Survey finds majority support tax on sugary drinks

Zamboni wrote: »
    Completely agree. But at least this idea actually has some merit.
    We are hardly going to get a withdrawal of the food pyramid from the FSAI so every little helps :)

Nannying people with the wrong information has not worked out and saying it's their own fault, I don't see how nannying them some more will help at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Considering I would have a complete ban on them I think it is a reasonable idea.
    Liquid filth.

This is one of few ideas that I could see having a positive effect on the level of obesity.
    As for nanny-state? When over half the Irish population are overweight or obese - we clearly need to be nannied.

Aren't we so lucky to have such caring & visionary politicians expressing concern for our health like this? Lucky for us, our politicians are all in such great shape that they see the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, & it's for that reason, that we're staring down the barrel of yet another new tax. It's is of course, nothing to do with generating more money to squander on overpaid/under-worked bureaucrats, & instead, all the new tax revenue generated for this will go straight back into the health system so that everyone benefits.

Of course, the Dail bar will follow suit & ban all sugary drinks 'on sale' there, and won't continue to allow our trim & healthy politicians to swill on sugary drinks/beers to their hearts content before 'doing a bit' & making national decisions. No, this is all a step in the right direction. I for one, welcome our new health conscious overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Down with this sort of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

bluewolf wrote: »
    How many people did they poll, 10?

Load of rubbish

Probably. I Love these nonsense headlines Survey shows..... ect, ect. What was the scientific construct behind the survey? Is it independently verifiable? Now survey 10,000 people nationwide and I'll take notice. But survey the first 100 passersby on Grattan street and I wouldn't wipe my ass with it tbh. Maybe the State might be better served by recommending more PE/Gym classes in school and ensuring schools have adequate facilities to do so. Wouldn't it be better to ingrain health and fitness into education from an early age. Rather than impose some ridiculously lazy 'solution' via a sugar tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Myrddin wrote: »
    Aren't we so lucky to have such caring & visionary politicians expressing concern for our health like this? Lucky for us, our politicians are all in such great shape that they see the benefits of a healthy lifestyle, & it's for that reason, that we're staring down the barrel of yet another new tax. It's is of course, nothing to do with generating more money to squander on overpaid/under-worked bureaucrats, & instead, all the new tax revenue generated for this will go straight back into the health system so that everyone benefits.

Of course, the Dail bar will follow suit & ban all sugary drinks 'on sale' there, and won't continue to allow our trim & healthy politicians to swill on sugary drinks/beers to their hearts content before 'doing a bit' & making national decisions. No, this is all a step in the right direction. I for one, welcome our new health conscious overlords.

Fat politicians raising tax - yep with you on that.
    It doesn't take away from the merit of making liquid filth like Coke less available to the masses by increasing its retail price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Probably. I Love these nonsense headlines Survey shows..... ect, ect. What was the scientific construct behind the survey? Is it independently verifiable? Now survey 10,000 people nationwide and I'll take notice. But survey the first 100 passersby on Grattan street and I wouldn't wipe my ass with it tbh. Maybe the State might be better served by recommending more PE/Gym classes in school and ensuring schools have adequate facilities to do so. Wouldn't it be better to ingrain health and fitness into education from an early age. Rather than impose some ridiculously lazy 'solution' via a sugar tax.

And we could draft laws to say politicians should look, act, have views that reflect our ideals. You want to be minister of health do you, Ok lay off the pies cream cakes and beer go to the gym set an example. Ah wait lads lets just tax it. :pac:

I would be willing to bet that even doubling the PE time in schools would have a near zero effect on obesity levels.

Soft drinks are already expensive to buy, a 500ml bottle of Lucozade can vary from €2 to €2.50 depending on where you get it from. This proposed tax has absolutely nothing to do with trying to cut usage of sugary drinks and is all about just squeezing more money from the public.

"Won't someone think of the children?"...

Some years ago they stopped the sale of 10 packs of cigarettes, stating primarily that it would help curtail the amount of youngsters smoking. Yeah right. The only thing it did was make sure that anyone who was smoking now had to buy the full price 20 than the 10 they were previously buying. Kids still found ways to smoke, be it the cheaper rollies, or 2-3 of them buying a box of 20 between them.

Same with this sugar tax, it will not stop those who want to drink themselves to diabetes from doing so. What is needed is actual education, not nanny-state taxes.

As some other posters have said here, with the introduction of a sugar tax we should also see a reduction in VAT on certain health foods and activities. If the government were really serious about doing something about the rising obesity problem, this is what they would do. However, we are a financially broken country where the primary aim is to get as much money out of the public as possible, this proposed sugar tax has no more to do with health concerns than the household charge did.

It doesn't take away from the merit of making liquid filth like Coke less available to the masses by increasing its retail price.

