Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

hynesie08 wrote: »
    The Irish people will still spend the money in Ireland, plus their ticket money, people from the US and Canada will still come over. Maybe a few quid lost from people in the North but no, I don't see it making that much of a difference.

Ha ha what? With that mentality then nothing ever gains money for the economy, because people will eventually spend it anyway.
    Money only needs to get spent once right? That'll be enough for tax take for the country :rolleyes:

And anyone that doesn't cancel their plans to come here from abroad for a Monday or Tuesday give will have had their trip soured by this decision. Some impression to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,972 ✭✭✭✭tk123

hoodwinked wrote: »
    my point there though was surely the residence knew what they were getting into buying/renting on the doorstep of a large venue, like you would should you buy next to an airport.

hence i don't feel they have the right to complain now, seriously whats next roads being closed during certain hours because neighbours can't sleep with the noise of traffic outside? or local pubs/nightclubs having to close because the neighbours around it don't like the anti social behaviour at 2am? where does the madness end?

any resident there pre the concert era fair enough, they couldn't have seen this coming, anyone who moved there in the past 30 years, i have no sympathy for,

i am not a garth brooks fan, but this is an awful precedence to set that venues there before the residents have to adjust to suit them.

You don't have a clue honestly - it's not just Jones and Clonliffe road that are affected - most of Dublin 1/3/5/7/9/11 is.

I think it's good that DCC stood up to the promoters - there's too much of an above the law attitude - throw money at a situation and get what you want. At the same time - look if it's going on for 3 nights then have the other 2 and then draw a line under it. I'd like proper traffic calming'/control in the area - some people have no common sense and a few strategically placed guards would solve the problem. I want to be able to drive down my road and park in my driveway without some idiot blocking us all in. My neighbour literally dropped dead on a match day a couple of years ago but had gone for a stroll in the park when he felt sick so it was accessible and they brought him back to life! :D there's no way an ambulance would have gotten down the road that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

DrumSteve wrote: »
    They agreed to put on a certain amount of gigs per year.

they didn't, they agreed to put on a certain amount then apply for an events licence
    They tried to put on more than that and they got caught out.

they didn't, the council didn't grant the licence for them all but they granted a licence for the majority
    Not sure how the residents are at fault here for trying to keep up an agreement that was made.

they didn't keep up any agreement, the council just didn't grant licences for all the gigs, but they get to have the majority along with the other 3 gigs earlier this year.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

So you dont think there have been people in here saying to bomb the area, **** in peoples gardens, kick off wing mirrors, cause havoc in the area etc?

And that is only todays posts. Go back and you will find the residents referred to as a bunch of try c*nts.

Yup, I am exaggerating.

And so were the posters your quoting.

It's not supposed to be taken literally but that's the sentiment I guess when that amount of people are put out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

So you dont think there have been people in here saying to bomb the area, **** in peoples gardens, kick off wing mirrors, cause havoc in the area etc?
    I was the person who mentioned wing mirrors. For the last time, I suggested there was a possibility of it happening and so I wouldn't leave my car there if I was a resident. I most certainly need not say that people should go and "kick" them off cars. You are shit stirring on this thread.

Jamsiek wrote: »
    Comments like this is the reason why the residents are getting so much support on this thread. Power to the people! Great news
    only on this thread, not much anywhere else it looks like, so i guess its not power to the people i'm afraid

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

They applied, and failed, so why do you keep going on about it?
    they applied, and failed to get them all, but got the majority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

nm wrote: »
    And so were the posters your quoting.

It's not supposed to be taken literally but that's the sentiment I guess when that amount of people are put out.

True, I suppose this is one of those issues where people feel very strongly on one side or the other. Not many seem to try to see if from both sides and lots of 'big talk' on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

They agreed to put on a certain amount of gigs per year.

they didn't, they agreed to put on a certain amount then apply for an events licence

they didn't, the council didn't grant the licence for them all but they granted a licence for the majority

they didn't keep up any agreement, the council just didn't grant licences for all the gigs, but they get to have the majority along with the other 3 gigs earlier this year.

^^:confused:

You're basically agreeing with what Im saying.

