Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sometimes I just need to get out and run

• 02-01-2013 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭

With nothing to do today in work I've decided since I took up running a year ago today now would be the best time to start logging.

So first a brief recap of the last year:

started running this time last year, had very poor fitness and overweight, weighting in close to 110kg. completed my first 5k race the end of February in 30.30 and really struggled. Over the next couple of months I ran the Leixlip and Lucan 5k's. Struggled but my times were improving. At this I realised I was hooked. At this stage I had no intentions of ever doing a Marathon.

Shortly afterwards I came across the Mentored Novices Thread and upon reading it and look at the previous years threads I realised that I could actually run the marathon if I wanted if I started training. This thought slowly built up momentum until I decided to take the plunge and sign up to the novices thread. It's worth noting that this was probably 2 weeks after my wife had given birth to our second daughter (our first only being 15months old at that stage).

Over the next few months if became apparent that I was finding the running a great stress relief from work and demands of the kids.So over the next few months I trained and trained and trained for the marathon running the Dublin Half in 1:55:37 and bringing my 5 k time down to 22:36 in the Rathfarnham 5k.

During this training I also had some trouble with my ITB which got sorted thanks to physio and foam rolling.

So I finished the marathon in a disappointing 4:46:04. The less said about that the better for now.

So anyway onto the point of the log. To track my goals and development through the year. I plan on spending most of the year focusing on my 5 and 10k times as well as doing the Dublin Race series. I've yet to decide about doing the marathon this year.

My main goals for the year
    • 47 minute 10k will probably review this based on current 5 k times
    • sub 20 5k

My plan is to focus on the 10k for the first few months of the year with the goal race being the K-club 10k and then focus on the 5k with the goal race being the Rathfarnham 5k.

For now my next race is the Raheny 5 mile. I hope to go sub 38 minutes for this.

Anyway on to the name of my log. As my wife has said a few times over the last year "its obvious that sometimes I just need to get out and run and come home in a better mood."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭dazza21ie

Best of luck Dave, will follow this one with interest as we both seemed to have started off in a similar position last year and have similar goals for the year ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭davemcmahon

1/01/2013 Liffey Valley AC Tom Brennan 5k:
    To save on the reading a new PB to start the year. 21:46.

Followed by a warm down with some boardsie's.

02/01/2013 4 mile recovery in 37:52 average pace 9.23 min/mile.

I really need to get back into foam rolling every second night at most as after racing I can feel the ITB tightening. So thats the plan for tonight.

I forgot to include my pre-Christmas weight in had me at 91.2kg will get on the scales again over the next couple of days

02/01/2013 PM: spend about 40 minutes going through the stretches and core exercises in Advanced Marathoning. I really need to get some kind of core routine going this year.

03/01/2013: 6.03 miles @ 8:25min/mile aver HR 164 bpm max HR 174bpm
    This run felt grand, judging by the HR it was probably a little bit too fast for an easy run. I probably should have had it down in the 140 -150 region (I hope I have this right, am fairly new to HR training).
    The mile splits varied from 8:38-8:19, the two slowest coming at the half way mark as I had to start the uphill section of the route.

Managed to get my first weight in of 2013, current weight 90.2kg (14st 3lbs). That’s a grand total of just under 20kg (3st 2lbs) lost in the last year.

WTD|14.47
    MTD|14.47
    YTD|14.47

Distance |Current PB|2013 Target
    5km|21.46|sub 20
    10km|52.XX|45.00
    Half Marathon|1:55:37|1:40:XX

I've already re-evaluated my 10k goal and brought it down to 45 mins based on my current 5k time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Managed to get my first weight in of 2013, current weight 90.2kg (14st 3lbs). That’s a grand total of just under 20kg (3st 2lbs) lost in the last year.

Thats amazing.......3st in one year - fair play to you fella. You'll be flying in no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck with the log, nice to meet you Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

Best of luck.will follow with interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

03/01/2013: 6.03 miles @ 8:25min/mile aver HR 164 bpm max HR 174bpm
    This run felt grand, judging by the HR it was probably a little bit too fast for an easy run. I probably should have had it down in the 140 -150 region (I hope I have this right, am fairly new to HR training).

