Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Ah come on guys, at the end of the day it's his choice where he brings his car. Agree to disagree.....

Fair enough, like when money is tight and all that i can understand, I'm running my car on about 30 euro a week, and saving what i can in case something goes wrong, you can kind of see why i had to teach myself how to fix it now :P

But yeah it's understandable in that case, but if you're being cheap for the sake of being cheap, then you deserve every problem you get from it

Fair enough, like when money is tight and all that i can understand, I'm running my car on about 30 euro a week, and saving what i can in case something goes wrong, you can kind of see why i had to teach myself how to fix it now :P

But yeah it's understandable in that case, but if you're being cheap for the sake of being cheap, then you deserve every problem you get from it

Ah no, given the choice I'd love to be bringing it to the most expensive place in town. Who wouldn't. But sometimes the road gets a little rougher and you have to start looking at compromises (some of which may become frustrating). :o

I'm sure we've all been there, but i stand by my last statement :) there's being cheap out of not being able to afford it, and cheap out of being cheap to scrimp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

82 year old neighbour is doing the theory test tomorrow. Hope he passes!!

:eek: never too old it seems!

Well he's been driving for 40+ years.... just had no licence :pac: Insurance now want a copy of said licence........ so it's starting from scratch now!

Ohhhh, I vaguely remember something on here of a similar nature, not sure it was you though

Were the lights what you were after by the way?

Ohhhh, I vaguely remember something on here of a similar nature, not sure it was you though

Were the lights what you were after by the way?

Na, don't think I mentioned it before, not gonna say much more, it'll only attract the high horse brigade.

Yap lights work a charm, put them in there 'bout half an hour ago. :)

Na, don't think I mentioned it before, not gonna say much more, it'll only attract the high horse brigade.

Yap lights work a charm, put them in there 'bout half an hour ago. :)

Sewper! Glad to help :)

dgt, what sort of antics have you been up to now...... :P

2yoeg69.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Yeah, I missed you at the lights but saw you driving past the Texaco and again on the roundabout.

Ah at the lights I was coming out of fabio's with the dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

dgt, what sort of antics have you been up to now...... :P

2yoeg69.png

Trying to muster up an army of Seicentos that are dotted around the country.... :D:pac:
    OSI wrote: »
    The 2 of ye mustn't be too far from me so. Only other Motors regular I've passed out and about was dgt who I completely missed walking down Wexford St :D

I remember that day, it was after the last midway meet and all! I miss my lunches in the palace :(

In other news, finally brimmed the tank and hopefully will find out the real world mpg of the C200 :) it's on 750 miles so far this week alone :eek: but doesn't appear to be as thirsty as the 520....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

has anyone here ever sold a car with one of the auction houses? I need to get rid of my A4 (as I have bought another car).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

has anyone here ever sold a car with one of the auction houses? I need to get rid of my A4 (as I have bought another car).

Donedeal would be your best bet

just having no luck with donedeal. Have dropped the price on it to €1600. Its an A4, 2.0 petrol with 104miles on it. Not even a call.

Have a guy coming out from the trade tonight, probably let it go for a grand or so. It seems wrong, but what can I do. It owes me nothing, but its a great car in good shape. Would much prefer to sell it to someone directly (for the same money)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

just having no luck with donedeal. Have dropped the price on it to €1600. Its an A4, 2.0 petrol with 104miles on it. Not even a call.

Have a guy coming out from the trade tonight, probably let it go for a grand or so. It seems wrong, but what can I do. It owes me nothing, but its a great car in good shape. Would much prefer to sell it to someone directly (for the same money)
    Link to add perhaps?

Wait till August, do the NCT nice and early then see if anyone will bite

dgt wrote: »
    Wait till August, do the NCT nice and early then see if anyone will bite

how early can I do the NCT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Fairly well presented ad. I thought the young fellers were mad for A4's these days?

how early can I do the NCT?

3 months before the expiry date. So about the 15th of August if you can get it should provide a nice whack of NCT and a reason to command the full asking price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

On the subject of spotting people, spotted Alanstrainor and his shiny BBS wheels, at least I assume that was you around stillorgan.
    Not many people who drive silver cars bother with nice alloys

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Fairly well presented ad. I thought the young fellers were mad for A4's these days?

I heard eastern European lads were mad for them. They must all be on holidays!

Jaysus lads whatever about ye're cars, if ye're having any problems please just talk them out, everything can be resolved. Just went through an awful day. A family's life ruined.

That's awful to hear, sorry man :(:(:(

If you need anything don't be shy boss

I didn't even know the lad that well, but seeing the distraught it brings on a family...... wouldn't wish it upon anyone.

Don't want to derail and make things all morbid, but there's always light at the end of the tunnel, don't be afraid of speaking out for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Your main problem is that it's not a 1.9TDi, 1.8T or a 2.5TDi. They're the only A4's that really sell. The other problem I think is that it's as basic as it can get, doesn't even have electric windows all round!

It's still an absolutely cracking car for the price. I agree with you about the electric windows in the back, it's a travesty, not sure how I managed at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It's still an absolutely cracking car for the price. I agree with you about the electric windows in the back, it's a travesty, bit sure how I managed at all.

You know what I mean! If you want your car to sell it'll either have to be a desirable engine, which yours isn't, a good spec, which yours isn't or cheap in relation to other.......which yours isn't.