Things/Species that have disappeared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Slow worms?
    just googled that. That was an image I never wanted to see again, and still don't. Jesus they are creepy.

yes, slow worms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I only saw one wasp this year. Couple of years ago I used to be tormented by them in the flat. Very strange.

Isn't it usually around August or September that wasps appear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Not sure to be honest. I thought they were about in the hot weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

The wife's sex drive.

Trust me, it's still there :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I have a pet earwig called Oliver, I call him O for short.

When I'm asleep and I feel an itch in my ear, I think to myself, 'earwig O again.':rolleyes:

You feel an itch in your ear while you are asleep?

Those yasser arrafart scarves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Palestine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Large numbers of small to medium bees. When I was a kid you could go into a field and catch dozens in a jar full of honeysuckle. Now there are much, much less but the ones that are about are bloody huge. When a bee hits a window pane these days it's like a dog trying to break its way in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Ya know what OP I've thought of that before too, what the hell happened to earwigs, they were always everywhere at home growing up, especially in the bathroom, never see them anymore, same with caterpillars, ladybirds

Palestine!

Too soon I think.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Very interesting thread, I've seen none at all this year and very few last year, perhaps they are victims like the bees of the pesticides that wipe them out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I work in a pre-school and we have a huge garden for the kids. When I first started there I bought magnifying glasses for each child so they could go insect hunting... Honestly we have found one - ONE ladybird in the space of a year and lots of crappy little spiders, a couple of beetle looking things and some wood lice. God bless their resolve though, everyday they say "GG can we find some ladybirds today???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Has anyone mentioned white dog shíte? It's a real 80's trope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Earwigs definitely for me too...although I only remember them when I was very small and would purposely find them and sneak them into the house.

The one that stands out for me is doctor flies though. I used be scared sh*tless of them c*nts and used cry loads when they got at ya but I haven't seen one in a very long time.

Another one is the wood wasp. I guess when I was young more trees were being cut down and in our own garden loads of trees were cut down so they were rampant. The size and noise off the f*ckers was frightening but they were harmless out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

If they were eliminated from the food chain, would it collapse?

The little b@stards have no reason to exist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Tommybom

Cadburys top deck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Orchards , haven't seen an orchard in years.
    My kids and their friends have no interest in robbing stuff.
    When I were a lad me and my friends were like a Sioux raiding party stripping orchards bare every Autumn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,974 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

irishgeo wrote: »
    Bees and wasps. Haven't seen or any in ages

Saw two bumblebees at it on my garden path this morning, the durty feckers.

Have a wasps nest in the kitchen roof space at the moment, going to wait until they die off in the autumn and then block up the gap they're using to get in.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Swede517

Bloodsuckers. They used to always be on walls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Ah lads, do ye lot ever go outside? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Ah lads, do ye lot ever go outside? :pac:

Give me one good reason why that's a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,976 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Where did all the white dog **** go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

catallus wrote: »
    Give me one good reason why that's a good idea?

There's penguins outside. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Funnnaaaaayyyyy :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

The b@stards are all living round my house. It's like being in an aviary.

Dublin has the highest proportion of magpies in Ireland apparently. Worse than seagulls they are, Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    What the f#ck ever happened to Earwigs?

earwigs are still around,and as strong as ever. I took a watering can from outside a few days ago and when i was filling it about 500 of the little cnuts came running out of the spout. I've notice that there havnt been many ladybirds about for the past couple of summers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I think it's cause we're not kids anymore. Don't go poking around in corners, lying around in fields as much as I used to at leasdt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

IvaBigWun wrote: »
    If they were eliminated from the food chain, would it collapse?

The little b@stards have no reason to exist

yes probably, or have some serious detrimental effect.
    and
    if it exists, it didnt evolve to fill no niche, if its become a pest then its probably because we have created the conditions for that or damaged or taken over its natural habitat (for any nuicsance creature)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

Irish builders - not seen many left in ireland these days - the species became migratory circa 2007 - many colonies of them in austraila / nz / canada - decimating the local populations though