2014 After Hours World Cup oh my god i can't wait for a month of football thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Paddy Power have Switzerland at 6/1 against Argentina today. Might be worth a wee bet. They've played some good football so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Paddy Power have Switzerland at 6/1 against Argentina today. Might be worth a wee bet. They've played some good football so far.

If they can starve Messi there's a chance but to be honest I think Argentina will be too strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Tarzana wrote: »
    Not sure why Netherlands are getting such flack. It was a dive but it was also a penalty.
    a bit of a contradiction don't you think?
    If a player dives like a ballerina in Swan Lake then its cheating!
    He won the penalty by leaving his foot in against a naive Mexican defender who doesn't have Champions League experience where cheating and diving is tolerated by imbeciles. ie UEFA and FIFA who turn a blind eye as long as the readies are rolling in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Boooooooooo
    He won the penalty by leaving his foot in against a naive Mexican defender who doesn't have Champions League experience where cheating and diving is tolerated by imbeciles. ie UEFA and FIFA who turn a blind eye as long as the readies are rolling in.

Rafa Marquez is a double champions league winner with Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Boooooooooo

Eh you do know Rafa Marquez won the Champions League with Barcelona in 2006?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Boooooooooo

Not at all. They are two separate things. A player indulging in theatrics doesn't mean he wasn't fouled.

Boooooooooo
    There is contact but it's so minimal Robben needs to almost show the ref it's happened to make his mind up for him hence the 'dive'/theatrics.

On the other side if he falls too theatrically he runs the risk of the ref thinking he dived!

Either way I don't like the Dutch but it'll take a decent team to beat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Rafa Marquez is a double champions league winner with Barcelona.
    ok ok, my mistake, Robben won the peno like the expert he is and it's still cheating. One of the most outrageous dives I've seen.

Boooooooooo
    ok ok, my mistake, Robben won the peno like the expert he is and it's still cheating. One of the most outrageous dives I've seen.

I agree with ya. I dont know how from someone barely standing on your toe you can react with your two legs flying out in different directions, arms in the air, twisting your body etc. Its defies the laws of physics really. FIFA then take no action against him despite the fact he admitted he cheated - I didnt expect anything else especially after the rivaldo incident in 2002. They protect who they want when it pleases them. He's such a good footballer Robben, but I cant stand him.

Boooooooooo
    It's the same with slight shirt pulls in the box, pulling someones shirt won't cause them to fall most of the time but the player will do it to try alert the ref that it's happening/happened.

Boooooooooo

Jaysus 2 weeks ago you didn't even know how to do a bet, now look at ya......we've created a monster :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

kfallon wrote: »
    Jaysus 2 weeks ago you didn't even know how to do a bet, now look at ya......we've created a monster :pac:

I'm okay with single bets. It's doubles and accumulators that cause my brain to melt!

I threw a fiver on them anyway at 16/2... so they have no hope of winning now.

Boooooooooo
    I threw a fiver on them anyway at 16/2... so they have no hope of winning now.

I think you mean 8/1 :pac:

Hope USA win tonight, been impressed with them so far especially their right back whom I've been so impressed by I've forgotten his name :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I think Belgium will take the US in a similar fashion to the rest of their games. For a team that was hyped up as potential winners, they are god awful boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Boooooooooo
    I think you mean 8/1 :pac:

Hope USA win tonight, been impressed with them so far especially their right back whom I've been so impressed by I've forgotten his name :o

DeMarcus Beasley? Deadly speed

Boooooooooo
    WilyCoyote wrote: »

Fabian Johnson, he destroyed Portugal. Beasley is on the left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Boooooooooo

Oops, sorry! But he's on the right in my screen. Must have the tube back to front :)

Hope ye all have the Bud, Coors, real beers in the fridge. USA 2 Belgium 1 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Boooooooooo
    Oops, sorry! But he's on the right in my screen. Must have the tube back to front :)

Got 8 Heineken with two free branded cooler bags :cool: :)

Boooooooooo

Ugh, no, not that ex-Rangers bollix :mad: :P

That's the trout :)

Boooooooooo
    The Swiss are starting to wilt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Boooooooooo
    Plenty of holes in this Swiss defence, much like their cheese...

Boooooooooo
    martyos121 wrote: »
    Plenty of holes in this Swiss defence, much like their cheese...

But their flag in fairness is a big plus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Boooooooooo
    But their flag in fairness is a big plus!

It's simple and uninspired. You'd almost call it neutral...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Argentina really are a one man team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

http://makeswordswork.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/Duvel-image.jpg
    http://upic.me/i/84/201209194asahihoegaarden.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Boooooooooo
    Swiss have skillz to pay billz

Toying with the argies at times

Boooooooooo
    I'm hoping the Swiss do it for Otty Hitzfeld, his brother died yesterday. Either way his team has done him proud no matter what!

Boooooooooo
    Inler for Switzerland has been immense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Fuycking hell :mad:

Boooooooooo
    Ah Jaysus :(