That totally depends on what your max HR is. Did you get any indication of it from Tuesdays race?

menoscemo wrote: »

That totally depends on what your max HR is. Did you get any indication of it from Tuesdays race?

I didn't wear it on Tuesday but had at the jingle bells 5k and got a HR Max of 192. My resting HR is 58.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I didn't wear it on Tuesday but had at the jingle bells 5k and got a HR Max of 192. My resting HR is 58.

OK cool, 192 is quite high so you likely have a higher than average max Let's guess about 200??
    I'd say try to keep the easy runs under 160 anyway and closer to 150....

menoscemo wrote: »

OK cool, 192 is quite high so you likely have a higher than average max Let's guess about 200??
    I'd say try to keep the easy runs under 160 anyway and closer to 150....

Excellent cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Good luck with the log and the training goals for this year Dave, thats a great weighloss in a year and as your weight has come down your race times have improved so with increased fitness and less weight things are going good for you. Keep up the excellent work!!

04/01/2013: 5.08mi @ 9:58 min/mile aveHR 144 Max HR 168.

A nice and gentle 5 mile with a few colleagues from work. Nice and slow, was run at more there pace than mine but a good chance to just do some slow gentle running.

Will hopefully get a chance to do some more stretching and core stuff tonight.

Tomorrow will be a rest day so no running or logging.

WTD|19.55
    MTD|19.55
    YTD|19.55

Distance |Current PB|2013 Target
    5km|21.46|sub 20
    10km|52.XX|45.00
    Half Marathon|1:55:37|1:40:XX

06/01/2013 : 10.1miles @8:27min/mile. AveHR165 MaxHR 184

Was up nice and early this morning to get my run in as the sun came up. This run incorporated Meno's session he'd given the 2012 Novices (1 x 2mile @ goal pace, 3 x 1 mile @ goal pace) with Raheny 5 mile in mind. Based on my recent 5k time my goal pace should be somewhere around 7.13 min/mile (~36min). Just after the 2 mile interval I realised I probably should not have gone out before breakfast for such a demanding run.

But anyway the splits:

1 x 2 mile: 7:14, 7:14
    3 x 1 mile: 7:20, 7:24, 7:25.

The 1 mile intervals where a little slower than I would have like but since I was in serious need of refueling I'm quite happy with it.

I've found I'm quite enjoying the sessions we've been doing latey, they've been tough but I'm looking forward to them.

Plan for the week:
    |Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |4 mile recovery(PM) + Cross(AM)|6 mile easy|session*|4 miles recovery|6m easy |rest|LSR (12 miles)

Session:
    10 mile session consisting of 1 mile easy- 2 miles MP- 2 miles HMP- 2 miles MP- 2 miles HMP- 1 mile easy (all continuous) Based on McMillan HMP - 7:42, MP - 8.06

WTD|30.16
    MTD|30.16
    YTD|30.16

Mon 07/01/2013 AM Cross Training

Roughly an hour split across the bike and rowing machine followed by about 10-15 minutes of stretching.

Mon 07/01/2013 PM 4.25mi @ 09:19 min/mile

Decided to leave the car in work and run home and back in again on Tuesday. A nice run in the cold and rain.

Unfortunately something I had to eat on Monday didn't agree with me and left me out of action yesterday. Thankfully it wasn't too bad, I just couldn't keep any food down but had tonnes of energy so back to work this morning.

Wed 09/01/2013 3.61mi @ 9:51 min/mile

Took this very easy as I wasn't sure how I'd feel doing it. Felt grand in the end. Was a slightly different route back to work.

As a result of Tuesday I'm going to push my midweek session out til Sunday and do some extra easy miles stuck on the end in place of my LSR. Hopefully I'll get back out tomorrow and Friday for two 6 milers.

