Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sometimes I just need to get out and run

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Cheers Tang. Are you still doing Maynooth 10k on Sunday? I'll keep an eye out for you if I decide to do it.

Yip, i'll be there sporting my Boards AC tshirt, give me a shout if you see me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Congrats on PB Dave, you're chipping away nicely at them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭davemcmahon

Younganne wrote: »
    Congrats on PB Dave, you're chipping away nicely at them!!

Thanks Anne good to see you back logging.

13/05/2014 Tues: 6.15 miles @ 8:33 min/mile

Legs were feeling ok but I wanted to skip the Club session again with racing on Sunday. Kept the pace nice and easy as I knew the legs weren't fully recovered from the weekend.

14/05/2014 Wed: 6.08 miles @ 8:18 min/mile

Another easy run, no issues from the legs and seem to have gotten into a nice routine with stretching post run since the injury.

14/05/2014 Thurs: 5.47 miles @ 8:24 min/mile

Legs were feeling good, kept the route to in and around Castletown house. Nothing else of any real interest on this run

17/05/2014 Sat: 3.35 miles @ 8:36 min/mile

Was out in Laytown at the inlaws so got a few very Easy miles up through Bettystown and into Morningtown and back along the beach followed by a quick dip in the sea to refresh the legs.

18/05/2014 Sun: ~7.5/8 miles inc Maynooth 10k

Spent alot of yesterday running around after the kids on beach, one of which was up at 5 so not the best prep for this morning. Was running slightly later than planned but thankfully the race was well organised so I was in and got my number pretty quickly. Was heading back to the car and bumped into tang and family in the car park. Dropped my gear off and headed off the the start area and bumped back into tang and AMK. Headed off for a warm up with AMK and then some stretching before the off. Had decided to run without the watch so this was going to be learning experience.

As we lined up waiting to start there was a group infront of us that would not have looked out of place in D&D singlets. Off we went and it took a while to settle into what I felt was the right pace. The part of the course around the grounds of the college was fairly quick and an area I may come back to for another run. The first couple of kms paced without incident as I moved up through the field. I settled into stride with a runner from Donore and stayed with him until the turn around at 6k. This was my first mistake of the day. At around the 2.5/3k mark a runner went past and I considered going with him but I didn't. In retrospect I should have.

From pretty early on I could see AMK ahead of me on his own. At the turn around I got a chance to see who was behind me and was annoyed to see some runners I knew should not have been. This let me know that I'd been going at too slow a pace and should have gone with the runner that passed earlier. This runner was about 100m or more ahead by this stage. As soon as I saw the people behind I upped the pace and lost the guy from Donore pretty quickly. Passed by tang as he was heading for the turn around. He looked at this stage like he had loads in the tank. Headed back down and into the gates at Carton House.

Was delighted to pass the 8k mark as I hadn't noticed any markers since the 5k point and was beginning to struggle a little. The section of the course through Carton House was grand all though it was beginning to feel a little lonely as I was chasing the runners in front of me. The last 1500m was very tough as the legs were beginning to hurt and the wind had picked up. I crossed over onto Carton Avenue and could just about see the clock ahead but couldn't make it out. I pushed from here as hard as my legs would let and crossed the line about 10s behind the guy I'd been chasing (30s ahead of the next runner).

Crossed the line in 40:15. Was disappointed in the time but a lesson was learnt in pacing myself for future 10k's without watch. I'm fairly sure I lost too much time and was on for a slower time until i decided to ditch the Donore runner. Next time I'll just have to find a faster runner to pace myself off or just go on gut instinct and face the pain if I blow up.

Had a quick chat with tang and AMK and then headed for a quick warm down with AMK back to the race HQ for tea and cake.

WTD|33.18
    MTD|78.68
    YTD|770.02

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Good to meet you again Dave, as i said in AMK's log a field of a more competitive nature would have stood to you to. When i passed ye approaching the turn-around ye both were more or less isolated. Its tough running a 10k like that. Having people to run with definitely helps.

tang1 wrote: »
    Good to meet you again Dave, as i said in AMK's log a field of a more competitive nature would have stood to you to. When i passed ye approaching the turn-around ye both were more or less isolated. Its tough running a 10k like that. Having people to run with definitely helps.

