Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Irish weddings/funerals/christenings are such ****e with all that nonsense going on.

Who was there, who wasn't, who was asked, who gave what, who got to do the readings etc etc.

Just a minefield of pettiness that leads to lifelong grudges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭Afroshack

''Baby on board'' signs in car windows. CONGRATULATIONS you've procreated! It's such an irrational dislike, I can't explain it.

People who wait until they are already at the till/on the bus to carefully and slowly count out their change and have a full-blown conversation whilst they do so.

People who take out their iphones to take pictures straightaway at highly inappropriate moments (like when a girl in New York was hit by a taxi and lost her foot at the side of the road, or that lady in Birmingham gave birth outside Primark) I mean what is wrong with you people??!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Afroshack wrote: »
    ''Baby on board'' signs in car windows. CONGRATULATIONS you've procreated! It's such an irrational dislike, I can't explain it.

Yeah, i never understand those.

Do they think people are planning to plow into them when they are driving but see the sign and think "Better not murder these people by driving into them! They have a baby!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

People in my swimming pool wearing underpants instead of swimming togs , get out ye manky things ,and also drinking those protein shakes in the changing rooms ,yeuch .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Yep, a LOAD of that going around.
    I think invite who you want, don't invite who you want, wear red, black, green, just do it your way, make yourself happy! That's what we did and I danced until 5am (while my husband watched a movie on his laptop in the bridal suite from around 4am waiting on me lol) and didn't stop laughing all day.

Well said.
    Some people get so caught up in stuff that doesn't matter a damn, and almost forget what the day is about. Or they build it up to such a thing in their heads that the tiniest thing going 'wrong' will ruin it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Well said.
    Some people get so caught up in stuff that doesn't matter a damn, and almost forget what the day is about. Or they build it up to such a thing in their heads that the tiniest thing going 'wrong' will ruin it.

I am blue in the face telling people that your wedding day is the day you get married and nothing could make that not perfect or happy.
    We had a few issues with our venue but none of that matters now because it's the day we got married and it was the happiest day.

deise08 wrote: »
    At a masquerade ball tonight! photographer took pictures off all the other girls and smiled at me

obviously his lens would totally crack if he pointed it in my direction.

Trivially annoyed but glass of wine in hand :-)

Enjoy your wine, let him feck off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Not related to the girl talking about having wine, but I hate people saying vino instead of wine. Irks me no end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Still drinking lads :-) cheers.
    band killing a some really good songs :( ah well :) happy drinking :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Oops69 wrote: »
    People in my swimming pool wearing underpants instead of swimming togs , get out ye manky things ,and also drinking those protein shakes in the changing rooms ,yeuch .

Whats wrong with them drinking the shakes in the changing room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

siblers wrote: »
    When people say movie instead of film.

When people say "filum" instead of film.
    Have to stop myself screeching at them.

Ye're all wrong lads its the flicks :)

Trivial annoyance

a bad band!!!!

and that I'm on boards when I should be having a good time :-)

Trivial annoyance

a bad band!!!!

and that I'm on boards when I should be having a good time :-)

Invite me to your next masquerade ball and you're bound to have a good time ;)

:):) hope you're male. :) and I might just hold you to that

Nah, female and married but I'm great craic. I'm obviously not hanging in the right circles to get invited to masquerade balls.

:) no worries :) yep the more the merrier :):):) join the Macra :) that's how I came to this

The macra???
    And I'm officially a farmer's wife and all!

So what are No Hot Ashes like?? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

siblers wrote: »
    When people say movie instead of film.
    When people say "filum" instead of film.
    Have to stop myself screeching at them.
    When people take the p!ss out of me for pronouncing the "u" in film.

That's why I say movie instead of film!

So what are No Hot Ashes like?? ;)

Sorry to say it, but killing a lot of songs :( they're dj ing now so hope that's better than their playing.

