Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Tell him you can't have kids, because you like anal too much
    Alternatively, "I much prefer if the guy finishes on my face".

At Sunday lunch. With your Granny there.

I don't think that's gonna happen, I suspect Czechlin has too much class for carry on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭czechlin

Tell him you can't have kids, because you like anal too much

I don't think I could do that. It would either kill him or he would give me a lecture on how to "do it" so I could breed like a rabbit. I'm not taking any chances here.
    Alternatively, "I much prefer if the guy finishes on my face".

At Sunday lunch. With your Granny there.

Well that would be hilarious, because we'd either have to have a picnic at my granny's grave or I'd just have to dig her urn up and bring her over :D

To be honest I'm too shy for either option.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

czechlin wrote: »
    I did. So far he has a fighter fish. I think he'll kill it with love because he overfeeds it so much. I love him but he does my head in sometimes. I was asked a few months back if I have a life partner. A LIFE PARTNER. Not even a boyfriend.

And my dearest stepdad was horrified at the idea of me not wanting a big wedding because of course he wants to throw a big party. He already has gallons of homemade spirit saved for it, and there will be beer flowing and piglets will be roasted etc., how could I do that to him!?!?!?

I'm a terrible terrible child...:pac:

I fear the day when they'll overcome their differences and team up against me.

I'll gladly donate one of my kids to you, there'll none of that pregnancy or icky horrible sex stuff to go through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'll gladly donate one of my kids to you, there'll none of that pregnancy or icky horrible sex stuff to go through.

I'll even throw in my youngest son. He is 24.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I don't think that's gonna happen, I suspect Czechlin has too much class for that carry on.

I know it's different with family and I'm sure Czech doesn't mind but its so ignorant to say that to people.

For all you know they could be trying to have kids and are having problems, they could be just over a miscarriage and not want to go through that again, a whole host of reasons. It's much too private for some ignorant oaf to come along and ask when you plan on popping one out.

And it doesn't stop!!! When you finally have a child then it's "ya may go again!" Or "you may give X a brother/sister". Have the second one, then it'll probably be "two boys? Ya may try for a girl".

**** OFF! It's so rude. It's really rude. People are being insensitive. So no, it's not about being too classy to reply with a rude response, because what they've asked is rude enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I don't think I could do that. It would either kill him or he would give me a lecture on how to "do it" so I could breed like a rabbit. I'm not taking any chances here...

He'd conclude that his poor little óinseach was doing it wrong 'cos she didn't know any better, poor thing?? "Well Taz, yakkity-shmakity, yakikity-shmakity...". Now there's a conversation I'd buy tickets for!! :pac::pac::pac:

I don't think Mrs. Bap would appreciate your idea! :P
    I'll even throw in my youngest son. He is 24.

I am 2 years older than your youngest son Lizzie, I don't think that'll work :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I am 2 years older than your youngest son Lizzie, I don't think that'll work :eek:

Damn. I'll never get that one bedroom apartment for myself that I have always wanted. :(

Put him on eBay. That way you'll have a few bob to redecorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

jimgoose wrote: »
    Pu him on eBay. That way you'll have a few bob to redecorate.

tell the lazy good for nothing to put himself on ebay!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I don't think Mrs. Bap would appreciate your idea! :P

You're probably right, we could probably all agree on some sort of time-share agreement.

I know it's different with family and I'm sure Czechlin doesn't mind but its so ignorant to say that to people.

For all you know they could be trying to have kids and are having problems, they could be just over a miscarriage and not want to go through that again, a whole host of reasons. It's much too private for some ignorant oaf to come along and ask when you plan on popping one out.

And it doesn't stop!!! When you finally have a child then it's "ya may go again!" Or "you may give X a brother/sister". Have the second one, then it'll probably be "two boys? Ya may try for a girl".

**** OFF! It's so rude. It's really rude. People are being insensitive. So no, it's not about being too classy to reply with a rude response, because what they've asked is rude enough.

I don't mind because I've brought it up and I received an onslaught of rude/funny/smartarse replies, which is fine.
    I agree with people asking these questions as it can be inconsiderate and hurtful because you don't really know about other people's circumstances.

However, I found eisenberg's reply spot on. In a sense that it's highly unlikely to hear such response coming from me. Class or not, it just isn't me.

You're probably right, we could probably all agree on some sort of time-share agreement.

I'll happily babysit for a day. Once a year :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

@eisenberg1

There's loads of T-shirts in Penneys at the moment with Heisenberg/heisenbird on them, something to do with your man in Breaking bad. Anyway, they reminded me of you. That's when it dawned on me, I spend far too much time on boards. :pac:

I just thought you would want to know the above valuable information. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Why can't people just call a spade a spade? I came across a facebook relationship status today where someone described themselves as being in
    'a domestic partnership' wtf:confused: What's wrong with saying you live together? It just gives the impression that the guy has his head so far up his own arse that he's gotten lost.

They won't break up, it'll be a 'conscious uncoupling'.....did ye ever hear such utter bollix.

