Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

murpho999 wrote: »
    Maybe they have no choice.

Amazed that Suarez is not getting more criticism on here for seemingly pushing for a transfer again. You can't expect the club and manager to put up with that all the time

No matter how great a player he is I thnk he's treating Liverpool and its fans like sh1t.

Well he has gone about it in a much better way than last year. To be honest, I felt he was gone once he signed the new contract, you just knew there was an added clause to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

Divock Origi looks like a really good prospect.

This time last year we were fighting to hold onto Suarez. We really don't need to sell him now. The British media just want to see the back of him.

Can we get the guy signed quickly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

If Liverpool want Sanchez as part of the Suarez deal they'll need to do a lot more than Ayre trying to negotiate in London with Barca officials.
    They need to make contact with Sanchez's agent asap and then the player himself. Make him feel wanted, sell the idea that Liverpool want him to replace Suarez. The idea of filling the boots of world class talent might help sell the notion to Sanchez.

Origi looks pretty raw. Looks a good prospect alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

rarnes1 wrote: »

He's playing for Belgium in the World Cup. I think he's more than a prospect in fairness

Hidalgo wrote: »
    If Liverpool want Sanchez as part of the Suarez deal they'll need to do a lot more than Ayre trying to negotiate in London with Barca officials.
    They need to make contact with Sanchez's agent asap and then the player himself. Make him feel wanted, sell the idea that Liverpool want him to replace Suarez. The idea of filling the boots of world class talent might help sell the notion to Sanchez.

You are talking like the club has never signed anyone before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

rarnes1 wrote: »

A great prospect I would say. Only turned 19 a few months ago.

In a few years he could be scary good.

murpho999 wrote: »
    He's playing for Belgium in the World Cup. I think he's more than a prospect in fairness

I wasn't criticising the chap.

He isn't an established star yet is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Yup.

They have several Players, that I think, would easily make Low-to-Mid-Table EPL Clubs. Bedoya and Bradley in particular.

Yedlin, I wouldn't mind taking a Punt on. Only 20yo, and he'd probably Cost cheap.

Yeah its a half decent side and great team spirit.

Yedlin gets forward a lot but I did notice he failed to track back on Hazard but I suppose thats only to be expected with the amount of forward runs he makes.

I really like Bradley, nearly everything the US do looks to go through him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

He's (Origi) a good bit behind Lukaku and Benteke but he has talent.

Played well for such a young man tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Charlie19 wrote: »
    Yeah its a half decent side and great team spirit.

Yedlin gets forward a lot but I did notice he failed to track back on Hazard but I suppose thats only to be expected with the amount of forward runs he makes.

I really like Bradley, nearly everything the US do looks to go through him.

Yeah, he kinda reminds me of Rakitic.

Oh he just got an Assist too. If I were a Low-to-Midtable EPL Club, I'd take a good long hard look at Bradley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

If I were a Low-to-Midtable EPL Club, I'd take a good long hard look at Bradley.

2457791-0400837245-in2oC.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Raif Severance

Even though they Lost, that was a real Gusty Performance by USA.

They really pushed a Star-laden Belgian Team, even with them 0-2 Down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Commentator suggested Howard go up the pitch for the final free kick....

Rightly, Howard just took the free kick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Thought we retired the number 20 shirt after the tremendous servant (and talent) that was Aly Cissokho. Lallana has big boots to fill :)

BSICv5YCcAAsPZy.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

aramush wrote: »
    Thought we retired the number 20 shirt after the tremendous servant (and talent) that was Aly Cissokho. Lallana has big boots to fill :)

BSICv5YCcAAsPZy.jpg:large

Ah here...not even the club can spell Sakho right :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

He should have got Enrique's number...not like he'll need it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

Remember Freddy Adu? Poor sod.

Brfj0tcIYAA87dr.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Who's in charge of the squad numbers and how the hell did Alberto, Aspas and Assaidi get 6, 9 and 11?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Jako8 wrote: »

Brfj0tcIYAA87dr.jpg

Turned out to be... Much Adu about nothing in the end.

Sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

Anyone else see the reports linking us with Ryan Bertrand again? ffs..if we sign him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

5starpool wrote: »
    Turned out to be...

(•_•)

( •_•)>⌐■-■

(⌐■_■)

Much Adu about nothing in the end.

YEAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH

Fyp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,209 ✭✭✭✭klose

Jako8 wrote: »

Brfj0tcIYAA87dr.jpg

Ah stop, he'll come good eventually...

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Excellent performance from Origi. Only one bad mistake was not anticipating the chance that rolled across the box in the second half. While he is still young and has a few rough edges, he really does has have a lot of the traits from the modern day striker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    Excellent performance from Origi. Only one bad mistake was not anticipating the chance that rolled across the box in the second half. While he is still young and has a few rough edges, he really does has have a lot of the traits from the modern day striker.

I can see why they would want to loan him back to Lille though. Needs to play. Don't think he was even a regular for Lille last season. Granted he was only 18 for most of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

So 80 million pounds for Luis Suarez to Barcelona. Will be sad to see him go. If we can get Sanchez in with a chunk of cash that will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

£80m me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,356 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

We'll never know one way or the other but I reckon that after last summer when Suarez signed his deal, he was told he could go if Barcelona or Real came in for him this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭jimmymal

We'll never know one way or the other but I reckon that after last summer when Suarez signed his deal, he was told he could go if Barcelona or Real came in for him this year.

Yeah, I remember thinking that last year, kind of Ronaldo/Fergie deal. Stick around one more year, play your heart out and go wherever you want next year and let us both cash in.
    Thought it would have been Real though.

Bit defeatist perhaps but if it was good enough for the aforementioned probably good enough for us.
    It would be great if we could get Sanchez or otherwise attract other world class players all on our own but that time is not yet here.

Swap deals that i can think of that worked out successfully don't seem to be that common, in fact the only high profile one that i could think of, that did, was Ibra/Eto'o. at least for Inter and Eto'o, however short lived it may of been.
    Any one here think of others that have worked out well at any level?