If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Worst work attitude you've ever witnessed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A friend of mine is a painting contractor and back in 2005 when everyone had a Pole working for them, my friend had 2. So come 5pm, they would down tools..but not clean up or anything like that e.g. wash the brushes, put paint buckets away etc etc. Response was "It is 5 a clock." Now that was undeniable. They were swiftly told that unless the tidy up they were not to tunr up the next day...they saw sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Mate of my Dads is a manager in the civil service and he told me of this one guy he had to deal with. Basically there was a special project and this guy was picked for it. He was told that there was a bonus on completion and it was a 6 month project.

The project basically fell through as it wasn't viable so he was told to go back to his department and they would give him the bonus anyhow. No, he refused and then spent 6 months literally doing nothing. When he was due to go back to his department he then had the audacity to ask for the bonus as he completed the contract and what's worse, he actually got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Spoilt, well off, people working part time are generally quite difficult to work with I find. They come in all ages and work purely to pass the time rather than out of necessity or desire.

Common traits include:

A refusal to learn new things because they find it "too hard" to understand.

A general non acceptance of any kind of responsibility or ownership over their work.

An inability to take constructive criticism, or their first response to someone with a problem is to get defensive.

A general careless attitude towards their work which includes being rude to clients (I DON'T HAVE TO LISTEN TO THIS) or to providers the company deals with (HOW DARE YOU KEEP ME WAITING.....after being on hold for all of 30 seconds).

A lack of consideration towards colleagues just because they are on a part time contract (god forbid you could stay a little longer to help your colleagues reach a deadline).

Throwing fits if they are even slightly inconvenienced.

And worst of all, these people generally get away with their behaviour due to the modern day ultra PC office where people are afraid to pull someone up for fear of being up in HR for "bullying", or management just not wanting to have to deal with the bother of sacking someone.

/rant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

A friend of mine is a painting contractor and back in 2005 when everyone had a Pole working for them, my friend had 2. So come 5pm, they would down tools..but not clean up or anything like that e.g. wash the brushes, put paint buckets away etc etc. Response was "It is 5 a clock." Now that was undeniable. They were swiftly told that unless the tidy up they were not to tunr up the next day...they saw sense.
    Were they only paid up until 5? I never get how employers get pissed off when someone leaves on time on a daily basis. If there needs to be cleaning done before the end of their day it should be factored in. Saying I pay you until 5 and you must do work up until that time but I expect you to clean up for free is taking the piss.

Edit on topic, I worked in a supermarket during school. I was walking past one of the other part-timers who was packing something up, I noticed there were some broken eggs on the floor beside him, as i walked past I asked him to clean the mess up, his response "I didn't drop them so I'm not cleaning them up"

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭josip

Back in Gateway in the 90s there was a team handling phone support.
    One day a customer complained that she'd been insulted and sworn at on the phone.
    The manager went back over the call logs on the computer system to see who had handled her call.
    He was reading throught the guy's report of the call before confronting him when he read,

"...so I told her she was a fcuking idiot and to turn off the compouter and never go near one again..."

waraf wrote: »
    Why is that a bad thing? You don't have to work your month's notice but you still get paid for it.

It was a week's notice as they are on probation....of course people are on probation for 1-2 years..kept coming up with reasons to keep them on probation...such as not meeting impossible targets etc...high turn of staff oa that place...dont work there anymore.

I recall being unceremoniously sacked a few years back...I was doing a Master's and I asked my direct boss if there would be any issue going to lectures on a Thursday morning and then working late or on Saturday. He had no problem but had to clear it with a Director.

Basically called in and told they were letting me go...gave me this bull**** reason. Afterwards, my direct boss who I was friendly with basically admitted it was bull**** and all done to my request to go to lectures and my 'commimtment'.

TBH did me huge favour in hindsight so **** you PPL....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

I worked with a guy who got locked at the Christmas party and thought it would be a great idea to throw his leg behind the HR manager and sit behind her in her seat, pressed up against her to lick her ear lobe. Didn't go down too well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

I was told regularly in my last job that I had a terrible work attitude because:
    (a) I wasn't flexible with my time. I worked on average an extra 2 - 3 hours a day for no extra pay for 6 years until I got the hump. It wasn't the pay, it was the complete lack of gratitude that got me annoyed and the fact that it became 'expected'.

