Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Hal1 wrote: »
    A wet few days from Friday morning onwards. So get you're car jobs done before then. Check the forecast after 9o'clock news tomorrow evening.

Don't need to be hearing that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

It could get fairly thundery too. More info on the weather forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=91295316#post91295316 yep I'm a sado who likes extreme weather :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

YbFocus wrote: »
    Nothing a swift team of lads showing up to the cuntz house wouldn't at least help!
    Wouldn't be the first time!

I hate that thing of doing someone else over, how can they live with themselves :(

Private sale, caveat emptor and all that..
    Sorry to see it happen but it goes to show that if she had checked the car before buying this could have been prevented.
    HGF rarely happens without symptoms

It could get fairly thundery too. More info on the weather forum: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=91295316#post91295316 yep I'm a sado who likes extreme weather :D.

:mad:

:mad:

Lets hope that the jobs planned for friday morning are done before the rain hits lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

When it's done knowingly then it is all fair game..

Well obviously then that's a whole world of difference! Would be difficult to prove though.

Ah man after 20 mins? I'd be back with the melted piston knocking it off his head!

Ah I know (and agree of course), but I mean it would be difficult to prove that the guy knew about it before the sale.

Lets hope that the jobs planned for friday morning are done before the rain hits lol!

You don't have a marquee thing or something no?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I drove my car for about twenty minutes, mechanic also put an engine cleaner in when he did the service.

He then took it for a spin (I'm waiting for the penalty points notice :D) and said it's performing better than he's ever known it to.

It was super, feels really good, quick, responsive just fab.

But now I've made a potentially fatal mistake and allowed the OH to drive it to take his daughter home, he normally drives an auto Merc.

I may regret this!

Stheno wrote: »
    I drove my car for about twenty minutes, mechanic also put an engine cleaner in when he did the service.

He then took it for a spin (I'm waiting for the penalty points notice :D) and said it's performing better than he's ever known it to.

It was super, feels really good, quick, responsive just fab.

But now I've made a potentially fatal mistake and allowed the OH to drive it to take his daughter home, he normally drives an auto Merc.

I may regret this!

It will come back with something wrong, I bet anything on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Nothing a swift team of lads showing up to the cuntz house wouldn't at least help!
    Wouldn't be the first time!

I hate that thing of doing someone else over, how can they live with themselves :(
    Sorry to see it happen but it goes to show that if she had checked the car before buying this could have been prevented.
    HGF rarely happens without symptoms

He knew what he was at and he knew the car was dodgy. Sure the water pump was full of silicone and everything. Its all a mess ffs.
    What gets me is she actually saved up to buy the car with out right cash, and its all down the drain on a dodgy car.

Obviously, they shouldn't have went so far to look at it without a mechanic, but from what I'm told it drove fine on the test drive. And it looked like a great deal.

He got through to his Dad, and he said he found the phone after he realised who was calling, my friend said he had his reg number but he hung up then.

This is it btw,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-opel-astra-2-years-nct/7255586

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

It will come back with something wrong, I bet anything on it

I think to be honest he will be careful, he's one of those awful Sunday driver types, so he might get a fright and decide to take it easy :)
    Kaiser D wrote: »
    He knew what he was at and he knew the car was dodgy. Sure the water pump was full of silicone and everything. Its all a mess ffs.
    What gets me is she actually saved up to buy the car with out right cash, and its all down the drain on a dodgy car.

Obviously, they shouldn't have went so far to look at it without a mechanic, but from what I'm told it drove fine on the test drive. And it looked like a great deal.

He got through to his Dad, and he said he found the phone after he realised who was calling, my friend said he had his reg number but he hung up then.

This is it btw,

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/06-opel-astra-2-years-nct/7255586

Fake sellers name?

His mother's name apparently.

I'll personally drive ye back there!!

His mother's name apparently.

Sounds like your friend was thoroughly duped :(

I had a head gasket go on me once on the M50, twas a fiat punto, overheated to feck, then cooled down, was fine before that, but that was in the days before I knew even the little I know now.

I'll personally drive ye back there!!
    Sounds like your friend was thoroughly duped :(

I had a head gasket go on me once on the M50, twas a fiat punto, overheated to feck, then cooled down, was fine before that, but that was in the days before I knew even the little I know now.

