Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Seen this over on balls.ie
    Van Gaal very impressive
    Talks about Strootman alot

Apologies if already posted

Van Gaal management presentation

id be pretty sure that if the stories of LVG not "wanting" Kroos or Vidal are accurate, he is only doing so as he fancies Strootman above both of them.

I wouldnt have a problem with that as such personally, if he didnt get injured, but seen as he is, its a massive risk he would be taking if this was the case. i wonder how much of this "waiting for 3 or 4 weeks" is actually due to the fact that Strootman returned to Roma this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

If vidal isnt on the cards strootman is a beast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Strootman is a great player, I want him and Vidal though

Clear out Anderson, Cleverley

Strootman, Vidal, Ander, Carrick and Fellaini isn't a bad bunch

If vidal isnt on the cards strootman is a beast

realistically though he wont play until October or november. signing him would be a massive risk.

as to how we let him go to Roma last summer for £16million ill never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Strootman is a an option, but not a great option considering it could easily be January before he hits form. And I really don't want to be writing off half a season talking about how someone has suffered because ''they didn't get a pre-season'' amongst other clichès.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

@craignorwood
    Louis van Gaal wearing white socks and sandals to training in LA. Will be a brave man that tells him it's 'not cool' in the fashion world.

haha

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

realistically though he wont play until October or november. signing him would be a massive risk.

david-moyes_2783026k.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Besic.. Been linked with Everton,Swansea and a few Spanish sides. Would cost 5,6,7mill max and would be a great addition to the squad and maybe the first team. Less then De Jong and only 21, could/would be up to the job that De Jong would do.. Is my choice! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Lads, I'm seeing the future. Had Rvp first scorer against Brazil, Dutch to win 3-0. Had Celtic to draw today. Mcgregor first round stoppage.

New predictions: vidal to united the week after next. Vernealen within the next ten days. Rooney captain. Mata to be united player of the year. Herrera to win the Spanish love triangle.
    Boom!

PS: the baron is quite drunk. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

Im very interested to see what LVG does with Rooney. Can both himself and RVP be played together? I feel that both need to be played as strikers. Rooney can't be dropped in as a 10, he's far far superior up front. Very few teams seem to go with 2 out and out strikers these days and I think we will often see LVG play with one up front. So it will be interesting to see how he manages RVP, Rooney, Mata, Kagawa etc. We have too many great attacking players, which is a great problem to have in some ways. I just think that every one of them will need to be prepared to be benched at times. This was something I thought Moyes struggled with. IMO he was afraid to drop Rooney and so he attempted to accommodate as many players as possible, which did not necessarily benefit the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

no value in the market sure

it was actually €16m, which is even cheaper.

the changing of the managers has been quite disruptive in terms of scouting and recruitment- Strootman and Thiago on our radar before Moyes took over,then it became Fabregas, kroos and now the goal posts have moved again apparently with Van Gaal though at least he authorised Shaw and Herrera.

a few of ye on here were suggest LVG was not a chequebook manager so it makes the £60m spent a bit surprising in that respect.

KH25 wrote: »
    Im very interested to see what LVG does with Rooney. Can both himself and RVP be played together? I feel that both need to be played as strikers. Rooney can't be dropped in as a 10, he's far far superior up front. Very few teams seem to go with 2 out and out strikers these days and I think we will often see LVG play with one up front. So it will be interesting to see how he manages RVP, Rooney, Mata, Kagawa etc. We have too many great attacking players, which is a great problem to have in some ways. I just think that every one of them will need to be prepared to be benched at times. This was something I thought Moyes struggled with. IMO he was afraid to drop Rooney and so he attempted to accommodate as many players as possible, which did not necessarily benefit the team.

Dude, I'm drunk but let's bit complicate a simple mathematical situation.
    If we go into the new season with what we have. It can be risky and sexy.

Herrera
    kagawa

mata

januzaj
    rooney
    Rvp

Pick a better front six in the pl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,820 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Dude, I'm drunk but let's bit complicate a simple mathematical situation.
    If we go into the new season with what we have. It can be risky and sexy.