Aw, pity, I'm a sucker for a bit of dancing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

All the fecking speeches at weedings. There's usually one after every course. Actually weddings in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

The warm side of the pillow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Slow service. We tried a new place yesterday, hasn't been open for more than a few weeks and it had lovely everything, except for the service. We only wanted cake and a cup of tea so my husband went up to order. Turned out it was table service, though no mention of that on the menu. They didn't bother to take his order when he went up so we'd to wait for someone to eventually toddle over and take the order.

15 minutes later the order arrived. Now in all this time there were about 6 staff milling about behind the counter doing everything but serving customers and there can't have been more than 5 tables occupied at the time. Personally I wouldn't bother going back but my husband wants to try some more of their stuff. I think it would have made a difference if they'd had an adult supervising the staff, they all seemed very young, probably students with no service experience, maybe even their first jobs.

Before anyone pounces on me, I did my time in waitressing when I was younger so I do know the in's and out's of it and it really wasn't busy. They just needed a manager to show them what to prioritise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

^^^

Like queuing to pay in a petrol station while 1 person serves and some gobsh1te just sits there filling the fag maching or something else irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Personally I wouldn't bother going back but my husband wants to try some more of their stuff. I think it would have made a difference if they'd had an adult supervising the staff, they all seemed very young, probably students with no service experience, maybe even their first jobs.

That place sounds familiar -

Czarcasm wrote: »
    ...Christ that full Irish I had this morning in "the cafe with all the models in it" (it's the only way my wife knew the name of the place I was talking about when we met up for breakfast this morning, I'm useless with names :o), really after leaving me sluggish! :pac:

Before anyone pounces on me, I did my time in waitressing when I was younger so I do know the in's and out's of it and it really wasn't busy. They just needed a manager to show them what to prioritise.

Hmm... too early for that craic! :p:D

Slow service. We tried a new place yesterday, hasn't been open for more than a few weeks and it had lovely everything, except for the service. We only wanted cake and a cup of tea so my husband went up to order. Turned out it was table service, though no mention of that on the menu. They didn't bother to take his order when he went up so we'd to wait for someone to eventually toddle over and take the order.

15 minutes later the order arrived. Now in all this time there were about 6 staff milling about behind the counter doing everything but serving customers and there can't have been more than 5 tables occupied at the time. Personally I wouldn't bother going back but my husband wants to try some more of their stuff. I think it would have made a difference if they'd had an adult supervising the staff, they all seemed very young, probably students with no service experience, maybe even their first jobs.

I know what you mean. Place I used to go to, there is one arrogant little fella, (I'd like to use a stronger word, but will refrain this once),he seems to work just weekends. I stood patiently one day, while he faffed about before barking something at me.
    Before I could ask for my coffee, he suddenly took off, and started clearing a table. WTF. Plenty of empty tables, and I was the only one waiting. I told him not to bother, and went to McDonalds, who actually do perfectly acceptable coffee, and I was served in jig time, by very pleasant staff.
    I've worked in plenty of roles that were customer facing, I know there are some people who are awkward for the sake of it, but that young brat's attitude will harm that business, long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

^^^

Like queuing to pay in a petrol station while 1 person serves and some gobsh1te just sits there filling the fag maching or something else irrelevant.
    They always seem to be sorting out the friggin crisp bags at the front of the counter as well !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I know what you mean. Place I used to go to, there is one arrogant little fella, (I'd like to use a stronger word, but will refrain this once),he seems to work just weekends. I stood patiently one day, while he faffed about before barking something at me.
    Before I could ask for my coffee, he suddenly took off, and started clearing a table. WTF. Plenty of empty tables, and I was the only one waiting. I told him not to bother, and went to McDonalds, who actually do perfectly acceptable coffee, and I was served in jig time, by very pleasant staff.
    I've worked in plenty of roles that were customer facing, I know there are some people who are awkward for the sake of it, but that young brat's attitude will harm that business, long term.

Is it a family run business? I only ask as the family run businesses are notorious for this, at this point I think of them as 'nobody else will employ our kids' businesses:D