Thurs 10/01/2013 7.16mi @ 8:10 min/mile AveHR 161bpm maxHR 177bpm

got out for what was supposed to be a quick 6 miler at lunch today. Was feeling good and strong so decided to push it out to 7 and up the pace for the last couple of miles. I seem to be over whatever it was that I had on Tuesday so should get out again tomorrow for at least 6 miles.

WTD|15.02
    MTD|45.18
    YTD|45.18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Thurs 10/01/2013 7.16mi @ 8:10 min/mile AveHR 161bpm maxHR 177bpm

got out for what was supposed to be a quick 6 miler at lunch today. Was feeling good and strong so decided to push it out to 7 and up the pace for the last couple of miles. I seem to be over whatever it was that I had on Tuesday so should get out again tomorrow for at least 6 miles.

WTD|15.02
    MTD|45.18
    YTD|45.18

Your times are really improving, you're defo looking at sub 4hrs or maybe even 3.45 in a marathon.

rasher_m wrote: »
    Your times are really improving, you're defo looking at sub 4hrs or maybe even 3.45 in a marathon.

I'll more than likely give a marathon a miss this year. But next year I'll probably give it a go again and look at going 3.30 - 3.45

Fri. 11/01/2013 10.05mi @ 9.26 min/mile AveHr 145bpm MaxHR 172bpm.

When out after work today with a couple of colleagues for what started as an easy 5 miles. As with last week went out at their pace which was about 10.15 min/mile for the 5. Was feeling good and in no rush home so decided to turn around and do the 5 again and class it as my LSR for the week. Upped the pace for the 2nd set of 5 miles to closer to 9 min/mile. The second 5 where a little harder but that was to be expected after a full days work.

Tomorrow will be a rest day although the plan is to bring one of the little ones to the zoo so not sure how much rest I'll actually get.

WTD|25.07
    MTD|55.23
    YTD|55.23

Mon 14/01/2013 5.2 miles @ 9.01min/miles AveHR 150

after a weekend of inactivity and missed opportunities to get out I was back out this morning. Took a huge amount of HTFU to get going, my legs were feeling heavy and aching, particularly my ITB. So out I went at a nice slow pace just get my legs going again. For the first couple of miles I could feel the tightness in my left ITB ( the right side had been the main problem during the marathon training) but by the end of mile 2 it had loosened up nicely and hasn't been any bother since.

I'm taking the stiffness in my ITB as a reminder that I'm not doing my foam rolling. Since the marathon I've been neglecting the foam roller while I've been upping the mileage, running more and running some harder sessions. I think I need to take this as a warning to pay more attention to my stretching and general recovery time to avoid being the same situation I was a few weeks before the marathon when the tightness in my ITB was so bad I was having trouble walking.

WTD|5.2
    MTD|60.43
    YTD|60.43

15/01/2013 Tues: 5 miles @ 8.08min/mile AveHr 152.

Another tough day to get out. Between work commitments and being the little ones 2nd birthday I didn't get out till after lunch, closer to 4. The plan was for a nice and handy 5 miles at a slow pace. This changed quickly once I got out and realised it was absolutely brass monkeys. after the first couple of miles I was loosing all feeling in my face so upped the paceand got the 5 miles done in just over 40 minutes.

I reintroduced my ITB to the foam roller last night and payed for it dearly by bed time. I've a feeling I'll have to give it a go again tonight and try work out the last of the knots.

WTD|10.2
    MTD|65.43
    YTD|65.43

16/01/2013 Wed. 7.00miles @ 8:06min/mile Ave HR 166

After a night that involved foam rolling and copious amounts of birthday cake was out before work for another run in the freezing cold. Was much easier getting out for this today without the frost and ice. Decide to go with a slightly more aggressive pace as the legs and lungs felt like they needed the harder workout. Nothing much exciting happening on the runs.