I'll happily babysit for a day. Once a year :P

SOLD

gramar wrote: »
    They won't break up, it'll be a 'conscious uncoupling'.....did ye ever hear such utter bollix.

Hee-hee! Like dropping a trailer! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I decided to have a doctor pepper and a bar of chocolate with popping candy in it. Don't know why, they aren't things I'd normally buy, my tummy doesn't know what's happening to it, what with all the fizziness and popping. To make things worse I forgot to buy toilet roll and now I'm going to have to go back to the shop.

On the plus side I ordered the new fridge freezer which is coming tomorrow, yey. On the negative side one of our cats has caught a mouse and brought it in 3 times already. I know it's what cats are meant to do, but that doesn't make me feel any happier about it.

...On the plus side I ordered the new fridge freezer which is coming tomorrow, yey. On the negative side one of our cats has caught a mouse and brought it in 3 times already. I know it's what cats are meant to do, but that doesn't make me feel any happier about it.

Cats are quite clever, you know. He knows you've no fridge so he's trying to give you some fresh meat.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Cats are quite clever, you know. He knows you've know fridge so he's trying to give you some fresh meat.
    I know:D Usually he just dispatches them fairly quickly and runs off with the carcass. But today he's hell bent on keeping it indoors. 3 times he's brought it in, usually when he's got prey and he sees us he runs off with it since he knows we'll rescue it if it's alive or bin it if it's dead.

It's hiding under a huge wooden plant box in the garden now. So it'll have to take it's chances with the 4 of them. Although the others are more suited to 5*hotels and room service than the great outdoors and hunting, they like their food ready cooked:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Rain, c'mon rain, our row of houses deserve a break from the shrieking. Go shriek outside your own houses, why doncha...:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Rain, c'mon rain, our row of houses deserve a break from the shrieking. Go shriek outside your own houses, why doncha...:(

Those neighbors children that call adults by their first names...

Your parents might be all cool and new agey, but I still believe in respect for your elders, pouncing in here like they own the place with their "Hi Czarcasm!"... :mad:

That's Mr. Czarcasm to you! :pac:

Czarcasm wrote: »

Your parents might be all cool and new agey, but I still believe in respect for your elders, pouncing in here like they own the place with their "Hi Czarcasm!"... :mad:

Believe me the little darlings won't be pouncing in here anytime soon :D

LynnGrace wrote: »

I'm relieved that most of the neighbourhood kids are old enough to play elsewhere these days. It used to drive me nuts listening to them outside our house every day during the holidays. I know they're kids and we were probably the same at their age, but it didn't make me any less peed off listening to them shrieking their heads off.

There's a teenager across the road with a voice that's gonna get him punched in the face one day, not by me, he's just one of those really loud, really obnoxious attention seekers, you hear him before you see him. Loud doesn't even begin to describe him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Czarcasm wrote: »

In the same breath, I hate formalities like that. You're a person just like them. Like homer says, the only person that calls me Sir is my bank manager.

I agree with Czarcasm on this one. Even to this day I refer to the parents of the kids I grew up with as Mr or Mrs. The kids I grew up with would be the same with my parents. Maybe it's just a generational thing. But I think title rather than first name terms for adults shows more respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭bobrawn20

That's something I've never understood, this automatic "respect your elders" thing. Usually trotted out when someone is being a dick but shouldn't that be the saying instead? Don't be a dick to your elders or anyone?
    Respect is earned and plenty of old people think they can treat younger people with contempt and disrespect simply cos of this silly saying.

I'm relieved that most of the neighbourhood kids are old enough to play elsewhere these days. It used to drive me nuts listening to them outside our house every day during the holidays. I know they're kids and we were probably the same at their age, but it didn't make me any less peed off listening to them shrieking their heads off.

There's a teenager across the road with a voice that's gonna get him punched in the face one day, not by me, he's just one of those really loud, really obnoxious attention seekers, you hear him before you see him. Loud doesn't even begin to describe him.

Yes, this lot are too, most of them are well big enough to play on the green, which is right beside the road they prefer to play on. There used to be a guy who had a voice that would raise the dead, and he roared for Ireland. but the family moved out, some time back, thankfully. It's the same few kids who make a pain of themselves to everyone- except their own parents :rolleyes:

T'is reasonably quiet most of the time. Just was feeling a bit trivially annoyed as I was coming in the door this evening. :pac:

bobrawn20 wrote: »
    That's something I've never understood, this automatic "respect your elders" thing. Usually trotted out when someone is being a dick but shouldn't that be the saying instead? Don't be a dick to your elders or anyone?
    Respect is earned and plenty of old people think they can treat younger people with contempt and disrespect simply cos of this silly saying.

If you're under 30 it's probably a generational thing:p I'd agree that respect is something that in general is earned. That being said, adressing your friends parents by their first names is just not polite. They aren't your friends.

The Meteor ad with that "genious" chick wearing glasses. Wtf is that!? I'd quit Meteor after seeing that. It's so irritating.