Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long will Suarez's ban be? Mod warning in OP and post#455

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    Has there been any word on an appeal ?
    And if he was to appeal (unsuccessfully )would it push back the start of the 4 month ban ?

If he were to be unsuccessful, the ban would probably be increased.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

Fuhrer wrote: »
    If he were to be unsuccessful, the ban would probably be increased.

Think this was cleared up earlier onTwitter. I will try and find the link.

Basically no grounds for increase due to failed appeal.

Pro. F wrote: »
    The downplaying and whataboutery is being done with the intention of defending Suarez, obviously. Stop playing dumb.

Edit: it's funny to see you jump straight to the whataboutery yourself there, with the reference to people over-playing the incident. I never denied that there are people overplaying the incident, that hasn't been debated. But you jump to it straight away as a way of deflecting from the fact that you were wrong when you tried to claim there haven't been people defending Suarez.

People are defending Suarez as a Liverpool player, not defending the incident. Stop playing dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

murphk wrote: »
    True about Beckenbauer I'd forgotten that,

Two points though he was on a FIFA committee so in essence their employee and also that was very recent.

Also just because Beckenbauer hasn't challenged it in a court (there would be no benefit) doesn't mean Liverpool/Suarez can't

On the analogy its not as far off as you suggest FIFA is the ruling body of a voluntary organisation it doesn't have any statutory rights in any country im aware of. Liverpool is a PLC who happen to be a member of the PL and Through them UEFA and then FIFA, but its relationship with its employees is ruled by English employment law not FIFA, If the law doesn't allow this the Liverpool won't be able to enforce it

I reckon this punishment has been made intentionally harsh and may come down on appeal.

I get what you're saying but FIFA have a lot of rules and stipulations in place to allow them to do this.
    FIFA make rules which UEFA(and the FA) accept by joining FIFA. E.g. If FIFA say no player can take their shirt off during celebration, the FA must impose it because they agreed to follow FIFA rules and guidelines.
    They are not saying Suarez cannot be employed, so they are not breaking employment laws. They are saying he can't play in matches. I assume Suarez is still getting paid, but Liverpool can fine or sue him depending on his contract - there are rumors they had some clause about behavior in his contract
    Liverpool would have some basis for appeal, but I think they would lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Robson99

Cant believe some think that the punishment was severe. Seemed about right considering that this is the third time he has been found guilty of BITING an opponent. Dogs and Rats bite, humans dont. Biting and spitting at an opponent are the lowest of the low in sport.
    Lets not forget he has also been found guilty of Racism as well.
    As regards the punishment being harsh on Liverpool , well what goes around comes around. Silly T-Shirts and defending him to the last on his two previous encounters while at Lfc has come back to bite them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

12 month global ban
    Have to agree with Hansen, although Uruguay obviously want him available as soon as possible, the way they are completely ignoring what happened is disgraceful. I would love to see Fifa punish Uruguay even more if they try and appeal this ban.

Hopefully people remember this World Cup for the goals and excellent matches more than for this ridiculous event.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

1 match
    Robson99 wrote: »
    Silly T-Shirts and defending him to the last on his two previous encounters while at Lfc has come back to bite them

I know, they wound up stuck with the best player in England on their books-serious egg on face there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 martin jackson

all the man u ****ed and chelsky fans are delighted with the ban, and if you check you will find that most papers photoshopped the pictures to make it look like he had taken a chunk out of him

sabat wrote: »
    I know, they wound up stuck with the best player in England on their books-serious egg on face there.

