New Ferry to France (Launch Offer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

MayoForSam wrote: »
    We got the LD ferry over last Friday, journey was fine, my missus was seasick but she's a bad traveller anyhow. Very clean ferry, service was spot on, good food selection, cabin was ideal for 4 of us. Even got to see footie on the TV.

Drove down to Jean de Monts, staying in Sol a Gogo, nice campsite right beside the beach. Lots to do around here, towns are relatively quiet at nightime, plenty of restaurants. Very good infrastructure, lots of new roads and roundabouts along the seafront. Challans is a nice, decent size market town worth a visit. Kids loved Feeling Forest close by (zip lines). St. Giles Croix de Vie is another nice town, fairground and plenty of French families on holiday. Velo rail booked for tomorrow.

We're off to Questembert in Brittany for a few more days on Saturday. So far excellent holiday, for 325 euro return to get here, can't be beat.

They have a nice wine fair in St Giles around this time of year if you are looking to pick up a few bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

what is the travelling time for the ferry journey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

July 11
    wouldnt possibly be on the ferry company website ?????
    (with full address, gps coordinates and printout detailed pdf map even?)

http://ldlines.co.uk/good-to-know/port-guide-saint-nazaire

Jaysus this bloody internet seems to be world wide. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭bedirect

seems to be a normal practice now to sneer at other users while hiding behind a screen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

bedirect wrote: »
    seems to be a normal practice now to sneer at other users while hiding behind a screen

true, early on in this thread we had some posters pooh pooh'ing this deal - and now have some major egg on their face! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭legohouse

August 22
    Can anyone tell me are there power points in the cabins?
    If so are they French plugs?

Just wondering for Phones, kettle, Coolbox etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭Conar

July 11
    legohouse wrote: »

French plugs. Might be just one if them.
    I brought French to Irish adapter and plugged in an extension lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

legohouse wrote: »

Yeah there are two in the cabins above the little desk. not sure if there are any more elsewhere. They're European sockets.

Safe home to all returning tonight, and bon voyage to all sailing out on their hols this friday!

MidlandsM wrote: »
    true, early on in this thread we had some posters pooh pooh'ing this deal - and now have some major egg on their face! :D

I presume that is intended as a swipe at me among others.

For the record, nobody (me included) "pooh poohed the deal". Anyone interested can look back and see the number of times it was welcomed both as giving affordable holidays and introducing welcome competition.

There were plenty of posts (mine included) comparing the services and facilities on the various ships that sail to France. Those comparisons were factual, evidenced based testimonials from people who have used them and will be helpful to anyone who hasn't. Experiences differ - as do opinions.
    I don't know why anyone would have a problem with that - unless they suffer from acute insecurity, or have some other agenda ("middle classes" etc.).

As this is a "Bargain Alerts" thread, it is worth remembering that this was a "Launch Offer". You have said that you would re-book at three times the price. We might just remind you of that at some point.

Cheers.

First Up wrote: »
    I presume that is intended as a swipe at me among others.

For the record, nobody (me included) "pooh poohed the deal". Anyone interested can look back and see the number of times it was welcomed both as giving affordable holidays and introducing welcome competition.

There were plenty of posts (mine included) comparing the services and facilities on the various ships that sail to France. Those comparisons were factual, evidenced based testimonials from people who have used them and will be helpful to anyone who hasn't. Experiences differ - as do opinions.
    I don't know why anyone would have a problem with that - unless they suffer from acute insecurity, or have some other agenda ("middle classes" etc.).

As this is a "Bargain Alerts" thread, it is worth remembering that this was a "Launch Offer". You have said that you would re-book at three times the price. We might just remind you of that at some point.

Cheers.

How do you like your eggs btw? Hehe.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 375 ✭✭mcgarrett

July 4
    Jesus lads can't believe you're all gone back already, sitting in mcdonalds in Aizenay at the moment on the way back from Puy Du Fou with a full week left!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭metrostation

We're on our way back tomorrow night so have the whole day to burn. have booked Planete Sauvage (Thanks again to a boardie earlier in this thread) and then heading to St Nazaire.

FB messaged with them yesterday and they couldn't be more helpful and responsive. They said if we checked in for around 20:30 then possibly get boarded for 21:30 and match with be on in the bar. That's my plan for now - wife didn't object as I think she'd be happy to get the kids on early too and possibly get them to sleep.

