Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks concerts cancelled - **READ FIRST POST FOR MOD NOTES**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Jim Rockford

Sam Kade wrote: »

What a shower of ejits protesting over a concert :mad:

Yeah these rural scum should be stabbing eachother and sexually assaulting one another like respectable concert goers.

Muise... wrote: »
    No, it doesn't. No Tribunal can give a verdict that will apply in the future to things that have not yet been done. You'd still have to prove their incompetence, and you're not doing that. They followed the legislation properly in this case, even though an unpopular decision had to be made. That is the opposite of corruption.

Pull the other one. DCC waited until two weeks before the concert to give any indication they had any problem with it, while at the same time accepting the submission of forged objections.

"He has told Cork's Red FM that he was "shafted" by Dublin City Council.
    He said: "It was never flagged to me that anybody said 'you have got a serious problem here', and I stand over that.
    "I still think I was shafted by Dublin City Council. I had the licence application in 14 weeks before."
    The promoter said he was very careful with the application.
    He said: "We went through it meticulously, every detail that they wanted was there.
    "If they had known that (there were problems with the application), they could have turned round and said 'this ain't gonna fly', and for them to claim that they did tell me that is ludicrous.
    "I would never have run with it then."

breakingnews.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Yeah these rural scum should be stabbing eachother and sexually assaulting one another like respectable concert goers.

Why do you assume they are rural?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

They seem more like city scum ;) Listen to the wan with the duuuuu-blin accent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

I'd believe aiken over the already proven corrupt liars that are DCC anyday.

He said: "It was never flagged to me that anybody said 'you have got a serious problem here', and I stand over that.
    "I still think I was shafted by Dublin City Council. I had the licence application in 14 weeks before."
    He said: "We went through it meticulously, every detail that they wanted was there.
    "If they had known that (there were problems with the application), they could have turned round and said 'this ain't gonna fly', and for them to claim that they did tell me that is ludicrous.

breakingnews.ie

He stands to lose millions...he would say that.
    The ins and outs of this was discussed all over the internet and people where even betting on the outcome of the planning process, for Aiken/Croke Park and Brooks to suggest that they where not aware is indicative of them lying or them being severely incompetent themselves.
    From my experience if a management company got wind of any controversy around their asset, they would be all over it like a rash...that is their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

So good you posted it twice, 4 minutes apart. :pac:

muddypaws wrote: »
    He stupidly presumes that everyone who follows country music are from the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Pull the other one. DCC waited until two weeks before the concert to give any indication they had any problem with it, while at the same time accepting the submission of forged objections.

breakingnews.ie

Something a party to the case says on the radio is proof now? :confused:

It was in the Indo!

Happyman42 wrote: »
    It was in the Indo!
    The indo obviously don't know what a Dublin city accent sounds like.

jonnny68 wrote: »
    What is it with (predominantly culchies) and this Yankee red neck, we're a laughing stock of Europe, a source of great amusement to those other countries, major cringeworthy.

Funny we didn't see any of ye taking up this poster for it.

It was in the Indo!

The same indo the anti-concert folks are quoting when it suits ? lol

Funny we didn't see any of ye taking up this poster for it.

Oh, so thats why you posted what you did? :confused: Or is there some other reason you assume they are rural?

Do you think his comments are acceptable and why no issue with them ?

The same indo the anti-concert folks are quoting when it suits ? lol

I don't see many anti-concert people around here, anti-interfereing with our law people a plenty though.

The only anti-concert people I can see is Brooks at this stage, he doesn't want to play 3 licenced gigs.

Do you think his comments are acceptable and why no issue with them ?

I didn't say I had an issue with your comments, I am merely asking why you stated that they are rural. A simple question.

I don't see many anti-concert people around here, anti-interfereing with our law people a plenty though.

The only anti-concert people I can see is Brooks at this stage, he doesn't want to play 3 licenced gigs.

DCC have made a proven mockery of the law time and time again, so lol @ holding them up as some shining beacon of integrity, efficiency and honesty.

