Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legitimate words for private parts to children

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

CJC999 wrote: »
    I have two young girls, for now they're called front bum and back bum.

Yeah but vagina and front bum are two different things.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

No, of course not. Can't use penis and vagina in front of kids , but comfortable with **** and whatever the **** it was in front of adults. Perfectly normal well-adjusted behaviour.

Either grow up or stop trolling me!
    Why you singing me out? Do you say bum bum or anus to children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Why you singing me out? Do you say bum bum or anus to children?

Bum or anus, depending on what part of the body I'm refering to because, again, we're talking about two dfferent things. Bum refers the the buttocks or gluteal muscles, where as the anus is an opening used for defecation between them.

Didn;t single you out - you started the thread and asked the question.

Bum or anus, depending on what part of the body I'm refering to because, again, we're talking about two dfferent things. Bum refers the the buttocks or gluteal muscles, where as the anus is an opening used for defecation between them.

Jaysus must be a barrel of laughs watching carry on movies with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Your Herman the One-Eyed German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 thillywabbit

Im teaching my son to piss at the moment into the toilet by telling him to hold his 'Charlie'

Girls have Marys

Made me laugh far more than it should have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

...and I thought a boy named Sue was bad :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

What strange names you chose for your daughters.

'Hey,Front bum and Backbum, ye're dinners ready'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Flan was a term my youngest sister picked up in playschool and became a running joke amongst the 3 of us as kids.

Uncontrollable giggles ensued one Sunday afternoon when we visited our aunt's for dinner. 'Now kids, would ye like to taste some flan after your dinner' is one of the funniest things you can hear as an eleven year old.

'thanks Auntie Helen, your flan is lovely'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

Growler.
    Muff.
    Minge.
    Box.

Take your pick.

Flincher wrote: »
    Flan was a term my youngest sister picked up in playschool and became a running joke amongst the 3 of us as kids.

Uncontrollable giggles ensued one Sunday afternoon when we visited our aunt's for dinner. 'Now kids, would ye like to taste some flan after your dinner' is one of the funniest things you can hear as an eleven year old.

'thanks Auntie Helen, your flan is lovely'

Kids can be so cruel

Anyone considering clunge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

According to the primary school curriculum children are to be taught the proper terminology from a very young age now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Goolies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

We use the proper terms. Vulva, penis, scrotum, testicles. I don't see the point in euphemisms. I don't want them to have any confusion about a front bum/back bum/willy or whatever, I do not understand why people don't use the correct terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,805 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Knew a fella with a couple of daughters who he refered to as 'The Splitarses'.

Jaysus must be a barrel of laughs watching carry on movies with you

Haven;t watched them since I was about ten :D

To be fair, I'm glad they didn't say c*nt or jipstick (for the record, neither do I)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I've always been deeply uncomfortable with the medical terminology for our genitalia, so, like most parents, I told my son he had a mickey. My wife was grand with that, but for some reaosn she flipped when I told him girls had fannies, preferring that we teach him the V word.

Who has the right of it, and why?

Why do the correct terms make you deeply uncomfortable? That's not normal. I would cringe hearing a child use the terms Mickey and fanny to be honest. Just tell him the proper names!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Knew a fella with a couple of daughters who he refered to as 'The Splitarses'.

Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I work in childcare and have never heard a child refer to their genitalia with the correct terms. Little boys say mickey, willy, winkie, pee pee... never penis. I have never heard any little girls refer to their vagina as anything... Its quite sad really sometimes one will come up and tell you they are sore (perhaps because of infection or their pants not done up properly) and they will clutch at themselves because they don't have a word for it. One older child told me something regarding her "hoo haa" one day (can't remember what it was about) I was just glad to hear her using any term for it. I think its sad that some girls aren't taught terms for it because (just my opinion) parents have their own issues with naming their own genitals. I have friends who don't say vagina they say "down there". I use it at will, if I'm wearing leggings or skinny jeans I will happily ask a mate "can you see my vagina?", they think its hilarious when I say it... I think its tragic they think I'm saying it for comedic purposes.

I understand the parents who don't want to use vagina and penis. Some feel its too grown up a term. I'm not saying its right, but its definitely not the wrong thing to do either, doesn't make a person any less of a parent. I can't remember what I called it as a child...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

I always think it is best to be unambiguous, and unembarrassed.

There are fine old English words that are plain and clear in their meaning...I probably can't even type them on boards, LOL (and what does that tell you, exactly??) but Pr*ck and C*ck are ancient and widely used...still possibly too blunt?

C*nt and cl*t are also very plain and direct...why would anyone be offended by these simple traditional names? Yet people are...
    "Quim" is also very ancient I believe

PS in some usages, fanny means "bum" or rear bottom, not front-botty LOL so the word can cause confusion.
    Example: What we call a Bum-bag, Americans call a "fannypack".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,166 ✭✭✭Tasden

gg2 wrote: »
    I work in childcare and have never heard a child refer to their genitalia with the correct terms. Little boys say mickey, willy, winkie, pee pee... never penis. I have never heard any little girls refer to their vagina as anything... Its quite sad really sometimes one will come up and tell you they are sore (perhaps because of infection or their pants not done up properly) and they will clutch at themselves because they don't have a word for it. One older child told me something regarding her "hoo haa" one day (can't remember what it was about) I was just glad to hear her using any term for it. I think its sad that some girls aren't taught terms for it because (just my opinion) parents have their own issues with naming their own genitals. I have friends who don't say vagina they say "down there". I use it at will, if I'm wearing leggings or skinny jeans I will happily ask a mate "can you see my vagina?", they think its hilarious when I say it... I think its tragic they think I'm saying it for comedic purposes.

I understand the parents who don't want to use vagina and penis. Some feel its too grown up a term. I'm not saying its right, but its definitely not the wrong thing to do either, doesn't make a person any less of a parent. I can't remember what I called it as a child...

You talk about using correct terms and then go on to talk about asking if someone can see your vagina through leggings...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Tasden wrote: »
    You talk about using correct terms and then go on to talk about asking if someone can see your vagina through leggings...??

I was just going to say the same thing. They'd have to be some seriously tight leggings! :D

Tasden wrote: »

I used that example to demonstrate the reception the word vagina brings sometimes I am ****e at trying to type what I am trying to say, clearly. Also Friday night beer :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

gg2 wrote: »
    I used that example to demonstrate the reception the word vagina brings sometimes I am ****e at trying to type what I am trying to say, clearly. Also Friday night beer :o

I think you mean your vulva.

lazygal wrote: »
    I think you mean your vulva.

I think I cleared up that I'm talking arsways, vulvaways, whatever :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,061 ✭✭✭conorhal

Woo Woo.

Arm or leg isn't medical terminology, just a proper name. Penis and vagina/vulva are proper names and nothing to be uncomfortable about.

Having slang words for those body parts sets them apart and that makes them out of the ordinary. If you want the kids to see their bodies as whole and normal, don't use slang for their private parts.

You want them to be as comfortable with their genitals as they are with their elbows or knees. You don't have special names for those, like sharpy arms and bendy legs, and there should be no more embarrassment about genitals than anywhere else. I was raised with the proper names, and I've no problem using them. Don't pass on your discomfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

Didn;t single you out - you started the thread and asked the question.

Must say, you're been very anal about this "hole" thing:):)