Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    Well it's finally hit the world's media, as predicted.

K-Law 101, Oklahoma's best country music station has the refusal of 2 licences as it's 7th story, only being beaten by such globally important stories as "Five Safety Tips for Your Pets this Fourth of July" and pictures of "Artists Wearing the American Flag". Top story in Oklahoma country circles is the news that Lonestar have reformed and are bringing out a new album.

The people of his own state don't give a toss about this, much less the decision makers on investing in Ireland inc.

K-Law 101 Oklahoma's Best Country

Article posted 2 days ago.

0 Comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

nm wrote: »
    So let's say.. Electric Picnic this September, that doesn't exist?
    Not yet no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,393 ✭✭✭✭JRant

So let's say.. Electric Picnic this September, that doesn't exist?

And if a tree falls in the forest and there's nobody around what sound does it make?

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

You're obviously not involved in every sending anything into the planning office. The truth is it is always left to the very last minute as it allows for the most changes to be made to the application. In theory it reduces risk for the promoter as the granting of the licence was always seen as a formality.

Clearly not the case any more.

In other words:
    Greed and blackmail are a formality, as are arrogance and a total disregard for the law. Well buddy the law just bit back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

JRant wrote: »
    And if a tree falls in the forest and there's nobody around what sound does it make?

Before you cut an orange open, us it already orange inside?

he didn't lose as he got 3, not granting the other 2 licences was a bad thing for the city and the state as it means less money coming in that we could do with, its badly needed

You should probably get on to GB so and tell him he has it wrong and actually won. The poor chap thinks we're after his kids!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Cienciano wrote: »
    As I said, the fans are buying Garth's idiotic statement:

I'm not a Garth fan, but his motivations are obvious to anyone who isn't an idiot.

He's putting pressure on to force all 5 through, not looking to cancel them all so all this talk him killing all his kids and what not is rubbish.

I am late getting into this, but if Harney had not called it the Bertie bowl, we would not have this problem, we would have had a state of the art sports center second to none, all lost over cheap sarcastic political point scoring of a failing politician.

You forgot to mention that the Bertie Bowl (named by McDowell, not Harney,) would have cost us 250 times its true cost due to payment to paddy de plasterer et al.
    Great to so many see apologists for Ahern, FF, and planning corruption out themselves over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Not yet no.

It does though in the real world, that's the thing.

I have plans to build a house, I have land, builders, painters, decorators, plumbers and electricians
    I have people (say 400.000) willing to pay rent to live here.
    I have applied for planning permission which every other house got but hasn't been granted to me yet.

Do i have a house?

The 'real' world?

The real world for you is not the real world others experience. It's all relative really.

The law though is a different animal altogether. Aiken applied, were refused licenses for 2 concerts, end of.

Before you cut an orange open, us it already orange inside?

That's deep man, deep....

I have plans to build a house, I have land, builders, painters, decorators, plumbers and electricians
    I have applied for planning permission which every other house got but hasn't been granted to me yet.

Do i have a house?

Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,154 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I'm not a Garth fan, but his motivations are obvious to anyone who isn't an idiot.

He's putting pressure on to force all 5 through, not looking to cancel them all so all this talk him killing all his kids and what not is rubbish.

Doesn't matter what his motivations are, his analogy is stupid, that's the entire point of the post.
    Garth is the one that comes across as an idiot with his statement, as are his fans that are buying it, and Garth will again when he either has to go back on his word or if he actually does cancel the other 3 concerts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Do i have a house?

You'll get 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Lads slagging off the residents over noise because they dont live on jones road itself.

Are you for fecking real ?

I was in santry when one direction was on and I could hear the feckers...

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You'll get 3.

It's 5 or i kill my kids or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Cienciano wrote: »
    As I said, the fans are buying Garth's idiotic statement:

Will you ever give it a rest, seriously..

You're acting like Garth Brooks wants to rip off the Irish public or something.

The man could have played these gigs at Madison Square Garden if he wanted to. He has played to almost a million people in Central park. He was not short of venues and fans eager for his comeback, but.. he chose Croke Park, as it is the venue in which he has always maintained has the best audience.

