Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Mod Notes in OP,22/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭xtal191

Antibac wrote: »
    Will look even better with Herrera and Shaw on the back if them!

Dont forget Vidal, Sanchez, Strootman and Kroos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

The same thing happens every year when the new kit is released, I can't remember everyone ever being happy with a kit at first :pac:

Think it's the nicest we've had in a while to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

@Sport_Witness
    Follow

Claims in Spain today that Manchester United are still providing competition to La Liga's big two for Toni Kroos.

Bob Cass @Bob_Cass
    Follow

No Kroos ... yet. But at least I got Shaw right

Cass has connections with United,especially with Fergie so he's reliable,Sports Witness is great for foreign stuff,plus they filter out the sh1te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Adamocovic wrote: »
    Not 100% but think Nike deal runs out after the 2015-2016 season (Might be 2017-2018), Chevrolet signed a 7 year deal starting this season.

I thought it was to be renewed earlier. Right, carry on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

I think they were talking about $1bn 10 year renewal with Nike before Xmas but then the club's form went into a complete nose dive and it went quiet after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

I thought it was to be renewed earlier. Right, carry on. :)

I think there's 1 season left on the Nike deal, hopefully it's the last with the crap they've been producing for us the last few seasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Zico wrote: »
    I think they were talking about $1bn 10 year renewal with Nike before Xmas but then the club's form went into a complete nose dive and it went quiet after that.

Yeah wasn't it a 13 year deal back in 2002 or something? There was talk about a renewal as you said but haven't heard anything final, Nike might wait till it runs out and see where the club is.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Shaw deal happened fast once his World Cup was over. Hopefully similar will happen with other targets (hoping for Germany to get knocked out soon:pac:)

I hope he turns out to be everything Headshot wants,

Have to admit I saw a lot more of Herrera than Shaw so I have no idea what to expect from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Sanchez and Vidal hopefully to get knocked out tomorrow so Ed can do the double

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭ispini1984

Lads, is the attached upcoming seasons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The new kit really isn't that bad, it'll grow on us after seeing the players wearing it over the season

I agree, I think they're grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Shaw seems very nervous in that interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,341 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

give me sexy football and results and I will worry about a jersey then.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

He's an 18 year old kid who's just become the most expensive teenager and has signed for the biggest club in the world, he's bound to be a bit jittery.
    I'd say he'll do his talking on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,930 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

bantee wrote: »
    He's an 18 year old kid who's just become the most expensive teenager and has signed for the biggest club in the world, he's bound to be a bit jittery.
    I'd say he'll do his talking on the pitch.

Yeah I know, I'm 6 months older than him so he's made me feel a massive failure today, I'm ****ting the bed at job interviews :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Yeah I know, I'm 6 months older than him so he's made me feel a massive failure today, I'm ****ting the bed at job interviews :pac:

Don't fret. Everyone ****s the bed at job interviews, no matter what age. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭martin101

Shaw played great last season and against big teams. He will have evra there to guide him aswell. He will be fine and in time be a big success for us I feel.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

The word seems to be that we want to get one CB and one CM in now,with Vidal and Vermlean (sp) the preferred choices, and then "the exodus" will begin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 40,107 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Agent Edward. The name cracks me up everytime.

Van Gaal = Agent Oranje. :pac:

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I expect no new signings in the lifetime of this new thread. That's not even trying to be funny.

Ye can all thank me now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,764 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Lord TSC wrote: »
    The word seems to be that we want to get one CB and one CM in now,with Vidal and Vermlean (sp) the preferred choices, and then "the exodus" will begin.

I can't believe Vermaelan would be a preferred choice. I also hope not! With his injury issues again I was hoping he was a player that was linked as an extra rather than the only CB signing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭martin101

DM-ICE wrote: »
    I can't believe Vermaelan would be a preferred choice. I also hope not! With his injury issues again I was hoping he was a player that was linked as an extra rather than the only CB signing.

He looks like he has no confidence what so ever aswell. Hope we don't get him. I'd rather us buy vertongen. Good player, maybe prone up the odd mistake though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

zerks wrote: »
    Cass has connections with United,especially with Fergie so he's reliable,Sports Witness is great for foreign stuff,plus they filter out the sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Ed The Equalizer

Thought he was very impressive for an 18 year old. Has that Beckham-like self assurance about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Peanut Butter Jelly

If Vidal, Pogba and Kroos were not available, who else would you like to see signed for the CM role?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

If Vidal, Pogba and Kroos were not available, who else would you like to see signed for the CM role?

In reality I'd be happy with someone like De Jong for now and maybe Strootman in January. Not the most amazing names but more realistic.

Kinda want Centre Back to get a major name if i'm honest. I think we need at least 1 player for centre back if not 2. Hummels being the major name.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

Had pints with two of my best buddies (Liverpool fans)...upshot is two €500 bets that United will finish ahead of our friends.

In LVG we trust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

DM-ICE wrote: »

Speaking of preferred CB choice... Can't believe Garay went to Zenit for what is basically a song in today's market.... Strange one ad we had been linked with him heavily over the years....

One thing is for sure, we do need a CB, a commanding 'Vidiv figure' back there, rest of the team is shaping up nicely but that has to be the key area to focus on now.... Fingers crossed for Hummels, he looks so solid as a defender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Had pints with two of my best buddies (Liverpool fans)...upshot is two €500 bets that United will finish ahead of our friends.

In LVG we trust.
    i firmly believe you will be quids in...