Cheers tang. Was good to see you back out there today. AMK and myself had a good chat about this on the way back to the race HQ. Its looking more likely that I'll have to start doing a bit more research into a races previous results before I enter it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Great time Dave on what sounded like a tough race - nothing worse than finding yourself out on your own in a race like that. When is the next 10k planned for?

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Great time Dave on what sounded like a tough race - nothing worse than finding yourself out on your own in a race like that. When is the next 10k planned for?

Cheers TJ. I've none planned yet but I'll have a proper look during the week and pick one.

19/05/2014 Mon: 4.29 miles @ 9:18 min/mile

Legs were feeling pretty sore after yesterdays race so kept todays run to a 40 min recovery run before work. Pace was nice and easy and legs felt better afterwards. About 15 minutes stretching in the gym afterwards.

20/05/2014 Tues: 6.13 miles @ 8:32 min/mile

Legs were feeling much better today but I knew I wouldn't have a club session so kept it to a 50 min Easy run. Picked a slightly hillier route than normal.

21/05/2014 Wed: 5.22 miles @ 8:12 min/mile

The wife had the car today so this was my runmute into work. Legs were feeling really good so the pace was a little faster than I'd planned. Will probably have the same again this evening.

WTD|15.64
    MTD|94.32
    YTD|785.66

21/05/2014 Wed PM: 5.03 miles @ 8:22 min/mile

Run home from work on Wed evening. A lovely evening for a run and really enjoyed being out in it

22/05/2014 Thurs: 5.42 miles @ 8:28 min/mile

Legs were a little tired after yesterdays double, so kept the pace nice and handy. Only got out for about 45 min as had a busy evening in work.

22/05/2014 Fri: 5.14 miles @ 7:38 min/mile

The legs were feeling good this morning so I decided I wanted to do a little more than just an easy run. Was a little short on time so settled on doing 1 mile Easy, 3 Miles @ planned MP for Dublin (hoping to take a stab at 3:10 so 7:10 min/mile) and then 1 mile Easy. The pace for the 3 MP sections were 7:07, 7:07, 7:00. Legs felt good but were a little stiff afterwards. Some stretching afterwards and seem ok now.

Plan for a rest day tomorrow and then a LSR on Sunday morning.

WTD|31.23
    MTD|109.91
    YTD|801.25

25/05/2014 Sun: 10.03 miles @ 8:11 min/mile

This was going to be my first double digits run in a month so I meet with some of the lads from the club early. They were planning a little over an hour as they are racing on Tuesday so I said I'd stick with them and then do a little bit on my own at the end. Met with the lads at 8 and then headed off on a loop through Celbridge and out towards Maynooth via the Straffan road. From Maynooth we headed back to Celbridge via some of the back roads. Was a really nice run and I was very thankful for the company as it passed quickly. I did a little loop around parts of Celbridge to bring the distance up to 10 miles. This was the longest run I've had since getting injured so I was happy to get it done.

Miles 2 - 6 were probably a little too fast as we chatted away and I didn't look at the watch until we got into Maynooth. These miles were dipping under 8 min/mile so while too fast were way off target and the legs felt good. The legs were a little tired when I finished but I'm not sure if that was the run or that the runners are nearing the end of life. It may be time to break open the next pair and start using them for my LSR's from now on.

Just over 41 miles for the week. The most I've run in about 5 weeks so happy enough to start building the LSR's back up again.

WTD|41.26
    MTD|119.94
    YTD|811.28

26/05/2014 Mon: 4.30 miles @ 9:02 min/mile

A very Easy 40 minutes before work to loosen up the legs. They were a little heavy after yesterdays run but after the run and some stretching they felt much better.

