Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Broke the bleed screw on my rad top hose...have to wait until tomorrowish when I'll get 5 in the post! They're ridiculously brittle yokes. Need to bleed my cooling system as I reckon there's plenty of air in the system. Really struggling with it though.

Cheers for the advice on the A4, guys.

I don't really care for lowered cars, myself, to be honest.

Assuming I met up with the chap, the first thing I'd be doing is bringing it to a mechanic (I'm sure he'd want to do the same with the Rav, so it'd probably make sense for us both to meet halfway from each other and find a mechanic in that area that'll look over both cars?).

So presuming it got an all-clear, can the 'lowering' be un-done? (ie; can I get it raised again, or is it a case of once it's lowered then that's just the way it is). Or would raising it cost an arm and a leg?

Regarding the wheels, I actually like them. A saloon car really doesn't work for me, but I'll only keep it for a year before moving on, I'd say, so may aswell expirement.

I've owned the Rav about 13 months, I'd guess. In that time I did ~25,000km. So I do cover high mileage, but most of it is town driving. Not sure if that's a yay or nay for a diesel, to be honest. My average journey time would be 20-30 minutes (stop/start driving).

A car with higher/better MPG is appealing, but it's not the be-all and end-all for me (and I assume a diesel going around town is going to get very similar MPG to the Rav, anyway? I'm lead to believe you don't see the benefits of diesel until you're on a constant-speed journey? Like the motorway or N roads, for example?).

From reading the owner's ad and looking at his comments on mine, he wants the Rav (or any SUV, it seems) for more space for kids, etc. This makes me think he's not boy-racered the bollocks out of the car, but that doesn't mean the previous owner wouldn't have. Assuming the car has been raced around town a lot, and been driven hard, will a mechanic be able to spot anything on this that may give trouble?

(cos I've heard Audi's can be expensive to repair and maintain, and I'd rather not be handing over a Rav4 that's given no issues, and end up with something that's off the road cos I found out afterward that it's been held together with willpower).

Thanks a lot again. I know a lot of ye guys are fairly clued into BMWs, Audis, VWs etc., whereas I wouldn't have a clue, so I appreciate any and all opinions and advice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just put the stock springs back in and get an alignment done. To pay someone to do this would probably cost the same as the springs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Broke the bleed screw on my rad top hose...have to wait until tomorrowish when I'll get 5 in the post! They're ridiculously brittle yokes. Need to bleed my cooling system as I reckon there's plenty of air in the system. Really struggling with it though.

How did you manage to break it? I've never broke in years of having Bimmers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Here's a pic of the very same Saab I saw in London. Not my pic, but still... I'm not crazy at least. :pac:

e997bdbf976d4dc86795488c84eff13a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Big Nasty wrote: »
    How did you manage to break it? I've never broke in years of having Bimmers.

He ban hammered when he should have claw hammered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Cheers for the advice on the A4, guys.

I don't really care for lowered cars, myself, to be honest.

Assuming I met up with the chap, the first thing I'd be doing is bringing it to a mechanic (I'm sure he'd want to do the same with the Rav, so it'd probably make sense for us both to meet halfway from each other and find a mechanic in that area that'll look over both cars?).

So presuming it got an all-clear, can the 'lowering' be un-done? (ie; can I get it raised again, or is it a case of once it's lowered then that's just the way it is). Or would raising it cost an arm and a leg?

Regarding the wheels, I actually like them. A saloon car really doesn't work for me, but I'll only keep it for a year before moving on, I'd say, so may aswell expirement.

I've owned the Rav about 13 months, I'd guess. In that time I did ~25,000km. So I do cover high mileage, but most of it is town driving. Not sure if that's a yay or nay for a diesel, to be honest. My average journey time would be 20-30 minutes (stop/start driving).

A car with higher/better MPG is appealing, but it's not the be-all and end-all for me (and I assume a diesel going around town is going to get very similar MPG to the Rav, anyway? I'm lead to believe you don't see the benefits of diesel until you're on a constant-speed journey? Like the motorway or N roads, for example?).

From reading the owner's ad and looking at his comments on mine, he wants the Rav (or any SUV, it seems) for more space for kids, etc. This makes me think he's not boy-racered the bollocks out of the car, but that doesn't mean the previous owner wouldn't have. Assuming the car has been raced around town a lot, and been driven hard, will a mechanic be able to spot anything on this that may give trouble?

(cos I've heard Audi's can be expensive to repair and maintain, and I'd rather not be handing over a Rav4 that's given no issues, and end up with something that's off the road cos I found out afterward that it's been held together with willpower).

Thanks a lot again. I know a lot of ye guys are fairly clued into BMWs, Audis, VWs etc., whereas I wouldn't have a clue, so I appreciate any and all opinions and advice :)

Depends how it's lowered, if it's lowering spring you'll be able to pick up a set of standard springs easily from someone who's lowering their own. Cheap enough.

If it's on coil overs, the ride height is adjustable and can be set higher for free in a matter I minutes by some one competent.

Out to the munute so not looking at the add, does it mention how it lowered?
    A mechanic can tell you just by looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

It's now official! Alfa 159 Jtdm > Passat T red diddly eye.

Said passat was being driven by one of the local plod:D

His exact words when I met him during the week were "dem Alfas are pretty but dey are no good when yer driven dem on a bit"

I can't wait to meet him again to see has he changed his tune:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

pred racer wrote: »
    It's now official! Alfa 159 Jtdm > Passat T red diddly eye.

Said passat was being driven by one of the local plod:D

His exact words when I met him during the week were "dem Alfas are pretty but dey are no good when yer driven dem on a bit"

I can't wait to meet him again to see has he changed his tune:rolleyes:

Anyone else notice how nearly every diesel passat 01-05 on the roads has a T red DI badge on it. Like literally you would struggle to see one with a normal TDI. Did everyone just buy the badges as every passat sold in that era wasn't 130bhp in fact most were probably bogo 90 bhp ones. I really don't get the point of sticking badges on cars if the car doesn't even have that engine or model whatever.

It was probably a 90 bhp you passed :pac: ah no I'd imagine the Alfa would be quicker than even a factory 130. Are them Alfa 140 bhp or what type engine is it?

Bpmull wrote: »
    Anyone else notice how nearly every diesel passat 01-05 on the roads has a T red DI badge on it. Like literally you would struggle to see one with a normal TDI. Did everyone just buy the badges as every passat sold in that era wasn't 130bhp in fact most were probably bogo 90 bhp ones. I really don't get the point of sticking badges on cars if the car doesn't even have that engine or model whatever.

It was probably a 90 bhp you passed :pac: ah no I'd imagine the Alfa would be quicker than even a factory 130. Are them Alfa 140 bhp or what type engine is it?

This one is an 03 and it's defo at least a 130 I hit the redline in my yoke in 4th passing him out.

The Alfa Jtdm 16v has 150bhp, not the most refined lump in the world but for what it is, it can shift. But the big difference is in the bends no standard passat can corner like a 159:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Seen these in waterford today, a woseley and a 1929 truck, the truck is a wooden frame, to say i was mindblown would be an understatement, then my headlight blew :(

10492504_735328119844251_6291282015383249381_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

The 406 was the same, not a single 1.9/2.0 could ever match it in a straight line, let alone in the corners :D

Speaking of Alfas, I've cone to the comclusion that every Alfa shares nothing in common with the exact same model.... Todays fiasco involves driveshafts, I have noless than 4 different types of shaft for the pre facelift 156.... Very headwrecking getting anything done with them! :(

dgt wrote: »
    The 406 was the same, not a single 1.9/2.0 could ever match it in a straight line, let alone in the corners :D

Speaking of Alfas, I've cone to the comclusion that every Alfa shares nothing in common with the exact same model.... Todays fiasco involves driveshafts, I have noless than 4 different types of shaft for the pre facelift 156.... Very headwrecking getting anything done with them! :(

The only way to get the correct brake pads for mine was to remove and measure the old ones. For an 08 159Jtdm 16v Lusso there are 6 different sets of brake pads you can order:eek:

That pug was faster than my yoke! I regularly give my mates 520D a spanking which pisses him off no end. But on the other side I have been beaten to 60 from a standing start by a Prius :o

Lads can ye tell me what the proper name for these little b******s are? Most of the interior trim on the S60 are held on by them. My god are they a pain to remove. And I've destroyed the majority of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

How long would ye expect a Full Valet to take? I'll ring them tomorrow to ask, but I'd have thought between 2-3 hours. The car isn't that bad, so shouldn't take too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

For gods sake it was side by side with my car :)
    Nothing in it :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    For gods sake it was side by side with my car :)
    Nothing in it :)

How much is in it between the 520 and the 530??

(And don't say 10:P)
    That bit is for you Pickles :)

How long would ye expect a Full Valet to take? I'll ring them tomorrow to ask, but I'd have thought between 2-3 hours. The car isn't that bad, so shouldn't take too long.

When I got the golf done it took 3-4 hours to do. I left it there for about 6 hours and was done when I came back for it. Speaking of cleaning I have to clean my one next weekend the amount of flys stuck to the front of it is not even funny not looking forward to removing them. Going to try some autoglym polish too so hopefully it will turn out well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

10 :pac:

Ah no, about tree fiddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

When I got the golf done it took 3-4 hours to do. I left it there for about 6 hours and was done when I came back for it. Speaking of cleaning I have to clean my one next weekend the amount of flys stuck to the front of it is not even funny not looking forward to removing them. Going to try some autoglym polish too so hopefully it will turn out well.

Ya them flies are the worst!
    It's getting serviced and a pre NCT check this week, and I probably will get it valeted too (quoted €100). Suppose it would make more sense to leave it to them for the full day, and collect it the following day... now to persuade someone to collect me and bring me back to the garage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Thinking of a colour to plasti dip my mirrors, wheels and front bumper cross piece. Gonna go 2 coats black, 2 coats gold metalizer for a bronze colour. Would 2 cans of each do the mirrors and wheels? general consensus online is that it will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] I've cone to the comclusion that every Alfa shares nothing in common with the exact same model.... [...]

Similar thing in most of French cars. France is well known for very powerful worker's unions, so just in case of any strike (likely) car manufacturers have more (much more) than one OEM suppliers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Even 100bhp models on the B5.5 had a red D and I from the showroom.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Even 100bhp models on the B5.5 had a red D and I from the showroom.

Ah that explains a lot then :) I thought the red DI was strictly for 130bhp As a way of differentiating between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Ah that explains a lot then :) I thought the red DI was strictly for 130bhp As a way of differentiating between them.

It was on the B5 but not the 5.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Thinking of a colour to plasti dip my mirrors, wheels and front bumper cross piece. Gonna go 2 coats black, 2 coats gold metalizer for a bronze colour. Would 2 cans of each do the mirrors and wheels? general consensus online is that it will

I hope you're still going for the red roof, blue wheels idea :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

No, black roof bronze wheels :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Stick some glossifier on it too, apparently it makes it easier to clean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Skanger :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

What year is it?
    A 20d can be anything from 177 to 192 as far as I know.

My 30d is 218bhp with 500Nm torque.

It was side by side with Dgt's car to xxx speed with nothing in it.
    I was absolutely blown away with what he'd built, fair play to you dgt :)