Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Slow Journey to Faster Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Proper short shorts and a proper fast person's running vest and there's the 8 seconds you were looking for.

Now you've equalled my 10k time I'll be interested to see what you do in the Half; My prediction - 1.22.31 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Nice running, yaboya. Great result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Itziger wrote: »
    Proper short shorts and a proper fast person's running vest and there's the 8 seconds you were looking for.

Now you've equalled my 10k time I'll be interested to see what you do in the Half; My prediction - 1.22.31 ;)

I would take that now if you gave it to me :)
    I can't wear the short shorts. My legs are too big. I've tried them in training and have never avoided chafing. I might convert to a singlet someday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

yaboya1 wrote: »
    I noticed the long drag we would face in the first km on the way down :eek:. Got there well ahead of time, allowing time for some stretching and a chat with RedRunner, belcarra & Roisín (who I found out afterwards won the match between herself & belcarra :pac:). An opportunistic photographer pounced on his chance for a group shot, catching us all looking a lot fresher than we would be in an hour or so.

I was going to congratulate you on a great 10k time but when I noticed this glaring inaccuracy I had to cool the jets! Don't know where you got that idea from!:cool:
    Having raced Thursday and yesterday I am pretty knackered today but at least that injury that's been dogging me recently seems to have abated...now I just need to work on my fitness! Might see you in Longford yet...!

belcarra wrote: »
    I was going to congratulate you on a great 10k time but when I noticed this glaring inaccuracy I had to cool the jets! Don't know where you got that idea from!:cool:
    Having raced Thursday and yesterday I am pretty knackered today but at least that injury that's been dogging me recently seems to have abated...now I just need to work on my fitness! Might see you in Longford yet...!

When I asked you how you got on you said you came second? I assumed that's what you meant....

Monday 21st July - 45 minutes Recovery
    5m @ 9:04p/m average (119bpm avg)

Pre-work recovery run to get the week started. Forgot to change the Garmin back to miles, so the splits are in kilometres.

Splits:

Km 1 - 5:43 (106bpm)
    Km 2 - 6:03 (119bpm)
    Km 3 - 5:33 (126bpm)
    Km 4 - 5:35 (120bpm)
    Km 5 - 5:42 (120bpm)
    Km 6 - 5:33 (124bpm
    Km 7 - 5:35 (119bpm)
    Km 8 - 5:19 (124bpm)
    0.05 - 0:18 (126bpm)

I'm going to go with a similar plan to last week ahead of my race next Sunday. I'll get my long run in tomorrow and fill the rest of the week with easy miles. I'm going to drop the Steady sessions altogether for this week as I don't want to overtax myself after yesterday's effort ahead of Sunday's 10 miler. Should still see me hit the mid 50's mileage wise for the week.

Monday - 45 minutes Recovery (Done)
    Tuesday - 135 minutes Easy
    Wednesday - 90 minutes Easy
    Thursday - 90 minutes Easy
    Friday - Rest
    Saturday - 45 minutes Recovery (with Strides)
    Sunday - Mullingar 10 Mile

Depending on how I feel throughout the week, I might swap the rest day with one of the 90 minute sessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭overpronator

Brilliant run from yourself yesterday, great to see. Nice to put a face to the name too!

Found another photo from yesterday. I look surprisingly comfortable:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/90428488@N07/14707361884/in/set-72157645411573858

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

Found another photo from yesterday. I look surprisingly comfortable:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/90428488@N07/14707361884/in/set-72157645411573858

Good arms! What runners do you wear? Brooks?

New Balance 1080's. I have a pair of v3's & v4's. They're the v4's.
    Making their race debut yesterday :)

New Balance 1080's. I have a pair of v3's & v4's. They're the v4's.
    Making their race debut yesterday :)

Cool, never tried NB before myself. Would you consider using something lighter for racing in the future?

Never thought about it tbh.
    Don't think I'm anywhere near the level that it would make a significant difference?

Never thought about it tbh.
    Don't think I'm anywhere near the level that it would make a significant difference?

That's was exactly my thinking about this time last year. I thought it wouldn't make a difference but now I really think it can do. It's funny, I only fully realise the benefit of wearing a lighter runner makes after wearing something heavier (recovery run etc.) I find it very hard to adjust to anything approaching bulky now. It might be something worth considering. There are many reasons why racing flats, for example, can be an advantage. I think Jack Daniels argues that you expend 1% more energy per 100 grams of weight on a shoe. It's not for everyone and it's an issue much debated! I would definitely experiment with the idea if I were you.

