Should I wait around for my Graduation Ceremony?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Long Gone

Don't go - Get on the plane to Canada and spend the day on the lash down The Tilted Kilt or similar instead. A much cheaper and much more rewarding experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,322 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

There's free finger food at some of them. I enjoyed that, especially considering that I wasn't the person graduating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The Cool wrote: »
    Digging up a conversation from 2011... LITTLE bit creepy Ficheall!

Being creepy is a small price to pay for being right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Similar sized classmate and photoshop is your friend! :)

Seriously, as previous poster said, if you are the first of kids to graduate or parents didn't go to college it really could be a big day for them. Possible payoff for a lot of years supporting you ;) Depends on individual situation though.

Congrats whatever you decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I wouldn't skip it if it's possible. It's not that it's the most craic ever but for me it feels like the completion of a lot of hard work. It's a rite of passage I suppose. You don't have to bother paying for a photographer if you don't want, and if you are a guy well there's minimal cost to getting ready anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭JanaMay

I don't know. It depends on the family/person. I happened to be in Ireland when mine was on and I went with my parents.

For me it wasn't a big deal, until I saw my parents, neither of them had the opportunity to continue education beyond primary school. When my mam saw me in cap and gown, I saw her wiping away the tears. Big proud head on my dad.

They come from a background where it would never be considered that they'd ever have a daughter who had a degree.

I'm glad I went for them. They deserve it.

But it depends OP, would you have a better chance in Canada if you went now? At the end of the day, a job in the hand is worth a ceremony in the bush :) Did I get that right? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Long Gone

I'll tell you one thing though OP, if you can't make a simple decision like that by yourself without conducting a vox pop on boards.ie to help you decide then I'd be a little bit concerned about your future in Engineering ! :)

Good luck whatever you decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Forget about it. I had 3 and went to 1. It wasn't that great (though it made my Mother happy).

Definitely not worth 2 months of a wait.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

JanaMay wrote: »
    I don't know. It depends on the family/person. I happened to be in Ireland when mine was on and I went with my parents.

For me it wasn't a big deal, until I saw my parents, neither of them had the opportunity to continue education beyond primary school. When my mam saw me in cap and gown, I saw her wiping away the tears. Big proud head on my dad.

They come from a background where it would never be considered that they'd ever have a daughter who had a degree.

I'm glad I went for them. They deserve it.

But it depends OP, would you have a better chance in Canada if you went now? At the end of the day, a job in the hand is worth a ceremony in the bush :) Did I get that right? :)
    It all depends on your family background. If it is a family that has regular graduation then I'm sure it will be no big deal. However there are many young people graduating who come from a family history where the parents did not have the opportunity to take third level but worked hard so that their children had the chance. They deserve a day out and will be very proud of their son/daughter. Thankfully the gates of the third level colleges are now open to all even though it can be a hard slog financially for some.
    It's not all about the graduate. Some of the selfish posters here should consider that and mature a bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

FTA69 wrote: »
    I forgot to go to my graduation from UCC. I was working as a bouncer in town and while on the door I was wondering why everyone was walking around dressed up to the nines on a weekday evening. I only copped on when I noticed a load of people from my classes and lectures passing me by in groups. It's a load of sh*te and certainly not worth waiting two months for. Especially two months you could be rampaging around Canada having the craic.

You have to say that now though. Don't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    It all depends on your family background. If it is a family that has regular graduation then I'm sure it will be no big deal. However there are many young people graduating who come from a family history where the parents did not have the opportunity to take third level but worked hard so that their children had the chance. They deserve a day out and will be very proud of their son/daughter. Thankfully the gates of the third level colleges are now open to all even though it can be a hard slog financially for some.
    It's not all about the graduate. Some of the selfish posters here should consider that and mature a bit.

Yeah, but what's also to consider is what use is the degree that all the hard slog and finance went into if you can't get a job?

So, if the OP reckons he could get a job easier if he goes now rather than after grad, then go.

I was glad to go to mine, but it wasn't that spectacular a day or anything. Yeah it was nice after the 4 year slog to put on the cap and gown, but if I was looking for a job I wouldn't necessarily wait to emigrate just to be there on the day.

If the OP reckons he can go in November and get a job and wants to be there at the grad, then hang around. Most of my class hung around and most of my class got jobs. So no issue.

