Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    What really gets me is the way chuggers insist on being so fuucking happy even when you are downright rude to them. Many's the time I've snarled "get out of my way" or "do I know you" at them and they just keep bounce away screeching, "have a good day!" - I'll have whatever kind of a fuucking day I want right?! Imbeciles. They must be on something. Nobody is that happy...

Are you my long lost mind twin?! Or are we just both grumpy and miserable!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Are you my long lost mind twin?! Or are we just both grumpy and miserable!!

lol, I'm grumpy but I'm not miserable :) I embrace the grumpiness, I think its a good thing. Teaches people not to be knobs and cuts out ridiculous frivolities like small talk and incessant nattering. If we were all grumpy the overall standard of humanity would actually increase :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Weather talk annoys me.

I was just in Lidl getting a few bits for lunch and i heard a young one say to the cashier "Back to the winter. It's ferocious cold today."

No it isn't. It's overcast, a bit drizzly and maybe a degree or two cooler than the previous few days we've had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭Dramatik

Posting a slice of bread out the letterbox to them, seems to work well for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Weather talk annoys me.

I was just in Lidl getting a few bits for lunch and i heard a young one say to the cashier "Back to the winter. It's ferocious cold today."

No it isn't. It's overcast, a bit drizzly and maybe a degree or two cooler than the previous few days we've had.

raaaaaaaaaar!!! I think there should be a tax on talking about the weather. Certainly a fiver for every time the word "bitter" is used. A tenner if you say "our summer is over". And that poor girl probably had the same thing said to her 50 times already. I've perfected a look now for people who talk about the weather, and it works really well because they rarely say things that require answers. They will actually tell you what its doing:

"Cold out there now"

"Looks like we're in for it now"

"Looks like rain"

"I think our summer is gone"

- all of these can be met with a completely blank expression. It's hard to do but if you can keep it up for five seconds you will see the numpty wither before your eyes :P I love doing this!

Course as a back up, if they do insert a question (eg nice day isn't it?) you can give a shortened version of the look, raise one eyebrow and say "is it?" :D

Call from my manager just there now to tell me she didn't get my hours wrong and that I must have got mixed up. I could nearly hear her doing the buck tooth face. Then as she was going through my days she was laughing that I was getting so wound up. Then! She goes "oh sorry Lexie I hadn't marked you in for Tuesday".

I told her I'm looking for a new job and hung up on her. Bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

[
    eisenberg1 wrote: »
    With my wife/sister/cousin beside me.......all one and the same:eek:

Was that you on Jerry Springer last week?The guy with no teeth...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Colser wrote: »
    [

Was that you on Jerry Springer last week?The guy with no teeth...:D

Yup, that was me, Daryl, the one with the purty mouth....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

raaaaaaaaaar!!! I think there should be a tax on talking about the weather. Certainly a fiver for every time the word "bitter" is used. A tenner if you say "our summer is over". And that poor girl probably had the same thing said to her 50 times already. I've perfected a look now for people who talk about the weather, and it works really well because they rarely say things that require answers. They will actually tell you what its doing:

"Cold out there now"

"Looks like we're in for it now"

"Looks like rain"

"I think our summer is gone"

- all of these can be met with a completely blank expression. It's hard to do but if you can keep it up for five seconds you will see the numpty wither before your eyes :P I love doing this!

Course as a back up, if they do insert a question (eg nice day isn't it?) you can give a shortened version of the look, raise one eyebrow and say "is it?" :D

"Summer was on a Tuesday this year..." :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Our door bell doesn't work. Suits me as I tend not to open it unless I'm expecting someone. Just heard a complete racket outside with someone banging the letterbox over and over again. Opened it to find a member of one of our most well known nomadic groups standing there. He introduces himself as James, thrusts a flyer for his tree cutting business into my hand and tells me he is around the area at the moment in case I need any odd jobs done. Yeah f*cking right I do James and even if I did I wouldn't use you if you were the last handyman on earth. And to top it all his banging has woken the youngest from her nap.

What is wrong with people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,205 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Yup, that was me, Daryl, the one with the purty mouth....

This you here, lah??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭daithi7

Call from my manager just there now to tell me she didn't get my hours wrong and that I must have got mixed up. I could nearly hear her doing the buck tooth face. Then as she was going through my days she was laughing that I was getting so wound up. Then! She goes "oh sorry Lexie I hadn't marked you in for Tuesday".

I told her I'm looking for a new job and hung up on her. Bitch.

You can't let her away with that, not just for you but for all the others whose livelihood she no doubt toys with also.

if you are threatening to leave cos of her tell her why but also tell her boss. if you are leaving cos of her tell her, but write an email/letter to her boss or the owner. you'll find it will be the last time she will treat your wages as a play thing and she'll begin to treat her workers with a lot more respect, which would be no harm by the sounds of it.

to all those giving out about people who talk (endlessly) about the weather, I've only 3 words for ye.......

