Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Those damn cyclists again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,427 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Jawgap wrote: »
    There are kids, at least 6 of them playing football on the road outside my house at the moment - how much should they be charged?And as for yer wan who pushes that baby trolley thing around with her sprogs in it - how much should they be charged when they walk by this even? That yolk must have at least 8 wheels on it!!!!

We need a Hoof Tax also, always see horses out on the roads, wrecking the tarmac our Motor Tax paid for with those metal horse shoes! Not to mention the tonnes of sh1t! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Be careful blowing the horn at them like some have mentioned, a business man here in my town had some helmet warrior Dub burst a bottle in through the back window of his 5 series after he did this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Be careful blowing the horn at them like some have mentioned, a business man here in my town had some helmet warrior Dub burst a bottle in through the back window of his 5 series after he did this.
    If you use the horn for its legal purpose, you won't encounter any problems.

Namely, warning other road users of a danger, or warning them of your presence for safety reasons when reasonably necessary.

Beeping because you want them to move out of your way or because you're annoyed, will only serve to aggravate other road users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

seamus wrote: »
    If you use the horn for its legal purpose, you won't encounter any problems.

Namely, warning other road users of a danger, or warning them of your presence for safety reasons when reasonably necessary.

Beeping because you want them to move out of your way or because you're annoyed, will only serve to aggravate other road users.

..........but, but it was a 5 Series.....:) Peasants should yield to such an automotive presence......

Seriously, whatever the rights and wrongs of using the horn, the reaction on the part of the cyclist was OTT.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Was he super man? He put a plastic bottle through the rear window of a 5 series while staying upright on his bike?

OTT reaction is an understatement, I couldn't do that if the car was stationary with a water bottle.

CramCycle wrote: »
    Was he super man? He put a plastic bottle through the rear window of a 5 series while staying upright on his bike?

OTT reaction is an understatement, I couldn't do that if the car was stationary with a water bottle.

I presumed rear window meant a rear door window......

.....it was hardly the rear window as in the back window - what was the bottle made of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

There's this new material called glass, it's revolutionary and it's going to change the world.

I presumed rear window meant a rear door window......
    Caliden wrote: »
    There's this new material called glass, it's revolutionary and it's going to change the world.

I figured it was the rear door window, still quite difficult to break with a plastic bottle let alone while balancing on a bike and moving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

That glass has to be ordered in from BMW, very pricey to get fixed.

Caliden wrote: »

There's this new material called plastic - it's soft and it's squishy and it's what the water bottles (bidons) are made of.

Unless the suggestion now is, that said cyclist just happened to have a glass bottle with him which he fired through the rear (back) window of a 5 series......:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

There's this new material called plastic - it's soft and it's squishy and it's what the water bottles (bidons) are made of.

Unless the suggestion now is, that said cyclist just happened to have a glass bottle with him which he fired through the rear (back) window of a 5 series......:pac:

Wait a minute - you're not suggesting that this story may be made up? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

If a cyclist managed to throw a bidon through the tempered glass rear windscreen of a modern car while moving and staying upright, he's Clark Kent.

Actually, no, scratch that. We're all able to do that without any trouble. DO NOT ANGER US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

dubscottie wrote: »
    I don't know why cyclists can never understand this.. (probably to busy smelling their own farts)

It is not a tax on motors.. It is a tax for using the ROAD!

I have 2 motorbikes. One is a bike I use on the road, one is a motocross bike for off-road use.

I have only to pay tax on the road bike.. Why? Because it goes ON THE ROAD! (see the clue in the name?)

I park my car up for 6 months. Do I pay tax on it? No. Because it is OFF THE ROAD!

Farmer Wellies Mcphee has a quad bike for running round his farm. Does he pay road tax on it? No. As it doesn't go near the road.

If it was a motor tax then everything with a motor, from a petrol strimmer to a 150 tonne dump truck in a quarry would have to pay it as they have "smog producing, filthy motors".

And don't say that you already pay road tax on your car blah blah. That is for that vehicle only.

And how much money is Dublin City Council wasting on putting up the little traffic lights under the main ones at major junctions?

They have little red, yellow and green lights in the shape of a cycle, but still the majority of cyclists still ignore them?

Dont think you're right there..

Subtle difference but- Its a tax for maintenance of the road.

The roads themselves are for everyone to use.

