Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those damn cyclists again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

1o6npf.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Can we not have just the one "KILL ALL THE CYCLISTS" thread, where people could go and explain all the things they want to do to us? I'm sure it would save a lot of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

endacl wrote: »
    If you can't 'consider an imaginary cyclist', perhaps you'd be better off on the bus?

Sorry....I don't understand, I also don't consider imaginary people /vehicles or fairies for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

SeanW wrote: »
    Motorcyclists have the more square plates (double height, half width), those seem to work.

Don't know about here, but in the UK motorcycles are congestion charge excempt in London, because there is no technology currently available that will allow automatic reading of their license plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭SeanW

Jawgap wrote: »
    Again.....seriously.....motorbike plates????? On pedal bikes????
    On the back, maybe.
    I don't want to race and I want my car on the road......and usage is not linked to taxation. I could put my snow chains on tomorrow and wreck the local roads or drive thousands of kilometres......and still I pay the same as the person who drives hundreds of kilometres in the same type of car.
    True, but you do have the option of not driving on the public road and paying 0 tax.
    Kav0777 wrote: »
    FYP ;)
    No need to FYP, I had qualified the statement with "motorists" pay to use the road. Motorists, by definition use motor VEHICLES not,
    Kav0777 wrote:
    VECHILES
    What is a "vechile" anyway? :p

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Kav0777

On the back, maybe.

True, but you do have the option of not driving on the public road and paying 0 tax.

No need to FYP, I had qualified the statement with "motorists" pay to use the road. Motorists, by definition use motor VEHICLES not,

What is a "vechile" anyway? :p

i bow to your supierior splllechhhkkerrr

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Irishcrx wrote: »
    Lads, I get that this is after hours and it's easy to have a go at me and say I'm a bad driver and it's my fault yadda yadda. I had to swerve to avoid him because no I didn't expect him to come flying out of the cycle lane and into the middle of the road to overtake two other bikes, I expected the bikes to stay in the cycle lane while there was traffic moving to the side of them. What am I meant to do stay behind every single bike that's to the left of me??

Had I been driving on a road with no cycle lane , then yes I would have been more aware that the bikes are also in a tight space and being pushed to the left hand side of the road. But some on, anyone who drives see's this all the time and it's always the cyclists roading and shouting it's not ALWAYS the drivers fault, it just seems like cyclists seem to play the victim all the time when they themselves do extremely dangerous and stupid thing's to both themselves and road users.

Well yeah, as a cyclist who gets p*ssed at my fellow roadies for breaking the lights I'd agree with that statement anyway. Look, we weren't there when this incident happened so who can say who was right/wrong or whatever. I think I'd agree with the previous poster that suggested cyclists should be able to avail of some inexpensive training before getting onto the road - not mandatory like but I think it would be a good idea if it helped prepare people for sharing the road with motorised traffic as it would probably help more people get over their fear and into cycling for commuting and leisure.

Ultimately cycling is going to continue increasing in popularity as the amount of proper infrastructure increases, so the one thing we should avoid is an us-against-them attitude between cyclists and motorists. There's no need for it.

Yes its called "not driving on the public road and paying 0 tax"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

RobFowl wrote: »
    24,000 of them (and counting).

So 'No' is the answer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,670 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Schwiiing wrote: »
    So 'No' is the answer.

As it is to the question "Do all motorists have licences, tax and insurance?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Knasher wrote: »
    And yet the post you thanked in the previous page repeated the same road tax misinformation. So apparently clarification is still required.

No, that was thanked in relation to penalty point accumulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭SeanW

RobFowl wrote: »
    As it is to the question "Do all motorists have licences, tax and insurance?"
    Only the majority do.

https://u24.gov.ua/
    Join NAFO today:

Help us in helping Ukraine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

I don't know why cyclists can never understand this.. (probably to busy smelling their own farts)

It is not a tax on motors.. It is a tax for using the ROAD!

I have 2 motorbikes. One is a bike I use on the road, one is a motocross bike for off-road use.

I have only to pay tax on the road bike.. Why? Because it goes ON THE ROAD! (see the clue in the name?)

I park my car up for 6 months. Do I pay tax on it? No. Because it is OFF THE ROAD!

Farmer Wellies Mcphee has a quad bike for running round his farm. Does he pay road tax on it? No. As it doesn't go near the road.

If it was a motor tax then everything with a motor, from a petrol strimmer to a 150 tonne dump truck in a quarry would have to pay it as they have "smog producing, filthy motors".

And don't say that you already pay road tax on your car blah blah. That is for that vehicle only.

And how much money is Dublin City Council wasting on putting up the little traffic lights under the main ones at major junctions?