WTD|17.2
    MTD|72.43
    YTD|72.43

17/01/2013 Thurs. 11.31miles @ 9.24min/mile AveHR 152

Was given the rare opportunity today to get either my session for the week or my LSR done before work. I wasn't feeling the session so decided LSR today session on Sunday morning. I decided leaving the 10-12 miles would be good. ended up doing 11.31, the furthest I've run since DCM. Was pleasantly surprised at how low the Hr was for the run. Felt like i could have easily gone further but needed to get to work. Was also the first time since training for DCM that I've gotten a blister. Will need to look at what caused that and fix it.

The plan for tonight now will be to soak the legs and get stuck in to my copy of 'Road Racing for Serious Runners' by P&D which arrived yesterday. I'll probably be taking my plans from this fort he rest of the year depending on the race. Will definitely be taking my 10k plan from it.

WTD|28.51
    MTD|83.74
    YTD|83.74

18/01/2013 Fri: 3.95 mile recovery @ 9:10 min/mile AveHr 146

Went out today for what has become my weekly recovery run with some work colleagues. Had to convince them it was worth going out in the rain, sleet, wind and cold. Ended up being one of the more enjoyable runs this week despite the horrible weather. I think my enjoyment may have come from the discomfort of my colleagues not used to running in that weather.

The plan for tomorrow is for a rest day and then the session that should have been midweek on Sunday morning.

WTD|32.46
    MTD|87.69
    YTD|87.69

18/01/2013 Fri: 3.95 mile recovery @ 9:10 min/mile AveHr 146

I think my enjoyment may have come from the discomfort of my colleagues not used to running in that weather.

I never knew you were so evil...I like your style ;)

the plan had been to get out early on Sunday morning to get in a session for the upcoming Raheny 5 miler, unfortunately the little one had been up most of Saturday night with a chesty cough, which meant so was I. This meant by Sunday morning that plan was scrapped in favor of a complete rest day while the wife took the kids out.

21/01/2013 Mon: 4.78mile @ 9.33 min/mile AveHr 145

A nice little run in the cold and the snow at lunch time. Kept the pace down as there was still plenty of snow and slush on the footpaths. Compared to the run on Friday this was really pleasant and warmer than I had expected.

So this week will be a Taper week with Raheny on Saturday. Hoping to go for close to 36min on Saturday but will be happy with anything sub 37.

WTD|4.78
    MTD|92.47
    YTD|92.47

22/01/2013 Tues: 6.08 miles @ 8.15min/mile AveHr 161

Went out a little harder today due to the nice clear footpath around work. Was a nice run ended up wearing too many layers as it wasn't as cold as I expected. ave Hr was a little high which wasn't helped by the strides thrown in towards the end. Legs were a little heavy afterwards so hopefully the reduced mileage this week will do them some good.

WTD|10.86
    MTD|98.55
    YTD|98.55

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Just spotted your training log Dave. You are going great guns already this year, fair play. Good luck in Raheny on Sunday.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Just spotted your training log Dave. You are going great guns already this year, fair play. Good luck in Raheny on Sunday.

Cheers RR. I hope the injuries clear up soon and you can get back out.

23/01/2013 Wed: 6.10 miles @ 8.03min/mile AveHR 160

Another run that was probably a little too fast . A quick 6 miles during lunch to help bring me over the 100 mile mark for the month so far. Was looking back at some of the mileage for DCM training and my currently weekly mileage is higher than most of that training. I have to include that I'm finding it 'easier' on my body as well. Its beginning to feel like this is the base i should have had before I started the marathon training which would have eliminated some of the problems I had during the marathon itself.

I'll be back out again tomorrow and then rest days on Friday and Saturday ahead of Raheny.

WTD|16.96
    MTD|104.65
    YTD|104.65

24/01/2013 Thurs: 5.12 miles @ 9:51 min/mile AveHR 136

Moved my usual Friday run with work colleagues to today to give me an extra rest day for Raheny. Went out for a nice loop around work and the neighboring village. Weather was the best its been all week, still cold but very fresh. Legs felt good and strong and was surprised at how low the Ave HR was.

Will get stuck into my P&D book again tonight and may skip forward to the racing chapters ahead of Sunday.

WTD|22.08
    MTD|109.77
    YTD|109.77

27/01/2013 Sun: Raheny 5 miles @ 7:15 min/mile AveHR 177

I was dreading this race today when I got up. The horrible weather and a family engagement afterwards was really putting me off doing. After some much needed HTFU I decided I wasn't wasting my entry.

I got there nice and early (not too early) and parked on the causeway to Bull island. This meant I had a nice little warm up running the hill towards the end of the race. Bumped into RunningKing before the race but had to leave him in the school hall as I ran back to the car to grab a pair of gloves as my hands had half frozen on my jog up the hill. So back down the hill to the car and another nice jog back up to the bag drop and starting area. I went off to do a quick warm up but by the time I got to the start line I ended up too far back and knew I'd have to dodge alot of people for the first mile.

As expected the first half a mile or so was spent dodging in and out of slower runners. But by the time I'd gotten to the Howth road I'd settled into a more appropriate spot. I'd decided to run today at my goal pace despite not getting in the last two 5 mile sessions in Meno's plan. The goal was to see how long I could stick the pace and take it from there. So I was happy when I looked at the watch at the mile marker and saw that I was bang on pace.

The first half of mile 2 was a good bit slower as I fought with the wind but I only lost a couple of seconds on that mile. Thankfully I was able to make up some of the lost time on the next mile and a half and was actually able to bank a couple of second for the hill at the 4 mile mark.

When I hit the hill was still feeling strong enough to up the effort a little to push up the hill. Thankfully having run it as my warm up it didn;t feel as bad as I was expecting. Once we turned off Watermill Road the wind was fierce and I was beginning to slow a little. Thankfully it didn't last too long and I was able to push on strongly at the end.

When I'd started this log I'd said I was going for a sub 38min in this race which then changed to a sub 37min during the last two weeks. I was chuffed to cross the line in 36:18. As with most of my racing I walked away thinking I could easily take off those 18 second if I was to do the race again.

Anyway an excellently organised and supported race (I spotted RedRunner just before the 4 mile mark), and the goodie bag was probably the best I've gotten yet.

WTD|27.08
    MTD|114.77
    YTD|114.77

I was dreading this race today when I got up. The horrible weather and a family engagement afterwards was really putting me off doing. After some much needed HTFU I decided I wasn't wasting my entry.

I got there nice and early (not too early) and parked on the causeway to Bull island. This meant I had a nice little warm up running the hill towards the end of the race. Bumped into RunningKing before the race but had to leave him in the school hall as I ran back to the car to grab a pair of gloves as my hands had half frozen on my jog up the hill. So back down the hill to the car and another nice jog back up to the bag drop and starting area. I went off to do a quick warm up but by the time I got to the start line I ended up too far back and knew I'd have to dodge alot of people for the first mile.

As expected the first half a mile or so was spent dodging in and out of slower runners. But by the time I'd gotten to the Howth road I'd settled into a more appropriate spot. I'd decided to run today at my goal pace despite not getting in the last two 5 mile sessions in Meno's plan. The goal was to see how long I could stick the pace and take it from there. So I was happy when I looked at the watch at the mile marker and saw that I was bang on pace.

The first half of mile 2 was a good bit slower as I fought with the wind but I only lost a couple of seconds on that mile. Thankfully I was able to make up some of the lost time on the next mile and a half and was actually able to bank a couple of second for the hill at the 4 mile mark.

When I hit the hill was still feeling strong enough to up the effort a little to push up the hill. Thankfully having run it as my warm up it didn;t feel as bad as I was expecting. Once we turned off Watermill Road the wind was fierce and I was beginning to slow a little. Thankfully it didn't last too long and I was able to push on strongly at the end.

When I'd started this log I'd said I was going for a sub 38min in this race which then changed to a sub 37min during the last two weeks. I was chuffed to cross the line in 36:18. As with most of my racing I walked away thinking I could easily take off those 18 second if I was to do the race again.

