Help make true love a reality!

• 07-07-2014 08:51AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

Alright guys firstly no point in sex jokes or trying to burst my bubble. I've fallen in love. Head over heels.

I'm currently on date #2 with this girl and I think she quite likes me. Only problem is that her ex broke her heart and now wants her back. I actually think I'm in with a shot of wiping the floor with this guy so I need the boards.ie crowd to help me out!

I've got her for a lunch break tomorrow and need to blow her away with my date plan. She's quite into culture, so any suggestions would be awesome. Needs to be around the Trinity college area in Dublin!

Thanks for all the suggestions in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

. She's quite into culture, so any suggestions would be awesome. Needs to be around the Trinity college area in Dublin!

There's biology labs in Trinity I'd say they'll loan you a petri dish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Alright guys firstly no point in sex jokes or trying to burst my bubble. I've fallen in love. Head over heels.

I'm currently on date #2 with this girl and I think she quite likes me. Only problem is that her ex broke her heart and now wants her back. I actually think I'm in with a shot of wiping the floor with this guy so I need the boards.ie crowd to help me out!

I've got her for a lunch break tomorrow and need to blow her away with my date plan. She's quite into culture, so any suggestions would be awesome. Needs to be around the Trinity college area in Dublin!

National Gallery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

It's many moons since I have been on a date, however I am of the opinion less is more. Keep it simple. Picnic in park. Only few dates in after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

You say she's into culture

You're near trinity college, home of the book of kells, next to the national gallery, down the road from the museum. In the general area of Georgian Dublin.

Nah, can't think of anything....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've fallen in love. Head over heels.
    After two dates? Da fuq? *cynic*
    I'm currently on date #2 with this girl and I think she quite likes me. Only problem is that her ex broke her heart and now wants her back.
    *gets popcorn*
    I actually think I'm in with a shot of wiping the floor with this guy
    Two dates in, you're head over heels in love, she it seems is already telling you about her ex and how he broke her heart and wants her back. Hmmmm. Well I wish you luck. You never know.
    so I need the boards.ie crowd to help me out!

National gallery. National museum. Natural history museum is usually worth a punt. It's a museum of a museum.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭laserlad2010

I accept the cynicism but it came up as we both have exes in the background!

First date was in the history museum...

And yes I am well aware of the usual culture haunts around the place.... Silly of me to hope that the boards crowd might have had a few gems up their sleeves

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

"She's quite into culture so suggestions would be awesome"

Are you sure you're right for her?

humberklog wrote: »
    "She's quite into culture so suggestions would be awesome"

Are you sure you're right for her?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do you have any money or do these adventures have to be free?

Money not an issue... Constrained by time tho 1 hour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Viking Splash Tour is a bit of craic- kinda "cultural" aswell.. €20 at ticket though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭urabell

A romantic walk along the Liffey boardwalk at sunset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭The Dagda

You're "CURRENTLY" on date no. 2?!!

Get off the fecking phone and pay attention to yer wan! True love my arse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭addob

If it's a nice day what about a walk around Merrion Square (did you know that there's a collection of light posts there so could be a little bit different than just a museum) and like others suggested a picnic?

I'd like that - from a girl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Silly of me to hope that the boards crowd might have had a few gems up their sleeves

Well to be fair this is AFTER HOURS. If you wanted sincere help you should have tried elsewhere.

But try a quick bit to eat and a walk around St. Pats Cathedral and a bit of lunch on the green.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

Combine the above if the weather is decent, national gallery and head into trinity and have a picnic on the grass !

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭Robin132

Dublin castle is only up the road, and very few irish people ever bother to visit it. There are some events on in the castle for the summer, not sure if there is anything on today worth a look to ye but have a look http://www.dublincastle.ie/media/Dublin%20Castle%20Summer%20Season%202014.pdf

There is also a park where you could have a picnic/lunch or the Chester Beatty Library do some lovely lunches.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

urabell wrote: »
    A romantic walk along the Liffey boardwalk at sunset.

That'll be a very late lunch so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Bring her into the dental hospital and get her wide open mouth x-rayed so you can see how much of your laserlad she can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,871 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Liquid lunch, lose track of time, end up in Diceys Garden, on to Coppers......... Wrap up about 3am, into Zaytoons and spill it down the front of your shirt.

SORTED !

You'll be beating her off with a hairy stick after that !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭ebbsy

If you splash the cash she might flash her gash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Raminahobbin

If you only have an hour it's a bit mad to take her into a gallery or museum- I'd hate to feel rushed walking through one of those.

Just take her for a picnic in Merrion Square or the Iveagh Gardens. Have a chat. Save the other stuff for when you have more time. If the weather is ****, depending on the time of day, go somewhere like the Vintage Cocktail Club or the Tea Gardens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭donegal__road

you will need more than an hour for this, but it will do for again...

Hugh Lane gallery

She's quite into culture, so any suggestions would be awesome. Needs to be around the Trinity college area in Dublin!

Dya like stuff do ya

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Chester Beatty Library always has interesting exhibitions on, you can try there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Chance The Rapper

+1 for Tea Gardens, but make sure it's early evening, because if you're too late in its full of couples dryhumping and looks fairly dodgy if you didn't know it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

you will need more than an hour for this, but it will do for again...

Hugh Lane gallery

Him: Fancy going to the Hugh Lane gallery?

Her: Okay...what's on there?

Him: An exhibition by Eva Rothschild. In Eva Rothschild’s work, the formal values of modernism and its ideas of utopia are inverted. The history of 20th century abstract art is deconstructed through her installations and through the materialism of her objects they become inquiries into how we as humans develop structures (both physical and metaphoric) to support our values. Rothschild manages to deliver sensation, memory, perception, personal idiosyncrasies and diverse cultural traditions, through the transformation of everyday materials into alien artifacts.

Her: Okay, let's go.

Him (in the Hugh Lane): An eloquent admiration of ancient cultures can be discerned through the art historical references of Egyptian and Roman civilisations as well as minimalism and constructivism, but also the influence of American artists Robert Morris and Cady Noland can be seen. Now let's go somewhere and f*ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Bring her to an S&M Bondage session and get her to whip you or to give you a few kicks in the ribs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

+1 for Tea Gardens, but make sure it's early evening, because if you're too late in its full of couples dryhumping and looks fairly dodgy if you didn't know it

WTF...Yeah go there lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Just talk to her.