They have little red, yellow and green lights in the shape of a cycle, but still the majority of cyclists still ignore them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

dubscottie wrote: »
    I don't know why cyclists can never understand this.. (probably to busy smelling their own farts)

I have 2 motorbikes. One is a bike I use on the road, one is a motocross bike for off-road use.

I have only to pay tax on the road bike.. Why? Because it goes ON THE ROAD! (see the clue in the name?)

I park my car up for 6 months. Do I pay tax on it? No. Because it is OFF THE ROAD!

Farmer Wellies Mcphee has a quad bike for running round his farm. Does he pay road tax on it? No. As it doesn't go near the road.

If it was a motor tax then everything with a motor, from a petrol strimmer to a 150 tonne dump truck in a quarry would have to pay it as they have "smog producing, filthy motors".

And don't say that you already pay road tax on your car blah blah. That is for that vehicle only.

And how much money is Dublin City Council wasting on putting up the little traffic lights under the main ones at major junctions?

They have little red, yellow and green lights in the shape of a cycle, but still the majority of cyclists still ignore them?

You're wrong. That is all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

1. Cyclists begin to respect red lights and pedestrian areas like motorists do.

Bollocks.

I routinely see motorists, EVERY MORNING AND EVENING, break red lights and into the bargain, an awful lot of them seem to think that the amber light means "2 more cars please".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

ThisRegard wrote: »
    A bit of hasty googling there, and it's evident that you're not even reading the reports you're linking to.

Do you have statistics to back that up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Irishcrx wrote: »
    I've been driving for ten years...

Wowzers, a whole 10 years driving experience, you must be a legend behind the wheel so! :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

You're wrong. That is all...

Well you better go and tell someone as there is a ton of "motor" tax not being collected on things with motors..

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

endacl wrote: »
    No.
    What does that suggest to you, that its a road tax or a motor tax?

I don't know why cyclists can never understand this.. (probably to busy smelling their own farts)It is not a tax on motors.. It is a tax for using the ROAD!

Feck, when I go out for a jog I sometimes use the road, how much will the tax on me Nike trainers be then? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,881 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Well you better go and tell someone as there is a ton of "motor" tax not being collected on things with motors..

In any situation of tax accumulation, there will be exemptions.

It still doesn't make your statement any less wrong though.

What uses the road, has a motor and doesn't pay motor tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Keep_Her_Lit

I realise that the following is mind shatteringly complex ... but just for your benefit, I decided to pause briefly from smelling my own farts to point out that the application of a tax may depend on TWO (or, incredibly, even more than two) criteria.

So you see, the reason that cyclists don't pay motor tax is the same reason that Farmer Wellies Mcphee isn't taxed for taking a stroll along the side of the road. Neither category of road user is relying on the use of a motor of specified characteristics.

Motor tax is levied on those who BOTH
    1) Use the road
    AND
    2) Do so with a vehicle equipped with a motor of specified characteristics.

... TWO criteria ...

Tough stuff, I know. But stew on it for several hours and see how far you get.

Smelling farts prevents diseases, another benefit of cycling!

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2014/07/14/fart-smell-reduce-cancer-stroke-heart-attack-dementia_n_5583548.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

gramar wrote: »
    Do you have statistics to back that up?

It's a binary issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

On the back, maybe.

Now, I think we're being just a bit ridiculous.......

.......on the back of what - the bike? And what would it attach to? A lot of bikes don't have mudguards.

I suppose as per OG's suggestion, the registration number could be tattooed on the cyclist's arse!

If you really want to go down this route, wouldn't something like an RFID chip (on the bike, not the rider) be better......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Is every cyclist a member of cycling Ireland?
    You would have to define cyclist.

I get the impression from the numerous threads that to be defined as a cyclist must
    not pay motor tax,
    must wear lycra,
    must never use cycle lanes,
    must always cycle 2 abreast if possible,
    must break as many red lights as possible.

So going by that criteria they are probably a minority of people who I see on bikes.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Why don't we just RFID everyone from birth and be done with it, all hail big brother

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

blacklilly wrote: »
    Sorry....I don't understand, I also don't consider imaginary people /vehicles or fairies for that matter.

It's called anticipation......
    Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Feck, when I go out for a jog I sometimes use the road, how much will the tax on me Nike trainers be then? :rolleyes:

There are kids, at least 6 of them playing football on the road outside my house at the moment - how much should they be charged?

And as for yer wan who pushes that baby trolley thing around with her sprogs in it - how much should they be charged when they walk by this even? That yolk must have at least 8 wheels on it!!!!
    CramCycle wrote: »
    Why don't we just RFID everyone from birth and be done with it, all hail big brother

Your two posts late.....

.....just retina scan everyone ala Minority Report ;)

CramCycle wrote: »

RFID microchip implanted via kick to the crotch?