4 months nowhere near the club now. Egg on the face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭same ol sh1te

all the man u ****ed and chelsky fans are delighted with the ban, and if you check you will find that most papers photoshopped the pictures to make it look like he had taken a chunk out of him

So you think Fifas decision was wrong as it was based on Photoshopped images?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,139 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

1 match
    Cant believe some think that the punishment was severe. Seemed about right considering that this is the third time he has been found guilty of BITING an opponent. Dogs and Rats bite, humans dont. Biting and spitting at an opponent are the lowest of the low in sport.
    Lets not forget he has also been found guilty of Racism as well.
    As regards the punishment being harsh on Liverpool , well what goes around comes around. Silly T-Shirts and defending him to the last on his two previous encounters while at Lfc has come back to bite them

It hasn't really though. He put liverpool back into the champions league. Something that would have been laughed at if suggested at the start of last season. Liverpool have benefited hugely from having stood by Suarez.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

1 match
    4 months nowhere near the club now. Egg on the face

So after the last ban, what course of action could have worked out better for Liverpool? BTW that no training aspect of this ban is bollox-there's no way FIFA have that in their power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

7 matches
    HigginsJ wrote: »
    I'm a United fan.

Think the ban is about fair really. I know most people on here probably couldn't care less what sort of fine/international ban he got (unless you had a few bob on Uruguay to do well) & that it was all about the domestic ban.

I feel Liverpool do get a bit of a raw deal out of this but they bought him under a cloud & have backed him through 2 long bans so probably realised that this was a possibility of happening again in future. Suarez should be ashamed of himself & he owes Liverpool so much for what they have done for him but he continues to let them & their fans down.

I see a lot of people have brought up the Cantona incident & have said it was much worse. I agree it was but it was just a once off. Can you also imagine the reaction to it in today's social media, politically correct, nannified world. He possibly may have never been allowed to play football again. But comparing incidents and bans from modern day to 20 years ago is pointless as they really were different times

Last paragraph is a good point. Hard to compare Suarez incident today to Cantona nearly 20 years ago, the world is just a far different place.

Even the Zidane incident, which doesn't seem that long ago to me, was before the days of Twitter, Facebook, or even widespread internet use (probably was just a outs on th tipping point). All these factors have probably worked against Suarez, but at the sMe time he has to realize the type of world he's living in and the exposure that such an act will get and the response it will provoke

Doesnt matter whether he took a mouthful or just got a bit stuck between his teeth. He attacked like a Dog would and has done it with intent . He is an animal and has no morals or respect for fellow human beings

• 12 month global ban
    Agueroooo wrote: »
    Careful now you'll be accused of being sneaky.

No in fairness to him he is entitled to his opinion and I will debate that seperatly. At least he has the balls to say it straight out unlike youself, who reagularly posts in a sneaky way to belittle and insult.

niallo27 wrote: »
    It hasn't really though. He put liverpool back into the champions league. Something that would have been laughed at if suggested at the start of last season. Liverpool have benefited hugely from having stood by Suarez.

Defending Racism?? That was very big and brave of them. And then defended him after biting Ivanovic. Always the victim springs to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Liverpool didn't defend him vehemently the last time, that's hyperbole. The club obviously worked very hard with him last season, and people can't have it both ways. Lfc generally got commended the way they handled the transfer saga last Summer. Big call for Lfc now though, I don't think its as clear cut as some think that they'll 100 per cent want him to stay now.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Eamo71

Tomorrow in the Daily Mail: Extract from the World Cup Diary of Luis Suarez: "Dog carcass in alley this morning. Tyre tread on burst stomach. The city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "save us!"... and I'll say 'No!'"

Defending Racism?? That was very big and brave of them. And then defended him after biting Ivanovic. Always the victim springs to mind

Ah here.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    No in fairness to him he is entitled to his opinion and I will debate that seperatly. At least he has the balls to say it straight out unlike youself, who reagularly posts in a sneaky way to belittle and insult.

Just to make it clear in case you accuse me of ignoring you - well I am as I have no confidence you will answer any posts straight, and you will continue to pretend and take up things differently. Post utter tosh and accuse others.

ProF hit the nail on the head and said it more eloquently than I ever could.
    Like myself he seems to have the measure of you.

One improve though is you've stop your childish 'Jeff' references.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

5 matches
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    People are defending Suarez as a Liverpool player, not defending the incident. Stop playing dumb.