Have had a great holiday so far and kids having a ball. Weather has been great, we are only an hour down from St Nazaire near Saint Jean De Monts. It's been great during the day and cools down most evenings so that makes it easier. Don't know if we could hack down south as kids wouldn't enjoy the constant heat.

Will post more info when home. Anyone with any questions that I can help on then fire them over to me.

What are prices like over there for food and drink?

Are the restaurants expensive?

How much does it cost for a pint/glass of wine/bottle of beer?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MammaZita

Moules frites is perfectly authentic. So are fairgrounds. Its a holiday town. What do people expect French kids to be doing - reading Sartre?

My children tire of pizza and moules frites after a few days, as do we- that's the worst of the resorts. Not to worry, it's our annual holiday- we'll make the most of it. We've booked the same place for 10 nights which I should not have done. Anyway, looking forward to the break 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭paddydriver

July 4
    MidlandsM wrote: »
    Safe home to all returning tonight, and bon voyage to all sailing out on their hols this friday!

Sitting first in line waiting to get on.. Minor delay cause car transporter got stuck under the roof in customs lane. All clear now.. Come on let us on, want to see the match!

Holiday has been fantastic. Went to Planete Sauvage today, highly recommend.

We stayed in Les Genet, couldn't recommend enough. We might very well be back next year.

This time tomorrow... I might be nearly home.

Thanks OP.. This has been the best BA ever.

July 4
    MammaZita wrote: »
    Hi sorry to digress but just wondering how you found St Jean de Monts? Heading to camping acapulco next month and reading some very bad reviews about St Jean de Monts (tacky, touristy, full of Irish and Brits etc). Getting worried as we like getting away from all of that! Thank you!

It's a fairly large area but Yes, plenty of Irish. But these are all families - were not talking hard partying Irish away for the party. We only went into St Jean De Monts once to go to the market.

There is loads to do in the area but we mostly stayed in the campsite. Would have no problems heading back to same area next year. Many I met have been back many times and all driving from Roscoff and Cherbourg - everyone was very intrigued by LD Lines into St Nazaire.

July 4
    What are prices like over there for food and drink?

Are the restaurants expensive?

How much does it cost for a pint/glass of wine/bottle of beer?

Glass or bottle of wine very cheap.. Beer same price more or less. Didn't sample many restaurants but ones we did go to were fairly middling and prices were not much better than home.

July 4
    frash wrote: »
    Heading to St Jean Dr Monts too on the 18th, Le Clarys Plage.

Anyone been there yet?

Was next to us. Looks like it is split in two across both sides of road and the pool etc is all on one side. Might be worth asking that your on side with the pool. Overall though it's a nice spot, know a few people that went and no complaints. We were in Les Genets up the road and it was fantastic. Enjoy the trip! You'll have a great time and it's very short trip from ferry to there.

My children tire of pizza and moules frites after a few days, as do we- that's the worst of the resorts. Not to worry, it's our annual holiday- we'll make the most of it. We've booked the same place for 10 nights which I should not have done. Anyway, looking forward to the break 😀

I'm not saying they need to make up your staple diet. The St Jean area has plenty of choice for all tastes and pockets. Its predominantly (I would say overwhelmingly) a French resort and they expect to get what they want - even moules frites at times!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 426 ✭✭MammaZita

I'm not saying they need to make up your staple diet. The St Jean area has plenty of choice for all tastes and pockets. Its predominantly a French resort and they expect to get what they want - even moules frites at times!

That's good to hear as lots of the reviews state that the quality and choice of restaurant in St Jean de Monts is v poor and one thing we enjoy on holiday is variety. And as we're in France, we obviously like to try as much French cuisine as possible each evening.

Its about two years since I was last there but from memory there's at least a half dozen very nice spots. Move a a little bit back from the beach front for some of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

July 4
    So. Holiday over. Sitting at the front, looking out the window. Anyone fancying a beer, im sitting in a timberland tshirt with the ipad.

Been a nice break but drove 1300 miles in about 10 days :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

August 1
    If you are looking for some food try http://www.chaicarlina.fr/topic/index.html, it is tucked behind the main walking street and has a French menu but serves a variety of wines. You can have a sort of tasting meal with wines to match, good for lunch if you wish to take a few hours (our holiday treat). They have a nice court yard and welcome kids.

Further a field in Commequiers (30 miuntes drive) http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g3626550-d3411179-Reviews-Hotel_de_la_Gare-Commequiers_Vendee_Pays_de_la_Loire.html ,

Easy nice meal, small playground for the kids and toys in the bar, combine with the velorail, book the velorail and turn up early (they leave on the dot).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

August 22
    Looking forward to Aug 15th! Heading to Sequoia Parc with the kids and herself! Was there last year and loved it but went via IF Cherbourg/Roscoff.. Really looking forward to a fraction of the driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Qwerty?

July 18
    Stab*City wrote: »
    Looking forward to Aug 15th! Heading to Sequoia Parc with the kids and herself! Was there last year and loved it but went via IF Cherbourg/Roscoff.. Really looking forward to a fraction of the driving!

Heading with LD Lines tomorrow and driving down to La Rive, Biscarosse and then back up to Sequoia. We stayed in Sequoia last year too, and loved it so much had to go back this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

August 22
    Qwerty? wrote: »
    Heading with LD Lines tomorrow and driving down to La Rive, Biscarosse and then back up to Sequoia. We stayed in Sequoia last year too, and loved it so much had to go back this year.

Have a great trip anyway!! La Rive is a nice bit down was thinking of taking a drive further down myself at some stage (there for 11 days).. Sequoia is excellent. We went late August last year and had the park and heat pretty much to ourselves! Its a great complex kids loved the waterpark and i loved not having to pay for a water park all the time!!

I think ill at least head south as far as Bordeaux for a day trip. Maybe further. Last year i did Cherbourg-Paris-Disney-Sequoia-Roscoff so totally looking forward to driving alot less this year and should be much cheaper too seeing as though we are not doing Paris!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

July 4
    HOME!

Well, 1350 miles done and just got home. The ferry left on time, Wednesday night at midnight and we drove off it in Rosslare, tonite, at 11pm. Home in Dublin for 12.45.

No problems with the ferry at all, but heres a tip. If they put you up on the top deck. Let the wife/daughter/someone run in before you park and join the queue to get a cabin key. The queue was ridiculous. You will have to leave one id per key. You need to present your ticket to show you have a cabin. They took my licence and a useless keycard I have for a special registered key cutting service.

Make sure you have an adapter or two. The sockets onboard are round two pin. I have a special one for a medical device and the mother in law blew the fuse in it with her hairdryer. Had to pay 11 euro for one at eurodisney!

Food looked good onboard and not expensive. We brought a picnic though. Bring plenty of books, dvds, whatever you are into. Its a grand ship but is verrrrrrrrrrry looooooooooooong with no facilites except a couple of tv screens. You can hire a dvd player with 2 dvds for 6 euro.

The bar has a limited supply of board games you can borrow for free. They asked for our cabin number on the way over, but not on the way back. Draughts, trivial pursuit, etc etc.

We found everyone polite, the boat spotless and comfortable. If the price is right, I would definately go back on it again.

Any questions, feel free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭frash

July 25
    What's the procedure when you arrive to get the ferry from Rosslare?

I just have the email booking confirmation - do I need to go to some office at the port beforehand to get actual tickets or do I just drive on & show the guy the booking confirmation?

First time ferry user here!

Oh - who checks your passports on the way out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 taoifie

July 18
    Hi Guys

Travelling tonight, just want to confirm that towels are supplied on board. (Before I need to repack 😊)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,896 ✭✭✭billie1b

frash wrote: »
    What's the procedure when you arrive to get the ferry from Rosslare?

I just have the email booking confirmation - do I need to go to some office at the port beforehand to get actual tickets or do I just drive on & show the guy the booking confirmation?

First time ferry user here!

Oh - who checks your passports on the way out?

When you drive into the port follow the relevant signs for your ferry company, you'll drive into a yard/holding area with booths like what you'd see on a tolled road, usually they have signs over them for which ones will be opened. When opened check-in will commence, you'll drive up to the booth and the staff member there will issue you with what you need and check your passports then tell you which lane to join for boarding, you'll drive forward into that lane and then you just waiting until boarding commences.
    Its all very straight forward, enjoy your trip