Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

I can't believe what I'm reading.

Garth Brooks wouldn't be my cup of tea, but it's laughable that these concerts have been cancelled.

Are these people surprised that there might be events on in the 80,000 seater stadium that they live beside?

This is pig in the kitchen gombeenery at its worst. All five concerts should go ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

Garth Brooks wouldn't be my cup of tea, but it's laughable that these concerts have been cancelled.

Are these people surprised that there might be events on in the 80,000 seater stadium that they live beside?

This is pig in the kitchen gombeenery at its worst. All five concerts should go ahead.

Where do you live, lets have a 5 day gig outside, only 1000 people limit, since your so open minded!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

i could actually arrange this, will be "techno" though bud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Mary Lou should be ashamed of herself . She knows she's giving hope to people like Hardluckwoman where no hope exists. Shameless grandstanding and wagon jumping by SF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

Where do you live, lets have a 5 day gig outside, only 1000 people limit, since your so open minded!

And he doesn't mind if his garden is used as a toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

How would you enjoy living in lockdown for a week? Not being able to drive to and from your house? Not being able to have guests? Having to go through checkpoints to get home?

Why do you live beside Croke Park then?

The stadium was there long before you were.

I chose not to live beside an 80,000 seater stadium so where I live is irrelevant.

And as for people urinating in gardens, it's Garth Brooks not Snoop Doggy Dogg FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Bit of a contradiction the from Mary Lou - "we'll intervene to make sure all the disruption goes ahead but we must make sure not to disrupt the residents"...?

Votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes votes.

Votes.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,330 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

The music events in Croker have increased hugely over time.

90's = 3
    00 - 09 = 12
    10-14 = 12 (that's including for 3 Garth Brooks gigs)

If the 5 Brooks gigs were to go ahead that'd 8 concerts there which is nearly the same as the whole of what was there in the 00's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I chose not to live beside an 80,000 seater stadium so where I live is irrelevant.

And as for people urinating in gardens, it's Garth Brooks not Snoop Doggy Dogg FFS.

Alot of reports are coming out that people bought property close to the stadium, And had no idea an 80,000 seat stadium would be used for any other purpose than sporting events. Which I find very hard to believe.
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    The music events in Croker have increased hugely over time.

90's = 3
    00 - 09 = 12
    10-14 = 12 (that's including for 3 Garth Brooks gigs)

Yeah strange that something that changes over time. Just like a city centre does. More and more people able to travel into the capital via better motorways throughout the country luas and so on. The city centre is only going to get more and more people visiting it year on year, to use the amenities services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

This old argument again I see

There's a massive difference between a one off gig and a 5 night residency. Frankly I'm amazed that so many people seem to fail to grasp the distinction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

Totally agree!
    Lets all go back to the good old celtic tiger days, ignore regulations, ignore planning permission, and ignore the little guy, so that a chosen few can make easy millions....I mean that worked so well last time :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

It will never reach the second stage.
    Typical populist shíte but unsurprising since the were at the vanguard of culture of greed that fecked this country up!
    They haven't gone away ya know!

P_1 wrote: »
    There's a massive difference between a one off gig and a 5 night residency. Frankly I'm amazed that so many people seem to fail to grasp the distinction.

And I'm amazed that people think they are living in a small country town. Or think any disruption should not be tolerated due to this misconception.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

How would you enjoy living in lockdown for a week? Not being able to drive to and from your house? Not being able to havei guests? Having to go through checkpoints to get home?

Actually on that point anytime there are phoenix park gigs on I would be an affected residents but I actually enjoyed all the hub bub bar the SHM gig and as for guests they either arrived before things got busy or while gig was on so they had very little hassle there either

And I'm amazed that people think they are living in a small country town. Or think any disruption should not be tolerated due to this misconception.

There's disruption and then there's disruption though.

Personally I think it's not entirely unreasonable for people not to want to live in a state of lockdown for a week

These concerts would be good for Ireland Inc and the "disruption" is being exaggerated.

I suspect that the socio economic profile of the residents is relevant too. I can't see the residents of Ballsbridge and Sandymount having much of an issue with a 5 night residency in Lansdowne Road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Id seriously love to be the person in charge of the decision.

My reply to sinn fein would be "would ya ever feck off and do something decent with your time and stop pissing over a silly concert just for popularity votes."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

You're reading it wrong so. They weren't cancelled as they never had permission or a licence in the first place.

And gombeenery would be to ignore planning laws and concerns in order for a few people to make a profit

I can't see the residents of Ballsbridge and Sandymount having much of an issue with a 5 night residency in Lansdowne Road.

Why not?

Personally I think it's not entirely unreasonable for people not to want to live in a state of lockdown for a week

Then move, Dublin has been a quiet sleepy city for a long time. I understand people don't like change. But people will just have to accept the fact that Dublin is becoming more and more like other European Cities. More people able to travel in and out easily, More tourist, More people wanting to avail of entertainment and services. All these laws will have to change to reflect Dublin becoming a more vibrant and cosmopolitan city. It’s not the 1960s anymore People need to accept more and more disruption. It’s never going back to the way it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

I can't see the residents of Ballsbridge and Sandymount having much of an issue with a 5 night residency in Lansdowne Road.

Actually, the Aviva has a much more rock solid limit in place.

Explain why you think "socioeconomics" figures?

"Lockdown"

Seriously?

We're not talking about Nazi Germany. What about the upsides? Free tickets and the ability to have BBQs and drinks for family and friends attending the concerts...

Utter gombeenery - The fingerprints of Sinn Fein / IRA and angry working class gasbaggers are all over this debacle.

miju wrote: »
    Actually on that point anytime there are phoenix park gigs on I would be an affected residents but I actually enjoyed all the hub bub bar the SHM gig and as for guests they either arrived before things got busy or while gig was on so they had very little hassle there either

Do you live on Blackhorse Avenue? I just loved the discarded beer cans, bottles and other rubbish as well as people pissing against the park wall during those gigs.

Then move, Dublin has been a quiet sleepy city for a long time. I understand people don't like change. But people will just have to accept the fact that Dublin is becoming more and more like other European Cities. More people able to travel in and out easily, More tourist, More people wanting to avail of entertainment and services. All these laws will have to change to reflect Dublin becoming a more vibrant and cosmopolitan city. It’s not the 1960s anymore People need to accept more and more disruption. It’s never going back to the way it was.

Just a tad patronizing don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Utter gombeenery - The fingerprints of Sinn Fein / IRA and angry working class gasbaggers are all over this debacle.

Hahahaha. You're actually losing the plot now, you know that right? In fact Sinn Fein are pretty much where you should be pinning your hopes if you want any concerts to go ahead - http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sinn-fein-to-table-emergency-motion-on-garth-brooks-concerts-635450.html

Hilarious, you only have to go back a few posts to find a link mentioning their motion they'll put forward on Monday asking for the decision to be reversed.

I don't think you know what a gombeen is, nor the first thing about what's happening here.

Jamsiek wrote: »
    Just a tad patronizing don't you think?

Not at all it's simply facts. Dublin's quiet days are over you can't stop the city from developing. More and more people using the facilities is a natural progression.