They're going to try and do something about it, but aren't holding out hopes.

If donedeal could even tell how many car ad's he has placed this year, that would be a great place to start but I doubt they would give out that sort of info.

They were well are truly duped, but ffs they should have brought a mechanic. I just kept saying that to myself. It was a ridicliously stupid thing to do. I would have gone down for the day out ffs!

I'm just really feeling sorry for his daughter :(

They're going to try and do something about it, but aren't holding out hopes.

If donedeal could even tell how many car ad's he has placed this year, that would be a great place to start but I doubt they would give out that sort of info.

They were well are truly duped, but ffs they should have brought a mechanic. I just kept saying that to myself. It was a ridicliously stupid thing to do. I would have gone down for the day out ffs!

I'm just really feeling sorry for his daughter :(
    How much did she pay?

€3k.

I got the recovery for €250, and I'm not charging for the work (in a way, I get her old car instead, its just an old Ka)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

A wet few days from Friday morning onwards. So get you're car jobs done before then. Check the forecast after 9o'clock news tomorrow evening.

The one we got today at work was much more optimistic:p
    Hot weather for the whole week:D (Mon-Fri - not so sure about the weekend, but no wet days reported, fortunately).

wonski wrote: »
    The one we got today at work was much more optimistic:p
    Hot weather for the whole week:D (Mon-Fri - not so sure about the weekend, but no wet days reported, fortunately).

I like you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Where abouts in Mayo kaiser.

Went with the aunt to look at a car this evening,(which she bought) didn't bring a mechanic, I told her to, but sure......
    I applied my *snigger* "expertise" that I learned around here to examine it. Hope it don't turn out to be a lemon!

Where abouts in Mayo kaiser.

Went with the aunt to look at a car this evening,(which she bought) didn't bring a mechanic, I told her to, but sure......
    I applied my *snigger* "expertise" that I learned around here to examine it. Hope it don't turn out to be a lemon!

Was in Claremorris.

You do know; now that you looked at one car for a family member, they'll all be asking you now :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Was in Claremorris.

You do know; now that you looked at one car for a family member, they'll all be asking you now :pac:

Ha, I'll be over in 20 mins to sort them out :cool: Get a bit of a convoy going :P

I got monies for it, so keep them coming is all I say!!

Was in Claremorris.

And they will never stop.

My OH now simply states what he wants in vague terms usually "big, black/navy, nct" and I literally take that, find a car, test drive it, have him test drive it after I've checked it, and he literally writes the cheque.

You don't want that.

That said, this is the man who gets breakfast in bed five days a week, and whom our mechanic slags when the mechanic and I are talking about issues.

THere was an issue with his merc where it occasionally juddered on the gear, I noticed, said it to the mechanic and the auto transmission fluid and a part needed replacing.

The unobservant one had no clue.

@KKV - Pics of the spacer fitting up on "today I did" thread.

Ah jesus I feel a bit guilty now.

OH's daughter was over and he took my car to drive her home.

He took ages to get back and I was fretting.

Shame on me, he decided to take the car to a car wash that is a power wash, gave the car a great clean, did a nice job on the inside.

The car looks lovely, he commented that it was a bit fast so he took it easy

I know some of you will think "OMG a car wash" but that's a really considerate thing for a non car person like my OH to do. He was so chuffed at surprising me too, and tbh, he did a lovely job making my car look like a car that is cared for and clean inside and out.

It could be better, but an unsolicited gesture like that I think is lovely. He knew I was chuffed to bits I'd finally sorted the mechanics.

Like i said last night, it's the little things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Ah jesus I feel a bit guilty now.

OH's daughter was over and he took my car to drive her home.

He took ages to get back and I was fretting.

Shame on me, he decided to take the car to a car wash that is a power wash, gave the car a great clean, did a nice job on the inside.

The car looks lovely, he commented that it was a bit fast so he took it easy

I know some of you will think "OMG a car wash" but that's a really considerate thing for a non car person like my OH to do. He was so chuffed at surprising me too, and tbh, he did a lovely job making my car look like a car that is cared for and clean inside and out.

It could be better, but an unsolicited gesture like that I think is lovely. He knew I was chuffed to bits I'd finally sorted the mechanics.

Could be worse:D

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=0bb_1405335987