Anyway an excellently organised and supported race (I spotted RedRunner just before the 4 mile mark), and the goodie bag was probably the best I've gotten yet.

WTD|27.08
    MTD|114.77
    YTD|114.77

Delighted for you Dave, its great to read about your constant improvement;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

WTD|27.08
    MTD|114.77
    YTD|114.77

Great running Dave, you were really delighted at the end. Great running!

27/01/2013 Mon: 4.19 miles @ 9:20 min/mile AveHR 143

A nice handy little 4 mile recovery run this afternoon. Nothing too exciting although the wind on parts slowed me right down.

The plan for this week will be to keep it easy. My next real goal race will the K-club 10k so I'll decide on a plan in the next couple of days.

My original 10k goal was to break 47 mins but based on my 5k and 5mile times I think is too soft a goal. Based on my races this year McMillan has me at just over 45min so I'm thinking I'm going to move the goal and try break 45mins.

WTD|4.19
    MTD|118.96
    YTD|118.96

29/01/2013 Tues: 8.01 miles @ 9:01 min/mile AveHR 155

Another easy run made harder by the wind. Legs are feeling grand after the weekend but I'll resist the urge to go any faster.

Weighted myself this morning and am down to 88.7kg. Hoping to hit mid to low 80s by the summer.

WTD|12.2
    MTD|126.97
    YTD|126.97

31/01/2013 Thursday: 7.01 miles @ 8:37 min/mile AveHR 154

An easy run hampered again by the strong winds.

Finished up the month on 133.98miles. Am very happy with that considering I missed a couple of long runs on the weekends.

01/02/2013 Fri: 6.17 miles @ 10:19 min/mile AveHR 135

A nice slow run with work colleagues in what ended up being very pleasent weather. The slowest of I've run in a while but really enjoyed it.

Hopefully I'll get out on Sunday afternoon for an LSR

WTD|25.38
    MTD|6.17
    YTD|140.15

3/02/2013 Sum: 12.02 miles @ 9:14 min/mile AveHR 150

Managed to get out today for a nice 12 miles after lunch. We were heading to the in-laws in Dundrum so I was dropped off in Rathfarnham and told my wife I would meet her there, surely a sign I've become a 'real' runner. The route took me through Rathfarnham, towards Churchtown and down through Dundrum into Milltown and Clonskeagh then back up the Goatstown Road, into Stillorgan then back into Dundrum. The route itself was hilly and actually quite tough. Thankfully I resisted the urge to go by the dreaded Roebuck road/Fosters Avenue. The fact I've no memory of running through Milltown or the Clonskeagh Road is a bad sign.

I've been doing a lot of reading of the two P&D books so I decided to go out at my predicted Marathon pace plus 0:45 - 2:00. Starting out at the higher end and building up to the lower end and finishing closer to MP. This was a tough run but I'm very happy to get it completed and with my HR remaining fairly low. I feel it was a good test of where my endurance is at the moment and it was nice to get my highest mileage so far this year.

My next goal race is the K-Club 10k in about 11 weeks (I think) so I'll be taking aspects from the P&D books and incorporating the sessions from the 'Best 10k Workouts' thread. It'll be a 6 days a week plan but I can drop one of the runs early in the week (Tuesday run) if I'm finding I need an extra rest day. I've been building up to the 6 days a week since Christmas. The plan will incorporate some lactate threshold and VO2 sessions. I'll be guestimating my LT based on my predicted 15k and half marathon times using my recent races results. The goal will be to try and break 45mins for the 10k but I'll reassess as we go. I've a couple of races in that period that I'll use to check my fitness levels.

So plan for this week:

|Mon|Tue|Wed|Thur|Fri|Sat|Sun|
    |4 Recovery|6 mile easy|session (LT)*|7 mile Medium LR|6 mile easy w strides|rest/cross|LSR 10 miles

Session LT: 1 mile w/u 4 miles @ LT 1 mile w/d

WTD|37.4
    MTD|18.1
    YTD|152.17

04/02/2013 Mon: 4.01 miles recovery @ 9:17 min/mile AveHR 139

Nice and handy recovery run today. wanted to keep the pace between 9:15 and 9:45. drifted a bit high towards the end but happy to be done with it.