I didn't say I had an issue with your comments, I am merely asking why you stated that they are rural. A simple question.

Until you reject his comments as unacceptable, and explain why you don't question him, it would be a bit stupid to answer any of your "questions"

DCC have made a proven mockery of the law time and time again, so lol @ holding them up as some shining beacon of integrity, efficiency and honesty.

where in this case have they made a mockery of the law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Ace2007 wrote: »
    If I point out to you in legislation that Aiken did in fact break the law, will you acknowledge that you are wrong, or will you do what EOTR does, and just ignore my post?

Yawn...

You think you're the first to raise that point or something? Like I said the last time it was ridiculously brought up:
    I'm talking about laws that are traditionally enforced, not covered in dust.

I've been at gigs in Marley Park where days before where still subject to licence.

Until you reject his comments as unacceptable, and explain why you don't question him, I don't have to answer any of your questions.

OK, I reject his comments as unacceptable, I apologise profusely to you, but I didn't see that post, as I tend to skim over a lot in this thread, as it is so busy.

Now, please can you explain why you stated they are rural. Thank you.

where in this case have they made a mockery of the law?

Just for starters, making a decision based on forged planning objections, while agreeing with the promoter during their meetings that he had met all their requirements, and giving no indication whatsoever there was any problem, or any changes that should be made.

OK, I reject his comments as unacceptable, I apologise profusely to you, but I didn't see that post, as I tend to skim over a lot in this thread, as it is so busy.

Now, please can you explain why you stated they are rural. Thank you.

Because when RTE interviewed scores of people during the ticket buying process the reported remarked they were all rural. Do you have a problem with rural people ? I don't. It is interesting that you decided to jump on my comment and not his, and I've yet to see you question him for them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Just for starters, making a decision based on forged planning objections, while agreeing with the promoter during their meetings that he had met all their requirements, and giving no indication whatsoever there was any problem, or any changes that should be made.

Nanci Griffith has a song called Last of the True Believers. I'm not entirely sure why but you put me in mind of it.

Calina wrote: »
    Nanci Griffith has a song called Last of the True Believers. I'm not entirely sure why but you put me in mind of it.

Maybe because you prefer to attack the poster when you're stuck ?

Because when RTE interviewed scores of people during the ticket buying process the reported remarked they were all rural. Do you have a problem with rural people ? I don't. It is interesting that you decided to jump on my comment and not his, and I've yet to see you question him for them ?

You find that interesting? You really do need to get out more, why don't you go to a concert - oh wait ...............

I'll gladly spend my money abroad now instead thanks . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Maybe because you prefer to attack the poster when you're stuck ?

It's a bit tragic that you see it as an attack.

But in any case there's no point in trying to have a discussion with you as

1) you have decided that DCC are corrupt but have not proven that their licensing decision was a corrupt decision in this case

2) you think it's not corruption to have inconvenient decisions over ruled when they favour what you want to achieve.

3) you appear to think that no one was against this concert from the outset.

4) you don't appear to accept that cancelling three concerts when you don't have to is rather poor business practice.

Calina wrote: »
    It's a bit tragic that you see it as an attack.

But in any case there's no point in trying to have a discussion with you as

1) you have decided that DCC are corrupt but have not proven that their licensing decision was a corrupt decision in this case

2) you think it's not corruption to have inconvenient decisions over ruled when they favour what you want to achieve.

3) you appear to think that no one was against this concert from the outset.

4) you don't appear to accept that cancelling three concerts when you don't have to is rather poor business practice.

After the insults failed, now I see that now you are reduced to pretending to speak for me . . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

They did not know about the forgeries until they sent receipts to people who then said they had not signed submissions; this did not cancel the non-forged submissions.

There is no proof that the promoter was told any such thing, and one of the requirements is a public consultation process which neither the promoter nor DCC can control.

Sorry people will miss gigs they were looking forward to, but this disappointment doesn't change what happened and no amount of desperate attempts to argue the case should get Brooks on that stage under these circumstances.