I'd be fully ok with it if the revenue generated by it went back into the health system. But, like so many other taxes that all go into one big pot & when huge amounts of revenue are squandered, I just can't give this any credibility at all. And do you really think the lazy parents who shovel Coke etc into their kids are going to turn around & start giving out water & home cooked meals instead when this new tax comes in? Do you really think those who live on take outs are going to start buying organic? Not a hope in hell will it change a single thing, except make more revenue available that won't benefit the masses. It's a revenue generation exercise, nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Of course the intesesting thing about this thread is the rabble rabble Government are bad mkay rabble rabble nannystate crap; it's wide of the mark - the survey was carried out on behalf of the IHF, a national charity, with the intention of including the call for the tax increase in their pre-budget submissions.

Dept. of Finance probably get's thousands of various submissions each year on all sorts of issues (some with merit, others off the wall).

But yes lets treat the news article as Government proclamations and policy.

rabble rabble fuc**ng nanny state bas**rds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

this is really just another tax to pay back the imf

And this is the problem, they have the right to make bad choices and ruin their health, but ultimately it's everyone else who has to pay for it.

Our health care system is overstretched and overbudget.
    The money that's being spent on dealing with obesity/poor diet related health issues could be better spent elsewhere.

I have private health insurance am I exempt from this so?
    Considering I would have a complete ban on them I think it is a reasonable idea.
    Liquid filth.

This is one of few ideas that I could see having a positive effect on the level of obesity.
    As for nanny-state? When over half the Irish population are overweight or obese - we clearly need to be nannied.

Please, an out right ban? Wouldn't life be very boring if we lived in a world where you couldnt enjoy some pleasures like soft drinks etc. Just because I like to have a can of coke maybe two or three times a week why should I have to pay more. Leaving aside I have private health insurance a couple of cans a week is not going to effect any body's health.

Its an utter crap suggestion. Its really no-ones business but their own and this raise tax and ban things is a road that should not be gone down..

Uriel. wrote: »
    rabble rabble fuc**ng nanny state bas**rds

Yeah I'm sure the sentiment reads like that, but no matter what side your on...unless the revenue a tax like this will generate goes back into the health system, and actually does some good, I personally am against it. If that puts me in the 'rabble rabble gubbermint' category in your eyes, then so be it. The fact of the matter is, this tax won't do anything other than make it more expensive for people to continue doing the things they already do.

I would be willing to bet that even doubling the PE time in schools would have a near zero effect on obesity levels.

Is it better to tax a bottle of Coke, or is it better to have a child working out at 65-75% MHR the very next day after consuming said Coke? I think most would agree the latter is the better approach. The solution to obesity is not through the lazy man tax route. But rather through education and accessibility. And by accessibility, I mean access to the relevant facilities & infrastructure that support and foster health & fitness. Many areas of this country are bereft of such facilities and infrastructure. Now wouldn't it be interesting to survey such areas to ascertain the levels of childhood obesity. Do higher levels of obesity exist in areas where such infrastructure is lacking? But the Government doesn't want to take a long term root and branch approach. Much better to bring in the oul tax, shure that'll sort it all out and it will be grand like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Bog Standard User

ban the sale of fizzy drinks to under 18's lol

Is it better to tax a bottle of Coke, or is it better to have a child working out at 65-75% MHR the very next day after consuming said Coke? I think most would agree the latter is the better approach. The solution to obesity is not through the lazy man tax route. But rather through education and accessibility. And by accessibility, I mean access to the relevant facilities & infrastructure that support and foster health & fitness. Many areas of this country are bereft of such facilities and infrastructure. Now wouldn't it be interesting to survey such areas to ascertain the levels of childhood obesity. Do higher levels of obesity exist in areas where such infrastructure is lacking? But the Government doesn't want to take a long term root and branch approach. Much better to bring in the oul tax, shure that'll sort it all out and it will be grand like.

And most would be wrong. The answer to obesity is not access to exercise.
    Restricting access to vast quantities of calories with little nutritional value is the key.
    People are too hung up on the taxation prospect of this - The fact is that soft drinks are pure sh1te. The diet versions are even worse.
    You'd probably halve diabetes, obesity and ADHD by banning the stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

SodaStream will make its long awaited comeback as a tax avoidance loophole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Yeah I'm sure the sentiment reads like that, but no matter what side your on...unless the revenue a tax like this will generate goes back into the health system, and actually does some good, I personally am against it. If that puts me in the 'rabble rabble gubbermint' category in your eyes, then so be it. The fact of the matter is, this tax won't do anything other than make it more expensive for people to continue doing the things they already do.

You missed the point. The Government haven't proposed this.

In fact, the Government, last year essentially put this idea way down on it's agenda eventhough I suspect Minister Reilly would like to bring it forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

SodaStream will make its long awaited comeback as a tax avoidance loophole

I thought it had already made it's comeback...but then faded into obscurity again.

The diet versions are even worse.

More misconceptions.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Just like/liked the taste of it. Don't like tea or coffee so I don't drink the stuff. Tap water tasted like crap in my house growing up and still does but now all I drink is bottled water for the past while.

Is drinking 2l of water a day over indulging? Or 2l of tea or coffee a day over indulging because thousands of people drink that and it ain't exactly good for you either, that amount from a dental point of view just like fizzies.