(b) I was considered uncooperative. This was because I was a realist and rather than nodding my head and saying yes, I would be honest. Every single time I was uncooperative I was proven to be right.

(c) I was grumpy and difficult. Only because I never got any gratitude and was constantly being slagged or threatened with sacking by my boss whenever he was in a bad mood. Funnily enough, my co-workers to this day have stayed in touch.

(d) Bad at timekeeping. I came in late ONE morning due to car problems and was called into the office and given a verbal warning. Never took into account that I was usually the first there and one of the last to leave and rarely took a lunch break.

My ex-boss just loved trying to break me and he almost did but I still laugh at the fact that when I left, they thought I would be easy to replace. They have had to take on two people and still outsource some of what I used to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

not really a terrible work attitude, just sounds like you wanted to have a dig at the poles...once they were warned they started doing this correctly? thats not the worst thing in the world....you get that attitude from alot of people in that field, not just polish people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

A Supervisor / Team Leader in an ex workplace whom was so despised that it was even mooted to pay some thugs to give him a hiding, he was the only person who worked there who wouldn't put his contact details in a communal book that every one else used. Bullied various people into resignation.

Used to shout and roar at people like some demobbed Sgt Major, he had a problem with Angina, every time he lost his rag we used to look at each other and go ''fingers crossed, this could be the one''.

Eventually took early retirement with his tail between his legs after being overlooked for promotion.

Like most absolute c**ts, his birthday was in May for those who believe in astrology. :pac:

Were they only paid up until 5? I never get how employers get pissed off when someone leaves on time on a daily basis. If there needs to be cleaning done before the end of their day it should be factored in. Saying I pay you until 5 and you must do work up until that time but I expect you to clean up for free is taking the piss.

Edit on topic, I worked in a supermarket during school. I was walking past one of the other part-timers who was packing something up, I noticed there were some broken eggs on the floor beside him, as i walked past I asked him to clean the mess up, his response "I didn't drop them so I'm not cleaning them up"

I dont see much difference between the paragraph 1 and 2 TBH and not in a good way.

I hate working with a jobsworth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Still, I bet they could have painted 5 houses in the time it would take 2 Irish lads to paint 1.

shane9689 wrote: »
    not really a terrible work attitude, just sounds like you wanted to have a dig at the poles...once they were warned they started doing this correctly? thats not the worst thing in the world....you get that attitude from alot of people in that field, not just polish people

You do get that attitude from people...they never last long....

If you are working for a large organisation where nobody has no loyalty or gives a ****- fine but if it's a small one man band with 5-6 employees then you are expected to go the extra mile to get the job done. The Poles were the only ones who did this. They were fine after that conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭NickD

There was a girl, she was in her early twenties, on a two week trial in my old job (creche). For the first week she was grand, she was just acting as a floater. One day in her second week she went a bit mad. In one day she robbed almost all of the staff. She would walk into their rooms when they were in outdoor play and empty their purses. It is a creche. There is CCTV everywhere. Anyway she was told that her trial didn't work out and was shown the CCTV footage. She sent her daddy in to have a go at the manager for not hiring his precious little princess.

Still, I bet they could have painted 5 houses in the time it would take 2 Irish lads to paint 1.

No they were ****....lol...cldnt lift a brush...:pac:..didnt last long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

I dont see much difference between the paragraph 1 and 2 TBH and not in a good way.

I hate working with a jobsworth

Paragraph one not getting paid, paragraph 2 getting paid that is a huge difference.

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

I work with 1,400 other people in the same office building. 1,100 of them are French but thankfully I am not in the office full time. A lot of them have a heart rate no greater than 25bpm at any time of the day except 15:58 when it's time to leave for the train station.

Paragraph one not getting paid, paragraph 2 getting paid that is a huge difference.

The crappy jobsworth attitude is the same IMO.

Another thing that pisses me off (although I dont see it in UK as much) Fecking cigarette breaks....I mean WTF..maybe the fatties can have chocolate breaks...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The crappy jobsworth attitude is the same IMO.

Not really tbh. When you work you are exchanging your time and expertise for money. If you're paid according to how much time you spend working (which the majority are) then it's not a crappy attitude to actually want to finish at the time you stop being paid for.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

So many examples...Ranging from the feckless and incompetent to the genuinely wicked and deliberate...