WTD|4.01
    MTD|22.2
    YTD|156.18

05/02/2013 Tues: 5.00 miles @ 7:47 min/mile AveHR 162

Decided last minute to swap todays run with tomorrows due to it being busy in work. So today ended up being the session with a slight change to what was planned (3 miles LT rather than 4). The biggest problem I had with this was slowing down for the recovery period. I found I just kept speeding up and ended up finishing the last mile only 15 to 20 seconds slower than the LT miles. Overall legs felt good and had expected a higher HR so am happy with that. the first LT mile and a half ended up being uphill and into the wind so that was probably a little tough than I had expected.

Tomorrows call for a 6 mile easy run so that will be nice and handy.

WTD|9.01
    MTD|27.2
    YTD|161.18

06/02/2013 Wed: 6.04 miles @ 8:31 min/mile AveHR 152

Got out at lunchtime today for a nice 6 mile easy run. Weather was almost perfect for running sunny and cool. With the exception of the wind in some areas

Tomorrows calls for a medium long run so hopefully I'll get in 7 or 8 miles and do it a similar way as the LSR on Sunday. Starting out at MP + 2:00 - MP +0:45 and hopefully some miles @ MP.

WTD|15.05
    MTD|33.24
    YTD|167.22

07/02/2013 Thurs: 7.15 miles @ 8:26 min/mile AveHR 158

Out again at lunch today. For every bit that yesterdays run was nice todays was horrid. The wind, rain and cold made for a tough slog. Ended up going slightly faster than planned and judging by the HR mile 2 was quote tough, peaking at 168. The weather really just made me want to get the run finished and done with.

WTD|22.2
    MTD|40.39
    YTD|174.37

07/02/2013 Thurs: 7.15 miles @ 8:26 min/mile AveHR 158

Out again at lunch today. For every bit that yesterdays run was nice todays was horrid. The wind, rain and cold made for a tough slog. Ended up going slightly faster than planned and judging by the HR mile 2 was quote tough, peaking at 168. The weather really just made me want to get the run finished and done with.

WTD|22.2
    MTD|40.39
    YTD|174.37

You must have a generous lunch hour with all these lunchtime runs and be working in an area with good running amenities??

City centre location puts me off it a bit, but it is something I'd love to be able to do once in a while at least

You must have a generous lunch hour with all these lunchtime runs and be working in an area with good running amenities??

City centre location puts me off it a bit, but it is something I'd love to be able to do once in a while at least

Luckily I work for a big multinational that encourages thinks like running for stress relief. I usually just head off for lunch a little early and end up back while most people in my group are still at lunch.
    I'm also based out in kildare with our own campus so plenty of space to run around or into the neighbouring villages. Plus we have an onsite gym for getting showered afterwards

Lets hope Dave's boss isn't reading his log :D

^^^:D:D:D

Luckily I work for a big multinational that encourages thinks like running for stress relief. I usually just head off for lunch a little early and end up back while most people in my group are still at lunch.
    I'm also based out in kildare with our own campus so plenty of space to run around or into the neighbouring villages. Plus we have an onsite gym for getting showered afterwards

Sounds great. Shower facilities in our place are rubbish but we will be moving to a new building in 2015. Of course by then I'll be aiming for a sub 3Marathon and doing at least two runs a day:D:D:D....in my dreams

Sure its all about "stress relief" and work/life balance

Yeah you're right Dave...I wish you were my boss :D

Sounds great. Shower facilities in our place are rubbish but we will be moving to a new building in 2015. Of course by then I'll be aiming for a sub 3Marathon and doing at least two runs a day:D:D:D....in my dreams

Surely by then we should all be aiming for 2:30 marathons