Would you take a Knighthood of the queen

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 100,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Manach wrote: »
    Does that knighthood still come with the ability to slay dragons?
    I think it's more of a duty than a right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

As an Irishwoman and a Republican how could I?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 100,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Thing about a Knighthood is than only UK citizens can call themselves "Sir"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭duffalosoldier

Sir Brian O Driscoll - he must be up next !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    It depends you know. If I had international dealings I wouldn't. If I was just confined to Ireland and the UK I would.

Why would you want a knighthood in Ireland?

Wouldn't it be just, if not more awkward, than internationally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Interesting that most here would

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Arise Sir Cantremember. Hmmmmm? Am I a knight or amnt I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Seemingly Fagan thought she was hot. A glass of Chardonney, a royal ride and a fag. What more would a chap want :D

Michael Fagan in wiki:

Break-ins[edit]
    At around 7.00am on Friday morning, 9 July 1982, Michael Fagan, who was by then a 33-year-old unemployed decorator whose wife had just left him,[3] scaled Buckingham Palace's 14ft perimeter wall - topped with revolving spikes and barbed wire[2] - and shinned up a drainpipe before wandering into the Queen's bedroom at about 7.15am.[1] By his own account, it was his second attempt: on his first he shinned up the drainpipe, startling a housemaid, who called security. When guards reached the scene, Fagan had disappeared, leading them to believe the housemaid was mistaken. Fagan entered the palace through an unlocked window on the roof and spent the next half hour eating cheddar cheese and crackers and wandering around. He tripped several alarms, but they were faulty. He viewed the royal portraits and rested on the throne for a while. He then entered the postroom, where Diana, Princess of Wales had hidden presents for her first son, William. Fagan drank half a bottle of white wine before becoming tired and leaving.[3]

On Fagan's second attempt, an alarm sensor detected him. A member of the palace staff thought the alarm was faulty and silenced it. En route to see the Queen, Fagan broke a glass ashtray, cutting his hand.[citation needed]

The Queen woke when he disturbed a curtain, and initial reports said Fagan sat on the edge of her bed. But in a 2012 interview, he said that she in fact left the room immediately, seeking security.[3] She phoned twice for police but none came. Fagan then asked for some cigarettes, which were brought by a maid. When the maid did not return to base for some time, footman Paul Whybrew appeared. The incident happened as the armed police officer outside the royal bedroom came off duty before his replacement arrived.[citation needed]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 expo97

would I be guaranteed a few acres in Ireland like a lot of them got in past times?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Nope, wouldn't Interest me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Lizzy not the best at selecting truly honourable candidates. Saville Harris and our own Tony o Reilly. None in the news at the moment for good reason. Alex Ferguson could be added as well. Bit of a tool when on the pitch. Brings the whole honours system into disrepute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,834 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

People already refer to me as Sir

"Sir, can you please stop doing that"

"Sir, I am going to have to ask you to leave."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Would I take a knighthood?

Depends... is it waterproof?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Nemeses wrote: »
    If you're from Merseyside :P

??? Wheres Merseyside? Never heard of it! ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    So would you refuse any reward of honor from any head of state or just the British?

Many countries have awards or medals which recognise achievements or contributions to the state, but which don't seek to confer any title of nobility or privilege.

I have no issue with those, I do have an issue though with archaic systems which confer feudal titles of nobility, peerage and privileges, handed out by hereditary monarchy.

I don't believe in kings, queen, lords, dames or any of the rest of that crap. if people are happy to believe that somebody is better than you just because of the parents they were born to, then more fool them.

sdeire wrote: »
    The idea of a method of rewarding civilians for acts of particular public good isn't inequal though. The US awards medals to civilians and so on.

It's only a knighthood because she's still the head of state, and it as a result makes you a knight of the Order of the British Empire.

Wouldn't accept it myself on point of principle (I would have an objection to swearing allegiance to the UK) but people like Bono have accepted them and not used the title.

There are still knighthoods which confer peerage rights (right to sit in the House of Lords) which is an offensive archaic system. But the very fact that its a title of nobility conferred by a hereditary monarch is wrong. that very institution offends my republican (in the democratic, not NI, sense) sensibilities.

And lastly, the idea of having anything today with the brittish empire would make me queasy. that colonial machine raped and plundered far too many countries around the world. i want nothing to do with it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I'd take it, and I'd ask herself and Cameron to come on over and try and fix up this ****e hole after the last shower of ghouls, its never been the same since they left devalera in charge

That's just being unnecessarily pedantic.
    You clearly understood who the OP was referring to. She's not our queen, she has no control over us or anything to do with us, but she is geographically the closest queen to us and the one we are most familiar with. If I refer to THE moon, you think of that thing we see in the sky at night time, you're not scanning through all the various moons of Jupiter, Saturn and Mars in your head.

No, its not. there are plenty of queens.

irish people using "the" queen to describe her suggests she holds some special position of importance for us. she doesn't.

whupdedo wrote: »
    I'd take it, and I'd ask herself and Cameron to come on over and try and fix up this ****e hole after the last shower of ghouls, its never been the same since they left devalera in charge

I always find it funny when people say that and then cringe at the thought of living in NI.

(They "left" Cumann na nGaedheal in charge, de Valera elected 10 years later :))

Of course, Irish people who accept titles can end up looking like tools.

This is hilarious! :)

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/harry-crosbie-nama-told-me-to-turn-down-obe-from-queen-30279027.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

newmug wrote: »
    ??? Wheres Merseyside? Never heard of it! ???

Never heard of Tranmere Rovers then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

floggg wrote: »
    I believe monarchy and titles of nobility are offensive to the idea of a monarchy.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

King me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

No ,cause Im a member of Scottish clan , with tartans , a Clan Chief and hes my boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

Many countries have awards or medals which recognise achievements or contributions to the state, but which don't seek to confer any title of nobility or privilege.

I have no issue with those, I do have an issue though with archaic systems which confer feudal titles of nobility, peerage and privileges, handed out by hereditary monarchy.

I don't believe in kings, queen, lords, dames or any of the rest of that crap. if people are happy to believe that somebody is better than you just because of the parents they were born to, then more fool them.
    Ok that's your opinion but we're not talking about hereditary titles here, we're talking about earned titles. Why would you turn that down?
    I always find it funny when people say that and then cringe at the thought of living in NI.
    In fairness NI has a whole host of ethnic and cultural problems the rest of Ireland never had. Like comparing chalk and cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Ok that's your opinion but we're not talking about hereditary titles, we're talking about earned titles. Why would you turn that down?

"earned"? You realise there isn't some transparent process for these awards? Don't remember the rather high ratio of Labour donors to nominees that sparked a police investigation?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

No, its not. there are plenty of queens.

irish people using "the" queen to describe her suggests she holds some special position of importance for us. she doesn't.

It's just a question of proximity and cultutal history.

The British Queen DOES hold some special position of importance to Irish people, simply due to the fact that she is the closest queen to us and speaks the same language as us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

She's going to have to do a whole truck-load better than some medal and buckshee title. I'll be requiring a proper, old-school peer-of-the-realm setup, with vast estates and armies and plenty of serfs to abuse, and what-have-you. Salary commensurate with experience, wha'?? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Take it and then punch her into the jaw bai