Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croke Park residents to seek concert injuctions.....your opinions?

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Anyone know whats happening with refunds?

I know they'll keep the booking fee.

Its says on their website that they will refund the ticket price and any per ticket service charge. Does that not mean they will refund the booking fee?

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/legal/purchase.html?tm_link=tm_homeA_i_ourpolicy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭SteM

Paulie1987 wrote: »
    Ok il simplify :). An airport Is likely to be daily noise pollution 24/7 365 days of the year. Garth brooks playing a few gigs is 5 days in these persons lives. Why not go on holiday with the money being offered and come back when Garth has come and gone :)

What money was being offered or are you talking rubbish again? The 'legacy' fund mentioned by the mediator was never cash-in-had for the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Its says on their website that they will refund the ticket price and any per ticket service charge. Does that not mean they will refund the booking fee?

http://www.ticketmaster.ie/legal/purchase.html?tm_link=tm_homeA_i_ourpolicy

Might do indeed, I'd imagine they'd be open to a legal challenge if they didn't.

Is it going to be automatic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,533 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

VinLieger wrote: »
    Fair play that they won, credit where its due, however I still disagree with their stance and i hope they don't go through with the court case now as well
    this was the councils decisian, the residents will try make a victory out of it but really it was stopping the lot they wanted

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

nm wrote: »
    That agreement should be torn up and shoved up the residents holes.

It's unreal that an 80,000 capacity stadium will sit empty while Ireland turn away the biggest acts in the world and all the money that comes with having them over here, all for a few grannies in some poxy residents association.

Ridiculous.

Nope it's an agreement and the gaa / croke park can't do that . They knew it would go to DCC to make a decision and they chose to cancel two gigs .
    The gaa knew about said agreement but yet bullishly moved on with their plans to have 5 nights . They should have went with 3 nights in croke park and then move it elsewhere for 2 more nights . But nope the gaa / croke park where being greedy and got stung badly .
    So you can't blame the residents association for the muppetry of the gaa / croke park .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Paulie1987 wrote: »
    Ownership or it's purposes are irrelevant simple man. Residents are concerned with the disruption pure and simple. A concert lasting a few days although frustrating goes away after a few days. I don't know many residents are affected but it's bad form to deprive 160,000 people of a bit of happiness for a couple of nights. Seems very cold hearted IMO.

The residents were offered money were they not?

Nope, A "legacy fund" of €500,000 was offered and refused. No actual payment to the residents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Ranchu

Fair play to the residents. The right side won on this occasion. I wonder if the fans will turn on the big man if he pulls out of the other shows or will they blame the residents for that as well.

Valetta wrote: »
    Just don't announce which two are being cancelled until the day of the concert.

Problem solved. :D
    good idea, the fans could still turn up to croke park and have an old sing song, shur thats a grand idea

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭SteM

Irishcrx wrote: »
    What are you on about? Obviously the demand was there the 5 nights were sold out. The three original concerts were sold out in record time and touts were mopping up with huge prices for tickets..

1) 5 nights were not sold out.People could still buy tickets for the Monday and Tuesday today.
    2) If the first 3 nights sold out in record time why was some poster here able to buy tickets for the Sunday night earlier today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,591 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

pc7 wrote: »
    Busy airports, restaurants, hotels, pubs, hairdressers, beauty salons, buses/taxis to name a few! It was huge for the city and country.

Dublin isn't our economy. It generates revenue for Dublin but there is a net loss for our economy when Garth Brooks leaves with his cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Those people with tickets for the cancelled concerts had a lucky escape, not having to listen to that rubbish:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

lol. They most certainly will not get train, hotel and plane refunds.

Irish rail will give 80%, hotels if booked directly generally 100%.

Have you ever been on a train?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭lambayire

SteM wrote: »
    1) 5 nights were not sold out.People could still buy tickets for the Monday and Tuesday today.
    2) If the first 3 nights sold out in record time why was some poster here able to buy tickets for the Sunday night earlier today?

Unused season ticket holders not taking up their options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Skid X wrote: »
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=91109962&postcount=3297

Worth a try for anyone who had Monday or Tuesday tickets.

4 tickets!

The fecker better not go and fupping cancel Sunday!

Peppa Pig wrote: »
    This is the main reason why I support the residents case.

If you cannot accept democracy .......
    find a better reason, his/her point isn't a reason

Because as I said additional tickets became available at a later date when final stage plans etc were known. The first three nights were sold out for the capacity that was officially available at the time.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Proper order. Delighted for the residents.
    its not "proper order" croke park would have been legitimately within their rights to host the 5 if they wanted to, still, the residents failed to stop the lot

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Dublin isn't our economy. It generates revenue for Dublin but there is a net loss for our economy when Garth Brooks leaves with his cut.

You will have all the people coming from down the country getting their hair/nails done, hiring local buses to come to Dublin so that is everyone getting something. Also getting something out of Garth is better than nothing now if the 5 are cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

That's standard practice, Ticketmaster often release more tickets (without fanfare) closer to the date of the event.

If you keep trying you can often get tickets for 'sold out' events.

Garth Brooks cut would be very small in comparison to the amount of money pumped into Pubs, hotels, restaurants etc.

I hate Garth Brooks but my god this is a fine example of selfishness.

Crazy how they pulled it off. Would 2 more nights be so bad? This tool makes some people very happy.
    i don't think it was ever about the concerts, but the residents associations vendetta against the GAA and croke park, still as i said, they failed to stop them all, we got the majority

pc7 wrote: »
    You will have all the people coming from down the country getting their hair/nails done, hiring local buses to come to Dublin so that is everyone getting something. Also getting something out of Garth is better than nothing now if the 5 are cancelled.

Using what money? The money they'll spend in their town instead, Plus the money from getting their tickets refunded. It's probably gonna be better for the economy now there's an extra €7 million or so floating around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is going to have a massively negative impact on Garth Brooks hats, scarves and headbands. Might send us into another 'cession.

i don't think it was ever about the concerts, but the residents associations vendetta against the GAA and croke park, still as i said, they failed to stop them all, we got the majority

Who's we?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Play play to the residents. The right side won!

Feel for the fans, Aiken should have never sold them tickets when a license wasnt in place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

This is going to have a massively negative impact on Garth Brooks hats, scarves and headbands. Might send us into another 'cession.

The manufacturer of pink plastic cowboy hats has just lost 40% of his market!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

As an innocent bystander/messer on this thread who couldn't care less either way, I genuinely thought all 5 would go ahead.

There must have been many sleepless nights for some recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

nm wrote: »
    That agreement should be torn up and shoved up the residents holes.

It's unreal that an 80,000 capacity stadium will sit empty while Ireland turn away the biggest acts in the world and all the money that comes with having them over here, all for a few grannies in some poxy residents association.

Ridiculous.

In fact, why don't we just grind those grannies up and feed them to the poor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

Isn't Dublin something like 80% of the economy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

I feel for the people going to the 3 days that weren't cancelled. They will have to put up with a couple of hours of listening to Garth bloody Brooks