Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

"No fixed budget [for transfers], there IS money to invest"...

Champions League qualification is a "MUST" for Manchester United...

[ambition for the club] - "To Win, its what we do!"

Nice interview with Ed, talks the talk but ultimately will be judged on the field of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Dare I say he actually impressed me there. Talked well without dodging questions.

He says he listens to fans, well I hope someone tells him that Chevrolet logo is fookin hideous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

It will be a joy to see United use its financial strength to compete with the big two in Spain.

Allegations of trying to buy success are ludicrous. If we're Financial Fair Play compliant and spending according to our means, that's perfectly fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Financial fair play is farcical regardless, Barca having received a transfer ban were able to sign Suarez, a player who was banned from all footballing activity for 4 months, go figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

I'm more worried by these comments than encouraged. Looks like it's set up again for him to leave the tour dramatically early to fly home on 'urgent transfer business'...I'd have been happier not to hear any apparently pointless statements such as today's and just see some results. Any goodwill he's seeking in making these comments will be forthcoming in spades when he actually delivers, so I don't really understand why he can't contain himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

GSPfan wrote: »
    Dare I say he actually impressed me there. Talked well without dodging questions.

He says he listens to fans, well I hope someone tells him that Chevrolet logo is fookin hideous.

He also said he/United keep an eye on social media.. Get that twitter campaign going ASAP ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

irishfeen wrote: »
    Even in our darkest days last season I was remaining somewhat positive so you could just imagine how happy a decent transfer window would make me :D

There was a good, well not good but interesting article in the guardian the other day.

Basically said that given Utd are now on the top-top manager merry-go-round, some serious culpability has to be attached for ever trying it differently with Moyes. The article said the fcuk up is that they didn't get Jose but I don't buy that, they're better off dodging that bullet IMO.

However being out of the CL is the result of a failed policy and now they're ploughing the same furrow as City or Chelsea. I don't mean this as a jibe, just that they whole 'managerial dynasty' thing is probably over.

The attempt to avoid that fact cost them the CL and has out them behind their rivals. However, they have a sh1tload of money to spend .. And it's FFP ligit. I think there's really a huge onus on the hierarchy of the club to spend a lot of money quickly.

I didn't believe the Vidal rumours because I didn't believe that LVG would be in such a hurry to buy two CMF's before even starting work.

Bit I'd say after a few weeks he'll have an assessment of the squad done and you'll see some serious additions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Ed The Equalizer

zarquon wrote: »

Loving the clips of LVG taking training :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

RGDATA! wrote: »
    I'm more worried by these comments than encouraged. Looks like it's set up again for him to leave the tour dramatically early to fly home on 'urgent transfer business'...I'd have been happier not to hear any apparently pointless statements such as today's and just see some results. Any goodwill he's seeking in making these comments will be forthcoming in spades when he actually delivers, so I don't really understand why he can't contain himself

Ed is a smart guy. There is no way he is saying those things unless United are very confident about a couple of signings.

We just have to be patient with the club and enjoy the preseason.

I'm gonna buy MUTV for the month and record games before getting up for an early breakfast.

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Ed is a smart guy. There is no way he is saying those things unless United are very confident about a couple of signings.

You think we're going to sign some players? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Ahh stop being so grumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

Great too to see Ed Woodward doing what he does best. Selling the brand.

If only he was half as good at buying players as he is at talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Zico wrote: »

This place is absolutely miserable.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Well we have Mata, Shaw and Herrera in the last 6 months. All superb buys. Let's judge him again at the end of the transfer window.

He's done a superb job overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Repeat after me.

Must.

Try.

Harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Id be pretty sure the £750m is subject to many conditions but one of them surely wud be Addidas having certain expectations of star names coming in.star names + new kits = big bucks. One decent signing could sell £20-£30m in shirt sales alone and i think the club will be expected to deliver these from now on.

Strong words from Woodward today, but he needs to deliver in the next 3 weeks or the pressure and stick he has been getting for last 12 months will come back pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

J. Marston wrote: »
    He talks a big game now lets if he can actually back it up.

I think he has already begun to back it up, with his actions over the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I sense a big name player coming up.

just a gut feeling here.

flip it im staying positive anyway.

next 2-3 weeks are big alright I agree.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭KombuchaMshroom

billyhead wrote: »
    Its the usual bravado talk from a CEO in charge one of the biggest clubs in the world. The same with David Gill i.e if the manager wants a player we will back him 100% etc. Its really the Glazers who have the final say. Unless we see a big name player sign before the end of the window I reckon all this talk is just to please the fans. I feel LVG will get the best out of the current crop and will get us that top 4 place finish next season without having to spend more money, but I would love to see reinforcements added tot he first team i.e as everyone knows a new CB and MF is required

Buzz_Killington.jpg

Seriously, seems some people always have to look for the negative in everything.

1) This isn't the normal talk we got under Gill. The usual phrase to open every summer was "no value in the market". Himself and Fergie normally tried to play down expectations and normally for a good reason because they rarely delivered in the transfer window for quite a few years. Maybe Ed is putting himself under a little unnecessary pressure here but there is no way these comments are simply to keep the fans happy, as it won't only make people more angry then if he didn't sign more players.

2)Fans are anxious because they want to see players signed, Woodward reassures these fans in a very strong and positive manner that every effort is being made to sign the best players possible. Seriously, what is your problem with that?

3) Mata, Shaw and Herrara in the last 6 months, and there is still plenty of time left in this window, give the man a chance at least.

tl,dr: Lighten up to f*** lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Berbatov still has it.

https://t.co/QsEUY1a0zx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Does anyone have a link to the interview that isn't from dailymotion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Does anyone have a link to the interview that isn't from dailymotion?

Poor quality compared to dailymotion but heres a youtube version

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

^^^ Cheers, that dailymotion one was all out of sync on the tablet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Sorry if it has been mentioned before on the thread (been a bit preoccupied watching the golf) but the papers are rolling out the familiar "house up for sale" headlines. Apparently Vidal has put his house up for sale...the source for this information, the neighbours, the same ones who said he was ironing out his decisions earlier in the week, a right nosey bunch :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

How people still moan at woodward after spending 100+ million on 3 players is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

How people still moan at woodward after spending 100+ million on 3 players is beyond me.

Just wait until LvG loses a match. I'll be going in to hiding.

Arsenal linked with Carvalho in the papers today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Sport claiming we've agreed personal terms with Hummels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Just wait until LvG loses a match. I'll be going in to hiding.

Wait till he loses to Swansea on opening day! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭yermandan

Morning ladies and gents. Loads of peeps have signed up for this thread's FF League.

We can start another paid league if people want, or if everyone who has signed up so far to the one in my sig wants, we can do a 5/10 euro per head job, with 10% going to a charity of our choosing.

I'm happy do organise it the way NeVeR did the sweep, let me know what you think.

For those who want to come on board, the code is in my sig

:-)