Here's some posts of downplaying the incident and whataboutery:
    i don't see why his ban should be any longer than Marchisio's, i'd prefer a bite to a potential leg breaker or a stamp...
    Vanolder:
    Exactly--- 10 will even be a bit harsh. In my book diving/simulation/feigning injury is far worse and is destroying the sport- spitting on someone is far worse-- breaking someone's leg is far worse--- but the English media usually lead the way around here. Biting is violent conduct, the fact that he has done it before will get him a game or two more, but it shouldn't be months or years.
    BMJD:
    I couldn't care less about Chiellini's minor shoulder scratch. He'll live.

I want another 30+ goals for Liverpool next season.
    jasoncoylerd
    The outpouring of fake anger from man united fans is laughable, theyre shocked and disgusted by this happening at the world cup........its surely a coincidence that its a liverpool player and theyre so "angry"...............never mind the workers in brazil that have died constructing the stadium whilst getting paid peanuts, lets get outraged and hop up on our high horses over a wee nibble lol

There have been plenty more. It's impressive the way you can read and post in these threads but not notice the type of posts you don't want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Vanolder:
    BMJD:
    jasoncoylerd

There have been plenty more. It's impressive the way you can read and post in these threads but not notice the type of posts you don't want to see.

None are defending his bite the other night. Wasn't that my original point, thanks for helping to prove it.

I even said people were downplaying it. You are just arguing for the sake of it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

Think Liverpool would be better off keeping hold of Suarez now. Despite his craziness, he's an awesome player to have. The only downside to keeping him would be if he goes and does something like this again - which would probably get him banned for a year or so. That's a big risk.

And I just don't believe this notion of Barca or Real spending the type of money on him, that they forked out on Bale and Ronaldo.

Ronaldo was 24, world class, unblemished record, improving all the time, great resale value after four years (he'd be 28).
    Bale was just 24, world class, unblemished record, improving all the time, great resale value after four years (he'd be 28).

Suarez will be practically 28 before he's allowed play again. World class, yes. Terrible disciplinary record. Probably reaching his peak now. Very little resale value after four years (would be 32).

To think he'd be going for the same money as the other two is lunacy.

5 matches
    Eamo71 wrote: »
    Tomorrow in the Daily Mail: Extract from the World Cup Diary of Luis Suarez: "Dog carcass in alley this morning. Tyre tread on burst stomach. The city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "save us!"... and I'll say 'No!'"

I don't get the connection, but you get a thanks for quoting Watchmen.

5 matches
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    None are defending his bite the other night. Wasn't that my original point, thanks for helping to prove it.

I even said people were downplaying it. You are just arguing for the sake of it :)

So you admit that people have been downplaying the incident and defending Suarez. But you want us all to know that nobody has been defending the incident? That is bullshít word play. You are making an complete tit of yourself.

• 12 month global ban
    Agueroooo wrote: »
    Just to make it clear in case you accuse me of ignoring you - well I am as I have no confidence you will answer any posts straight, and you will continue to pretend and take up things differently. Post utter tosh and accuse others.

ProF hit the nail on the head and said it more eloquently than I ever could.
    Like myself he seems to have the measure of you.

One improve though is you've stop your childish 'Jeff' references.

Elequent you aint. I also consider what you post as utter tosh and how you continue to look down on anybody who doesn't agree with you and worm your posts just enough to avoid getting carded. Again you attempt to speak for other posters because of your opinion of me. If Pro F has an opinion of me let him say it, who the **** gives you the right to imply that he has a measure of me

Vanolder:
    BMJD:
    jasoncoylerd

It's the internet, one of those is reactionary, another a bit tongue in cheek I'd have thought. Initially I didn't think they'd worldwide ban him but it started to dawn on me last night they would.

5 matches
    M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Elequent you aint. I also consider what you post as utter tosh and how you continue to look down on anybody who doesn't agree with you and worm your posts just enough to avoid getting carded. Again you attempt to speak for other posters because of your opinion of me. If Pro F has an opinion of me let him say it, who the **** gives you the right to imply that he has a measure of me

I already did say it, and it was obviously in line with what Aguerooo is saying. You pretend you can't understand posts when it suits your argument. Aguerooo and others were spot on when they called you on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

Fair play to Dunphy. Spoke a lot of sense in the last 10 mins.