outlook-his-game-and-his-life#

Just his PR machine kicking in, I'm not bothered either way as I enjoy looking at him golf as he has a wonderful smooth swing

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭BenEadir

<Mod Snip>

No betting talk allowed. Please read the charter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭HighLine

slave1 wrote: »
    Just his PR machine kicking in, I'm not bothered either way as I enjoy looking at him golf as he has a wonderful smooth swing

Yeah and probably best his PR people are around. General consensus is that there is not much in the between the ears department.

I'm thinking that he will do quite well this year once he gets back into the swing of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

It strikes me that he has just grown up a bit. I don't think it was just drugs, or drink, or anyone else's wife but possibly a combination of all of them which took a drain on his life. At least he acknowledged it early before something serious happened.

That said, I doubt this new attitude will work entirely, because you can't completely change who someone is overnight, but its good to see that the temptations he talks about are being put to one side. The key for me in that article was the bit about school and college and not applying himself unless he had to. Doing the bare minimum to get by so he could play golf.

That usually translates into other things in people's lives, so hopefully he's now in a position to put that unused effort into what he supposedly loves and he'll be able to concentrate on his game now.

There's at least a handful of majors in him. I, for one, wish him the best of luck.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Yeah and probably best his PR people are around. General consensus is that there is not much in the between the ears department.

I'm thinking that he will do quite well this year once he gets back into the swing of things.

Yeah, sounds bad reading things like that but I remember being stunned last year when Butch was asked what would Dustin's tee selection be on some tournament or another and Butch nearly keels over and says something like "Dustin ain't the brightest out there, it will be uh driver, next tee uh driver, driver all day"
    Considering he coaches his I am still shocked he would say that on TV...

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

Yeah, sounds bad reading things like that but I remember being stunned last year when Butch was asked what would Dustin's tee selection be on some tournament or another and Butch nearly keels over and says something like "Dustin ain't the brightest out there, it will be uh driver, next tee uh driver, driver all day"
    Oh gawd yea poor DJ, I hope his feelings weren't hurt too bad by what that brute Butch said about him in public, it's not like he actually knows him or not like he was trying to make a point or anything lioke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,078 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Ye gods, I'm surprised Butch came out with that. He's usually very diplomatic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭blue note

vienne86 wrote: »
    Ye gods, I'm surprised Butch came out with that. He's usually very diplomatic.

I'm sure he's told Dustin many times. Maybe he felt if he said it on TV he might be forced to take it on board.