Jamsiek wrote: »
    Comments like this is the reason why the residents are getting so much support on this thread. Power to the people! Great news

There is a lot more people want these gigs on then don't, so power to the people is far from appropriate here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,769 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

if the 3 gigs rule/agreement existed then these wouldn't have gone ahead at all, the fact 3 have, says its nonsense and doesn't exist, so they knew the rules all right and applied for the events licence like they were required to., the amount of concerts is tiny, only a couple of nights/days, people had the opportunity to object to croke parks re-development

The 3 gig agreement does exist, it has been linked here numerous times by other posters. All from reputable news outlets. I don't know why you are still arguing that it doesn't exist when it has been proven beyond any doubt that it does it exist. Furthermore if it doesn't exist then that would mean the residents are just making stuff up. If that were the case then the GAA would be calling them out on that. The GAA haven't once throughout this saga denied the existence of the 2009 agreement to host three concerts per year. In fact when it was referred to them by the residents the GAA replied that "times move on", in other words they wanted to back out of the existing 2009 agreement.

Yet here you are still claiming the agreement doesn't exist when even the GAA themselves have admitted that it does.

Furthermore you also claim that because permission was granted for 3 of the 5 concerts was given that this then means the 3 concert agreement doesn't exist. This is more rubbish from you, it means nothing of the sort and you are now just making stuff up to suit your agenda. The agreement was made between the residents and the GAA, it is not legally binding on anyone, least of all DCC. It is an agreement which is very different in law to a contract. If the residents had a contract not allowing more than 3 gigs then DCC would have been on very shaky ground giving planning permission for any of them.

And as things stand the residents are now entitled to appeal the current decision to An Bord Pleanala who are already on record as stating that three concerts a year is preferable. In the event that ABP cannot make a decision in time before July 24th the residents can instead go to the High Court and try to get an injunction against the GAA to stop them holding any of the concerts. That's within their legal and democratic rights, the same rights that all of us have as citizens.

Whatever the residents decide to do I wish them the best with it. It's the GAA who brought this mess upon themselves and they've been served a little bit of comeuppance this afternoon. There was a way to deal with this through dialogue right back last Feburary when the concerts were being planned. They didn't do that and hence the community is up in arms at the treatment and attitude shown towards them. I don't blame them for one minute, I think most people would feel the exact same if a large organisation or company tried to trample over their rights in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Ha ha what? With that mentality then nothing ever gains money for the economy, because people will eventually spend it anyway.
    Money only needs to get spent once right? That'll be enough for tax take for the country :rolleyes:

And anyone that doesn't cancel their plans to come here from abroad for a Monday or Tuesday give will have had their trip soured by this decision. Some impression to leave.
    Roll your eyes all you want, what are people gonna do with the money they have for the gig? Hide it under the mattress? Instead of getting spent in a pub in drumcondra it gets spent in a pub in offaly. And nobody's gonna cancel a week's holiday because theirs 3 gigs instead of five. Intact instead of spending every day in croker they might actually have time to go sightseeing and maybe even spend more money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Was actually reading a decent suggestion there:

Let the 5 concerts go ahead if a moratorium is placed on all concerts in Coke Park for the next 2 years.

Fine the promoters and the GAA 500k each and then from 2016, enter a binding agreement with residents for the number of concerts allowed per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Faolchu

Muahahaha wrote: »

And as things stand the residents are now entitled to appeal the current decision to An Bord Pleanala
    I may be wrong but I dont think they can. with normal planning permision applications yes ABP is the next step but this is an events license so i think teh only next step is court

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Roll your eyes all you want, what are people gonna do with the money they have for the gig? Hide it under the mattress? Instead of getting spent in a pub in drumcondra it gets spent in a pub in offaly. And nobody's gonna cancel a week's holiday because theirs 3 gigs instead of five. Intact instead of spending every day in croker they might actually have time to go sightseeing and maybe even spend more money.

I won't bother try to explain the tax and economy part because I don't think you'll understand it if you don't already.

The second point is equally ridiculous, why don't you go and tell someone travelling from Canada or the USA with a Monday ticket only, that it's grand sure they can go on the Viking Boat tour instead, or visit the Spire perhaps? I'm sure they'll be delighted.

It's a ****ing joke that the bogball association and Aiken had the sheer arrogance to promote/sell tickets to these concerts without a license and pretty much ignore local residents concerns whilst doing so right up until a few weeks before the concerts were due to commence when they realized they were in legal trouble,

they didn't ignore residents concerns, they just didn't pay out
    its a ****ing joke that people like you blame the local residents for standing up for themselves,their homes and families instead of the greedy,incompetent twats in GAA and Aiken HQ.

they weren't "standing up for themselves their homes and families" they wanted to dictate to a business how and when it can make money even though they had opportunities to not get themselves into such a situation but chose to anyway by deciding to live near the stadium and or not objecting to its re-development, the GAA and promotors weren't greedy
    it's great to see people like yourself advocating vandalism to local residents property,as it vindicates the one of the reasons the residents didn't want 600,000+ mucksavages in the vicinity of their homes for 5 nights straight in the first place.

no, they don't want croke park to be used unless they get some of the proffits themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

There is a lot more people want these gigs on then don't, so power to the people is far from appropriate here

Jaysus there an awful lot of Tripe being spouted in this thread.

