Wild Atlantic Way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Is it only good for drivers and cyclists?

Are there options for the remainder of people?

Just thinking out loud. But it is spectacular alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I cant wait to do the wild atlantic way, the 13 step process in Turf Cutting is a mystery that needs to be seen.

It's a rare event these days, you need to find three things; spade turf, bad weather, and somebody with too much time on their hands. But you're welcome on the WAW any time. :)

Is it only good for drivers and cyclists?

Are there options for the remainder of people?

Just thinking out loud. But it is spectacular alright.

Everyone is welcome on the Wild Atlantic Way.

(I feel like that monorail guy)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

mike_ie wrote: »
    2011: India Special
    2012: Vietnam Special
    2013: Africa Special
    2014: Burma Special

2015: Kerry to Donegal (via Connemara) Special...?

Nope, not seeing it....
    Maybe they could throw the rugged irish sea trail in there going from wexford to belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Ah thanks, I know that!

But if you cannot or do not drive, and are not a cyclist......it's not an option really, is it?

I await correction. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

It's a rare event these days, you need to find three things; spade turf, bad weather, and somebody with too much time on their hands. But you're welcome on the WAW any time. :)

Don't forget getting ate by midges and bitten by horseflies, authentic or nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Don't forget getting ate by midges and bitten by horseflies, authentic or nothing.

Would that make turf cutting a 14 step process then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Would that make turf cutting a 14 step process then?

Yes, but it won't seem that way, as when the midges come out in clouds you'll step a hell of a lot faster ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Maybe turf cutting could be part of the Top Gear Challenge.

Ah thanks, I know that!

But if you cannot or do not drive, and are not a cyclist......it's not an option really, is it?

I await correction. :P

Never fear, there are dozens of tour operators that will only be too happy to accommodate you. :) A quick Google and you will see.

Some of the route isn't suitable for large coaches though, motorhome, car, bike or bicycle is the best way to go if you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

The Mizen-Malin-Monorail, I can see it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

You don't know the wild atlantic way until you've teetered at 60 miles on on the cliff road rounding the Ceide fields, in the back of a air freshner disguised Jetta held together with rust, circa 1998.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭dee_mc

I had American customers yesterday who'd planned to 'do' the WAW in the space of a week (including the drive back down to Shannon airport). They landed in Shannon, and drove down to Cork. Stayed there 2 nights instead of 1 as they were wrecked with the driving. Drove on to Doolin, stayed 2 nights instead of 1 as they were wrecked with the drink. Cancelled all their hotel bookings for the rest of the week and fecked away over to the Aran Islands for the rest of their stay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Call me crazy but when the reports came out, I could have sworn that we were going to be developing the largest coastal scenic driving route in Europe. I had taken that to mean there would be actual development work...not just putting up a bunch of signs. Some of the roads around the coast are feckin' lethal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Call me crazy but when the reports came out, I could have sworn that we were going to be developing the largest coastal scenic driving route in Europe. I had taken that to mean there would be actual development work...not just putting up a bunch of signs. Some of the roads around the coast are feckin' lethal

This is just another rebranding exercise beloved of the stuffed suits in Bord Failte/Tourism Ireland. A chance for Government minsters to have photocalls for gullible journalists, repeated relaunches of the same programme and signs, lots of signs....:rolleyes:

For once I think it's a sensible branding exercise. Think of the "Great Ocean Road" in Australia. Everyone knows about it and talks about it, tells you "you must do the Great Ocean Road" etc etc. Is it any better / more scenic than the west coast of Ireland? Not really.

Giving the drive a name makes it easy for people to say "I'm doing the wild atlantic way". It makes it an easy to understand destination or holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭oceanman

its a nice idea but I would be bringing my own sambos....any meals along the route will be a total rip off!