Source: http://www.gov.ie/services/renew-motor-tax-online/

3rd line 1st paragraph:

"The revenue from this tax is used to maintain and upgrade the road network in Ireland. "

Your description of motor tax describes it like its a kind of entry fee you have to pay before you get to use the road, its not; the money just goes towards road maintenance and upgrades. Since motorised traffic is heavier and causes the most erosion of the road, it makes sense that that kind of traffic be made pay for its own infrastructure. Bicycles are going to do no damage to tarmac at all but its infrastructure pays for itself in other ways like helping maintain a healthier population thus reducing GP and hospital expenses, and helps to promote tourism, etc.

Wait a minute - you're not suggesting that this story may be made up? :rolleyes:
    If a cyclist managed to throw a bidon through the tempered glass rear windscreen of a modern car while moving and staying upright, he's Clark Kent.

Actually, no, scratch that. We're all able to do that without any trouble. DO NOT ANGER US.

Maybe it was one of those Mjolnir bottles.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

There's no reasoning here. If a cycle lane can hold one bike in width and a cyclist decides to overtake the guy in front it is not "cycling 2 abreast", it's a fecking overtaking manoeuvre in which they have to leave the cycle lane and in doing so they should indicate and be aware that there are cars driving on the road beside them!

Well if a car were to drive along side a cyclist then they should be over the white line, considering the cyclist ought to have 1.5 meters of clearance. Again, there is no legal requirement for a cyclist to remain in a cycle lane.

There is a legal requirement for all road users to drive with due care and consideration, if they don't then they can be charged with an offence under the road traffic act.

Presumably the car had to swerve as they couldn't complete the manoeuvre.

Technically if they are side by side then it is two abreast! In fact the procedure for cyclists signalling their intent is not called "indicating" it's called "hand signaling", bicycles are not equipped with indicators FYI.

If I were to base things on my view of the world.. A LOT of motorists vehicles don't have indicators... if they have them then they are seldom used...

With or without hand signals there is nothing to excuse a motorist travelling behind cyclists or other traffic to drive defensively, anticipate manoeuvres and give enough room and distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭elchupanebrey

New forum request "Cyclists v Motorists"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

On my cycle to work this morning, there were three situations where a motor vehicle almost colided with me and 1 incident with a pedestrian.

1. Car wanting to make a right turn accross my path, did so without caring for oncomming non motored traffic. Hopefully this is on my camera.

2. Motorist turning left when I was going straight, he did not overtake me fully, but just cut in front of me without any consideration. I was going straight and had to jam on. That was a very close call. Had I not broke, he would have plowed right into the side of me. Fortunately for that sack of scat, the camera battery ran out. The impression I got here was, "gtfo of my way bike, I am in a car".

3. Pedestrian just steps out in front of me, another pedestrian seen me coming, reached out and pulled her back as I swerved. I think we both would have been hurt badly if I hadn't reacted so. What would a bike do do a person at 35-40km per hour I wonder. She didn't see me because she didn't look to her right at all. Not once.

It's glaringly obvious that the general public haven't a clue how to use the roads. This goes for bikes, pedestrians, cars, vans, trucks, buses, taxi drivers etc etc. There's a complete misunderstanding of ones position and responsibility as a road user. A lot of cop on is required.

I completely understand that mistakes and misjudgements are made, but some of the stuff you see on the roads is outright disgusting behaviour. From all parties too. A total sense of self entitlement oozes from every type of road user.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Or when you see 3 or 4 of them, all in different lanes holding up lines of traffic behind :(

You'd think they could have one dedicated lane that cyclists could use....Oh wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭papu

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Or when you see 3 or 4 of them, all in different lanes holding up lines of traffic behind :(

You'd think they could have one dedicated lane that cyclists could use....Oh wait....

You'd think they were all going to the exact same destination . You'd think they never have to turn right..

oh wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

They are traffic. Why do you think that bikes are separate to other road users? That bikes cannot be traffic...???

It's this mentality that needs to be culled, and culled quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They are traffic. Why do you think that bikes are separate to other road users? That bikes cannot be traffic...???

It's this mentality that needs to be culled, and culled quickly.

Because they are slow, erratic, vulnerable, unregulated, unlit, uninsured, and unregistered. A bicycle is at best an alternative to regular road-traffic, and at worst a child's toy. This needs to be absorbed into some people's cliggíns quare-lively. :D

You would think so - but I'll think you'll find there are no dedicated cycle lanes - there is some bits of painted road and pavement around but the city council (in Dublin anyway) uses these to store the glass, stones, and other assorted and dangerous detritus that would otherwise clutter up the main carriageway.

They are also handy for storing mulched leaves in autumn, and ice in winter.

oh, and its where they keep the drain covers too......and a lot of them require you to take illogical detours to stay on them.....and you have to yield at every gateway and sidestreet

Oh wait.....

.....there's the off road paths (like Clontarf and the Phoenix Park) which are brilliant - so brilliant in fact the dog walkers, joggers, families with kids, families without kids, power-walkers etc all love to use them.

So yes, I too often wonder why more use isn't made of them

Can I ask where you are based?

Dublin rush hour - cyclists are generally as fast if not faster than traffic.
    Dublin out of rush hour - more than enough room to overtake
    Countryside - there is generally only one lane in each direction for road users

Its like the person on the van who I seen lambasting a mother and child on a cargo bike for holding them up (she was in the bike lane). They were coming through a junction, the delay was approximately 2.5 seconds before the lane widened but they decided to slow up, then scream and shout at the mother, finally they raced of to catch traffic less than 25meters up the road, which they would have reached earlier had they not decided to verbally assault a mother and child for no reason.

Oddly enough when I gave footage of the incident from a helmet cam to Dublin County council, they had no interest in the behaviour of their workers, even with a reg plate, date, time and pictures of their faces. Sometimes been a complete and utter w*nker is perfectly acceptable

...a mother and child on a cargo bike...

Is that one of those bicycle trailer efforts? Anyone who carries a child in one of those needs their head examined, if you ask me! :pac:

papu wrote: »
    You'd think they were all going to the exact same destination . You'd think they never have to turn right..

oh wait.

Yeah, they're all perfect. Poor poor cyclists. Never break red lights. Never almost kill people at pedestrian crossings as the fly through on red.

Edit: I saw a woman ferrying her entire progeny to school a few mornings ago. She was cycling and had one child in a seat on the back, another resemled ET in a fuucking basket at the front, and a kid about 7 or 8 cycling behind her - all on the footpath :( Out of Momma Bear's way!

Can I ask where you are based?

Dublin rush hour - cyclists are generally as fast if not faster than traffic.
    Dublin out of rush hour - more than enough room to overtake
    Countryside - there is generally only one lane in each direction for road users

Its like the person on the van who I seen lambasting a mother and child on a cargo bike for holding them up (she was in the bike lane). They were coming through a junction, the delay was approximately 2.5 seconds before the lane widened but they decided to slow up, then scream and shout at the mother, finally they raced of to catch traffic less than 25meters up the road, which they would have reached earlier had they not decided to verbally assault a mother and child for no reason.

Oddly enough when I gave footage of the incident from a helmet cam to Dublin County council, they had no interest in the behaviour of their workers, even with a reg plate, date, time and pictures of their faces. Sometimes been a complete and utter w*nker is perfectly acceptable

You can ask :)

jimgoose wrote: »
    Is that one of those bicycle trailer efforts? Anyone who carries a child in one of those needs their head examined, if you ask me! :pac:

No, its the one where the child is in front, that said the rear trailers are incredibly safe, several videos online of how they behave in an impact with a car. I would feel very safe with my child in one.

Regardless, seems to be taking away from the issue, was their behaviour acceptable? Using language my own mother would disown me for, all be cause they weren't delayed, but their was a false perception that they were, is this behaviour acceptable in any situation

Because they are slow, erratic, vulnerable, unregulated, unlit, uninsured, and unregistered. A bicycle is at best an alternative to regular road-traffic, and at worst a child's toy. This needs to be absorbed into some people's cliggíns quare-lively. :D

Slow? not around the city.

Erratic? not if handled with a modicum of competence - plus they're gyroscopically and centrifugally stabilised at speed.

Unlit? some are, but the Guards crack down on it, just like they do on those one-eyed wonder cas

Uninsured? Aside from Cycling Ireland insurance, a lot, if not most household policies, confer third party protection on you when you're on the bike

Unregistered? There's no requirement

Child's toy? Well yes - it's fun, its keep people occupied and users come back for more. some even cost more than cars, but like all good toys you can get perfectly serviceable versions that are cheap and useful - and have pretty much zero running costs.

...was their behaviour acceptable? Using language my own mother would disown me for, all be cause they weren't delayed, but their was a false perception that they were, is this behaviour acceptable in any situation

Of course not. Patience and tolerance should be shown at all times to the pedalling-bicyclists, just like when dealing with any slow individual. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

No. Probably one of these:
    Perfectly safe.

http://www.sustainablecitiesnet.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/firstphoto.jpg