27/05/2014 Tues: 6.70 miles inc Club Session 8 X 2 mins

First club session in a few weeks so was looking forward to it. I wasn't sure if they would be any one down with Dunboyne 5 miler on but there were just enough people as to not be left out on my own doing the reps. A nice handy warm up from home to the track and then about 15 minutes stretching to make sure the legs were loose enough. The plan was for 8 x 2 minutes hard with 90 seconds recovery. The recoveries ended up being walk back recoveries. The groin was a little tight for the first couple of reps but was grand after that. The reps were fairly consistent and I had enough energy on the last to push the pace a little and finish further up the track then the previous reps. A mile warm down on the track followed by a mile back to the house.

Reps were: (all 2mins)

0.36, 0.35, 0.35, 0.35, 0.34, 0.35, 0.34, 0.36 mile.

28/05/2014 Wed: 6.32 miles @ 8:22 min/mile

Was out early again this morning to get this in before work. Decided to try a slightly different route, so made my way out towards Leixlip and joined part of the Kildare senior road race route but going in the opposite direction. This brought me towards Maynooth and then back into Celbridge and joining a more familiar route near the M4. This was a very nice run as the roads were very quiet and sheltered. I had forgotten how undulating the route had felt during the senior road race but I was quickly reminded today. Legs were a little stiff afterwards so thankfully not running again until tomorrow evening.

WTD|17.32
    MTD|137.26
    YTD|828.6

29/05/2014 Thurs: 6.75 miles inc Club Session 5 X 1k

Lots of stretching since Tuesday meant the legs were feeling good today so headed down to the club for the second session of the week. The plan was for 5 x 1k (917m measured) with 90 second standing recovery. I ran the mile down to the track and a couple of laps as a warm up and then spent about 10 minutes stretching before we got ready to go. The first rep was grand I just tucked in behind one of the lad and let him pace me round. The following 2 reps I lead out front of the group as I wanted to bring the pace up a little, I brought it up a little too much for the second rep. 4th and last reps I tucked back in and let one of the other lads lead as we had the pace down at this stage. The final rep was fairly consistent with one of the lads going off the front for the last 200m with no one wanting to chase him.

The legs were a little stiff after the first rep but I spent the recoveries just gently stretching them and they woke up and were feeling good for the rest of the session. A mile warm down around the track and then ran home with some of the lads.

Reps were: 3:26, 3:22, 3:25, 3:25, 3:25.

30/05/2014 Fri: 5.61 miles @ 8:26 min/mile

A handy Easy run this morning around the back roads of Leixlip and the canal. Wasn't sure if this would be a recovery run or and Easy one but the legs felt good after the first mile and the pace quickly dropped back into Easy zones so I just went with it. some stretching when I got into work and the legs are feeling good and strong.

The clubs marathon group kicks off on Tuesday so its time to start planning my races in the build up. So far I have:

Clontarf Half - 05/07/2014
    Fingal 10k - 20/07/2014
    National Half - 04/08/2014
    Dublin Half - 20/09/2014

The club are suggesting a few other races but I'm not sure if I'll do them (Donadea 10k, Frank Duffy 10m). I'll probably do a couple of 5k's as well but they won't be goal races.

WTD|29.68
    MTD|149.62
    YTD|840.96

01/06/2014 Sun: 13.19 miles @ 8:10 min/mile

Was up nice and early to meet a couple of lads from the club to get around 105 minutes in. Started off with the same route as last week but this time continued into Maynooth and down Carton avenue and into Carton estate. Then back out the far side of Carton estate and into Leixlip via Kellystown lane and then back into Celbridge. While I've driven a lot of this route before I'd never really noticed how undulating it was until today. It was very warm this morning and while I struggled with the 10 mile run last week this one was much more comfortable at a similar pace. Ended up doing 13.19 miles in 1:47 so was happy enough with it.

WTD: 42.87

02/06/2014 Mon: 6.48 miles @ 8:20 min/mile

Today marks the start of the marathon training for Dublin. the plan called for 55 mins easy today. Was waiting till this morning to decide if I'd run the planned run or a recovery, based on how the legs felt. As it turned out the legs felt grand after yesterdays LSR so I went with the Easy run. Kept it in and around Celbridge and just want wandering. Legs were feeling grand afterwards.

WTD|6.48
    MTD|19.67
    YTD|860.63

03/06/2014 Tues: 7.65 miles inc Club Session (6 x 800m)

Was running a little early tonight so headed straight to the track and did an extra mile warm up before the session started. There were lots of new faces tonight as the clubs marathon group kicked off, most of them just stuck with an easy run while those of us in the club itself did the session. Plan was for 6 x 800m with 90s standing recovery. Had a good 10 minutes stretching after the warm up and was then ready to go.

Reps: (2:55, 2:56, 2:55, 2:56, 2:55, 2:53)

The first rep felt a little too fast so I tucked in behind the group on the second rep but was surprised to see that the time wasn't much slower. The rest of the rest felt grand and I just kept with the group, going through half way in 1:25-1:28. Kept stretching between the reps to keep the legs loose. Was very happy with the reps as they were on average about 5s faster than the last time I did this session in April. 2 mile warm down afterwards brought me back to the house.

04/06/2014 Wed AM: 3.42 miles @ 8:45 min/mile

The legs were feeling heavy this morning so took this run very easy. The plan has me down for a 60 min easy run, but since I don't have the car today this was my runmute into work and I'll probably just get the same home this evening.

WTD|17.55
    MTD|30.74
    YTD|871.70

04/06/2014 Wed PM: 3.22 miles @ 8:52 min/mile

Legs were still feeling very heavy so kept it very easy for the runmute home.

05/06/2014 Thurs: 8.56 miles inc Club Session (30 min pace run

Really wasn't looking forward to todays sessions. The plan called for a 30 min pace run. Did a little over 2 miles warm up and then a few minutes stretching before we started. There were about 8 of us doing the pace run ranging from people aiming for sub 3 hrs to sub 4hrs. We had no plan as to what pace we were going to run at so we decided to just go by feel. As we set off I knew this was going to be a tough run with the heat. After the first mile the group spread out which left me in the group with 2 lads aiming for sub 3. We weren't really watching the pace and just running it comfortably hard. After the first 20 minutes i was beginning to wain a little. I thought about dropping the pace but some encouragement from the coach made me stick with the 2 lads for the last 10 minutes.

30 mins @ 6:33 min/mile average.

Looking back at the data for the pace section the actual pace varied from 7:02 min/mile to 6:20 min/mile. This was probably a little faster than I should have but I enjoyed the session in the end. Finished with 1.6 miles warm down.

Will probably just get out for a recovery run in the morning and then a rest day on Saturday ahead of LSR on Sunday morning.

WTD|29.33
    MTD|42.52
    YTD|883.48

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

04/06/2014 Wed PM: 3.22 miles @ 8:52 min/mile

Legs were still feeling very heavy so kept it very easy for the runmute home.

05/06/2014 Thurs: 8.56 miles inc Club Session (30 min pace run

Really wasn't looking forward to todays sessions. The plan called for a 30 min pace run. Did a little over 2 miles warm up and then a few minutes stretching before we started. There were about 8 of us doing the pace run ranging from people aiming for sub 3 hrs to sub 4hrs. We had no plan as to what pace we were going to run at so we decided to just go by feel. As we set off I knew this was going to be a tough run with the heat. After the first mile the group spread out which left me in the group with 2 lads aiming for sub 3. We weren't really watching the pace and just running it comfortably hard. After the first 20 minutes i was beginning to wain a little. I thought about dropping the pace but some encouragement from the coach made me stick with the 2 lads for the last 10 minutes.

30 mins @ 6:33 min/mile average.

Just curious Dave .How does a "pace Run" work if you have no plan as to what pace you are going to run it at? Was it supposed to be a MP pace run and people would just run at what they hope their MP would be as a test to see if they are aiming too high or too low?

RedRunner wrote: »
    Just curious Dave .How does a "pace Run" work if you have no plan as to what pace you are going to run it at? Was it supposed to be a MP pace run and people would just run at what they hope their MP would be as a test to see if they are aiming too high or too low?

We weren't given a pace to go out at and decided before we started that we would run on feel at what felt comfortable for the 30 minutes. As it was the first week of our marathon plan we weren't too worried about not having any targets. The plan would be to run these at either HM or MP as the plan progresses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

We weren't given a pace to go out at and decided before we started that we would run on feel at what felt comfortable for the 30 minutes. As it was the first week of our marathon plan we weren't too worried about not having any targets. The plan would be to run these at either HM or MP as the plan progresses.

Ah ,ok, cool, thanks! 30 mins at 6:33...pretty good going there it has to be said.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Ah ,ok, cool, thanks! 30 mins at 6:33...pretty good going there it has to be said.

Cheers RR. It ended up being a tougher session than expected but a good indicator of what would be close to my 10 mile pace

06/06/2014 Fri: 3.07 miles @ 9:21 min/mile

Legs were feeling very tired this morning so was happy to deviate from plan and just get a nice and easy recovery run in. Got this done before breakfast even though I wasn't in work. Spent the rest of the day walking around the Zoo with the kids and then running up and down the hills at the magazine fort with them.

08/06/2014 Sun: 12.96 miles @ 7:46 min/mile

Met up with a couple of the lads before breakfast for what is quickly becoming the Sunday routine. Had a quick chat with the lads about what pace we were doing and it was decided to try to come in just under 8 min/mile for the average pace for the whole run. I was happy enough with this knowing it would be pushing the pace a little for me but would fall around MP + 10% while being ok the other lads. Started out on our normal route back through Celbridge and then towards Maynooth on the Clane road.

The pace was slowly picking up mile on mile, so I was keeping an eye on it. As we headed into Maynooth village the pace was picking up into the 7:30's and I knew this was just too much for me so I called an audible and we began to slow the pace back down to the 7:50's. We headed down Carton Avenue and into Carton house and followed the reverse of the last 4k of the Maynooth 10k. The pace was kept fairly steady as we headed back towards Leixlip and crossed the railway bridge and headed towards Celbridge avoiding the main roads.

From here the pace began to pick up again as we neared home. We headed by Connolly's Folly and back into Celbridge by the back roads. Mile 10-11.5 was mainly uphill followed by a decent downhill section back to our starting point. I was surprised to see the pace pick up again here and the last 2 miles were run in 7:20's.

At the end of the run I wasn't feeling too bad so I was happy with the effort and pace. There's no way I could run at these paces for every LSR but I'm happy enough to run them every once in a while to mix it up. No issues from the legs afterwards and they feel grand now but will need a bit of stretching.

WTD|45.36
    MTD|58.55
    YTD|899.51

09/06/2014 Mon: 6.65 miles @ 8:26 min/mile

Plan called for 55mins easy today. Wasn't sure if I'd do that or a recovery run after the LSR on Sunday. As it turns out the legs were feeling grand this morning so was happy enough to go with the Easy run. Took a hillier course than usual just to get the legs more use to running on hills over the next few months.

10/06/2014 Tues: 8.71 miles inc Club Session (5 x 5mins Hard, 90s recovery)

Had the now usual just over 2 miles warm up down to the track and a couple laps, then spent some time stretching and chatting as we waited to start. Plan was for 5 x 5mins hard with 90s recovery. The recoveries would be a mix of standing and walking depending were you finished the 5 mins on the track.

Reps were (all 5 mins): 0.82, 0.83, 0.83, 0.81, 0.82 miles. the paces for these sections were 5:59min/mile - 6:11 min/mile.

Finished off with a 2 mile warm down. This was a tough session, the first couple of reps were ok but then I began to feel the heat and effort. I was happy to sit in behind one of the lads on rep 4 but rep 5 I pushed it back out again. I was surprised to see the paces for the reps as I hadn't been checking them during the reps. I was happy to see than I essential did 4 miles of work at close to 5 k pace. Some stretching later in the evening to help the legs recover

11/06/2014 Wed: 5.42 miles @ 9:33 min/mile

The legs felt fairly fooked this morning and not surprising. Had already decided to push this run out till lunch and go with a colleague. We'd be running at his pace which mean recovery pace for me. Legs were feeling heavy and tight for the first mile but loosened up as the run went on. We went a little longer than I had planned but was happy enough as the legs are feeling much better now.

WTD|20.78
    MTD|79.33
    YTD|920.29

12/06/2014 Thurs: 8.73 miles inc Club Session (3 x 10mins Hard, 3 min recovery)

Today's planned session called for 3 x 10 mins hard with 3 mins recoveries. Headed down to the track and got a nice 2 mile warm up. The weather was very warm so knew it was going to be a tough session from the off. The first rep of 10 mins didn't feel to bad but the heat was making it fairly tough. The second rep I pushed a little harder, having found myself on my own for much of the first rep I pushed to keep with the group ahead of me. The final rep I kept with the same group as the second rep and just tried to hang on as a few people were beginning to drop off the pace.

Reps: 10 mins @ 6:25 min/mile (1.57mile), 10 mins @ 6:19 min/mile (1.59mile), 10 mins @ 6:20 min/mile (1:58mile)

Was happy with how the session went and the legs weren't feeling anywhere near as bad afterwards as they had on Tuesday. Just under 2 mile warm down back to the house afterwards.

13/06/2014 Fri: 3.14 miles @ 9:12 min/mile

A nice handy recovery run before work to help clear the legs after yesterdays session.

WTD|32.65
    MTD|91.20
    YTD|932.16

15/06/2014 Sun: 14.29 miles @ 8:08 min/mile

Was out again before breakfast with the club group. There were a few different people this morning which thankfully meant the pace was going to be a little slower than last week. The route was pretty much the same as two weeks ago but this time we continued up into Leixlip before coming back into Celbridge. We took the route out the back of Carton House and around by Kellystown lane which again was quite a undulating route. Was happy to push the pace up into the 7:30's for the last two miles to finish strongly.

Spent the afternoon out in the in-laws in Laytown so plenty of time spent playing with the kids and soaking the legs in the sea.

WTD: 46.94

16/06/2014 Mon: 7.01 miles @ 7:49 min/mile

Legs were feeling great this morning so was happy for the pace for this one to be a little higher but still on the easy side of things. After a discussion on Sunday morning I decided to run a route that was much hillier then my usual route. Was very warm out so was happy that the route I'd taken was fairly sheltered.

WTD|7.01
    MTD|112.5
    YTD|953.46

17/06/2014 Tues: 7.18 miles inc Club Session

I wasn't particularly looking forward to this session as I knew the heat would be making it very tough. I made sure to take on extra fluids throughout the day. I ended up running a little late which resulted in keeping my warm up to about 1.5 miles instead of my customary 2 miles. The plan for the session was 6 x 800m with 90 seconds recovery. None of the group were feeling enthusiastic about the session. As a result I was expecting the reps to be a little slower than the last time I did 800s 2 weeks ago.

Reps: 2:54, 2:52, 2:54, 2:55, 2:53, 2:54.

I was very happy with the times as the times were very close to those 2 weeks ago (probably even a little faster on average). The reps themselves were tough and I found the heat pretty draining but I feel I probably could have run a couple more if asked.

18/06/2014 Wed: 4.25 miles @ 8:36 min/mile

Legs were feeling ok this morning so I planned to get this done before work. It was still pretty warm and uncomfortable when I got out so was happy to keep this one short.

WTD|18.44
    MTD|123.93
    YTD|964.89

19/06/2014 Thurs: 9.00 miles inc Club Session

I wasn't looking forward to this run today, stomach was feeling a little off and I knew there wouldn't be many people at the track tonight as lots were planning on racing at the weekend. Got down to the club nice and early and got a little over 2 mile warm up.

The plan for tonight was for a 32 min pace run. Due to the low numbers it meant only 2 of us were doing the session. Had a quick chat with the coach about what the plan was and what pace we should be doing these at. Turns out the coach wanted us to keep doing these runs at faster than half marathon pace, so for me somewhere between 6:30 and 6:50 min/mile. The aim being that this session will gradually increase to an hour pace run so the first hour of the marathon at MP should feel relatively easy.

The pace section itself was fairly tough, a large part of this was down to having to run about 20 mins of the pace run on my own as the only other person doing the session was a good bit faster than me. Tried to stay with him for the first mile but ended up having to drop off the pace a little as it was a little to hot for me to hold for the duration of the run. Ended up doing 4.85 miles in the pace section so was happy with that and wasn't far off a 5 mile pb.

32 mins @ 6:36 min/mile (4.85mi)

20/06/2014 Fri: 6.00 miles @ 8:25 min/mile

Legs were feeling ok this morning so I was happy to go out for an Easy run this morning. Had planned about 40 mins but ended up doing 50 min once I got out. Parked the car in Castletown house ground and just stuck to the trails and grass tracks around the river and forests. I really enjoyed this run as it was nice and comfortable and not too warm after a tough couple of days.

WTD|33.44
    MTD|138.93
    YTD|979.89

22/06/2014 Sun: 13.64 miles @ 7:58 min/mile

I wasn't sure if I was going to end up doing this one on my own since alot of the club had been racing on Saturday but was pleased to see a few people were heading out. Kept to the now familiar route but this time headed into Leixlip towards the end of the run before heading back to Celbridge. Looking back at the splits afterwards I was surprised to see that the for the first 12 miles of the run we had been slowly increasing the pace mile on mile. The last 1.6 miles the pace slowed as we realised we had picked the pace up on mile 12.

WTD: 47.08

23/06/2014 Mon: 6.92 miles @ 8:10 min/mile

Plan called for 55 mins easy. I was fairly sure this would bring me over the 1000 mile for the year mark so had planned to get it out of the way before work. One thing led to another and I didn't get out till lunchtime. Was a lovely day out and kept the run more or less to the grounds of Castletown house, on a day like today a lovely place for an easy run. Ended up doing 56 minutes and more than enough to push me over the 1000 mile mark.

WTD|6.92
    MTD|159.49
    YTD|1000.45

24/06/2014 Tues: 7.02 miles inc Club Session

Plan for today was for 3 x 2k (1830m actual) with 90s recovery. Did the usual warm up down to and around the track followed by some stretching while we waited to set off. The first rep was started at what felt like a fairly handy pace with everyone tucking in behind myself and another runner not really wanting to take the lead or push the pace. Stayed that way until the half way point when one of the lads decided to push the pace alittle. A couple of us when with him and then finished the first rep with a little surge. The second rep was fairly similar but with a different runner leading the group at a slightly faster pace. Again the pace was pushed a little harder for the last section. For the last rep we'd lost a few people as the marathon group were doing 3 while the rest had finished at 2. The starting pace this time was fairly handy with everyone feeling the heat and fatigue. By the last lap one of the lads had about a 20m lead but I was determined I wasn't going to finish behind him. I pushed hard the last 300m and caught him on the final bend and pushed past to finish ahead of him. Was happy with the last 300m as I had a good sprint although it did show that I hadn't push too hard for the previous reps.

Reps: 7:00, 6:58, 7:06

Was happy enough with the session as its only the second time I've done this one, the first being my first ever session with the club.

Discovered today that I hadn't sign up for the Clontarf half although i thought I had. There's still time to sign up but i'm not sure. I'm enjoying training at the moment with one eye on the Fingal 10k two weeks later and with the way the weather has been I've a feeling it will be a very tough day in Clontarf. I'm not sure if I should leave it and just focus on the 10k (although I could sign up for the 5m instead in Clontarf).

WTD|13.93
    MTD|166.51
    YTD|1007.47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

good call on the 5 mile - check previous results though as I'm not sure its a popular race - could be on your own for pieces of it.

Yeah I'll have a check of them in the morning but thats a concern alright. I'd rather not do the half and miss a weeks worth of session if not more to recovery and do the 5 mile and be back ready for the following weeks sessions (or at least the Thursdays session). Plus I haven't ran a 5 mile race since Raheny last year so its a soft pb for the taking.