Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Candie wrote: »
    I found Anne Hathaways accent very distracting, it was hard to take her in the role. It's a decent movie, but not one for watching more than once.

I have been to Bath for the festival, did the walking tour, and I LOVED it! Go, and stay a few days. I could only get in one day, but I will go back.

I think I'll start a Jane Austen Book Club :)

We need a Jane Austen thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

We need a Jane Austen thread. :)

Yes, you do:D

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Yes, you do:D

I love that thinly veiled "Get the feck outta this thread' look you have there.

Love you too. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

ghogie91 wrote: »
    John Giles' loose bits of skin on his neck...

Something to hang on to....I fancy the hole off him!! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Ice cream van jingles. Just eff off.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Spanish students. I have now just started pretending they don't exist as I walk through them all. I really don't understand how a swarm like them seem to pick out a location that is in the way and just stand there.
    I don't understand how their language works either. They all seem to just constantly talk at each other at max volume with no one seeming to pause to listen or answer questions.

You havn't experinced anything until you've been in a swimming pool with a bunch of Spaninsh kids. Absolute chaos.

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Ice cream van jingles. Just eff off.

But it is such a catchy tune. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

The words "oriented" and "extant". I'm aware that they are grammatically valid but to me its always orientated and existant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    You havn't experinced anything until you've been in a swimming pool with a bunch of Spaninsh kids.

Spanish students. I have now just started pretending they don't exist as I walk through them all. I really don't understand how a swarm like them seem to pick out a location that is in the way and just stand there.

We need drovers on the streets when the students come, people with big sticks, that can scelp the legs off them.

'Up te f*** outta dat, ye pup ye '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When you tell some thick eejit something an entire 12 months ago, and they're too ignorant and thick to listen because they know everything and sure what would I know? I'm only a woman, clearly I wouldn't know what I was talking about with all my hormones and oestrogen getting in the way of having rational thoughts.

Then 12 months later, the ridiculous thing you warned about has happened, is unfixable now because its so late, and ONLY NOW is the thick eejit looking for advice and willing to listen. WHEN IT'S A YEAR TOO LATE.

And god forbid I remind him "this is what I said would happen but you knew everything" because "sure how was he supposed to tell the future".

Jake1 wrote: »
    We need drovers on the streets when the students come, people with big sticks, that can scelp the legs off them.

'Up te f*** outta dat, ye pup ye '

Love this!
    They would know a few interesting phrases by the time they (eventually) go home.

The fact that I'm wishing it would rain so we can have a break from the thud thud thud football on the street. I know I should think it's wonderful, that they are out playing. Go play on the fecking green, that is what t'is there for.
    Some were still screeching out on the street last night when darkness had fallen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

The word burglarised!
    It just sounds so wrong.
    Is the word not burgled?
    When a burglar has been, has he not just burgled?
    I know if I look up the dictionary I'll get my answer, but I'm afraid to in case I'm wrong :)

Anyway, I know which one sounds right/ better. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

What about the word "quashed"

RTE news always using it, "his case was quashed"

Most likely a real word, but I never bought it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Why are the Gardai always appealing for witnesses? Can they not ask for witnesses, call for or request witnesses to contact them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

I don't understand how their language works either. They all seem to just constantly talk at each other at max volume with no one seeming to pause to listen or answer questions.

Check out the waterfordwhispers spoof about spanish students, very funny.

I always think it sounds like they meant to say squashed, but chickened out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

People who expect you to read their mind. They're doing some odd job around the house and when they're finished they give out that you didn't help. If you want help, ask for it before or while you do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

People who are full of talk. You know the "I'd do this, I'd say this" type of person when in reality 50% of what they're saying would get them in serious trouble and the other 50% is empty words. SHUT UP!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,567 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Lying in my bed last night at around 2:00am, and a dog starts barking in somebody's back garden. This went on for some time(I fell asleep in the end so I don't know when he stopped). But I just can help but think how inconsiderate some dog owners are that they will leave their dogs out in the night or early hours of the morning, and allow them to bark and disturb other residents from their sleep.

Now i'm not talking about allowing your dog out the back to go toilet and he starts barking. I mean putting your dog out, and leaving him out the back, and then the dogs starts going mad presumably because he wants to go back inside.

I'm reaching out to you now, with regardance to this post :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I hate cleaning the fridge, it's such a tedious chore. But the engineer is calling to check it tomorrow and I couldn't have him thinking 'Jesus, the state of the fridge, you'd think she'd clean it' Honestly, I really do clean it, from time to time:D

I hate cleaning the fridge. I only do it when the shame reaches epic levels. I'm otherwise very clean though, really. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

When someone who has only one or two items thinks they have the right to skip ahead of everyone in the checkout queue.

Okay, they do ask, but most people wouldn't have it in themselves to say no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

grundie wrote: »
    When someone who has only one or two items thinks they have the right to skip ahead of everyone in the checkout queue.

Okay, they do ask, but most people wouldn't have it in themselves to say no.
    I never ask, even in places like Lidl or Aldi as I accept that it's the luck of the draw. On quite a few occasions when I've only one item and the person in front of me has a massive shop, I do appreciate it when they say I can go ahead of them. I do the same if the person behind me only has one or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I'm reaching out to you now, with regardance to this post :D

That's great now, but how about going forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I keep misreading thread titles, so far today I have seen "Sexiest advert" and "Do protestants have jobs?"
    Check out the waterfordwhispers spoof about spanish students, very funny.

WWN tends to have it right, which is surprising seeing as they're taking the piss.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    That's great now, but how about going forward?

I know, and I think I used up all the BS phrases I know, on this very thread, yesterday.
    I worked with someone who used to say and write in emails 'we need to speak to the risks involved in this proposal'. Ugh.

I hated him anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I know, and I think I used up all the BS phrases I know, on this very thread, yesterday.
    I worked with someone who used to say and write in emails 'we need to speak to the risks involved in this proposal'. Ugh.

I hated him anyway.

Holy shìt Batman, that's brilliant! :pac:

I think I've found my new "wind 'em up just enough to make them angry enough to channel their anger into their work" phrase :D