Lazy Wasters : -

The guy who went on a 3 week bender , totally AWOL from the office for the entire period and then just arrived in one morning and sat at his desk as if nothing had happened..The look of shock and surprise on his face when his manager called him aside to give him his marching orders was priceless.

The guy who would regularly fall asleep in the toilets during work in the middle of the day and couldn't understand why that wasn't ok.

Deliberately bad without a shred of shame or embarrassment :-

The guy who walked off the site one day during a fire-drill mid-morning and didn't return (went straight to the nearest pub) - when challenged about where he'd gone (having been seen on CCTV leaving the car-park) he's response was "Well I have a pilonidal cyst and it burst so I went home to clean myself up" !!!!!. He was unable to provide any doctors notes/certs to support this however...

Same guy not too long later - Claiming sick leave (company paid full salary for 6 months for long-term illness), out for 5 months with chronic back injury - unable to walk/stand for more than a few minutes according to him. Was asked if he could come to the office for a meeting to discuss options (he lived about 2 miles away) - His response "I can't , I'm on a camping holiday in Kerry with the family, could we do it next week maybe"

Couldn't understand why he got fired......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

During the boom when no one wanted to work in the Public Service we regularly had people who would start on their first day, go for lunch and not come back - the record was some who started at 9-00am and left at 10-30am!!

We had people either laugh or get wonderfully indignant in interviews when we told them starting salaries.....

My favourite was the girl who went told the starting salary for the job we were hiring said something to the effect that "My Daddy works for [Large International Beverage Comany] I can get twice that money working for him..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I work with 1,400 other people in the same office building. 1,100 of them are French but thankfully I am not in the office full time. A lot of them have a heart rate no greater than 25bpm at any time of the day except 15:58 when it's time to leave for the train station.
    That must be nice though, a chilled out work place with a work life balance and no one about to have a stroke?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Employees posting on Boards.is at work.
    You'll be next.

Iceland have a boards forum?!

cooooooool :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

In the 5 years I've worked in my current job no fewer than THREE people have fallen asleep on their first day (in front of everyone).

In two cases they were getting 1:1 training, the third was in a conference room full of starters.

In 2006, I was in Egypt for 2 weeks with one of these adventure holiday companies. Anyway, I shared a room with this guy from Belfast for the entire trip. He worked with the Dept of Works and Pensions in Belfast.

Now, Egypt is quite hot with seering 40 degree heat in places and this guy was covered from head to toe in protective clothing and lathered in sun block- nothing wrong with that- very sensible.

Obvioulsy he looked like a milk bottle and he was quite obsessive about making sure he didnt get burned or tan.

As it turned out, he had pulled a sicky from work for 2 weeks (as he was out of holiday) and could not go back to work with a glowing Egyptian tan...lazy bastard but Jaysus he suffered for it..:pac:

He was a complete head wrecker and pissed everyone off but I did quietly admire his balls....figuratively of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,766 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I work with 3 fellas who get the same money as me but are lazy bastards and get away with it, but there are people like that in every workplace I guess.

I said it to one of them once and he told me if I said any more he would hit me, real nice visitors to our country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

stealing
    lots and lots of stealing
    not pens but pallets of books, of bricks, of timber christ the list is amazing

boxes of high end watches, jewelry you name it its been stolen from places i worked

and it was usually common knowledge who was doing it in these places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,938 ✭✭✭✭bear1

In 2006, I was in Egypt for 2 weeks with one of these adventure holiday companies. Anyway, I shared a room with this guy from Belfast for the entire trip. He worked with the Dept of Works and Pensions in Belfast.

Now, Egypt is quite hot with seering 40 degree heat in places and this guy was covered from head to toe in protective clothing and lathered in sun block- nothing wrong with that- very sensible.

Obvioulsy he looked like a milk bottle and he was quite obsessive about making sure he didnt get burned or tan.

As it turned out, he had pulled a sicky from work for 2 weeks (as he was out of holiday) and could not go back to work with a glowing Egyptian tan...lazy bastard but Jaysus he suffered for it..:pac:

He was a complete head wrecker and pissed everyone off but I did quietly admire his balls....figuratively of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo