Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    You can. Just be sure that the person "gifting" it to you isn't aware of it ;)
    Yep, I've come across comments on facebook pages of scumbags asking each other if anyone has any cheap mobiles for sale, usually with a specifice 08? number. Mostly they're all long term never did an honest days work in their lives and will never be arsed to do so, so they hardly came by said phones honestly.

I only know as they say to know your enemy so I like to keep up to speed with what mine are up to. If I know that they're selling knock off or stolen goods as they're conducting business openly on their facebook pages how come the law doesn't? I'm talking about people with a history of criminal offences or who are part of a family with double digit criminal convictions.

Oh and since I'm on a rant about facebook what is it with people who post multiple pictures of themselves with a don't I just look fantastic slant to them. Usually women with a fairly androgenous shape and a less than stunning face, often past their best. They're attention whoring for compliments from their friends/family. Pathetic.

I'm always tempted to post that they're just middle aged women who look like they've spent too much time in the gym and that the attention seeking is really sad. But I don't, I just keep my inner bitch on a leash, mostly:D

I don't know why but the way they use numbers after a group of controversial or highlighted people in news realms.

The Guildford 4, The Birmingham 6, The Tapas 7. Would ya ever go and fcuk off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm annoyed that Germany missed a great chance at the end to make it 8-0 and Brazil scored soon after to make it 7-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

People telling me I'm hard to figure out, when I'm a very straight forward person. I literally can not be any more direct and I'm supposed to be some sort of enigma?

Eh? Sorry I just can't make out what you're trying to say :P

Omackeral wrote: »
    I don't know why but the way they use numbers after a group of controversial or highlighted people in news realms.

The Guildford 4, The Birmingham 6, The Tapas 7. Would ya ever go and fcuk off!

Maple 10 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

People telling me I'm hard to figure out, when I'm a very straight forward person. I literally can not be any more direct and I'm supposed to be some sort of enigma?

I'm the very same and I think some people to find that hard to 'figure out' because they're so insincere, guarded and ostentatious that the idea of just being your real self and saying what you mean is completely alien to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

My house.

My room is by the front door, last night a car drove into our drive at about 2am. There was some kicking and some banging at the front door, an almighty thud and the sound of someone falling inside.

"ADIOUS MOTHA****SAAASSSSSHHH" was yelled out, followed by a really loud string of burps. Upstairs I hear one of the guys get out of bed so fast and trample around the room it sounded like a machine gun. He comes down the stairs, and it turns out the guy who pretty much broke into our house is a friend of his. He's shouting and roaring, looking for drink, asking the housemate when did he get such big shoulders, and looking through the dog food and in the washing machine for drink, cause apparently this house on a Tuesday night is apparently the only place in town for a party.

My housemates then trying to get him to take some Valium but he's having none of it, ranting that they're just trying to bring him down.
    After the lads had made so much noise the weekend, and since there was murders over that, the housemates saying to him to stay quiet if the girls wake up that'll be the end of that! The drunk guy starts shouting louder to get the girls up, cause he knows how much the women in the house loves the cock.

Any way that nonsense went on for about half an hour, until he decided he'd have to drive home, incase his girlfriend thought he was doing the dirt on her. So, off he goes, and gets into the car he drove here, barely able to stand.

I called the cops and I hope his drunk disrespectful self spent the night sobering up in a cell, with his car kept well away from him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Lexie - time to move out.

My house.

My room is by the front door, last night a car drove into our drive at about 2am. There was some kicking and some banging at the front door, an almighty thud and the sound of someone falling inside.

"ADIOUS MOTHA****SAAASSSSSHHH" was yelled out, followed by a really loud string of burps. Upstairs I hear one of the guys get out of bed so fast and trample around the room it sounded like a machine gun. He comes down the stairs, and it turns out the guy who pretty much broke into our house is a friend of his. He's shouting and roaring, looking for drink, asking the housemate when did he get such big shoulders, and looking through the dog food and in the washing machine for drink, cause apparently this house on a Tuesday night is apparently the only place in town for a party.

My housemates then trying to get him to take some Valium but he's having none of it, ranting that they're just trying to bring him down.
    After the lads had made so much noise the weekend, and since there was murders over that, the housemates saying to him to stay quiet if the girls wake up that'll be the end of that! The drunk guy starts shouting louder to get the girls up, cause he knows how much the women in the house loves the cock.

Any way that nonsense went on for about half an hour, until he decided he'd have to drive home, incase his girlfriend thought he was doing the dirt on her. So, off he goes, and gets into the car he drove here, barely able to stand.

I called the cops and I hope his drunk disrespectful self spent the night sobering up in a cell, with his car kept well away from him.

Good. It's not idiots like that I feel sorry for - its the poor feckers coming towards them. Joyriders (who are, IMO, in the same category) almost destroyed our lives a number of years ago. Mam in hospital for 6 months, Dad lost business etc - and God forgive me I am happy when I hear that they've crashed and killed themselves. It's just a pity they put others at risk in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

gramar wrote: »
    Lexie - time to move out.

I know I complain about my house a lot but despite the noise and the random people calling, I love living here (usually) and I love the guys I live with. Yeah they're a bit touched and a bit fond of the drink, but they're fun and they look after me, (when they're not bein noisey)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

My house.

You need to find people to live with who aren't addicted to "the craic".

Seriously, a lot of Irish people live like frat boys all through their twenties and early thirties.

Optician insisting that I get a check up before they will order more lenses for me - and not having any available appointements for 3 weeks! Sure, my lenses will be finished by then anyway :(

To hell with it....orders online :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,119 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People who meander down the auxiliary lane of the M50 at 70kmh, then rejoin the mainline ten metres before the exit you're taking. There's a special circle of hell reserved for you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I went to donate blood this evening and to be tested to see if I am suitable to go on the bone marrow donor registry. It turns out all my veins were too small or too deep and I wasn't suitable for either. Am really p!ssed off with myself. On the bright side, I don't think I'll ever become a junkie :p

When Mrs _Bap was in labour we found that she had the same problem. But the f*cking idiot midwife insisted. So Mrs. _Bap is having some good ol contractions, getting pepped up on gas and this idiot is poking her arm repeatedly trying to find a vein. She decides the other arm will be better and whips of the elasticy turniquet, it snaps back and wollops Mrs. _Bap on the arm and boob. The anger. The rage.
    Then rinse and repeat on the other arm with the same turniquet removal that whacked my lady on the other boob.
    She comes back to the original arm....but thankfully the a more experienced midwife came into the room before Mr's. _Bap became The Hulk, told this one to leave, got a vein in a couple of seconds and we got a new excellent midwife.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dial Hard wrote: »
    People who meander down the auxiliary lane of the M50 at 70kmh, then rejoin the mainline ten metres before the exit you're taking. There's a special circle of hell reserved for you.

It's painful.....and those that sit in lane 3 and whip accross lanes 2 & 1 to get into the exit lane at the last minute.

I also think that I ma the only person in the mornings that obeys the speed limit on the M1 between Swords and the M50.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Almost as annoying as those who don't indicate, those who don't turn their indicators off.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Almost as annoying as those who don't indicate, those who don't turn their indicators off.

Or the numpties who indicate after they have started the turn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,119 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Or the numpties who indicate after they have started the turn :(

Or brake hard and then indicate

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    When Mrs _Bap was in labour we found that she had the same problem. But the f*cking idiot midwife insisted. So Mrs. _Bap is having some good ol contractions, getting pepped up on gas and this idiot is poking her arm repeatedly trying to find a vein. She decides the other arm will be better and whips of the elasticy turniquet, it snaps back and wollops Mrs. _Bap on the arm and boob. The anger. The rage.
    Then rinse and repeat on the other arm with the same turniquet removal that whacked my lady on the other boob.
    She comes back to the original arm....but thankfully the a more experienced midwife came into the room before Mr's. _Bap became The Hulk, told this one to leave, got a vein in a couple of seconds and we got a new excellent midwife.

My veins are awful, which is a nightmare since I have to have regular blood tests and I also get infusions via a drip. I had some blood taken this morning and it was a nightmare. It took about 10 minutes of faffing about trying to decide which arm to use.

The worst experience I ever had with it was after major surgery. A young student/team member, or whatever they're called, came to take blood late at night. Sweet Jesus after a few minutes of poking and prodding with the needle the blood was running down my arm on to the sheet and she was clearly panicking. I had to tell her to go and get someone else to take the blood. Thankfully I had a nerve block in my spine and could feel bugger all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Dramatik

People who think they can just cut in when you're serving another customer because "I'm parked on double yellows!"

New neighbours across the street have a very very yappy dog and they live next door to another neighbour who has a very yappy dog. At the moment there are 2 very very yappy dogs barking incessantly for the past half hour. Note to dog people, take the fcuking dogs in:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Dramatik wrote: »
    People who think they can just cut in when you're serving another customer because "I'm parked on double yellows!"

That's exactly why the phrase "Well fcuk off back to your car in a hurry then"
    was invented.

Bastards are usually on the phone as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Majority of the left side of my right hand is permanently numb to feelings of texture and temperature... but I can still feel pressure, it's weird... after being involved in a rather serious accident having done a substantial amount of damage to my wrist and the underside of my forearm. Some damage to my nerves, thankfully nothing affecting motor control... and the ulnar artery was removed.

And with regards to the ulnar artery, that artery to check your pulse at your wrist... it being removed, I no longer can check for a pulse on my right wrist. Least I can amuse some people into thinking I got no heart beat... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭HurtLocker

deise08 wrote: »
    Drivers who tottle along at 80 when the limit is 100 but then speed up to 100 when a slow lane appears.
    It's not the driving slower than the limit that bothers me.
    I really don't get the whole speeding up thing.

Nothing worse than overtaking someone and they decide to speed up. I still remember the week after passing my test a pr*ck going 60 in a 100 on slightly bendy roads. I wait for 20 minutes and finally a straight. Doesn't he decide then as I'm overtaking to speed up and keep me on the wrong side of the road. My speedo read well in excess of 100 when getting enough room to remerge. Even now I get angry and a voice is saying "You should have pushed his car off the road no no you should have break tested him". He made me so mad I'm still annoyed. At the time the middle finger sufficed and a slight bend had him back down to his slow speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

HurtLocker wrote: »
    Nothing worse than overtaking someone and they decide to speed up. I still remember the week after passing my test a pr*ck going 60 in a 100 on slightly bendy roads. I wait for 20 minutes and finally a straight. Doesn't he decide then as I'm overtaking to speed up and keep me on the wrong side of the road. My speedo read well in excess of 100 when getting enough room to remerge. Even now I get angry and a voice is saying "You should have pushed his car off the road no no you should have break tested him". He made me so mad I'm still annoyed. At the time the middle finger sufficed and a slight bend had him back down to his slow speed.

And they want newly qualified drivers to display "N" to make the roads safer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I first read that as "for the next 22 years or so" and I went :eek:

That surely wouldn't be trivial!

I bought some Jacobs coconut creams today for my husband, I haven't had them in about 20 years. There I was all set to have 1 with my coffee when I thought to check the label and yep there it was 'gelatin', so Jacobs don't like us veggies then, last pack of those I'll ever buy then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Just think how well you'll sleep once it comes off. :)