Well I hope the Wild Atlantic Way is better than the website http://www.ireland.com/en-gb/wild-atlantic-way which is very unresponsive. I love the West of Ireland having holidayed there many times and managed it with no more than an old AA guidebook - a new edition could have been done for a lot less than the sexy (?) website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Its a great idea, whats not to like, no jackeens

Sorry to disappoint, but we've been doing it for years. ;)

I'd bet I've done more of it than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Rucking_Fetard

Well I hope the Wild Atlantic Way is better than the website http://www.ireland.com/en-gb/wild-atlantic-way which is very unresponsive. I love the West of Ireland having holidayed there many times and managed it with no more than an old AA guidebook - a new edition could have been done for a lot less than the sexy (?) website.

http://www.discoverireland.ie/Wild-Atlantic-Way

http://tourireland.com/wildatlanticway/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,733 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

As someone said already on this thread, it's a good initiative to get people to the Atlantic seaboard. Hopefully it will revive winter tourism and bring down prices that are forced upon people that only have a few months to make money. I do a lot of off season trips from South Kerry to Donegal, it would be super cool to see more life and to have more places open for tourism. It was fine when it was just me and the wife, an estate or camper with a roof of boards, but now with kid we need more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Giving the drive a name makes it easy for people to say "I'm doing the wild atlantic way". It makes it an easy to understand destination or holiday.

Or dance.

I think the wild atlantic way would be an excellent fad dance. People would do it at weddings all up along the west coast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

John_Rambo wrote: »
    As someone said already on this thread, it's a good initiative to get people to the Atlantic seaboard. Hopefully it will revive winter tourism and bring down prices that are forced upon people that only have a few months to make money. I do a lot of off season trips from South Kerry to Donegal, it would be super cool to see more life and to have more places open for tourism. It was fine when it was just me and the wife, an estate or camper with a roof of boards, but now with kid we need more...

what have you got against west Cork??you jackeen you

kingchess wrote: »
    what have you got against west Cork??you jackeen you

Ha! Do it nearly every year kingchess! Just forgot to mention it...

langer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Mentioned in another thread that I'm hoping I'll get a chance to do it in late July! Will be bringing the car. How long should it take really like? Distance-wise it's hardly huge, unless I'm gettin smashed in every town along the way I can't see it taking 2 weeks.
    mike_ie wrote: »
    Should have a Boards Atlantic Way - figure out who lives along it. Anyone's welcome to pull up for a cupán tae in my place in Galway if you decide to do it :D

Was actually thinking of that! :D Who fancies showin me around yer local parish or whatever you country folk call it? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Just back from down that way :-) only two days but it was lovely and quite and relaxing, The cork people were great.
    Started in kinsale then onto Baltimore then mizen head back to Baltimore,next day we went inland into beal na blaith,

(must say the spot where Michael Collins was killed is not widely signposted or publicised,when I asked the chap in the hotel where it was,he looked at me in surprise and said sure we forgetting all about our real history boy and smiled)

We then went unto Blarney castle and kissed the Blarney Stone, thought the tour of the house at the back of the castle was much more interesting as people are still living init today.

It was a great today's except the rain, it started Thursday night in Baltimore and dident stop till last night back in Dublin, would I go back down that way, deffo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

If I were to ever do this I would go the other way as it would be nicer to end up in more happening spots.

realies wrote: »
    Just back from down that way :-) only two days but it was lovely and quite and relaxing, The cork people were great.
    Started in kinsale then onto Baltimore then mizen head back to Baltimore,next day we went inland into beal na blaith,

(must say the spot where Michael Collins was killed is not widely signposted or publicised,when I asked the chap in the hotel where it was,he looked at me in surprise and said sure we forgetting all about our real history boy and smiled)

We then went unto Blarney castle and kissed the Blarney Stone, thought the tour of the house at the back of the castle was much more interesting as people are still living init today.

It was a great today's except the rain, it started Thursday night in Baltimore and dident stop till last night back in Dublin, would I go back down that way, deffo.

But all this could have been done without any rebranding. I've spent many holidays in County Cork and didn't need any help from Bord Failte/Tourism Ireland etc.etc. Some weeks ago I tried to enquire about something via Clonakilty Tourist Office but was automatically put through to a centralised control centre that had no local knowledge. Wouldn't the money be better spent on local tourist offices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

But all this could have been done without any rebranding. I've spent many holidays in County Cork and didn't need any help from Bord Failte/Tourism Ireland etc.etc. Some weeks ago I tried to enquire about something via Clonakilty Tourist Office but was automatically put through to a centralised control centre that had no local knowledge. Wouldn't the money be better spent on local tourist offices?

Oh you knew about it? I suppose the rebranding was useless then. Because you are the most important person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,360 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

If I were to ever do this I would go the other way as it would be nicer to end up in more happening spots.

The idea is to get away from the happening spots tbh.