This is not something he has just made up in an effort to sell tickets here, he has being saying it for many many years and in his box-set 'The Entertainer', one of the discs is even dedicated solely and exclusively to those Croke park shows which he played back in '97 and also to the Irish fans as a whole but hey, sure why not pretend that he is somehow spoofing us, if it helps your oh so bloody obvious agenda here, which is clearly to paint the guy in as poor a light as possible, just so you can excuse your nonsense opinion that the guy just blowing smoke up our arse just so he can make as much money as he can.

Will you ever give it a rest, seriously..

You're acting like Garth Brooks wants to rip off the Irish public or something.

The man could have played these gigs at Madison Square Garden if he wanted to. He has played to almost a million people in Central park. He was not short of venues and fans eager for his comeback, but.. he chose Croke Park, as it is the venue in which he has always maintained has the best audience.

This is not something he has just made up in an effort to sell tickets here, he has being saying it for many many years and in his box-set 'The Entertainer', one of the discs is even dedicated solely and exclusively to those Croke park shows which he played back in '97 and also to the Irish fans as a whole but hey, sure why not pretend that he is somehow spoofing us, if it helps your oh so bloody obvious agenda here, which is clearly to paint the guy in as poor a light as possible, just so you can excuse your nonsense opinion that the guy just blowing smoke up our arse just so he can make as much money as he can.

So why is he willing to **** over 240,000 fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Do i have a house?

400,000 people willing to pay rent? Must be one big ass house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Should have booked Chris Gaines to play Tuesday & Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

You forgot to mention that the Bertie Bowl (named by McDowell, not Harney,) would have cost us 250 times its true cost due to payment to paddy de plasterer et al.
    Great to so many see apologists for Ahern, FF, and planning corruption out themselves over this.

Attacking the poster weakens you argument, I am certainly no apologists for Ahern.

LowOdour wrote: »
    400,000 people willing to pay rent? Must be one big ass house.

Time share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

he didn't lose as he got 3, not granting the other 2 licences was a bad thing for the city and the state as it means less money coming in that we could do with, its badly needed

He got 3 and threw his toys out of the pram
    He could still play those 3 gigs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Tired of all the "5 nights or none" bullsh1t now. If all 5 are cancelled it's nobody's fault but Garth Brooks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

So why is he willing to **** over 240,000 fans?
    You're caught in a negative mindset loop here.

Rather that see the man as not willing to see 160,000 fans get shafted just because of the days that they were due to attend the concerts on, you are choosing to see him as possibly going to disappoint the 240,000. The simply fact remains that he wants to see the 400,000 ticket holders happy and that is what should be focused on here, little else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

You're caught in a negative mindset.

Rather that see the man as not willing to see 160,000 fans get shafted just because of the days they were attending, you are choosing to see him as possibly going disappoint the 240,000. The fact the remains that he wants to see the 400,000 happy and that is what should be focused on here.

B0llox. He wants the money!

You're caught in a negative mindset.

Rather that see the man as not willing to see 160,000 fans get shafted just because of the days they were attending, you are choosing to see him as possibly going disappoint the 240,000. The fact the remains that he wants to see the 400,000 happy and that is what should be focused on here.

It's not a negative mindset, He said 5 or none. So if there's no way to appease the 160,000 all 400,000 get shafted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

You're caught in a negative mindset loop here.

Rather that see the man as not willing to see 160,000 fans get shafted just because of the days that they were due to attend the concerts on, you are choosing to see him as possibly going to disappoint the 240,000. The simply fact remains that he wants to see the 400,000 ticket holders happy and that is what should be focused on here, little else.
    No, the fact is that if he cancels the three shows that were granted permission, then he is the one disappointing 240,000 people. It's fairly simple mathematics really.
    Also, where's that grand you owe me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭LowOdour

Excuse my ignorance....but is this stage setup so extravagant that it could not be moved to another venue ( Btw I don't care if the gigs to ahead or not).

Is he recording the show....and the equipment is specifically for croke park?

I heard some one say that the first few gigs would be test runs.