21/25

anncoates wrote: »
    Was actually reading a decent suggestion there:

Let the 5 concerts go ahead if a moratorium is placed on all concerts in Coke Park for the next 2 years.

Fine the promoters and the GAA 500k each and then from 2016, enter a binding agreement with residents for the number of concerts allowed per year.

I still don't really agree that it shouldn't be used for 2 years (again what a waste) but that would have been a far better, and fairer, solution that what's happened.

Definitely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

I blame Brooks for this mess. Without him none of this would have happened, what an awful man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

they weren't "standing up for themselves their homes and families" they wanted to dictate to a business how and when it can make money even though they had opportunities to not get themselves into such a situation but chose to anyway by deciding to live near the stadium and or not objecting to its re-development, the GAA and promotors weren't greedy
    Do we really have to counter argue, or can I just come out and say that the above is complete shíte?
    The above is complete shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I won't bother try to explain the tax and economy part because I don't think you'll understand it if you don't already.

The second point is equally ridiculous, why don't you go and tell someone travelling from Canada or the USA with a Monday ticket only, that it's grand sure they can go on the Viking Boat tour instead, or visit the Spire perhaps? I'm sure they'll be delighted.
    I will, find me someone flying in and out of Ireland on just the one day and I'll gladly point it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

That agreement should be torn up and shoved up the residents holes.

It's unreal that an 80,000 capacity stadium will sit empty while Ireland turn away the biggest acts in the world and all the money that comes with having them over here, all for a few grannies in some poxy residents association.

Ridiculous.

I think it's your comment that's ridiculous here.
    Dry your eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,717 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I still don't really agree that it shouldn't be used for 2 years (again what a waste) but that would have been a far better, and fairer, solution that what's happened.

Definitely.

That's the thing, if they tried to reach some sort of agreement with the residents beforehand all of this could have been avoided. Instead they just plowed on regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭uch

Cienciano wrote: »
    Do we really have to counter argue, or can I just come out and say that the above is complete shíte?
    The above is complete shíte

How can you multi -thank a Post ?

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Definitely.

Not using it for 2 years is the important part and the very least the residents should get in that hypothetical scenario given that there would have been 5 additional concerts this year.

Penn wrote: »
    That's the thing, if they tried to reach some sort of agreement with the residents beforehand all of this could have been avoided. Instead they just plowed on regardless.

We should let them know that we've figured it out now anyway.

Does someone have the email address to send this thread link to? :cool:

anncoates wrote: »
    Not using it for 2 years is the important part and the very least the residents should get in that hypothetical scenario given that there would have been 5 additional concerts this year.

Or the 'agreement' should be done away with and Croke Park used whenever it's required, like most stadiums in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Punchestown seem eager to hold the concerts:
    Punchestown racecourse and venue would be delighted to accommodate the cancelled Garth Brooks concerts and facilitate the disappointed fans.

As a venue, Punchestown has run dozens of very successful concerts over the last number of years and is recognised as one of Europe’s finest concert venues.

The local statutory authorities and stakeholders are extremely supportive of concerts at Punchestown and it is estimated that two such events would generate €15 million for the local economy.

Unfortunately there are a number of logistical and legal issues outside Punchestown’s control that would be very difficult to resolve in the short term.

That said we are available to do everything possible to accommodate the disappointed Garth Brooks fans.
    Have seen AC/DC there and it's certainly suitable. Similar crowd capacity also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Some impression to leave.

Indeed. Thank Aiken and CP for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Correct decision IMO. This wouldn't be such a big deal if this country in general didn't have such problems with alcohol and public order offences.

Too many people just cannot go out and enjoy the event for what it is. And it's not exclusive to the "Garth Brooks" crowd. I was at Arcade Fire on Sunday in Marlay park and saw plenty of people off their faces.

I think the GAA crowd is slightly different. Any massive concert / event like Garth Brooks are a one off, but the football / hurling is on every year. And the game / time in the stadium is much shorter. And people tend to disperse more quickly after the games - heading home or whatever.

Any type of music event is going to attract anti-social behaviour. It's an all day event, people literally go drinking all day and it's not nice. This more than anything I think is what the residents have a problem with and that is perfectly understandable.

I would love to see a day in Ireland when public displays of outrageous drunkenness become socially unacceptable.