Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Finally got my log book for the 900 :D
    Went in to explain the situation about it all today and got tol oh you'l have to tax it for 3 months plus arrears.....

So who wants to "buy" a 900?? :pac::pac:

Can I take it for a test drive :pac:

(I'll use my GM to tow yours :P )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Can I take it for a test drive :pac:

(I'll use my GM to tow yours :P )

Ah yeah it's a good runner, needs a few bits to pass the nct but it'l fly through :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I think today is a good day to grab some booze, sit on the pier and taunt the farmers cutting silage :cool:

Fast fit aren't worth a w***. I'd be going down there and telling them either give me back my money and if not hang around the entrance and tell everyone of your complaints.
    Feckin chancers.

That's what I was thinking, too. Surely they shouldn't gas and charge if it'll be gone within a week. I got 3 days out of it. €13 per day for cold air seems a bit pricy (and it was on/off cold air on the third day). :(

Being very blunt - it's your own fault, but more-so because you're using shíte services like halfords fitting and FastFit, rather than going to someone who can do the job right the first time.

Well in fairness, they do have quite a presence in the town, with two fairly huge premises. And they seem professional and such. Surely they're as legit as any other business or service, so long as their work is covered by some kind of warranty or guarantee (I know Halfords is, for 12 months, I presume FirstStop's is, too).

advertsfox wrote: »
    Personally I would just take it on the chin dude and move on especially since you only have a condenser issue and not the dreaded remove-the-whole-fecking-dash-to-replace-the-flaps issue which could have cost you €600+ wink.png

I do, and it'll cost me €250ish from a chap in Northern Ireland that fixes them. But it only affects the driver side (blowing warm air) but with the passenger side air-con working, and the driver side vents closed, the cabin gets nice and cold anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Well in fairness, they do have quite a presence in the town, with two fairly huge premises. And they seem professional and such. Surely they're as legit as any other business or service, so long as their work is covered by some kind of warranty or guarantee (I know Halfords is, for 12 months, I presume FirstStop's is, too).

All you have to do is read this forum and you'd know well to avoid them. Most people wouldn't give a wheelbarrow to these chain operated garages. You were even told to avoid halfords for your audio install.

I guess ignorance is not bliss after all!

All you have to do is read this forum and you'd know well to avoid them. Most people wouldn't give a wheelbarrow to these chain operated garages. You were even told to avoid halfords for your audio install.

I guess ignorance is not bliss after all!

Ah, to be fair to Halfords, they know where they stand. And they're worth a punt for convenience. Having read up on all the horror stories, it seems that in any story where the person actually goes back to Halfords, they treat the customer right.

I know that if they can't get the audio install done properly, that they'll remove it and refund me. So even if they're not the brightest bunch, at least they'll actually refund.

Poor customer service is something that puts me off a business immediately (and is one of the reasons I'm annoyed at First Stop). My experience with Halfords is that their Customer Service is genuinely really good. They could just do with having a few more on-the-floor staff members though. It's always a ghost town.

Why not just get the job done the right way the first time? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

As CM said, the people who work in halfords are ordinary chaps that have had no automotive training whatsoever. You might as well go at it yourself. Very rare anyone in halfords knows their stuff, i'm lucky to know one guy. You were told previous not to venture near them but you still did, what is the point then of there massive long winded talks if it's all for nothing?

What? No, I'm not complaining about Halfords. Halfords have been grand so far. I've no issue with them. :confused:

My problem is with FirstStop and their Air Con service..

Why not just get the job done the right way the first time? :confused:

Because at the moment I'm hemorrhaging money left, right and centre, and trying to save a few Euro. Local Auto-Electrician is working out fairly pricy, and Halfords offer a 12 month guarantee..

And yet because you didn't do it the right way, you've to pay to get it done again.

See what I mean? You're not saving money, you're costing yourself money. If you're hemorrhaging money, you've got nobody but yourself to blame.

And yet because you didn't do it the right way, you've to pay to get it done again.

See what I mean? You're not saving money, you're costing yourself money.

How so? I'll just get refunded and go down another route? I won't have lost anything by getting Halfords to do it?

If you're hemorrhaging money, you've got nobody but yourself to blame.

Well it's more to do with cutbacks in companies I work with, and bills coming at me from all angles (few of which are car related), but sure we won't let everyday real life get in the way of a good 'ould scorning. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,149 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Let's move on lads...this discussion isn't going anywhere...

It's on days like these I wish I had an MX5...(with a turbo...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Let's move on lads...this discussion isn't going anywhere...

It's on days like these I wish I had an MX5...(with a turbo...)

that would be quite nice :) the 1.8's love turbos :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,149 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

YbFocus wrote: »
    that would be quite nice :) the 1.8's love turbos :)

I've never even driven any MX5, I reckon just a regular 1.8 would be enough for me to be honest!

EDIT: Even the updated 2006+ models are coming down to reasonable money by the looks of things on donedeal...hmmmm

Wouldn't mind a go of one myself, see what all the fuss is about :P

On a side note - Good to see you more active 'round these parts Lightning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

It's days like today I wish I had insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

If I were going for some kind of roadster strictly for the track/ larf I don't think I could resist a Westfield type roadster thingie. They just seem naughty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

LED's arrived today Mr Pickles, thanks once again, much obliged!! :)

Mmmmm leather alfa seats, cold python ipa for peanuts, fantastic music.... I'm thinkin of yis I swears ;)

New thread idea: most medium car driven :pac:

CianRyan wrote: »
    It's days like today I wish I had insurance.
    It's days like today I wish my z's transmission was finished being rebuilt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

It's days like today I wish my car had cloth interior

It's days like today I wish I had aircon :o :pac: It's raining now, cool things off :cool:

Changing to ZV plates?

I'm going to look at a car later this week that's on 82 G plates. Is it possible to change these to ZV plates once the vehicle is on vintage tax?
    Should probably ask in the classic forum....

It's days like today I wish I had aircon :o :pac: It's raining now, cool things off :cool:

Splitting stones in sunny Meath, not a cloud in the sky for miles and miles :cool:

What quare part is it raining in hai?! :p

dgt wrote: »
    Splitting stones in sunny Meath, not a cloud in the sky for miles and miles :cool:

What quare part is it raining in hai?! :p

Ahh stupid Mayo. No blue at all. Good for the garden though :pac:

nwgg94.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,955 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

And the reverse light on the focus is working again !

It was the switch. ... the connection just wasnt cleaned when the new one was put in ! :V

Now for a top rad hose !

Ahh stupid Mayo. No blue at all. Good for the garden though :pac:

nwgg94.jpg

I'd take a snap only I can't be arsed, too lazy. Its like when I was in Spain, but I'm in the middle of me garden on an alfa seat :p

But its soooo hot here and I have a lot more booze left so I'm outta here for now :D

dgt wrote: »
    I'd take a snap only I can't be arsed, too lazy. Its like when I was in Spain, but I'm in the middle of me garden on an alfa seat :p

But its soooo hot here and I have a lot more booze left so I'm outta here for now :D

Good don't want a stupid pic, only píss me off :pac:

That was the plan :D next bottle dedicated tonyou, nice and cool, mmmmm :cool: