If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Israel - Palestine Conflict. **Mod note in OP - updated 1st August**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭pedro1234

ElChe32 wrote: »
    I'm not your buddy, pal.

I'm not your pal, guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

pedro1234 wrote: »
    If you read any of posts and the article I've had published you would understand that I am vehemently anti Zionist and anti Hamas. I support a secular Palestine, of which close to a tenth of the voting population voted for, but I can tell you from my own experience much more of the population are secular.

LOL only 14 posts in and already attacking people for not judging him/her based on their contribution and long standing and well known stance on the subject in question. LOL you couldn't dream this sh*t up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

There's a lot of lurkers you know. Read the active users list for proof of this.

How many of them set up accounts since the extermination began?

bobmalooka wrote: »
    How many of them set up accounts since the extermination began?

Ask the admins.

Cheers. Read down some replies. The building beside hospital told to evacuate.

Not that that's any better :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

user2011 wrote: »
    Go and read a vanity fair link posted earlier in this thread and come back with that line of guns to head.. US sponsored a Fatah coup after Hamas won elections that were internationally observed and deemed fair.

Pedro could you reply to this please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I'm patronising people based on their ability to be extremely quick to dismiss what I and others witnessed.

So everyone is spoofing only you? Every monitoring commission there spoke about how it was a free and fair election. Even a member of the Tories who was on the EU monitoring team said they were:

"extremely professional, in line with international standards, free, transparent and without violence".

Now why would someone of that political hue say that if Hamas, a designated 'terrorist organisation' were forcing people to vote for them?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Palestinian_legislative_election,_2006#Conduct
    If you seriously believe that Hamas did not force people to vote for them, then you're more clueless than you at first appear.

I'm clueless? You're the one banging on about Hamas forcing people to vote for them in a secret ballot deemed fair by everyone from the EU to the Russians to the Yanks and I'm the eejit? Gas man.
    Tell me, what did you see when you were there?

Plenty of people who hated Hamas. Plenty of people who thought Fatah were a corrupt shower of bastards. Plenty of people who were distrustful of their politicians.

Met nobody, from any organisation or on an individual basis, who said Hamas stole that election.

Phonehead wrote: »
    LOL only 14 posts in and already attacking people for not judging him/her based on their contribution and long standing and well known stance on the subject in question. LOL you couldn't dream this sh*t up

One of these posts contained an article I wrote.

Tell me, where's the article you wrote detailing the conflict you're oh so familiar with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Tell me, where's the article you wrote detailing the conflict you're oh so familiar with?

Whats your point tho?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Casualties among IDF troops are mounting:

http://i.imgur.com/TmN7Png.jpg

LOL, I'm sorry my published friend! I find it strange that somebody so learned, somebody held as an expert on this subject finds the time to enter a discussion forum made up of ordinary people who discuss every day events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Tuisceanch

Is it that article that you posted for the Nation? Otherwise could you point me to your article?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

I have been following @belalmd12 on twitter. He is doctor at shifa hospital and has just tweeted that they have been ordered to evacuate.

I haven't mastered linking and displaying tweet from my phone to here. If someone could do the honours I'd be much obliged.

Some of the pictures he uploaded are horrifying

Looking for the Published Article too, I can't find anything. I genuinely would like to read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,680 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I think we should all just be glad that Pedro 'The Published Exalted expert of Palestinian Elections' has graced us plebs with his presence here on boards.

I can't post links but Anthony McIntyre published it here: thepensivequill.am/2014/07/op-ed-palestinian-conflict.html
    I think we should all just be glad that Pedro 'The Published Exalted expert of Palestinian Elections' has graced us plebs with his presence here on boards.

Refute the article if you find issues with it.

Can I not see that because i have no facetube account or something else?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,411 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

RustyNut wrote: »
    Can I not see that because i have no facetube account or something else?

Nope, comes up as "Page not found"

I posted the link above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

I can't post links but Anthony McIntyre published it here: thepensivequill.am/2014/07/op-ed-palestinian-conflict.html

What I'm refuting is your claims that Hamas held a gun to the heads of Palestinians when you've been shown that independent observers said it was a transparent elections. You've written an op-ed piece on the history of the conflict not ground breaking research...

Yes I read that and I would agree with one of the comments under the article, in that it's a bit confused but not a bad analysis. I hope,however,that you are not lying about being the author because otherwise I would commend you on the effort and I don't mean that in a patronising way.

Never heard of this pensive quill. I thought for some reason it was a published Academic Article, well done and an interesting piece.

But nobody is debating what you are saying in your article, more debating how you initially tried to make out that Hamas put a gun to peoples heads to vote for them.

Nope, comes up as "Page not found"

Not just me then... phew

RustyNut wrote: »
    Not just me then... phew

http://thepensivequill.am/2014/07/op-ed-palestinian-conflict.html

I found it.

Oh sorry you were referring to something else.

Hamas called around to everyone who owed them in the weeks coming up to the elections. They were reminded of their debt, and told to vote in favour of Hamas. They were armed when they made these calls.

This is what I mean when I say "Palestinians voted with guns to their heads".

I saw them calling to a few places when I was there and I asked my guide what the craic was.

Now maybe he was full of crap, but why should I not believe him?

Hamas called around to everyone who owed them in the weeks coming up to the elections. They were reminded of their debt, and told to vote in favour of Hamas. They were armed when they made these calls.

I saw them calling to a few places when I was there and I asked my guide what the craic was.

Whats your main point?

Yes but that is just anecdotal evidence.You have to admit that and as a budding journalist surely you couldn't base a factual piece on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Why should we believe you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

So it was votes for cash? and not guns.... that was nice of them