Your problem wasn't that you had a sugary fizzy drink. Your problem was that you had a lot of a sugary fizzy drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Clearlier

My biggest issue with the idea is that it doesn't go far enough. There should be a tax on all consumables with added sugar with a view to attempting to make the price of the products more accurately reflect their cost. This isn't about telling people what to do so much as paying for the future costs.

Do those who think that personal responsibility is the answer to obesity really think that the incredible increase in obesity over the past forty years has been due to a sudden reduction in the levels of personal responsibility exhibited by western societies? It's a bit more complicated than that.

Sure, a bit more exercise would help but not very much. It takes about 25 miles of running to burn a pound of weight and if you've run for any distance in your life you'll know that your appetite doesn't usually remain unchanged after a run.

I expect that the survey is a bit of a push poll (there's no way for example that 87% of the population understand just how bad fizzy drinks are for us - witness this thread)but that doesn't mean that the idea is bad.

Eat less and move more is a nice handy slogan that sounds good but the most important thing that we need to do is to change what we eat and if we can't do that at least make a more appropriate contribution to government coffers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,478 ✭✭✭wexie

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Maybe we should have mandatory health insurance with premiums based on a comprehensive annual health assessment...

I was chatting to a friend in South Africa, they get points for a healthy lifestyle, like when he goes to the gym he swipes in and gets credited points.

More points --> pay less for your health insurance.

wexie wrote: »
    I was chatting to a friend in South Africa, they get points for a healthy lifestyle, like when he goes to the gym he swipes in and gets credited points.

That's handy, quick pit-stop in the gym to swipe the card then off to the pub :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

wexie wrote: »

Do points mean prizes? My employer pays my health insurance, so no incentive there for me anyway.

And most would be wrong. The answer to obesity is not access to exercise.

Dear me, do you seriously think exercise and an active lifestyle play no role in controlling obesity? Exercise is a core component to any solution and claiming it is not is nonsensical. Now read back and you will also note that I specifically mentioned education and accessibility as being key in fighting obesity.
    Restricting access to vast quantities of calories with little nutritional value is the key.
    No it is not key, it might help, but it certainly is not key. You can restrict access all you want. It still won’t stop an inactive kid becoming unfit and possibly overweight if they’re sitting on their arse all day getting no exercise. Kids today lead a virtually sedentary lifestyle. So regardless of whether you are consuming a diet of high or low nutritional value, once you are consuming above your daily calorific threshold and not active, you will gain weight. So you need to understand that regardless of the nutritional value of the food you consume, if you consume too much of it and don’t get off the couch, you are on the road to obesity.
    People are too hung up on the taxation prospect of this - The fact is that soft drinks are pure sh1te. The diet versions are even worse.
    Soft drinks are crap, but they alone are not the cause of childhood obesity. The causes like the solution, are multifaceted.
    You'd probably halve diabetes, obesity and ADHD by banning the stuff :)
    You’re getting into my professional realm. But I’ll be brief and won’t bore you. The causes of NIDDM – Non Insulin Dependent Diabetes Mellitus(Type 2) is multifactorial. Bad diet, obesity and yes you’ll be disappointed to hear – a lack of exercise/sedentary lifestyle can play a significant role in its development. You fight it effectively through a multifaceted approach and not some stupid exercise in tokenism that puts a tax on a sugary drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

cronin_j wrote: »
    You've just proven my point! Why should I have to pay more to have a bottle of coke now and again just because someone else cant keep control of themselves!

I've already answered that one: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=90959647&postcount=35

It's called public health, the common good, or something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

You fight it effectively through a multifaceted approach and not some stupid exercise in tokenism that puts a tax on a sugary drink.

Fiscal policy is part of a multi-faceted approach, and an important one at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Those who are choosing (as is their right!) to eat unhealthy sugary crap to excess are already paying into the health service they'll likely later need to avail of and may have private health insurance on top of that - ergo they've already paid!

They're paying into the public health care system but are highly unlikely to be contributing enough to cover the cost of their lifestyle choices.
    Treatment of Type 2 diabetes alone is estimated to cost 10% of of the national health budget. Yet diabetics make up around 6% of the population.
    It's expensive to treat and the numbers are steadily increasing.

Private health care is community rated, so yet again these people are not paying for the full cost of their bad decisions.
    I'm sick of having my personal freedoms restricted or taxed because we need to hand-hold a load of lazy, responsibility-shirking "adults" who insist that "someone else" do it all for them.
    And I totally agree with you, but if people don't want the "Nanny state" then they need to be held fully responsible for their own bad decisions.

And seeing how the state is the medical provider of last resort, they're the ones who eventually end up paying the bill.
    So they have every right to try and discourage behaviours that could lead to that bill getting bigger.

Uriel. wrote: »
    You missed the point. The Government haven't proposed this.

While that's true, I've no doubt at all they will at some point. Again, if I knew the €60,000,000 in revenue this will be thought to generate was going to be plunged back into the health system, I'd be calling this a good move...not the be all & end all to addressing the problem of childhood obesity, but a good move none the less.