Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

The park isn't just famous for the deer you know. After all the furry glen is aptly named.

You mean these kind of things?
    furries4.xlarger.jpg
    Furries.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

dar83 wrote: »
    Yeah... My point wasn't about someone else driving your car, more about someone greasing your stick shift. Haha.
    You mean these kind of things?
    furries4.xlarger.jpg
    Furries.jpg

I'm having far too much internet today, I need to lie down, my woolly hat has seen too much :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Can you not get one of those USB fans and put in into your head unit?

USB head unit........ Yeah, no. The Yaris is OEM laaaaaaaaad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

dar83 wrote: »
    Yeah... My point wasn't about someone else driving your car, more about someone greasing your stick shift. Haha.

I'm not local so didn't get the pun :)

Sobanek wrote: »
    Nope, not insured, but will be happy to take a look and talk to you about it.
    I've driven an E61 530d so can't be too different.

Cool man look forward to meeting you!

USB head unit........ Yeah, no. The Yaris is OEM laaaaaaaaad :pac:

I had a feeling this would be the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I had a feeling this would be the answer.

I'm not a big fan of Non-OEM head units anyway, never look right in any car Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

all companies seem to drag their feet here in Ireland, I had to ring the other parties insurance company 3 times before getting any action from them, they said they would ring the company they use and get me a courtesy car and the car hire company would give me a call, that was yesterday, no call. So I wait today until 12. Call insurance company again who told me the info is gone trough to the car hire place already ad to give them a shout, Called them explained the situation and the guy said I am with another customer right now and will call you back, that was an hour and a half ago. I was hoping to drive to work today and not have to take public transport.

You need to presume that everybody you deal with on the phone (not just insurance companies) is either inept, an idiot, or both! then you're not surprised when it gets fcuked up, and it's nice when somebody actually does their job correctly;)

pred racer wrote: »
    You need to presume that everybody you deal with on the phone (not just insurance companies) is either inept, an idiot, or both! then you're not surprised when it gets fcuked up, and it's nice when somebody actually does their job correctly;)

Yeah alot of ringing involved, idiots the lot.

Car hire company eventually told me that a car was booked for me to collect today but nobody told me and I am in work until 23:00 so had to move it to tomorrow, then they tell me I need to transfer my insurance but my insurance company is closed the weekend and they would not give me a reg over the phone.

Eventually agreed to pay them €20 for 2 days insurance from themselves and will swap insurance on Monday. Girl on phone also said "oh, the insurance company has booked our smallest car size for you but there are none available, would you mind something bigger." mmm yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Car hire company eventually told me that a car was booked for me to collect today but nobody told me and I am in work until 23:00 so had to move it to tomorrow, then they tell me I need to transfer my insurance but my insurance company is closed the weekend and they would not give me a reg over the phone.

Eventually agreed to pay them €20 for 2 days insurance from themselves and will swap insurance on Monday. Girl on phone also said "oh, the insurance company has booked our smallest carsize for you but there are none available, would you mind something bigger." mmm yeah.

Looks like you'll be getting the 7 series after all. Although if like me, you'll hate newer cars, they're so bland and boring to drive compared to 90s.....really have had a craving for something italian with a boxer engine from the 70s/80s the last few weeks, i could only imagine the fathers reaction if a sud was to turn up in the same way the gtv did :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Eventually agreed to pay them €20 for 2 days insurance from themselves and will swap insurance on Monday. Girl on phone also said "oh, the insurance company has booked our smallest car size for you but there are none available, would you mind something bigger." mmm yeah.

Hopefully it's not an upgrade from an up to a polo or something like that :pac:
    Some hardship just to get a car hopefully the rest of the process goes smoother for you.

We were in renting vans a few times when moving house last month. First van we got a 08 transit with 250k km on it. My dads like but I thought they gave you newer yokes :pac: We got to know the guys in the rental place then and only got 132 and 141 ones at reduced rates so not to bad. It's amazing the deals they will give you if they think you will be renting often even though we weren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Cannot believe it's cheaper to insure me on a motorbike that'll do 0-60 in 4 seconds than it is to insure a Ford Ka. The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Cannot believe it's cheaper to insure me on a motorbike that'll do 0-60 in 4 seconds than it is to insure a Ford Ka. The mind boggles.

KA drivers generally live to collect their claim :p

Hehehe. I may have to try the two wheeled dark side.

Question

Say a truck is going along a three lane stretch of road, as we all know it has to stay in the left lane, but say it over takes to the middle and then again to the outer most lane, that's illegal isn't it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Question

Say a truck is going along a three lane stretch of road, as we all know it has to stay in the left lane, but say it over takes to the middle and then again to the outer most lane, that's illegal isn't it??

Were you at Newlands Cross today? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Question

Not in this country AFAIK. Any vehicle is allowed in any of the outer lanes as long as it's overtaking and it then to return to the left lane once finished overtaking. This is Ireland though :rolleyes:

IIRC it was illegal, but not anymore.

It was a daft rule to be honest.

I saw a truck doing that about a month ago, didnt know it was now legal.

It is? Ah feck it anyways :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

Mycroft H wrote: »

A Ka will do far more damage to whatever it hits, no matter what it hits. Motorcycles.... tend not to.

That, and more Ka owners will likely crash and claim because there's more of the things out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Do ye think €1.6K is a decent price for a 2002 fiesta, ghia spec, very tidy, Mk5, petrol with a fresh NCT. I think it's good enough....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I don't know why bad things happen to me all the time, but I'm sick of it. No matter what I do it always seems to go wrong, what I thought I had was grand turns sour as per norm.

Not only the cars but much more was taken away from me earlier, along with quite crushing news that concerns my health. Just to kick me when I'm down.

I don't know why I bother, I realy shouldn't even start. Maybe I should stay a recluse for my own sanity.

Theres got to be more than this sh*t

Normal me will return when sober, hopefully, though that seems unlikely at this stage

dgt wrote: »
    I don't know why bad things happen to me all the time, but I'm sick of it. No matter what I do it always seems to go wrong, what I thought I had was grand turns sour as per norm.

Not only the cars but much more was taken away from me earlier, along with quite crushing news that concerns my health. Just to kick me when I'm down.

I don't know why I bother, I realy shouldn't even start. Maybe I should stay a recluse for my own sanity.

Normal me will return when sober, hopefully, though that seems unlikely at this stage

Hey, don't worry. Everything improves after a while. We all have our ups and downs, but there is no point in being sorry for yourself. It took me a while to realise, but I did in the end.

Enjoy life, some aren't as lucky as we are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Chin up dude, things are never as bad as they first appear and good friends and family can see u through anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Keep the head up mate, everything will work out just fine, it always does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I see cabb8ge is gone. Wonder will he turn1p later? :D

dgt - hope you're doing better this morning dude.

Nasty do I get a trophy :)

Hope your ok dgt man, always look up :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

anyone ever deal with select cars dublin ?

they have a volvo i might trade in against....