Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Red Nissan wrote: »

Now if some of those objection were not legitimate, then the weighting is not either so there is a get out clause without reversing any decision as it was or could have been and invalid decision based on invalid evidence as presented for evaluation.

And your legal qualifications to make that statement are......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,642 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

First Up wrote: »
    I'm talking about a compromise acceptable to all.
    The 3 gigs IS the compromise and it has been turned down by Mr. Brooks.
    Red Nissan wrote: »
    Could not agree more as a base point.

However, the claims and counter claims and amount of confusion over various factions supposedly representing 'residents' has cast a critical eye on those who are actually disaffected.

It's seemingly narrowing to a plot to obstruct.
    The (self appointed?) labour relations mediator says the residents are being compromised.
    The GAA agree the residents are being compromised.
    The City Council says the tenants are being compromised.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Oh well by the looks of thinks there won't be ANY concerts , just a large amount of fans crying

Don't forget though,

Geret brewks lohoves yee

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0707/629005-garth-brooks-planning/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Steam Roller

If peter aiken pull's GB's leg and persuades him to do the three gigs today.

Are 80,000 of us going to be up there on the 25th, only to find out that the court granted the injunction. Courts can be slow and two and a half weeks left.

Can it be pulled at the very last minute?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

awec wrote: »
    This argument is boring. Of course this concert is something they should be looking at right now.

It affects almost half a million people, which is almost the equivalent of the population of Dublin City. The figures (in terms of finance) are pretty huge.

Whether or not you like Garth Brooks there's no point pretending it's not a fairly major issue right now.

So our representatives should dedicate their time to a short term gain that on the whole is going to benefit an over the hill millionaire singer, a concert promoter (who obviously has planning deficiencies) and a so-called sporting organisation when have shown complete and utter contempt for the residents neighbouring their stadium.

The major issue is that our planning laws need to be amended to ensure that tickets in future are not sold until a license is granted.

I'm sorry for the Garth Brooks fans who bought tickets for the Monday and Tuesday night but because of bad planning they have now lost out.

If Mr Brooks decides to throw his toys out of the pram and not play the licensed nights then those who have tickets for the previous three nights will be inconvenienced by their "idol" and no one else.

Residents have every right to object to this, it goes beyond an agreement they had in place with the GAA and it will cause traffic chaos in that whole area on two weeknights. It would be interesting if research was done on the cost to business in the areas and the city centre would be because of this disruption because I am sure that while the pubs and other hospitality industry businesses in the vicinity are making money other businesses will probably lose out because their trading is effected by the restrictions that an event of this type will attract.

If peter aiken pull's GB's leg and persuades him to do the three gigs today.

Are 80,000 of us going to be up there on the 25th, only to find out that the court granted the injunction. Courts can be slow and two and a half weeks left.

Can it be pulled at the very last minute?

I reckon due to the timelines involved, a speedy decision will be made. I can't see a situation where a week before the gig fans don't know whether it's on or not. Now that would be cruel.

My personal opinion is that the injunction will fail but whether yer man appeals to a higher court (if he can?) is a different matter.

italodisco wrote: »
    Oh well by the looks of thinks there won't be ANY concerts , just a large amount of fans crying

Don't forget though,

Geret brewks lohoves yee

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0707/629005-garth-brooks-planning/

Injunctions don't always succeed you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Gergiev wrote: »
    They'll turn a profit on three gigs, no problem.

They were absolutely delighted when they sold out 2 initially and if you recall Peter Aiken was all over the media when the third one was announced almost declaring it as the 4th miracle of Fatima!

All the significant costs are the same for 1 gig as for 3 or 5.

Even allowing for Aiken's statement that Brooks has 'upscaled' the event spend because of the amount of revenue generated over 5 nights, it still won't effect the fact that a healthy profit being made.

What has them on the back foot at the moment is losing control of events, as for them it's usually just a case of having their plans rubber-stamped by the relevant authorities, and away they go to plan and organise.

If they can psychologically get over that 'bump on the road', then they'll announce the 3 shows will go ahead and they'll work hard with all parties to get more shows next year to compensate the other, unlucky ticket-holders.

If Brooks decides to pull the other 3 shows, however, Aikens will be with left with significant local losses and a fractured relationship with the artist, so there's a lot at stake for them.

(Maybe not unlike their situation with U2 when the projected 'free concert' for 100,000 people in Phoenix Park some years ago went 'belly up' and U2 and McGuinness decamped to MCD, despite all their previous gigs being with Aiken).

I also believe that public opinion will move against GB if he reneges on the first 3, so there's a lot at stake for all parties.

Hopefully, they'll swallow some pride and fulfil their professional obligations...

Yeah I think Peter Aikens mercy mission to hold crisis talks with Garth Brooks is a ruse to facilitate a come down and play the three shows. If Brooks were to refuse to play any gigs after Aiken so publically makes a mercy mission then I really don't know where we're at. Garth Brooks will lose huge amounts of goodwill from fans who hold tickets for the Fri-Sunday gigs which do have a licence from DCC. People will see him as nothing more than greedy and arrogant (those that don't already will be converts pretty sharpish). Aiken would be left with egg all over his face in a very public humiliation by a major artist. For a promoter that could do serious reputational damage amongst large acts coming to Ireland. In short MCD must be frothing at the mouth over all this and if Brooks plays no concerts then you just know they're going to be right in there winning new business from under Aikens nose to promote the Irish leg of a Garth Brooks world tour. Perhaps MCD would learn the lessons and know to have a few of the gigs in Cork or Limerick rather than stockpiling them all in Dublin.

As an aside Gergiev do you know whatever happened the free U2 gig in the Park, I remembered it was rumoured for years but what exactly went balls up with it ? Also is there any linkage between that and Aiken not being able/willing to use Slane as a venue ? What's the story there, is it just an agreement with MCD and Lord Henry to only host MCD artists or was there some fall out between Montcharles and Aiken over a previous gig ? Also any ideas who the promoter was when the Bob Dylan riots happened in Slane in 1986 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

After Garth Brooks statement about all or nothing, no matter what the outcome, he comes out looking like a dick.
    • All 5 concerts go ahead - Garth looks like a stroppy kid who threw his toys out of his pram to get his way and has no respect for Irish law.
    • 3 concerts go ahead (most likely) - Garth was talking shíte and was just lied to get his own way
    • No concerts go ahead - Garth doesn't give a shít about his fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Thats it Im selling my Garth Brooks call card collection in protest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Happyman42

More bull and lies about this 'ship', on Saturday it was claimed that it was already on it's way and now it is 'set' to sail...which is it?
    And can anybody point to a Garda statement about these 'forged' letters, all I can find is a story from the Indo, and we all know (or should know) that they will publish anything when there is paper to be sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Happyman42 wrote: »
    More bull and lies about this 'ship', on Saturday it was claimed that it was already on it's way and now it is 'set' to sail...which is it?
    And can anybody point to a Garda statement about these 'forged' letters, all I can find is a story from the Indo, and we all know (or should know) that they will publish anything when there is paper to be sold.

Lads there was no ship, the ship was in your hearts all along....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,516 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

If given leave to appeal he can. I think a Supreme Court appeal would have to be on a point of law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,841 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Well, it is big international news after all. Japan is outraged.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Umaro wrote: »
    No, its most definitely woosh right over you.

The original post was an ad hominem attack on the chairman of one of the residents committees.

As a chairman, he manages the functions of the organisation and ensures its running correctly. Where he's from, and where he lives, have little bearing on whether he should be allowed to do his job? "Sure he's from Tipp! What would he know. Probably has an axe to grind rabble rabble" is a really useless bit of rambling.

Such nonsense. By the same token, if someone were to say that Garth Brooks shouldn't play Croke Park because of where he's from and the fact that he isn't an Irish sport, it'd be equally irrelevant :)
    I can assure you, the only person missing the point is you. How you can even compare the two is preposterous.

One is a musician that has been booked to play five nights to over 400,000 people at one of Ireland's biggest and most famous venues. He wants to make money, play to his large following and possibly shoot videos/documentaries about what possibly is a milestone in his career. He has a lot to lose in all of this as does the local economy (think publicans, hoteliers, restaurateurs etc. etc. They employ a large number of people in the area surrounding Croke Park too!).

The other is a man from Tipperary living in Castleknock claiming to be outraged by the Garth Brooks event. He is not directly affected by the concerts as he does not live in the area. What has he to gain or lose from all of this? From what he said yesterday, he is doing it voluntarily. The people who he represents are only a percentage of the residents, as we have seen that many of the residents feel that they had been misrepresented and that they would have liked the concerts to go ahead. Surely as a chairman he should be giving a balanced view! He made several very poor arguments on Newstalk again yesterday and when he was in the spotlight he couldn't deal with the questions put to him. It is understandable that is motives can be questioned in this instance.

The original post was far from a "personal" attack on the chairman of the residents committee as you put it. Where he is from is very relevant in all of this as location is the crux of issue.

Woosh Umaro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭RandomName2

In all seriousness this looks really bloody awful for Ireland's reputation. Dublin - the friendly city to do business?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/fresh-legal-challenge-to-stop-all-the-garth-brooks-concerts-30412313.html

Kieran Mulvey really needs to shut up. I would have had respect for his achievements but then he became involved in the referendum last year, and now he is making statements that are the least impartial I have ever heard from a so called impartial person. Just proves the GAA initiated arbitration he was involved with was a sham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

cournioni wrote: »
    I can assure you, the only person missing the point is you. How you can even compare the two is preposterous.

One is a musician that has been booked to play five nights to over 400,000 people at one of Ireland's biggest and most famous venues. He wants to make money, play to his large following and possibly shoot videos/documentaries about what possibly is a milestone in his career. He has a lot to lose in all of this as does the local economy (think publicans, hoteliers, restaurateurs etc. etc. They employ a large number of people in the area surrounding Croke Park too!).

The other is a man from Tipperary living in Castleknock claiming to be outraged by the Garth Brooks event. He is not directly affected by the concerts as he does not live in the area. What has he to gain or lose from all of this? From what he said yesterday, he is doing it voluntarily. The people who he represents are only a percentage of the residents, as we have seen that many of the residents feel that they had been misrepresented and that they would have liked the concerts to go ahead. Surely as a chairman he should be giving a balanced view! He made several very poor arguments on Newstalk again yesterday and when he was in the spotlight he couldn't deal with the questions put to him.

The original post was far from a "personal" attack on the chairman of the residents committee as you put it. Where he is from is very relevant in all of this as location is the crux of issue.

Woosh Umaro!

Your portrait of St Garth the Fat is lovely, pity you left out the bit where he decided that he should be allowed to disregard Irish planning and event licencing law in pursuit of his greed.
    You appear to be arguing that the richer you are the less the law should apply to you, reminiscent of the thinking that got this country into the mess it is in to start with.
    You also appear to be choosing, with no evidence to back it up, that the DCC licencing decision was based solely on the objections of one individual.

Happyman42 wrote: »

I too find the whole ship story a bit fishy.

I know nothing about putting on a concert obviously but from an economic and logistics point of view, wouldn't it make sense to source the majority of the equipment locally? I know the band's gear is different but you could fit that in a regular cargo plane.

But the rest like the stage, amps and lighting etc. surely all of that could be got here? I know he'll have his special light show or whatever but that's probably more to do with the arrangement of them as opposed to them being GB specific light bulbs.

Is he really shipping scaffolding across from the states?

In all seriousness this looks really bloody awful for Ireland's reputation. Dublin - the friendly city to do business?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/fresh-legal-challenge-to-stop-all-the-garth-brooks-concerts-30412313.html

Really? This City has proven itself to be a good place to locate a business. These concerts have nothing to do with any of that.

Try taking the p1ss out of the planning authorities in New York or Paris and see how far you'd get. Any reasonable business person will recognise this for what it is, a City Council becoming embroiled in an emotive and slightly bizarre situation, and upholding the planning laws for which it used to be known to be corrupt for so long.

I dunno, I have a preference for visiting places where the people refuse to allow big business to trample on them. In fact 'big business' has destroyed most city centres in the western world anyway imo. Every street looks the same now, the same 'entertainment' is on offer and everything is designed to extract as much mullah in as 'nice a corporate friendly way' as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭wrt40

The most embarrassing thing in all this is that it is headline news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

No it doesn't look really bloody awful for our reputation. If you did a survey of foreigners on what three things they would most associate with Ireland going by global news stories then it would be things like IMF bailouts, Tuam babies buried in septic tanks, large scale child abuse and child labour facilitated by the State, those sorts of things are what foreigners looking in associate with recent Irish history.

Not Garth Brooks, you really need to get a sense of perspective on this vis a vis the scandals that have come out of the cesspit of Official Ireland over the last decade. Those scandals were reputational damage. Imagine trying to sell Ireland as a tourism destination to Asian and Europeans when at the same time there is stories in the international media about exhuming the bodies of infants who were disposed like rubbish into an underground septic tank after they had been abused, tortured and murdered.

That's reputational damage, Garth Brooks isn't even a blip on the radar in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,974 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

This is disgusting and again it's all coming from this lad whos not even from the area, is only representing a fraction of the residents and by all accounts is very likley to have forged a lot of signatures on the original petition to DCC

I too find the whole ship story a bit fishy.

I know nothing about putting on a concert obviously but from an economic and logistics point of view, wouldn't it make sense to source the majority of the equipment locally? I know the band's gear is different but you could fit that in a regular cargo plane.

But the rest like the stage, amps and lighting etc. surely all of that could be got here? I know he'll have his special light show or whatever but that's probably more to do with the arrangement of them as opposed to them being GB specific light bulbs.

Is he really shipping scaffolding across from the states?

Doesn't make any logistical or financial sense to me either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Again, it doesn't. It looks bad for the process of getting a licence for concerts, that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I really don't get the hysteria over all of this. GB wanted to play 1 concert, that then turned into 3 concerts and the GAA in their greed decided to trample on the residents by allowing 5 concerts, which they knew the residents weren't going to tolerate.

What we now have is political interference to try to overturn a decision. There should be no political interference in the matter and Sinn Fein look even more ridiculous than usual. What should happen is that GB either has the decency to do the 3 concerts or he's told to fcuk off. This whole fiasco makes Ireland look like a backwards little begosh and begorrah country. He has no respect for Irish law and our ridiculous politicians are tripping over themselves to try to overturn the law to accomodate him, how fcuking Irish:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Your portrait of St Garth the Fat is lovely, pity you left out the bit where he decided that he should be allowed to disregard Irish planning and event licencing law in pursuit of his greed.
    You appear to be arguing that the richer you are the less the law should apply to you, reminiscent of the thinking that got this country into the mess it is in to start with.
    You also appear to be choosing, with no evidence to back it up, that the DCC licencing decision was based solely on the objections of one individual.
    This post is full of so many inaccuracies I'll have to break it down into segments.

1. If you've read any of my previous posts, I couldn't give two fcuks about Garth. I'm more interested in the revenue that the gig brings in.
    2. The musician didn't disregard the Irish planning or licencing law. The promoter did.
    3. Where did I argue that the richer you are the less the law should apply to you? Idiotic comment.
    4. Where did I appear to be choosing that the DCC licencing decision was based on the objections of one individual? Again, idiotic comment.

Get your facts straight before you post again.