GUILTY YOUR HONOUR :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Do what Daithi says if you have any courage at all. By not standing up to bullies you are validating their behaviour and existence. Don't bother taking the high road. Ruin her career in there. It's what she deserves. She's brought it on herself. No remorse. No surrender ;)

Seriously though, drop her in the **** BIG TIME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

daithi7 wrote: »
    to all those giving out about people who talk (endlessly) about the weather, I've only 3 words for ye.......

GUILTY YOUR HONOUR :)

Ah c'mon, it's too hot for that carry on:D

'now i didn't find out hot this morning, but i think it's very muggy this afternoon, in fact there was thunder in the last hour in Cork, .'.... followed by earnest discussion about the merits if rain for the gardens at this time of year.... oh bliss:)

daithi7 wrote: »
    'now i didn't find out hot this morning, but i think it's very muggy this afternoon, in fact there was thunder in the last hour in Cork, .'.... followed by earnest discussion about the merits if rain for the gardens at this time of year.... oh bliss:)

oh dont get me started on the merits for the garden.. I was in heaven last night watching all the rain lash down and reprelenish my plants...

Ill stop now :D

The sad part is she isn't doing it to be a bully or to be mean, she's doing it cause she's thick as dog****e god love her. Example, she spells jobs as "jops". I **** you not. She's not bullying me at all she just hasn't a clue what's going on. She started her career late in life (she was over 40 when she qualified) and treats her job like her hobbie that she fits in around her kids. She recently took over as manager but only will work 3 days a week. That leaves me working 5 days which is grand cause most of the time she's not in but then when she is in she moves stuff around from a to b and doesn't tell anyone, looses the keys on a regular basis, can't read what hours/days I do, can't read the emails without deleting the entire inbox. She's just simple.

Anyway - trivial annoyance.
    Older ladies with bits of ombré in their hair trying to be funky. Hmm. I just saw a lady with a bob in her hair, longer bits at the front and there was a chunk either side of her head that the ends were blonde. Rest of her hair was dark. Reminded me of a springer spaniel. WHY?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

What really gets me is the way chuggers insist on being so fuucking happy even when you are downright rude to them. Many's the time I've snarled "get out of my way" or "do I know you" at them and they just keep bounce away screeching, "have a good day!" - I'll have whatever kind of a fuucking day I want right?! Imbeciles. They must be on something. Nobody is that happy...

Chuggers annoy me full stop. I had one fool coming towards me one evening on Grafton St, a while back, with his arms outstretched, for a hug. I just stepped around him, as I always do, with any unsolicited approach for money.

Speaking of that fake cheeriness, those ones flogging skin cream etc in shopping centres. 'Have a nice day', they yell, in a tone that suggests 'I hope you fall and break your face'...

That I will, thanks, now sod off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

2 things, headaches and masking tape. I've been masking off all the white work that needs glossing tomorrow, now I've got a thumping headache:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

LynnGrace wrote: »
    Chuggers annoy me full stop. I had one fool coming towards me one evening on Grafton St, a while back, with his arms outstretched, for a hug. I just stepped around him, as I always do, with any unsolicited approach for money.

It's the fake "heyyyyyyy!" right-on student twat, pavement dancing, enthusiasm (usually from some greasy-haired, bearded bellend) that boils my piss.

Action this day! A cull on chuggers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭BeerSteakBirds

, she spells jobs as "jops". ...She started her career late in life

She must be persistent though to get a job in the end :pac: especially if she spent a few years Googling 'jop interviews' and surfing to jop.ie etc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

People on here are always giving out about kids in restaurants, but i have the opposite complaint.
    We bring our daughter out a lot and she is a very good eater and well behaved. However, she is only young and can only concentrate for so long, the last thing we need is some numpty (usually a waitress) winding her up constantly.
    By all means say hi and be friendly, but we don't need your peek a boo and waving all through dinner.
    I know they mean well, but they end up ruining our dinner as we have a wound up child who won't sit still and it ends up looking like we have a naughty child.
    I can't imagine they would continually interrupt a group of adults by talking to just one of them all evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Eating cereal and as you put a spoonful into your mouth, a bit of milk comes off the spoon and down your chin.

So trivial but so annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

maguic24 wrote: »
    OMG loike what a twat loike. I would have been loike, get a grip loike, totes loike not okay girl.

Closed account :eek: Always weird when posters disappear like that and you never know why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭Mr_Spaceman

Eating cereal and as you put a spoonful into your mouth, a bit of milk comes off the spoon and down your chin.

So trivial but so annoying.

Shredded Wheat is fecking fierce for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Closed account :eek: Always weird when posters disappear like that and you never know why.

Yeah, really weird. I wonder did she rereg?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

Heatwaves with temperatures in the 30s that are going to last until the end of next week (so Enviroment Canada says).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

This thread was definitely an interesting read! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Typing with a plaster on my finger. I can touch type so slow typing is annoying.