Tuesday 22nd July - 135 minutes Easy
    16m @ 8:37/m average

I decided to do this without the HRM. I wanted to enjoy my run in the glorious sunshine outside, rather than stressing about keeping below a certain bpm. I spent the entire duration of the workout at what I felt was a nice even easy effort. I feel fine afterwards and am delighted to have this one in the bank :)

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:39
    Mile 2 - 8:46
    Mile 3 - 8:47
    Mile 4 - 8:54
    Mile 5 - 8:58
    Mile 6 - 8:49
    Mile 7 - 8:39
    Mile 8 - 8:35
    Mile 9 - 8:34
    Mile 10 - 8:36
    Mile 11 - 8:42
    Mile 12 - 8:29
    Mile 13 - 8:30
    Mile 14 - 8:24
    Mile 15 - 8:22
    Mile 16 - 8:15

Wednesday 23rd July - 90 minutes Easy
    10.39m @ 8:40/m average (119bpm avg)

I was very tired after work today and toyed with the idea of resting tonight instead of Friday. But as I walked home, I knew it would be a sin not to go out running on such a gorgeous evening. When I arrived to find that my car had disappeared, discovering soon after that it had been lifted by the scumbag clampers, my mind was made up. Ninety minutes in the fresh air would help cool the jets and clear my head. I took it very easily, so was surprised that the splits weren't a bit slower if I'm being honest. If I go out during the day tomorrow I'll probably leave the HRM behind again and just run very easily by feel. Now I've another couple of miles to cover to go and collect my car :mad:

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:32 (114bpm)
    Mile 2 - 8:28 (118bpm)
    Mile 3 - 8:41 (117bpm)
    Mile 4 - 8:41 (119bpm)
    Mile 5 - 8:46 (119bpm)
    Mile 6 - 8:39 (121bpm)
    Mile 7 - 8:46 (122bpm)
    Mile 8 - 8:41 (121bpm)
    Mile 9 - 8:43 (123bpm)
    Mile 10 - 8:41 (124bpm)
    0.39 - 3:25 (121bpm)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

The bastards !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Shower of bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Whats the goal for Sunday around the quiet roads of the Lake County?

tang1 wrote: »
    Whats the goal for Sunday around the quiet roads of the Lake County?

I'll be happy with anything sub 62.

Good stuff, route seems nice & flat from website. Hopefully the heat will have died down a small bit by then.

Hopefully. I'm assuming there's a shuttle bus or something. Start is around 7 miles from the finish. Says nothing about a bus in the race info though?

It starts & finishes at Dalystown School from what i know, looking at the route to the start and finish look side by side.

I must have looked at it wrong then. I thought it started there and finished in the town? Beside Wallaces Old World pub?

Theres a Wallaces' Pub in Dalystown to, doubt its the one in the middle of Mullingar your thinking of.

Now that explains everything :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

When I arrived to find that my car had disappeared...

Where had you parked? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭aero2k

There are two people in my Terenure finishing photo who I only got past here again in the last 200m. Consistency or what? :pac:.

I am one of the two. I think it tends to happen in the race series, the same faces show up around the same pace. Nice to talk to you afterwards, but now that I know you I won't let you past so easily next time!:pac:

Murph_D wrote: »
    Where had you parked? :pac:

Same place I always park. They gave me bs about causing an obstruction. Took four cars apparently. Must be short of a few quid.

Thursday 24th July - 90 minutes Easy
    10.46m @ 8:36/m average

The sun was covered up by clouds when I hit the road today, so despite the lack of raw heat it was still very close & humid. Decided against bringing the HRM anyway and just kept it nice & easy, similar to yesterday's pace. Feeling pretty fatigued now. The body won't object to tomorrow's rest day :P.

Splits:

Mile 1 - 8:38
    Mile 2 - 8:36
    Mile 3 - 8:40
    Mile 4 - 8:37
    Mile 5 - 8:39
    Mile 6 - 8:40
    Mile 7 - 8:41
    Mile 8 - 8:39
    Mile 9 - 8:18
    Mile 10 - 8:30
    0.46 - 4:02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Might see you again in Mullingar on Sunday morning after all.
    Did I hear you say it's a nice and flat course?