Herrera
    kagawa

mata

januzaj
    rooney
    Rvp

Pick a better front six in the pl

Benefit of the doubt cause you are drunk but that 6 would get destroyed

Depends in the work ethic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,820 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Depends in the work ethic.

Its way too attack minded. It would get taken apart

Work ethic. I tend to agree. Stick De Jong in the middle and it's a team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Lads Strootman has just had ACL surgery, not a calf strain!! They have too take 1 of his hamstrings (we have 4 in each leg) and drill a hole threw the top of his knee too the bottom,pull the hamstring through and screw it in place!! It's not something "you just get over" he needs big time rehab etc,he will not be passing any Medicals for any club any time soon!! So even too think about a January signing date is optimistic but too think a date before the window shuts enda aug is just down right mad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

ACL surgery takes about 10 weeks before they recommend you start moderate excercise drills, Strootman is coming up to week 21 and is back pre season training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

ACL surgery takes about 10 weeks before they recommend you start moderate excercise drills, Strootman is coming up to week 21 and is back pre season training

Doesn't really matter, you'd want to see him play a lot of games after an injury like that before spunking money on him. Fairly often people never fully recover from ACL surgery and have constant pain and instability. There's a chance he'll never be the same player.

Red Barron you are not alone, I too am also munk as a dronkey here. Vidal to United within the next 2 weeks!! Lads you can take that from a guy who tried to put 2 feet into the 1 shoe while deadly serious earlier tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Doesn't really matter, you'd want to see him play a lot of games after an injury like that before spunking money on him. Fairly often people never fully recover from ACL surgery and have constant pain and instability. There's a chance he'll never be the same player.

Didn't khedira do his ACL. Looked to have recovered well at re recent wc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭RickyOFlaherty

Roma spending a lot of money recently
    Money being spent in advance of strootman's sale. Done dealio?
    Ha.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

If Van Gaal is after a couple players from his Dutch team the waiting a few weeks talk makes sense as they would be on holiday.

I do think De Vrig and Blind are his most likely targets from the group. Because of how good they appear to be, experience levels are good and the positions they play are where United have the greatest need for recruitment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Hes not back in full training hes training in the gym (squats and lunges) and hes doing jogging, your talking 9 months post op before he can play a competitive match at the earlyiest,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

So here's the Sunday morning round-up from the rags;
    Feyenoord and Holland centre-back Stefan de Vrij is set to be Louis van Gaal's first signing for Manchester United.
    Mirror
    Manchester United have made contact with Fiorentina with regards to signing Juan Cuadrado, according to the Daily Express.
    The Red Devils are now expected to launch a £30million bid next week for the Colombian World Cup star
    Daily Express
    Manchester United boss Louis Van Gaal is preparing to increase his offer for Arsenal's Thomas Vermaelen to £10million. United have received a huge boost in their pursuit of Vermaelen after Arsene Wenger admitted he is not guaranteed to stay at the club.
    Star
    Manager Louis van Gaal is considering delaying the announcement of who will be Manchester United captain until Michael Carrick returns from injury.
    The Mail
    AC Milan are interested in signing Manchester United winger Nani. However, the San Siro outfit are not impressed with the £11million asking price for the Portuguese winger.
    Sunday Express
    Manchester United and Barcelona are set to do battle over left-back Daley Blind, according to reports in Spain, the player is on the radar of both the Red Devils and Barcelona, who are considering €22million (£17m) bids
    Mirror

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Bebe going to tear **** up in Bray this afternoon.

lordgoat wrote: »
    Bebe going to tear **** up in Bray this afternoon.

Full squad for the Bray game
    Squad: Kieran O'Hara, Joel Castro Pereira; Callum Evans, Donald Love, Tom Thorpe, Ryan McConnell, Paddy McNair, Saidy Janko, Guillermo Varela, Marnick Vermijl; Ben Pearson, Andreas Pereira, Davide Petrucci, Joe Rothwell, Sean Goss, Josh Harrop, Matty Willock; Tom Lawrence, Ashley Fletcher

article-2698530-1FD00C2F00000578-919_634x361.jpg
    article-2698530-1FD00B4900000578-11_634x451.jpg
    article-2698530-1FCD485D00000578-944_638x403.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Oh Juan you sexy ****, you.