The one thing I would weigh in to your decision, OP, is Christmas. If you go now you've a few months to settle into things, find a job, find somewhere to live, save up a bit and get flights home for Christmas. If you go at the start of November you've 6 weeks, or you're away for Christmas. But unless you absolutely loathe the holiday I'd take it into consideration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I went to my first one for a diploma course and my mum and dad were able to attend, during my degree my father passed away and I didn't bother going to that one, mainly because he wouldn't be there.

If I was in the OPs situation I'd be away to Canada and feck the graduation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I was working off the assumption that the graduate would tell their parents that they'd gotten the degree, even if they didn't go to the graduation. But if the only way the parents are going to find out that their offspring has done something to be proud of is to go and wait for several boring hours to watch them pick up a piece of paper along with hundreds of other graduates, then they probably should go to the graduation.

I'd be curious to hear from posters who have gone to their offspring's graduations though, seeing as the general consensus usually seems to be that it's for their benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I spent my graduation day in 1993 under a bulldozer with a couple of hundredweight of clutch flattening me into the mud. That was a rather more pressing matter than poncing around in a Harry Potter cloak listening to a clatter of academics going on about how brilliant academia is. One of the best days of my life, and I got paid money for it too! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I went to neither my degree or masters ceremonies. Just picked up the things later.

In retrospect, I feel kinda guilty I didn't give my ma and da the old gown photo though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I went to my BA graduation and loved it. But I think I valued it so much because I never thought I'd get a degree, or that I was even capable of it. So it was a big deal for me. Between that and the parents, it was definitely worth going. Despite the disgusting rip off prices to rent a robe for 90 minutes.

I'd say go if the degree means something to you, or even if you just think your parents would get a kick out of it. I don't think a lot of people realise how much this can mean to the ma and da.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I've never been to college but i'd say go to Canada.
    Have a party fir family/friends when you come home. Don't put your life on hold for the sake of a day.
    And good luck over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

random1337 wrote: »
    Basically I'm thinking of heading off to Canada first week of September on a work visa as I have no job lined up here. My Graduation Ceremony is the last week of October however. I was thinking of giving it a miss but I'm not sure....maybe I should delay Canada for 2 months?

What do you guys think? Will I regret not going to my graduation in years to come?
    Or is it just an over-hyped day that I shouldn't worry about missing?

Thanks.

Do whatever your gut tells you. At the end of the day its only a ceremony. It's not like you're skipping your final exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

You have to say that now though. Don't you?

Not really to be honest, not everyone puts a massive onus on these things. I didn't bother going to my Debs when I finished school either as I was off to Amsterdam that weekend with a few lads. I suppose it would have been a nice day out for my mother etc but she doesn't go mental over these sort of things either so she wasn't put out. I simply forgot my one was on anyway.

The OP was asking was it worth waiting two months hanging around doing nothing for one day or would it be better to bunk off to Canada? No question there for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

random1337 wrote: »
    Basically I'm thinking of heading off to Canada first week of September on a work visa as I have no job lined up here. My Graduation Ceremony is the last week of October however. I was thinking of giving it a miss but I'm not sure....maybe I should delay Canada for 2 months?

What do you guys think? Will I regret not going to my graduation in years to come?
    Or is it just an over-hyped day that I shouldn't worry about missing?

Thanks.

Put a red rug down in your hallway, put on a suit and gown, walk down the rug and have your parents photo you. Oh and pick up a piece of paper with TBC written on it at the end of the rug.

There, could have your graduation over, like, today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I worked hard and enjoyed uni and really enjoyed my graduation. It was the culmination of four years of hard work and I'm glad I went.

You're only going to Canada - not the south pole. Can't you come home for a few days for the graduation? What do you have to lose if your other option is sitting around for an extra two months not earning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I skipped mine, spending years in college, going through an awful time, not doing well as a result, not something I felt like celebrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I'm surprised nobody mentioned this but usually you can apply to your university to graduate earlier (during the summer). That way, your parents/family will have the day out with you in your robe and you won't feel bad for not letting them see you graduate and not having graduated 'officially'. Of course, the ceremony might be in Latin blah blah but it can be an important day for some. You have circumstances that are absolutely valid also to graduate earlier. Get in touch with the Graduation Office.

I know a few people who graduated from my course last year and they decided to graduate just with their family. It was a short ceremony.

For me, anyway, I felt it was the culmination of four interesting years of my life and it was nice to be there for it, even though I had my disdain for my course. Similar to my debs, I hated my school but I still went with a date just to say I went, celebrate being a debutant into adult life :P and not regret it in the future.